The Jamarra Thread

Will Jamarra ever play senior footy for the Bulldogs again?

• Yes

Votes: 46 14.6%
  • No

Votes: 228 72.2%
  • Unsure / Don't care

Votes: 42 13.3%

Everyone loves a redemption story, don’t mind the fact he’s completely ****ed us over in the process. I’d be fascinated to see the media if this was Geelong

For a start, his antics would have been swept under the carpet and never reported.

Or it would've been claimed he had some minor injury that would keep him out for 1-2 weeks then not return all year.

Or he would've been painted as misunderstood and a 'character' that 'we need in the game'.

Everyone loves a redemption story, don’t mind the fact he’s completely ****ed us over in the process. I’d be fascinated to see the media if this was Geelong

I don’t think he deliberately let his mental health to deteriorate to “**** over” the Bulldogs.

Why is there so much sympathy for Smith’s mental health battles, but not Jamarra’s?

I don’t think he deliberately let his mental health to deteriorate to “**** over” the Bulldogs.

Why is there so much sympathy for Smith’s mental health battles, but not Jamarra’s?
yes mental health is real..... but its interesting that a lot of people seem to develop mental health when they have not done the right thing initially and it seems to come to the forefront when people start questioning their behaviour.

Not much sympathy for Smith on here that I have seen. Rightfully so too I might add.

yes mental health is real..... but its interesting that a lot of people seem to develop mental health when they have not done the right thing initially and it seems to come to the forefront when people start questioning their behaviour.
I'm not denying he has mental health issues, as I genuinely believe he has. But I also believe he plays the card too much as well. I've had depression, anxiety, at points in life and taken meds for it. As do other people I know. But nether they or myself, bring it to the front of every conversation. It's a way over played excuse these days in courts, high profile people when they stuff up, etc. To try and humanize themselves more, or make excuses for poor behaviors.

Whilst mental health can be an excuse, real issues are diluted by people overplaying the card. And it unfairly hurts those suffering real issues, as people will take them less seriously, or have their issues be ignored.

This is exactly why Connors went public with the redemption arc to his story after they were made aware that the club would seek to trade him a week or so ago. They wanted to get out ahead of the story and shape it in their favour so as to cast as wide a net as possible in their search of a landing place for their recalcitrant client.

Next, they will find a compliant media mouthpiece and ply him with stories of dastardly dealings by the club. That forced their client away from the game that he's loved since childhood. If they're really creative they can kill two birds with one stone and lay the entire sorry sagas fault at the feet of Lachie McNeil, Nathan Vandermeer or Luke Beverage.

Jamarra will return to the game and the arc will have bent reality enough that it will become a fully enclosed circle.

Blame shifting and obfuscation is crisis management and PR 101.

Its also how player managers really earn their money, between the easy days of hiding their clients in overseas (or local) rehabs, and money skimming contract negotiations.

I'm not denying he has mental health issues, as I genuinely believe he has. But I also believe he plays the card too much as well. I've had depression, anxiety, at points in life and taken meds for it. As do other people I know. But nether they or myself, bring it to the front of every conversation. It's a way over played excuse these days in courts, high profile people when they stuff up, etc. To try and humanize themselves more, or make excuses for poor behaviors.

Whilst mental health can be an excuse, real issues are diluted by people overplaying the card. And it unfairly hurts those suffering real issues, as people will take them less seriously, or have their issues be ignored.

There are so many examples of this as well.

Certain high profile footy figure screws up and they pin it on mental health, lay low for a bit and then climb back.

It's pathetic and you're right it diminishes those who have genuine mental health issues because what these high profile figures are doing they're treating it as a joke and a cover for s*** behaviour.

I don't have sympathy for Smith or Jamarra. They made their beds.

I think Jamarra’s downward spiral is evidence of his mental health issues, loss of motivation, is linked to depression.

I agree that sometimes the card gets played though.

Considering Marra has kept a low profile, aside from one podcast where he talked about his mental health, I don’t think he is over playing it. I also wonder what sort of messages he has been getting on social media, many people in the community, including some on here like to link his First Nations status as a characteristic of his decline.

I think Jamarra’s downward spiral is evidence of his mental health issues, loss of motivation, is linked to depression.

I agree that sometimes the card gets played though.

Take your point, but certainly not unmotivated to hit the nightclubs.

When you are hit really hard by depression, you don't want to get out of bed let alone leave the house.

Anyway. We'll see what happens with him.

This is exactly why Connors went public with the redemption arc to his story after they were made aware that the club would seek to trade him a week or so ago. They wanted to get out ahead of the story and shape it in their favour so as to cast as wide a net as possible in their search of a landing place for their recalcitrant client.

Next, they will find a compliant media mouthpiece and ply him with stories of dastardly dealings by the club. That forced their client away from the game that he's loved since childhood. If they're really creative they can kill two birds with one stone and lay the entire sorry sagas fault at the feet of Lachie McNeil, Nathan Vandermeer or Luke Beverage.

Jamarra will return to the game and the arc will have bent reality enough that it will become a fully enclosed circle.

Blame shifting and obfuscation is crisis management and PR 101.

Its also how player managers really earn their money, between the easy days of hiding their clients in overseas (or local) rehabs, and money skimming contract negotiations.

I think this was a game plan of Smith, but I have not seen any evidence that Jamarra has sunk to that level.

Considering Marra has kept a low profile, aside from one podcast where he talked about his mental health, I don’t think he is over playing it. I also wonder what sort of messages he has been getting on social media, many people in the community, including some on here like to link his First Nations status as a characteristic of his decline.
My post was in reply to people talking about Smith.

Not much sympathy for Smith on here that I have seen. Rightfully so too I might add.
This is about Smith first, then JUH

"...the 24-year-old has revealed his locker at the Cattery is adorned with powerful and emotive messages on mental strength.

“I am disciplined, I am fearless, I am confident, I am free,” one read. “I embrace pain, pressure and hardship.”

"...the 24-year-old has revealed his locker at the Cattery is adorned with powerful and emotive messages on mental strength.

“I am disciplined, I am fearless, I am confident, I am free,” one read. “I embrace pain, pressure and hardship.”
Sounds like Baz is overcompensating. Best to keep such mantra’s internal, unless you are a flog.

Seems like family and friends are really important to him, so I’m not convinced a move up there works out in the long-run. Also sounds like he won’t be a walk-up start in the 22, so it’ll take some effort, motivation and discipline to turn it around, all within an unfamiliar environment away from home.

When you are hit really hard by depression, you don't want to get out of bed let alone leave the house.
What? What a crazy blanket statement which isn't remotely true.

Heaps of people with depression go off the rails into a party lifestyle. Chasing a high through partying is seen as a way to escape that feeling, this then leads to comedowns/hangovers/tiredness which leads into feeling more depressed and the vicious cycle repeats.

Some comments in this thread are truly baffling.

pretty simple solution... get off social media

My brother suffers depression and he is a principal at a prestigious school and operates fine with help of medication.

He doesn't use it as an excuse for poor behaviour

That's excellent for your brother and I hope it continues that way whereby the medication has essentially proven a cure for his illness.

But in reality, there's dozens of different types of mental illnesses, that manifest in thousands of different ways, depending on the person. Not all cases/manifestations have a "magic pill" that cures everything.

Is 'I am delusional' up there as well?

What? What a crazy blanket statement which isn't remotely true.

Heaps of people with depression go off the rails into a party lifestyle. Chasing a high through partying is seen as a way to escape that feeling, this then leads to comedowns/hangovers/tiredness which leads into feeling more depressed and the vicious cycle repeats.

Some comments in this thread are truly baffling.
Baffling to you perhaps but everyone has their own truth.

Honestly and this Feels like an unpopular opinion around here.

I don’t want to see him in another teams colours, and I don’t want to see a redemption story elsewhere. I want him to redeem himself at our club, with our help. I almost look at it as our failure if we cast him aside as a “too hard” when other clubs wouldn’t. It’s a small club mentality.

Why can Geelong redeem all these “bad boys” and we can’t? Why can “Hardwick will set him straight” and we can’t? Why does this feel like to me that we are lumping this in the “too hard” basket.

I’ve gone into my own mental health struggles early in this thread, I hate seeing our supporters dig into a kid the way they have been and want to turf him for “stealing a wage”.

I know I am in the vast minority here but if it was upto me I’d be letting him start the year fresh with us next year.