Mega Thread The Former Player Thread: Part 2

I think it is unlikely he stays. He should have been picked ahead of JMac for the final but was not. He would be livid over that and I would not blame him. It was a terrible decision by a biased coach. I don't think Longmire likes him. Longmire has pers and players he does not like.
These are players he did not like;

Aliir
Hewett
Newman
Jones
Rohan
Mitchell
Stephens

The way some of these players were treated was a disgrace to the footy club. For a club who prides ourselves on how we treat people some of these people were badly treated. Nick Newman was moved on because he was too vocal about GLBTI rights. Mitchell because Longmire hated him. Hewett similar. Jones definitely because Longmire did not like him. Rohan for footy reasons but with no explanation. He never had a clue that was coming. Aliir had always been a problem for Longmire. He simply did not like the kid. In fact he went out of his way not to play him. Then when he cemented himself and got injured he found every excuse not to play him when hd was fit. Then he insisted on playing him in the ruck or forward. Even after this was not needed. Longmire is human. We don't like everybody we meet. But as Leigh Matthews said about Akka, even though he thought him a dick he still played him for his ability. Matthews hated Akka. But he played in 3 premierships. If you are a coach you have to be above hatreds.

On CPH2471 using BigFooty.com mobile app
The absolute **** are you on about? Do you have a source for any of these?

Horse hated Hewett so much he was one of those to visit Hewett in the hospital when Hewetts soon was born prematurely: Swans mid grateful after son's 'exciting but scary' arrival with a quote from Hewett about how good Horse was throughout it.

This is even leaving out the fact that Hewett was routinely praised by Longmire who was also clearly voting for him in the Skilton medal.

I think it is unlikely he stays. He should have been picked ahead of JMac for the final but was not. He would be livid over that and I would not blame him. It was a terrible decision by a biased coach. I don't think Longmire likes him. Longmire has pers and players he does not like.

Aliir
Hewett
Newman
Jones
Rohan
Mitchell
Stephens

The way some of these players were treated was a disgrace to the footy club. For a club who prides ourselves on how we treat people some of these people were badly treated. Nick Newman was moved on because he was too vocal about GLBTI rights. Mitchell because Longmire hated him. Hewett similar. Jones definitely because Longmire did not like him. Rohan for footy reasons but with no explanation. He never had a clue that was coming. Aliir had always been a problem for Longmire. He simply did not like the kid. In fact he went out of his way not to play him. Then when he cemented himself and got injured he found every excuse not to play him when hd was fit. Then he insisted on playing him in the ruck or forward. Even after this was not needed. Longmire is human. We don't like everybody we meet. But as Leigh Matthews said about Akka, even though he thought him a dick he still played him for his ability. Matthews hated Akka. But he played in 3 premierships. If you are a coach you have to be above hatreds.

LOL

You wouldn’t have a clue who he likes or dislikes. What complete and utter nonsense.

Interesting to find out what happened behind the scenes years later. What happened to Newman seems a bit harsh, given Swans support for Pride round and inclusiveness. Maybe it became too much of a distraction from his football at the time.
As if Newman was booted out of the club for being too vocal about pride issues.

Was Newman walking into meetings wearing only rainbow speedos?

Don't believe his absolute nonsense.

Stephens certainly could find the ball on the inside when played there in VFL. He also racked up the tackles and his pressure was very good. His ability to find a team mate close and burst from the contest was also excellent. Just ley down with his disposal by foot, especially kicking into the forward 50. I think he has a future on the inside, whether that be with us or another club.

Horse is very protective of who plays inside for us. Mitchell, Dawson and Hewett have endured the cold shoulder in the past. Now it's Stephens and Sheldrick's turn. Such a shame.
I’m not convinced this is all that accurate.

Hewett was played inside from his second senior season. Mitchell from third after injury interrupted start to career. Gulden, Warner and Rowbottom have all played inside from a young age, as has Sheldrick after a brief stint in his early games in the forwards. Even Dawson didn’t play inside for his first season at the Crows.

I think players get game time there when they’re deemed to be ready for it personally…

Aliir
Hewett
Newman
Jones
Rohan
Mitchell
Stephens

Ridiculous.

Hmmn.

Firstly Horse did not have a bias against let alone ‘hate’ The GRohan. If anything Horse insisted on playing the overrated spud at the expense of the team and especially in Finals.

Jordan would not replace Dyl. He is more a mid than a wing player. I know Dyl would rather play mid than wing and that is the major problem with his contract. The other problem I see is Longmire. I have a feeling he does not like Dylon, the same as he did not like Tom Mitchell. If you are a coach you have to go beyond emotions and it seems John can't. He may have cost us a Premiership by hating a player.

Jordan is a pure mid. A clearance player. Who is really clever and uses the ball really well. He will fit into our mids with Sheldrick, Warner, Gulden, Rowie, Mills. Parker to go forward. Clark, finally not needed as Parker will be that strong, both offensive & defensive forward.

Develop Arnold, a new KPD Draftee, keep Melican & Francis.

Over the Summer I'd like to see Plugger work with the forward group about positioning and set up. At the moment we are too bunched and static. They all fly for the same ball. There should never be more than one Key forward flying for a mark and the others should be positioned in different areas to draw the tall traffic away from any contest. This would mean if the ball hits the ground there are crumbers. But more importantly it gives every KPF a one on one. Which I think most of them can win.

Wow. That escalated quickly.

Interesting to find out what happened behind the scenes years later. What happened to Newman seems a bit harsh, given Swans support for Pride round and inclusiveness. Maybe it became too much of a distraction from his football at the time.
Is it? All I read was an opinion with no evidence provided.

Yep just the same as the ignorant cliche of “ He’s Lost The Players “
Complete tripe by people who think they know what they’d like to know.

Complete Dills.
I can understand losing a player or two to not liking coaches. I've seen plenty of people move work because they didn't get along with their boss.

But after the reaction to Horse's 300th game as coach, no one can say he lost the playing group, imo

I’m not convinced this is all that accurate.

Hewett was played inside from his second senior season. Mitchell from third after injury interrupted start to career. Gulden, Warner and Rowbottom have all played inside from a young age, as has Sheldrick after a brief stint in his early games in the forwards. Even Dawson didn’t play inside for his first season at the Crows.

I think players get game time there when they’re deemed to be ready for it personally…

Not sure that is totally right. Ahigh proportion of any list would have played mids as juniors and I guess many harbour ambition to play there. Obviously many won't.

I wonder how Mills would perform now had he not been stuck on a HBF for so long. He was denied the early learning opportunity offered to most primo mids in the comp.

I remain cranky his talent was wasted for so long.

I guess we better discuss the return we are going to get for Horse wanting to get rid of Callum Mills, Justin McInerney and Errol Gulden for this vocal display.

Aliir
Hewett
Newman
Jones
Rohan
Mitchell
Stephens

Care to back up your talk with facts here?

That Newman example is particularly bad example and I wonder if there is no fact there as he has had a long-term partner (since when he was drafted).

Aliir
Hewett
Newman
Jones
Rohan
Mitchell
Stephens

what a pile of shit

Newman was probably too undisciplined to be guaranteed best 22 selection every week.
He has obviously matured & grabbed his second chance.

I for one mourned Newman's departure as I thought he had shown enormous potential and was undervalued by Horse and co. He has been terrific for the Blues and is getting his coaching tickets and already helping with their Women's team.

His brother is gay and I can remember Nick being very supportive of the Swans support for Pride issues.

On George, I reckon he started 2021 on a HBF to see if he could develop the second string that JPK lacked. His back issues were a concern as I expect they still are. The back issues saw him lose games in 2022. As I understand it the Club was not prepared to back in his back to fulfill a long contract.

Best I get back on topic before I am growled at.

I am relieved Stephens seems our only player subject to Trade Rumours.

I worry behind the scenes, some Clubs have asked the question on players like HHK. No doubt Managers with Bloods up for contract renewal in 2024 are sniffing the breeze for their clients.

For example there would not be one Club who wouldn't want Errol on their list.

He already looks a generational player.

There are some cashed up Bogan Clubs that will offer staggering amounts for him. His signature should be the Clubs highest List Management priority.
Teams aren't going to waste too much time on players they have almost no chance of signing.

I don't think you need to worry about Gulden leaving.

Not sure that is totally right. Ahigh proportion of any list would have played mids as juniors and I guess many harbour ambition to play there. Obviously many won't.

I wonder how Mills would perform now had he not been stuck on a HBF for so long. He was denied the early learning opportunity offered to most primo mids in the comp.

I remain cranky his talent was wasted for so long.
Mills probably wouldn’t be as well rounded player that can play in multiple positions, certainly wouldn’t be as good at defence and probably wouldn’t be any better or a midfielder. Hardly wasted talent.

Would you have preferred he waited in the reserves instead of winning the rising star in 2016 as a defender?

Dawson was a forward when he came to the Swans.

Remaining cranky about this is interesting to say the least but I’ll leave that one alone.

I for one mourned Newman's departure as I thought he had shown enormous potential and was undervalued by Horse and co. He has been terrific for the Blues and is getting his coaching tickets and already helping with their Women's team.

His brother is gay and I can remember Nick being very supportive of the Swans support for Pride issues.

On George, I reckon he started 2021 on a HBF to see if he could develop the second string that JPK lacked. His back issues were a concern as I expect they still are. The back issues saw him lose games in 2022. As I understand it the Club was not prepared to back in his back to fulfill a long contract.
I really like Newman but I thought he may have been a bit too slow. However, his role at Carlton shows that there is a place for a player like that to make an impact and I still think he is a good player. I just think his departure from the Swans was more to do with us trying to transition the club to one with more leg-speed and he was a casualty of that.

Not sure Newman would get a game for us, even now. Who does he displace?

Seems a good decision even in hindsight.

Not sure Newman would get a game for us, even now. Who does he displace?

Seems a good decision even in hindsight.
I was at the ressies GF where Newman was BoG in a losing side, sitting next to the man who awarded it. He played the intercept and exit role similar to how he plays at Carlton.
I was also a bit friendly with a friend of his who said that he really disliked Horse, possibly at the time he wasn't getting picked for seniors. Whatever.
My understanding is that he wanted to leave and we weren't that worried about keeping him.

So is this the same Sheldrick who was playing inside mid when he got injured?
Yes. But if you look at how Horse has used him over his 2 years with us, it's been pretty sporadic. ToG usually low, in and our of the side, playing forward etc. And this has been happening whilst we have been struggling with clearances. Same goes for guys like Mitchell, Dawson and Hewett who would rack up huge numbers in the NEAFL but then get limited on ball time. All 3 have gone on to be very good to elite ball winners for their new clubs. I'm overall a big fan of Horse, always have been and happy he's our coach. Doesn't mean I agree with everything though.

Mills probably wouldn’t be as well rounded player that can play in multiple positions, certainly wouldn’t be as good at defence and probably wouldn’t be any better or a midfielder. Hardly wasted talent.

Would you have preferred he waited in the reserves instead of winning the rising star in 2016 as a defender?

Dawson was a forward when he came to the Swans.

Remaining cranky about this is interesting to say the least but I’ll leave that one alone.
I wonder if a long term view on preserving the young draftees bodies was taken after watching Hannebery grind down his body as a young inside mid

Mega Thread The Former Player Thread: Part 2