Mega Thread The Media Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Lach72

We are already a pretty irrelevant footy club in the AFL world. But jeez I shudder to think how much more of a non entity we would be if we hadn’t drafted Nathan Fyfe in 2009.
Alongside Ross Lyon, they are about the only two people associated with our club to even register on the casual AFL fans radar.

Freo still not worthy
Beyond belief that we don’t get a single game on free to air TV in Melbourne. Even ****ing Gold Coast have had a couple of games recently! Every club should be given a certain amount of slots in the prime time fixtures. If you look at sports like the EPL, every team even newly promoted teams get some prime time games during the year.
Are there any NRL clubs that don’t get a look in? Is this only an AFL thing?
Travis Auld is the guy who does the AFL fixtures and is a massive Richmond fan. They get 8-10 prime time matches a season yet dockers can barely get one?
Garlick need to grow a pair of balls and demand some prime time TV games from the AFL. Just out of principle and fairness if nothing else.

Beyond belief that we don’t get a single game on free to air TV in Melbourne. Even ******* Gold Coast have had a couple of games recently! Every club should be given a certain amount of slots in the prime time fixtures. If you look at sports like the EPL, every team even newly promoted teams get some prime time games during the year.
Travis Auld is the guy who does the AFL fixtures and is a massive Richmond fan. They get 8-10 prime time matches a season yet dockers can barely get one?
Garlick need to grow a pair of balls and demand some prime time TV games from the AFL. Just out of principle and fairness if nothing else.
Since when has the AFL considered “principle and fairness” when making a decision? It’s all about $$$$s and the broadcasters provide most of that so they have the majority input into what games are put in high rating times.

Just get kayo, it's $25 a month, and you can watch what you like whenever you like.
I'm pretty sure you can get it for $5 a month if you have a Telstra mobile. At least that's what I think I am paying.

edit - that deal may have expired but look around and you might find it again or at least some savings. It was a $20 off per month deal for 12 months. So $5 for 2 screens or $15 for 3 screens simultaneously.

Just get kayo, it's $25 a month, and you can watch what you like whenever you like.

I have Kayo and recommend every sports fan get it, but it's still annoying to be systematically blacked out on national FTA. It affects things like the club's profile, desirability to sponsors, ability to pick up the occasional new fan, etc.

I do have it, because I’m an AFL Nerd not a casual footy fan. It’s not the point. We are disadvantaged by not getting any prime time games. It leads to less exposure and sponsorship opportunities for our players. They also tend to be undervalued when it comes to trades. Clubs like Richmond and Geelong can afford to pay the likes of Dusty and Dangerfield $300k or so less than they are really worth because they benefit from greater sponsorship opportunities due to being constantly exposed on Channel 7 every second Friday night.
Luke Ryan is an AA and one of the top defenders in the AFL. The vast majority of casual AFL fans have never even heard of the guy or seen him play. Yet fringe players from the big Melbourne sides like Kamdyn Macintosh or Jordan Clark are household names compared to Luke, or even Cerra, Brayshaw etc etc.

The power is with the consumer like never before, only going to get better too.
Use the power.
The more people switch off from mainstream media, the more irrelevant it becomes.
Bit like Freo, hahaha

I didn’t know he was doing all of this for us and getting absolutely nothing in return. My bad.

How dare people criticize the great Nat Fyfe, we’re only allowed to critique and say negative things about fringe players on here.

Fyfe is so perfect. He is so great. Great leader. Wonderful kick. Not selfish in front of goals at all. Doesn’t enjoy the attention from the cameras. Doesn’t care about his hair and appearance on the footy field. Teammates love him. The Best. Teammates enjoy sacrificing their game so he can not defend, they love it. Did I mention he was perfect?

Jesus Christ you don’t have to love the bloke but this is downright disrespectful.
What about him giving up his weekend to spend it with two Telethon Kids? The time he took to make sure Milly Lucas had some fantastic memories in her last months of life? The constant stream of draftees he takes into his home each year and the example he sets around preparation and professionalism? I could go on.

Seriously people stop bagging out our captain. He’s made a more meaningful contribution to our club and our society than most of you or I ever will so give it up please.

When is the last time Fyfe got in the head of an umpire? Not talking about milking frees, when did you ever see an umpire so scared of him that he gives us a few cheapies after Fyfe got in his head? Voss, Hodge, Selwood do/did it heaps.
Ahhh of course, because being a whining arrogant 8==D head to the umpires is what makes the best captains.... I'll remember that.

I didn’t know he was doing all of this for us and getting absolutely nothing in return. My bad.

How dare people criticize the great Nat Fyfe, we’re only allowed to critique and say negative things about fringe players on here.

Fyfe is so perfect. He is so great. Great leader. Wonderful kick. Not selfish in front of goals at all. Doesn’t enjoy the attention from the cameras. Doesn’t care about his hair and appearance on the footy field. Teammates love him. The Best. Teammates enjoy sacrificing their game so he can not defend, they love it. Did I mention he was perfect?

You can criticise anything you please about anyone, but at least have some valid reasoning so you don't sound mentally inept.
I find it unbelievable that anyone can have any idea as to how Fyfe is as a leader, can only guess, and my guess is if you cannot see the way he leads by example on the pitch then there is not much to say here. He attempts to smother every ball, he will take on and bring towards him every tackler and cop the contact to give other players the space. Will always back into a pack and put his body on the line. The ONE and literally only one thing that is a problem is his goal kicking.

But of course, he's not your blokey bloke man who cheap hits others in the play, whines to the ump when things don't go his way. Why can't he enjoy the cameras on him? Why can't he care about how he looks? Some stupid reasons to hate on a guy who has LITERALLY sacrificed personal glory (going to a premier team in his peak to win a grandy) to stay, take a pay cut, and lead our rabble of our club out of a rebuild and back into some form of success (hopefully), what a terrible example of a leader :rolleyes:

Ahhh of course, because being a whining arrogant 8==D head to the umpires is what makes the best captains.... I'll remember that.

You can criticise anything you please about anyone, but at least have some valid reasoning so you don't sound mentally inept.
I find it unbelievable that anyone can have any idea as to how Fyfe is as a leader, can only guess, and my guess is if you cannot see the way he leads by example on the pitch then there is not much to say here. He attempts to smother every ball, he will take on and bring towards him every tackler and cop the contact to give other players the space. Will always back into a pack and put his body on the line. The ONE and literally only one thing that is a problem is his goal kicking.

But of course, he's not your blokey bloke man who cheap hits others in the play, whines to the ump when things don't go his way. Why can't he enjoy the cameras on him? Why can't he care about how he looks? Some stupid reasons to hate on a guy who has LITERALLY sacrificed personal glory (going to a premier team in his peak to win a grandy) to stay, take a pay cut, and lead our rabble of our club out of a rebuild and back into some form of success (hopefully), what a terrible example of a leader :rolleyes:
I beg to differ..he is known for a cheap hit behind play when he is getting frustrated. Not that I mind so much.

In a interview with Robert Murphy on Fox years ago. Luke Ryan (I think) challenged him to name his teammates and couldn’t. It came from Fyfe’s own mouth.

Try YouTube.

so you quote an interview, then say you don’t know and to you tube it.
You brought it up, you find it so support the crap you’re pedaling.

2012 Lol.

This was 2 years ago. Nice try.

try YouTube ;)

None of us could possibly know.

Bang on.

Beyond belief that we don’t get a single game on free to air TV in Melbourne. Even ******* Gold Coast have had a couple of games recently! Every club should be given a certain amount of slots in the prime time fixtures. If you look at sports like the EPL, every team even newly promoted teams get some prime time games during the year.
I wonder how much influence the broadcasters have in the fixture?

I beg to differ..he is known for a cheap hit behind play when he is getting frustrated. Not that I mind so much.
He absoutely polaxed Coniglo in the home GWS game last year whilst we were getting a 🛀. Got him a beauty. Not sure if it was on camera as I was there and if you recall the game you'll understand why I never got round to watching the replay.

Being a supporter is frustrating enough. Imagine being a dual Brownlow winning captain of them..🤣

fu** off Kingy. Have a ******* sook mate.
that is actually a problem, once kingy has decided his stance on a team, he can get very vocal about (brad scott says hi). The fox footy boys also believe hes some sort of tactical genius. I wish it weren't so but i expect tom morris and co to start getting very disappointed in freo.

I wouldn't worry about it. We got about 10 minutes in the Vic media after the Derby. They don't talk about us unless we are doing something drastic.

[/QUOTE]

NRL or more importantly channel 9 who choose their FTA has Brisbane broncos on every friday night for the qld audience. So everyone in NSW had to sit through a garbage broncos team on prime time every week for 18 months. Happens every year they get 20 Friday or thursday night games

Popular top 4 Sydney teams get probably 15 out of 24 games on FTA.

Out of Sydney teams like canberra, new zealand newcastle and north Queensland might get 3 or 4. But they do try to give nearly everyone at least one friday or thursday night home game a season except the warriors due to time zone difference in another country.

We are already a pretty irrelevant footy club in the AFL world. But jeez I shudder to think how much more of a non entity we would be if we hadn’t drafted Nathan Fyfe in 2009.
Alongside Ross Lyon, they are about the only two people associated with our club to even register on the casual AFL fans radar.

Imagine if Fyfe had been drafted by the team he barracked for growing up. Richmond chose some dud, then very next pick he ends up with us. I wonder how much he thinks about what could have been.