East Rottnest
We have gained a gangly 205cm ruckman, who is listed as being 80kg. I have no problems with him as he looks a likely type and I would be happy for him to serve his apprenticeship at the Black Ducks.

What was 211's weight when he was first put on the Rookie List?.

Comments have been made that Freo is stocking up on backs, rather than speedy midfielders. I thought in the draft, you took the best available, not specificly a required position player. Points to remember are that we must look at the future with The Twig probably having his swansong season, Mundy can move forward, Hayden is ready to be moved into a more mobile role. I'm happy with what we drafted.

Remember these boys are kids, how much improvement is left in them?. I reckon heaps.

Anyway that's my two cents.

I'd imagine there's a number of people who can push further up the field given the depth in this area at the moment.

Byron Schammer because of fitness issues was playing in a back pocket, this roll may go back to Hayden releasing a fit Schammer back into the midfield.

Matthew Carr I think plays his best footy across half forward, I'd love to see him play more time further up the ground.

The most exciting thing I think is of all the players who missed through injury (Haddrill, Haines, Hayden, Matty Carr to an extent) and then all the players who were restricted through injury (Haselby, Schammer etc), if they can stay fit and stay on the field that will be a key to the clubs success next year.

I'm also looking forward to the likes of Murphy putting on some kilos, Campbell could be a wildcard (do not right this kid off!), Johnson and Warren etc.

Let's not forget the no namer in Polak. What do we expect of him in 2006? Expect nothing anything else is a bonus!

fat wombat said:
Campbell could be a wildcard (do not right this kid off!).

Let's not forget the no namer in Polak. What do we expect of him in 2006? Expect nothing anything else is a bonus!

Fats, whats the story with Campbell, afraid dont really follow him to know. I had him pretty much a writeoff.

Polak with a year under Harveys rough stuff will make or break the kid. Just hope we dont get a AA year outta him and he wants $$$$ or he'll move East.

Freo Shark said:
Fats, whats the story with Campbell, afraid dont really follow him to know. I had him pretty much a writeoff.

Polak with a year under Harveys rough stuff will make or break the kid. Just hope we dont get a AA year outta him and he wants $$$$ or he'll move East.

If harvey can fix Polak's ground skills which are ordinary he'll be a genius.

Ive said it before a lot of docker players have their futures on the line in 2006.

Word has it that Harvey (or his appointment) has already had an effect and beyond just the players! It appears that everyone has kicked up 10%.

Pity its taken this long to happen!

I think just a change in the environment away from the staleness that had developed will do wonders. A fresh face and attitude is always healthy in any organisation.

As for Campbell, he was awarded a 3 year contract after impressing the coaching staff in the pre-season at the start of the year. Seen as a project player the coaching staff still have high hopes for him. He hasn't been consistent in the WAFL but he's still young and he took up AFL footy at a young age. It was rumoured the club were looking to move him away from West Perth because they didn't think it was aiding his development. Some pre-season games will be healthy for his development, he has a big body and will hopefully come on this year. Peake didn't impress playing in the WAFL and made an immediate impact in the AFL, maybe he can do the same.

Freo Shark said:
Word has it that Harvey (or his appointment) has already had an effect and beyond just the players! It appears that everyone has kicked up 10%.

Pity its taken this long to happen!

If there was anything that should be taken with a pinch of salt...its "training reports"
I still remeber the one coming out of the crows camp stating Carey was training the house down.....set for a big year etc.

Most training reports are released by the club....

Topic wise...if future people are referring to next season then thats great. I am sick of looking to the future, 2006 we have no excuse if we dont make top 6....top 4 is well within our reach.

I'm fine withe the picks. The club would know as much as any about Swallow and Ibbotson, and choosing the Bot has got to be an informed choice.

Very concerned about how some posters are pigeon holing young guys in positions. Drum and the Bot defitintely seem to have the potential to play in a variety of roles, grow, and/or change their "style" of play if required. really looking forward to watching their careers.

A minor question. I wonder whether the club had the opportunity to get any information from harvey about Essendon's scouting?

west australian news paper stated that freo rated toovey from claremont in the best 24 at the draft just wondering why they didnt pick him up if that was the case

Probably means that Ibbotson was rated above Toovey. Also Drum is a very similar style player to Toovey and we obviously got the better of the two.

I'd imagine we'd like to Rookie list Toovey but the club has cornered itself into rookie listing Stribling and Duffield. A more ruthless club would cut Stribling completely. Even our rookie draft becomes very interesting. I look forward to see the clubs position on the above players and check whether they will be given a second shot.

Personally i think the selection of Stribling over Toovey last year was a mistake. Only time will tell and hopefully Stribling becomes a key member of our on-ball brigade. Because at the moment it looks like we are sticking with Stribling and i hope he can contribute to our future on field success.

rgauci said:
Personally i think the selection of Stribling over Toovey last year was a mistake. Only time will tell and hopefully Stribling becomes a key member of our on-ball brigade. Because at the moment it looks like we are sticking with Stribling and i hope he can contribute to our future on field success.
Pretty minor "mistake" if that's what it is. In reality it is a preference, and Stribling at that late pick is worth having. Similar as having him as a Rookie. Not saying Toovey wouldn't be. But calling it a mistake is a tad harsh.

theGav56 said:
Pretty minor "mistake" if that's what it is. In reality it is a preference, and Stribling at that late pick is worth having. Similar as having him as a Rookie. Not saying Toovey wouldn't be. But calling it a mistake is a tad harsh.

Absolutely. Its not a big mistake. Never meant for it to sound that way. Obviously Toovey doesn't have big wraps if he was passed up in two consecutive drafts.

Saw young MD having a run this morning... Ibbo was there too I believe (but only saw the backs working together at one end). There was lots of encouragment for the young fella - "nice kick Drummy", "good stuff Drummy" were the loudest amd most prolific comments from the group.... :thumbsu:

Oh and when Haddrill had a pot shot at goal and missed... I heard somone yell out "nice one Robbie - a true backman!"... :D

ImperialPurple said:
Saw young MD having a run this morning... Ibbo was there too I believe (but only saw the backs working together at one end). There was lots of encouragment for the young fella - "nice kick Drummy", "good stuff Drummy" were the loudest amd most prolific comments from the group.... :thumbsu:

I'm guessing that was the only way you could tell apart Drum and Mundy. From what I've seen and heard they look, sound and play almost identically like each. Freaky. I guess 2 Mundy's are better than 1.....well, if it's a long weekend that is :D

Oh and when Haddrill had a pot shot at goal and missed... I heard somone yell out "nice one Robbie - a true backman!"... :D

Good to see the team is a tight bond. I just hope they play like it next season