The most comprehensive Ablett video ever produced

• Thread starter Thread starter footscore

2nd. First sounds like Genesis outtakes.

Best Thread ever!

"Ablett!"
an_worship.gif

He still looked incredibly quick and strong in 96, still had a decent leap and was comfortably making the distance from 50 out. A freak.

Bobby,
Thank you so much for filling in the gaps for me and piecing together the career of the most freakish footballer of all time. Ablett was my childhood hero, and for me being born in 87 i didn't live the rise of gary ablett, but was fortunate enough to see most Geelong home games as a kid. As Gazza settled down forward. As the years went by I relied heavily on his highlight reel and pieces from old Geelong videos. So for me it was really a jump from 89 to 93 (one special season). But now I have a greater understanding from his brief retirement in 91.
Mid last year I decided to put together my own Ablett video but didn't get very far in finding out what you had began putting up on youtube. I thought how can i compete with this with all your special effects, background music etc. So you saved me a lot of time, the only thing i had to worry about was checking youtube daily for a upload. When i starting reading this discussion, "The most comprehensive Ablett video ever produced" i thought maybe i could help out with some i my videos i recorded as a 9yr-old. So i hope in some way i able to help finalize your conclusion with his 1000 goals and retirement.
In conclusion i am so grateful for all the work that has gone into putting the video together and sharing with everyone because people soon forget how good 'The Great Man' really was.
Thanks heaps, Cheers Brad.​

oh cheers guys :)

appreciate it but as I said earlier, it's been a team project with quite a few who helped out, the effects were the easy stuff but finding the vids was tough part and it wouldn't have worked if others didn't chip in.

Brad your welcome mate :thumbsu:

I'll be sure to re-upload an alternate ending when I come across some rare stuff as a few of those marks and goals haven't been featured before and was good to add them to the ending highlights.
But yeh, what a freak he was....even in 96, that awesome ability to constantly stay in the contest even when he'd go for a big mark is what made him such a deadly player, seemed to be the first to go up in the air...be the last to drop back down to earth and still be able to get to the footy when it hit the ground.

so I often come across Geelong videos which I rip, edit and store on the comp.
Have been compiling another Snr highlights reel, basically similar to the other one over on YouTube which runs for an hour.
This one will be entirely different footage, most of the stuff I don't think has been seen.

Seeings this is a thread dedicated to the best player that ever played the game, I thought we could post highlights or ask for highlights in particular

With the highlights reel I update, it can't exactly be loaded to YouTube yet because it's constantly getting updated with earlier footage from games he played dating back to his days at Hawthorn.

so I often come across Geelong videos which I rip, edit and store on the comp.
Have been compiling another Snr highlights reel, basically similar to the other one over on YouTube which runs for an hour.
This one will be entirely different footage, most of the stuff I don't think has been seen.

Seeings this is a thread dedicated to the best player that ever played the game, I thought we could post highlights or ask for highlights in particular

With the highlights reel I update, it can't exactly be loaded to YouTube yet because it's constantly getting updated with earlier footage from games he played dating back to his days at Hawthorn.
you deserve a medal. thank you

Bobby_ I think you should stick to shorter montages. They generally are far more popular on YouTube as people can browse over them quickly. I loved your old top ten mark/goal clips.

I have categorized the videos into 10 minute blocks starting from early in his career until the 1992 season because from 1993 onwards, most of us already have those highlights.

Some of the footage is News highlights though which is annoying as they contain narration.
Quite a lot of interviews have been recovered as well.

there are 3 marks that i can think of, that i've never seen since they happened and i was wondering if you managed to track them down.

The greatman took a huge grab over Paul Brown and Phil Egan in 1990 against the tiges(the day he kicked 12 at the G).

I also remember a massive one-handed hang he took over Stewart Loewe

The last one i recall is a mark he took in the goalsquare, city end at KP against the Swannies. Derrick Kickett had one arm and Troy Gray had the other arm and were trying to rip the Greatman in two, yet the big unit still managed to take the chest mark.
Stand up and take a bow
you have given me the best chrissy present ever!!!

Not only did you find the 3 marks i was hoping to see again but you managed to find a few hidden gems that i have never seen before. I have never seen the reverse angle of the grab over Sean Wight and i've never seen that huge leap against North.

With all these new highlights you keep finding are there plans to update the 4 parts you have on youtube, if so i think i might have footage tucked away of Gaz receiving the Leigh Matthews Medal on the Footy Show.

Stand up and take a bow
you have given me the best chrissy present ever!!!

Not only did you find the 3 marks i was hoping to see again but you managed to find a few hidden gems that i have never seen before. I have never seen the reverse angle of the grab over Sean Wight and i've never seen that huge leap against North.

With all these new highlights you keep finding are there plans to update the 4 parts you have on youtube, if so i think i might have footage tucked away of Gaz receiving the Leigh Matthews Medal on the Footy Show.

no probs mate :)

Yes, I am putting together another Snr package, it will be like the other one which ended up on the internet about 10 years ago (the bootleg highlights reel).
It will run for around 80-90 minutes but I am trying to track down and show only relatively new stuff, some of the highlights we will have seen before but most of it will be from games most of us haven't seen for many, many years.

One of the videos I edited yesterday was the 92 state game. Great highlights which I had never seen before for some reason

I'll be sure to let you know when I have the first portion of his career ready for viewing on YouTube.

If anyone else has Snr videos, please join in and share :thumbsu: