dools911

Lakers Bell Park
I got so nervous in the final 2 minutes. Pavlich hitting the post. full congratulations to Fremantle who played a terrific game but Geelong too good in the end.

2nd most exciting win since that game that I think was against Carlton and Peter Riccardi kicked a goal on the siren.

Go Cats!!!!!

Seriously I reckon I've never seen Bomber happier (including after the GF win). He was absolutely pumped at half time and after the game.

A bit of rivalry with his old mate I reckon. Apparently they're having dinner after the game!

I need to have an Ice bath...

One of our best wins ever...

we played about 20 minutes...

Bwhahahahaha, good on ya. Christ, give credit where its due. You were hit hard by a committed side and you pinched it, yes pinched it by a point.

As far as i could see Geelong played every minute of the game. Maybe, just maybe the unbeatable is???

As for one of your best wins ever? Yeh, right:rolleyes:

I'm infuriated TBH.

Pavlich kicked 5 goals, every single one on Harry Taylor. It's amazing considering Scarlett played on him for most of the match, and didn't concede one, yet when he's off him because of stupid decisions by the coaching staff he kicks 5. Pavlich didn't get one clean touch on Scarlett accept the last mark which was unstoppable considering the kick, but ultimately it refelcts badly on Scarlo. Really, really annoying when this happens.

I'd almost have Scarlett in the votes for his defence, he didn't get beaten in a 50/50 once. But the papers tommorow will be saying how he had 5 kicked on him and was crap.

Lesson learned Geelong, Taylor is NOT capable of playing on elite forwards of that calibre and as long as Scarlett is there he should be on them always.

Lucky his mark will save him from an otherwise poor night.

Freo lost the unloseable once again, but credit to them they played the better footy for most of the night. Cats have to step up.

I wouldn't be too down on Harry, it was good coaching by Freo that put him in that position. He's not up to it but I wouldn't expect him to be, and with the space we gave the Freo midfield at times I doubt Scarlett would have done a lot better in some instances.

WOW Freo can come out and play when they want to.

But how good was sanderlands :eek: OMG that bloke was awesome, Him and Bell ripped us apart IMO, and the Pav well 5 goals what can you say about that, The guy is a deadset gun, anyway happy to win havent had a game like that for awhile, Kind of made me look back to the prelim Vs the Pies, Which is probaly a good compliment to Freo, They will be happy with there efforts, a few less rushed behinds and a goal (insteed of poster) from Pav, and we would be sitting here with our hands in our heads saying "WTF".

Also i was very very far off the mark with my tip, I was only off by 59 points LOL !!!

A gutsy win, if ever there was one.

We played shite and yet we won, there's the definition of being happy to get the four points.

Sandilands dominated in the ruck, Freo had everything got their way for most of the match and yet we got the FOUR points. VERY happy with that. Go Catters!!!

P.S. Thank God we had a crap 2006 and six clubs passed over on Joel Selwood:D

WOW Freo can come out and play when they want to.

But how good was sanderlands :eek: OMG that bloke was awesome, Him and Bell ripped us apart IMO, and the Pav well 5 goals what can you say about that, The guy is a deadset gun, anyway happy to win havent had a game like that for awhile, Kind of made me look back to the prelim Vs the Pies, Which is probaly a good compliment to Freo, They will be happy with there efforts, a few less rushed behinds and a goal (insteed of poster) from Pav, and we would be sitting here with our hands in our heads saying "WTF".

Also i was very very far off the mark with my tip, I was only off by 59 points LOL !!!

Exactly why I was nervous before the game - Freo are a really, really good side when they are on! They were really well coached tonight too.

I have to say that Sandi played one of the best games by a ruckman I've ever seen, but Blake let him. Like I said a couple of weeks ago, it doesn't matter if Blake doesn't win the tap, as long as his opponent doesn't either. Blake let him take it out of the ruck far too often.

I wouldn't be too down on Harry, it was good coaching by Freo that put him in that position. He's not up to it but I wouldn't expect him to be, and with the space we gave the Freo midfield at times I doubt Scarlett would have done a lot better in some instances.

I'm not trying to make Harry out to be a hack, he's a kid, but ultimately him conceding 5 to Pavlich reflects badly on Scarlett, and it shouldn't have happened. The coaching staff obviously had confidence that they could back Taylor in and allow Scarlett some freedom closer to goal. Pav had 4 in a flash so Scarlett was moved to him, but then to start the 4th the coaches did the same thing, identifying that they weren't generating enough run so Taylor went back to Pavlich and gave up his 5th. :mad:

Scarlett did do better. He and Pav were isolated a number of times with a rampaging Freo bearing down and Scarlett accounted for him every time. 2 of Taylor's goals were from 1-on-1's, and the other two were from Taylor losing him in traffic, it had nothing to do with a dominating Freo midfield, just rookie defensive mistakes.

Taylor will learn but it just gets me angry is all. Sometimes our defence can rotate a little too often than is neccessary :(

I'm infuriated TBH.

Lesson learned Geelong, Taylor is NOT capable of playing on elite forwards of that calibre and as long as Scarlett is there he should be on them always.

Lucky his mark will save him from an otherwise poor night.

Are you a glass half empty type of person?
Harry Taylor has shown a lot in his 5 games for the cats this season and nobody could've stopped Pav with the delivery he was getting in the first half. Taylor will be cornerstone that the backline will be built upon once Scarlett retires, the kid is a gun, cut him some slack ffs.

To be honest, i have never seen Geelong win a game with that level of control by the opposition. Played maybe 30 minutes of great footy where they kicked 12 of their 13 goals. Amazing to escape with the points, and it was only luck that pavlich's shot hit the post. It may be almost a reverse of the Geelong Adelaide game at K.P in 2002, when Geelong outplayed Adealide everywhere, kicking 12.18.90 to lose to Adelaide who kicked an eye defying 15.3.93.

A total win against the odds, and the sort of win that one will see often by say a Carlton, a Hawthorn or a West Coast of the 80's or 90's, the ones where the lower team strives might and main to win, but fall agonizingly short. Geelong is now that side that can win the close ones......although my heart can't take too many of those ones. Freo were excellent, and may take heart in that if they play like that in any other game, they should win all the time.

Well that was highway robbery on our behalf. Very lucky overall, combined with some stellar individual performances.

Intensity was down for long periods, no chase in the legs or running through the lines. Wide open spaces like Subiaco, we should have creamed them.

Think I heard Joel Corey say they were a bit flat from having flown over the day before. Maybe the club needs to reassess things when travelling to Perth and get over there early in the week.

All opponents need to be paid respect, and in both this game and the Melbourne one I don't think it was given until it was almost too late.

How Peter Bell, at his age, got that many touches against us is beyond me.

Perhaps the tough effort against the Swans as well told on the players. All of our usual prime movers Ablett, Bartel, Ling, were a bit down, and several players were off with their disposals, Freo's pressure was always there. Genuine escape act, and they can take stock this week and refocus. Great to win though, i can nominate numerous defeats by a point or two in the West that have been agonizing, but a win is a win. Amazing to come away with the four points.

Are you a glass half empty type of person?
Harry Taylor has shown a lot in his 5 games for the cats this season and nobody could've stopped Pav with the delivery he was getting in the first half. Taylor will be cornerstone that the backline will be built upon once Scarlett retires, the kid is a gun, cut him some slack ffs.

No, no. Taylor is a great talent who I'm very impressed with.

I'm just pissed about how his showing will refelct on Scarlett, and the stupid coaching decisions that were made. That's the point I'm trying to make. I don't intend to bag the hell out of Taylor, Taylor is a kid and he's entitled to a bad game nothing wrong with that. Pav wouldn't have kicked 5 if Scarlett was on him from start to finish, which is the way it should have been.

Taylor will learn, be better for it and he will be a star of the future and key player for us.

Dave i can only assume he's keeping himself fresh for the Tiges........oh how true this could be...:(

Well, that will be the big game. Pity we can't all meet up like last years match, which in retrospect was the birth of the Geelong we all now know and love. Gotta thank your Tigers for this!!

No, no. Taylor is a great talent who I'm very impressed with.

I'm just pissed about how his showing will refelct on Scarlett, and the stupid coaching decisions that were made. That's the point I'm trying to make. I don't intend to bag the hell out of Taylor, Taylor is a kid and he's entitled to a bad game nothing wrong with that. Pav wouldn't have kicked 5 if Scarlett was on him from start to finish, which is the way it should have been.

Taylor will learn, be better for it and he will be a star of the future and key player for us.

Gotcha :thumbsu:

I dont know if ever ive seen Blake get thrashed like that in the ruck ever. Maybe it was just Sandilands playing the game of his life but it was just terrifying every time it was a centre bounce. Ottens, please, be fit soon!!

Couldn't agree more.

I didn't expect Blake to win but for his opponent to be the leader in clearances isn't a good sign for his future as an AFL ruckman.