The morning after......positive/s

• Thread starter Thread starter gokangas

I don't feel any better after that insipid performance but I've stopped screaming at the TV.

Positives:
Atley shows plenty. Hard at it, very evasive, quality kid.
Patch is having a ripper year.
Boomer never gives up.
Wellsy ripper first half.
Harper has the skills
Azza having a golden spell
Delaney - baptism of fire but not embarassed

Negatives:
Hansen - I've been trying not to hate but lost patience now.
Wellsy - ordinary second half when we really needed him.
Thommos brain fade
Spud looks right off the boil

I know fade outs are a regular thing for young teams but I can't cop losing games that we almost had won. We threw this one away. Umps were very costly to us - no doubt. But we were in a position to win and had a terrible loss.

Keep the faith boys. We will rebound and are certainties against the swannies.:confused:

Positive -
The fire that was evident from Bon. Less carrot more stick.

We get a chance next week to show some pride against a side that has the wood on us.

Negative -
We lost because of failure to convert, this is the issue and it's becoming regular.

It is likely that our inconsistency will continue for a while yet.

That was worse than the Richmond loss, partially because it wasn't all our fault. I've just watched the footage of the Black throw. How can two field umpires, one midfield and one forward, miss that??? Had it been paid a free kick to us, we have a chance to take it down the other end and score.

So that's my first positive: we will likely never face umpiring that bad again.

The other positives:
1. Didn't see the game and won't be watching the replay, but I gather Car Keys showed the same form we saw in the pre-season and might be on target for a rookie elevation for next year
2. The usual suspects (Swallow, Harvey, Adams, Wells (yes - Wells) ) continue to play well, albeit it sounds like they weren't as sharp as usual.
3. Azza still playing well. Same with Petrie.
4. Atley has arrived by the sounds of it.

Negatives, too many to mention but I am now off the "stick with Lachie" wagon. He needs to be dropped and start tearing it up in the VFL before he comes back. Maybe he's still sore from the Port game, not sure.

For me, he's the only obvious one that needs to be dropped, purely looking at the numbers.

For the rest, I'll leave it up to the selectors, but surely we play Pederson, Tarrant and McKinley, which means a few talls will have to go.

Positives:

Delaney - Brown kicked 1 on him
Atley - will be a jet, he looks composed
Cunnington - best game by far for NMFC
Patch - 2 rippers in a row
Thompson - In form if you forget the 1 brain fade
Rawlings - enormous, will play 300. If only his team mates cared as much

Negatives:

Spud - needs a spell, struggles defensively and got caught or butchered it repeatedly
Hansen - Needs some serious coaching in the 2's re how to get involved
Forward structure - great in the 1st half, impossible to fathom from then on. Where was everyone when we went inside 50?
Brad Scott, our forward coach, forward pressure - no tackles inside 50 on a wet night when we dominated?

Interesting observation I made on Wells in the second half, ball left our half forward line in the usual direction around the wing. Wells on the opposite forward flank jogs back toward our half back line. He is the only player on this side of the ground, so a turnover meant he would have got an easy uncontested possession if it were kicked to him. I watched him rather then the ball and he jogged back, nothing unusual about that. It was obvious that the ball would reach our backline.
What eventuated was a one on one contest 30m out from goal with the wet ball slipping to ground. Wells was just outside the 50 arc. 20-30 meters away from the contest in no mans land (effortless possession if we win it).
Result lions cumbers, fumble, pick up and score.

Take Wells out and replace him with anyone hard working and they would have ran at 75% in the same line as wells and got to that contest, maintained possession.......
BTW Pratt is a hack who would be playing VFL in any top 8 side.
Seriously what qualities was Zeibel picked at before Rich? Hard player (so was Daniel Harris), but his peripheral awareness will prevent him from being that gun.

Positive -
The fire that was evident from Bon. Less carrot more stick.

We get a chance next week to show some pride against a side that has the wood on us.

Negative -
We lost because of failure to convert, this is the issue and it's becoming regular.

It is likely that our inconsistency will continue for a while yet.

This. Keep playing Atley and Harper. They have what we are missing.

1,thommo has his mojo back

2,delaney good debut,

3,atley continues to show glimpses of the future

4,new jumper should be our clash jumper,end of story

5,brad scott actually dragged someone and gave them a blast after a stupid act

6,drew continues to improve after horror foot injuries,only baby steps though

Positives...

We lost out third close game for the year, just think about it...

We will finish down the ladder and be a better side than that and we'll get shot at another decent footballer. We're developing a very decent spine imo

We were missing Grima, McIntosh, Bastinac ,Greenwood, Wright, Lower, Campbell after retiring Jones,Harding and trading Hale.

Atley looks all class and "Keys" could just be that big back we've missed since Micky Marytn. And we've got big Drew at the other end, not a bad set of bookends if you ask me.

Negatives...

with 8 seconds to go in the 2nd qtr Pratt tried a dinky pass to Swallow which ended with Black missing a pretty easy chance.Surely we could have someone positioned behind the goals that could tell the "kicker there's no time left and bomb it long? I mean a two-way radio aint expensive.

Garlett he was shocking once he got on the park,had no run WTF was that about?

Would've been nice to win, but seriously the bigger picture is what Scott's about.

Positives:
-Atley, Delaney, Cunnington and Ziebell's first half
-Adams and Swallow's heart, never stop trying
-Goldtsein's first half
-Edwards
-Petrie slowing working back into it

Negatives:
-Bon's activation of the sub
- Rawlings, Pratt, McMahon and Firrito's turnovers coming out of the backline
-Converison deplorable again
-Hearing about how good Brown was, even though he was gifted two goals.

Seriously what qualities was Zeibel picked at before Rich? Hard player (so was Daniel Harris), but his peripheral awareness will prevent him from being that gun.

-Ziebell's had two broken legs
-Rich hasn't even been injured (iirc)

still boiling over woeful second half.
POSITIVES

Car keys was good till the real pressure hit-definelty
will be good going forward.
Swallow -Adams-tried guts out.
Petrie considering no preparation was super.
Atley and Harper-our future

NEGATIVES
Backs no run or poise at all looked like bunnies in head lights
Never put a team away had to put sword to them in second quarter
and we thought we were home{should have been}
Crumming goals no one looked likely 4 throw ins in forward
pocket never looked like getting the ball.
LT-missed goals story of year-surely Wells Boomer can run past and finish
the job-must learn to kick straight.
OVER + OUT
DIGBY

Positives...

We will finish down the ladder and be a better side than that and we'll get shot at another decent footballer. We're developing a very decent spine imo

We were missing Grima, McIntosh, Bastinac ,Greenwood, Wright, Lower, Campbell after retiring Jones,Harding and trading Hale.

Atley looks all class and "Keys" could just be that big back we've missed since Micky Marytn. And we've got big Drew at the other end, not a bad set of bookends if you ask me.

Negatives...

with 8 seconds to go in the 2nd qtr Pratt tried a dinky pass to Swallow which ended with Black missing a pretty easy chance.Surely we could have someone positioned behind the goals that could tell the "kicker there's no time left and bomb it long? I mean a two-way radio aint expensive.

Would've been nice to win, but seriously the bigger picture is what Scott's about.

Your crazy mate. The game was already gone they had the momentum. Pretty hard to do anything in just 10 minutes of footy after sitting on the bench in te freezing cold for 2 and a half hours. he needs to play full game but i guess brad scott will never let him.

Speight as the sub last week: 7 touches & a goal

Positive:
We will get a very high draft pick because we will finish around 14th/15th.

Negative:
We will get a very high draft pick because we will finish around 14th/15th.

Positives...

Negatives...

Good one. In a lot of games, you feel we are playing very badly, but we are still fairly close to winning. We are not that far off & improving. This will be an interim year.

Garlett should be playing from the first bounce and not a sub...again.He has dominated the 2's.

Hard to work out what that was about last night.
If ever there were conditions made for Cruize, who is low to the ground and no speedster, it appeared to be last night.
And when he came on the game was all but done and it was impossible for him to get into it.

I'm not a huge fan of Hansen but last night was not a marking forward's game.
Atley is a positive. His disposal needs a little work but his possesions and evasion in traffic are quality.

Pratt is a huge negative. His dumb mistakes and aggression are costing us week after week.

Speight as the sub last week: 7 touches & a goal

Garlett played one quarter against Freo as a sub and got 12 touches.
Hes not a sub player tho hes way to good for VFL he needs to play full games every week in order to be effective, not 1 full games then 10 minutes the next and then dropped to next week its just disheartening the kid who we all know is a really good player if he was able to play a actual game of football.

Three positives for me:

- It's round 9 in 'the season from hell' but only two of our defeats have been truly shameful, three if you count West Coast
- The main reason we lose games is skills and fitness, two things that can be fixed on the track
- Our debutants are kick @rse

Positives

- Edwards, Thomas and Petrie were all good.

- The kids were all good until the predictable drop off. Especially Cunners early and Speighty.

- Goldy is well and truly in line for the best young ruckman in the comp.

- Brady, Hunter, Spud and Car Keys were all good.

Negatives

- Team balance yet again.

- Shit tactics.

- Woeful umpiring again followed by another meek response from the club.

First time I've had a chance to post since coming back from Brisbane today. A terrible amount of rubbish being written on here IMO.

It may have seemed different from the TV but from where I sat at the ground we had a decent crack in very tough conditions and were not "insipid". Brisbane were maniac desperate from the first bounce for their first win and the game could have gone either way.

We are not at the standard yet as a side when you can lock games like this in as a certain win. Where we are at the minute, with the conditions and with Brown coming back in for them this was probably a 50/50 game. And so it panned out and they got over the line.

Not a great night to be sure but hardly the end of the freaking world.

Speight, Atley and Harper all showed plenty I thought.