Mega Thread The Media Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Lach72

That flog Sam maclure was having a dig at Clayton Oliver tonight about his contract and apparent interest in joining other clubs before re with the demons.
Ross responded by mentioning how just before he signed a 4 year deal at freo, Mundy was meeting with Hawthorn and sounding them out about a trade. They flew to Melbourne once and the day before the game Mundy was having lunch with the Hawks reps.
Ross’s point was that lots of players sound out their options.
if Cez is having lunch in a few weeks with Carltons list manager this board will go into meltdown 😂

Cerra to be sighted in Lygon Street, Vic media frenzy to follow !!!!.

Actually having a chat with an old school mate, before wandering off to lunch with Mark Brayshaw. They will discuss a surprise party in Perth for Andy. Never let the truth get in the way of a good story.

Anyone see Footy Classified last night?

Sam McClure called Collingwood a debacle in front of Eddie McGuire and things got very heated soon after. Poor Ross Lyon was sitting in between them too.

Hmmmm... if Eddie and McClure were both overboard and I only had one life preserver, who would I throw it to?

Answer: Neither. I’d use it as a seat cushion to make sure my ass didn’t hurt sitting while watching them swim swim swim. I despise racist Eddie with a passion and I can’t stand listening to Sam “footy was greater and players were tougher when I played the game” McClure. Ugh. The fact that these two still have jobs is an indication that the old boys network is alive and well in the AFL.

Hmmmm... if Eddie and McClure were both overboard and I only had one life preserver, who would I throw it to?

Answer: Neither. I’d use it as a seat cushion to make sure my ass didn’t hurt sitting while watching them swim swim swim. I despise racist Eddie with a passion and I can’t stand listening to Sam “footy was greater and players were tougher when I played the game” McClure. Ugh. The fact that these two still have jobs is an indication that the old boys network is alive and well in the AFL.

Are you getting Sam McClure mixed up with Mark McClure?

What further indicates the old boys network of which you refer to, is the inner favoritism, that resulted in Mr McClure being presented with the "Best News Reporter Award" at the AFL Media Association Awards!...and we all know that labelling an indigenous man "King Kong" is not nearly enough to waive your television presenting rights! Well done Channel 9, I'm so pleased we can have a blatantly racist presenter be the face of your mediocre quiz show!

Hahaha. Yes. I just realize that after I posted it.

Hahaha, I don't think Mr "I spend twenty five minutes of my morning routine on my hair" McClure has ever touched a Sherrin!

Sam McClure report of Adelaide's camp was worthy of a Walkley.

He's a decent journalist and has improved over time after he pulled himself in from being too opinionated early in his media career.

Anyone got the text to the Sean Darcy article on The West?
Looks like he’s come out and publicly called BS on Sumich’s claims he wants to go home 💪
Now if only AC would do the same...

Looks like he’s come out and publicly called BS on Sumich’s claims he wants to go home 💪

Mark duffield said on his podcast Darcy was on the rub down table getting a massage when someone told him about sumich comments wanting to go back to geelong. They had to restrain him apparently as wanted to go look for sumich and confront him he is absolutely filthy it the big fella.

Article in the quote below (thanks to VF on Freo subreddit)

Fremantle ruckman Sean Darcy has rejected claims he wants to return home and play for Geelong. Darcy, who is contracted to the Dockers until the end of 2022, said former Fremantle assistant coach Peter Sumich’s recent comments that he wanted to move to the Cats were “not true at all”.
Darcy has played 44 games in an injury-interrupted time at the club since he was taken from the Geelong Falcons with pick 38 in the 2016 national draft. The 22-year-old said he was enjoying being part of Fremantle’s emerging crop.
“We’ve got a really good group of boys and we’re really young and exciting and there’s a good vibe in the club. So I don’t know where he’s pulled that from,” Darcy said. “I grew up in Geelong, which is probably the only thing you can link. So that’s not true at all. I’m really happy with the group of boys that we’ve got.” Fremantle has invested a considerable amount of time and energy into Darcy’s development, with club great Aaron Sandilands taking him under his wing firstly as a senior teammate and then as ruck coach.
Darcy said he was yet to begin contract discussions with the Dockers, though he could become a higher priority if his superb outing against Hawthorn on Sunday is any indication. Darcy took five contested grabs inside 50 and kicked three goals, as well as impressing in the ruck with 10 hit-outs to advantage. He is set to retake the lead ruck role against Adelaide at Adelaide Oval on Sunday, with Lloyd Meek expected to be left out for returning forward/ruck Rory Lobb. Darcy said his focus was on remaining available. He has never played more than half of a 22-game season, though he did feature in 15 of Fremantle’s 17 games last year. “I’ve still got two years I think. I’ve still got this year and the end of the next year,” he said. “So I really just want to play footy. That’s my main goal. Play week in week out and build some fitness and keep performing better.”
Credit: Braden Quartermaine/The West

Any one got text for the west’s Bush and Burbs articles? Bit on Harley in there, be interesting to see how he’s going