VFL The North VFL Thread

You’d think only Harvey & Hardeman put their hand up for selection this week.

Probably Goad’s best game.

the rest of them really only had ‘moments’. Happy to see Whitlock get more of the footy though.
banch showed signs also but not enough over all 4 quarters

but yeah harvey and hardeman the standouts today

Has been fine today. Don’t get the constant criticisms.
Yeah just chud kicking into pinks competition for a promotion.
Did the same with Phillips v Powell.

I don’t think clarko reads your bullshit mate.

**** me. They are plucking free kicks from nowhere in the last quarter for Geelong.
Just warming up for dangerflog falling over in the afl

Didn’t see a lot of the last qrt.

Until then

Goad - cant wait to see him partner up with X next year. 19 touches, 8 clearances, 2 contested marks and a goal, against an afl standard ruckman (albeit getting on in age). Clearly not ready yet, but he’s come so far. Great signs

Hards - looked a little shaky early but started to get that overall run and long kicking going. Should be a real weapon at afl level. He’s really the only guy that does this that can also kick it 60m.

Whitlock - didn’t see the missed set shots in the last. I’m totally confused as to how he’s going. On paper 2.3 for a young skinny kpf is great. But his marking is a concern for me. As is his on passive leading (not sure how he got his shots on goal in the last).

Until then

Goad - cant wait to see him partner up with X next year. 19 touches, 8 clearances, 2 contested marks and a goal, against an afl standard ruckman (albeit getting on in age). Clearly not ready yet, but he’s come so far. Great signs

Hards - looked a little shaky early but started to get that overall run and long kicking going. Should be a real weapon at afl level. He’s really the only guy that does this that can also kick it 60m.

Whitlock - didn’t see the missed set shots in the last. I’m totally confused as to how he’s going. On paper 2.3 for a young skinny kpf is great. But his marking is a concern for me. As is his on passive leading (not sure how he got his shots on goal in the last).
Think goad could easily play against Freo and match up on cox who is a statue

He could play but he’d get destroyed in the ruck by Jackson or cox.

Theres no rush. If he plays a game I hope it’s against a similarly aged ruckman. Ironically today against Edwards would have been perfect imo.

Until then

I get the criticisms of Whitlock’s marking, but he is 19 and his brother has definitely dropped quite a few marks himself.

Definitely seems more a defender, but a forward’s education doesn’t hurt.

I get the criticisms of Whitlock’s marking, but he is 19 and his brother has definitely dropped quite a few marks himself.

Definitely seems more a defender, but a forward’s education doesn’t hurt.

I think Matt moves better than Jack, but jacks hands are a level above Matt. Which we knew when we drafted him

He could play but he’d get destroyed in the ruck by Jackson or cox.

Theres no rush. If he plays a game I hope it’s against a similarly aged ruckman. Ironically today against Edwards would have been perfect imo.
Collingwood would be perfect. Absolutely monstered Steene last time they played against each other.

Actually that’s the thing Steene looks great. I’m sure Goad would look fine in like 30-40% game time. It’s just up to as of right now does he add more than Darling? Especially since Trembath has been so good as second ruck.

Collingwood would be perfect. Absolutely monstered Steene last time they played against each other.

Actually that’s the thing Steene looks great. I’m sure Goad would look fine in like 30-40% game time. It’s just up to as of right now does he add more than Darling? Especially since Trembath has been so good as second ruck.

Another thing with goad is he doesn’t seem to have the leap that your stein’s, Trembaths, etc have. Maybe it’s a timing thing?

Yeah just chud kicking into pinks competition for a promotion.
Did the same with Phillips v Powell.

I don’t think clarko reads your bullshit mate

****, you're such a massive flog.

I post objective observations, good and bad, for pretty much all of our players. A good observation about Hardeman doesn't mean I hate Tom Blamires, and a bad observation about Dawson doesn't mean it's because I love Toby Pink.

Stop being a w***er.

****, you're such a massive flog.

I post objective observations, good and bad, for pretty much all of our players. A good observation about Hardeman doesn't mean I hate Tom Blamires, and a bad observation about Dawson doesn't mean it's because I love Toby Pink.

Stop being a w***er.
I support the nmfc - you should try it some time

Clearly he's part of the future, but you're the pissed one if you think he deserves to be in the best 23 on current form and recent health
haha we’ve got the worst run and carry backline in the comp and the one bloke who actually runs and carries is lamenting in the twos, but thanks for your opinion anyways Clarko 👍

Another thing with goad is he doesn’t seem to have the leap that your stein’s, Trembaths, etc have. Maybe it’s a timing thing?
Timing and experience, but his pace is his biggest weapon. Same goes with his forward work. Time and effort experience.

Someone always talks him down in comparison to another defender.

"Always talks him down".

Sure.

Nah, you're right. I'm being unfair.

Wil Dawson's 7 disposals and 2 marks and multiple goals conceded today was excellent. He was good.

But Toby Pink's 16 disposals and 8 marks and only 1 goal conceded was average today.

Anyone suggesting otherwise is clearly pushing an agenda. Right.

haha we’ve got the worst run and carry backline in the comp and the one bloke who actually runs and carries is lamenting in the twos, but thanks for your opinion anyways Clarko 👍
I know Daniel and Lmac have been ok this year and probably Daniel the last few has been good but they’re limited.
Stiffy matches both on every metric except for stat padding

"Always talks him down".

Sure.

Nah, you're right. I'm being unfair.

Wil Dawson's 7 disposals and 2 marks and multiple goals conceded today was excellent. He was good.

But Toby Pink's 16 disposals and 8 marks and only 1 goal conceded was average today.

Anyone suggesting otherwise is clearly pushing an agenda. Right.
Nobody believes you when you say stuff like this.

Its like everything you do is pushing an agenda.

Nobody believes you when you say stuff like this.

Its like everything you do is pushing an agenda.
I'm not the one pushing an agenda here and trying to argue Pink was "average at best" today.

I only watched from the middle of the third to halfway through the fourth, and **** me, it appears that the tackling rules have changed. The female umpire penalised pretty much every tackle we made that was about to lead to a turnover.

From what I saw, Whitlock looked pretty good, just didn't convert his chances.