Resource The 'not worthy of a thread of its own' thread

I thought there was the fairy tale story that he was plucked from south Barwon on Scarlett’s recommendation?
South Barwon to our VFL team, and then from our VFL team he was picked up in the ND

Nah. I get what you are saying, but this is a massive bully mentality.

Like, my brother is autistic and had issues with walking as a kid. He was bullied in school, but according to everyone (including the school) it was his fault because "if you have falling outs with everybody..."

Just because it is a group of people against one, does not mean the group is correct.

Obviously, Scarlo is a flog. Of course I am thankful for what he did for the club, but his reputation is well known.

I'm not defending him at all--I am simply shedding a light on why this mentality is actually a really toxic one.

So, anyway, I stalked the Melbourne board and had the best laugh at that deranged Tiger supporter trying to get Melbourne fans to agree with his conspiracy theories. The Melbourne supporters shut him down with such class. One of them even used the word nous. It was the cherry on top of an incredible win seeing a Tigers nutter have a sook and getting shut down with such brilliance. Delicious.
The situation with children in a group pile on is a pretty different case, though. Scarlett is a powerful man with a lot of natural respect through his status in the game, that’s pretty different.

Just looking back over the years...
Are there current players or recent retirees who remind you of previous players, in any way possible?

Just a few that spring to my mind-

JACK HENRY.... LEIGH COLBERT... similar courage and versatility and fearless marking.

TOM ATKINS.... MAX ROOKE...similar kamikaze attitude and impact

JOEL SELWOOD...GARRY HOCKING...fearless, desperate, skilled and tough

Absolutely no idea what thread to put this in given it covers multiple things. After Thursday's win I saw a comment elsewhere (CC: Jatz ) on the site about how we'll likely lose in a PF again and we're a flirt. Didn't know whether to respond with a raging answer of **** off or similar, to say so what or to make a cheap pot-shot at that person's club. Then reading our post-game one of my least liked fellow fans dismisses the win as 'so what we all know how September goes'.. Virtually signalling getting no enjoyment from watching us play. And that person was rightly taken to task by some for that line of thinking, but to be fair among our 60k+ members and many thousand's more fans I doubt he'd be alone in that sentiment.

Lastly I saw a youtube clip of an 1116 SEN conversation between David King and Kane Cornes (neither of whom I listen to often). They discuss the Melbourne game, but then us as a club more broadly. Which brings us back to the first comment I saw about us losing in another PF as they ask about our upcoming finals series.

King talks about us taking risks. We as a club and team are happy to risk not being good enough in order to strive to be good enough, which ties in with the ethos Wells/Cook/Carter/Costa have all touched on in the past - not needing what the AFL industry would deem a traditional rebuild. And year after year this happens. Lonergan recently praised us (biased I know) because we always put ourselves in a position to compete and to contend. Leigh Matthews named us the team of the 21st Century so far, others have B2B and 3peats, Hawthorn have more flags but we're the choice. And his reasoning was similar, we're always there and there abouts. And before the eeyore crowd jump up and down - yes flags do matter.

But it is clear that we operate with a different Modus Operandi than every other club. We actively use our home ground to our advantage, and I'm not talking here about game style per se. More so that it ensures our 'floor' is a lot higher than other clubs as we can always rely on 5-6 wins at home to prop us up above the bottom 4-6 teams. Since the turn of the century we've missed finals 5 times - 4 of which with losing records. 3, 4, 3.5 (from 7 games), 4.5 (8 games) and 5 (from 9) wins at KP in those seasons. This point of difference may contribute to why we have a different philosophy to 17 other clubs, and no it doesn't guarantee we'll never have to do a cut to the bone, scorched earth style rebuild but our track record since before the draft era, all the way back to the 80s suggests when we do dip we don't dip for long.

Chris Scott is probably the perfect coach for us, in the same way Longmire is at Sydney. The Swans point of difference is a very strong academy that keeps them stocked with varying degrees of talent, and similarly they don't drop down for too long either. Both coaches appear to be personnel coaches as opposed to methodology coaches that fill most of the league. Whereas someone like Clarkson has his 'style' and Hawthorn recruited to fit within that framework, we, as the club pushing into the AFL wind, rejecting the rebuild philosophy more so have to select what players are left, so often one of the last dogs at the Draft bowl. And over the years our game style has changed from year to year to try and match the prevailing fad methodology while also fitting his selection of players with the imperfect draft hand.

So while rebuilding clubs can take 3, 4, 5 years to accumulate the necessary players to become competitive in time, usually churning through at least 1 coach in the process, and thus taking years to bed down their 'brand', instead selling fans Bolton style on the 'green shoots', we, on the other hand don't have that same restrictive problem. 2021 presented another PF humiliation, with what was at the time an historically highest ever average team age. Were we perturbed by this? No way.

We admitted we had food poisoning as a mitigating factor. Calmly brushed a broom through the assistants, and based of Hocking's comments on Scarlett Re: SDK. Thank god. Brought in a new wave of assistant coaches, and new dynamic way of utilising them that innovatively steps away from the line coach model, and on the back of smaller backline giving more responsibility to Kolodjashnij while backing in SDK to hold down the no.1 forward, as well as using the speed of Rohan, Close, Holmes, Cameron et al to completely make a 180 degree switch from the game plan we maniacally believed in for 2020-21, to a more direct, play on and move it quickly style shows not just Scott and players flexibility and adaptability but broadly ours as a club.

While we still are the oldest team in the competition a lot of our team isn't heavily relying on guys that'll retire within this off season or the next. The backline has no key player in that category. Bews and Stewart as the oldest probably still have 3-4 more years each. Henry, Kolo, SDK, Zuthrie with plenty of years left.
The Forward line is Hawkins centric but also Cameron and Stengle centric as well and both will be here in 3-4 years whereas Tom won't. Close, Stengle, Miers all have a lot longer than that.
The midfield while starting the season seemingly a little weak and seemingly relying on more older players Smith, Tuohy, Duncan (wing, HBF/HFF), Danger and Sel (inside mid) we have had no Menegola and won without him. Won while resting Joel. Won without Dangerfield in the team. Have now found Atkins who at 26 has a few years left. And luckily for us, midfield is usually the easiest position to overhaul via draft/trade as mids are a dime a dozen. And with retiring veteran $$$ to wave in front of players as well as an always contend mindset we'll surely find a couple that'll pick us. Blicavs as the best utility in the game and Hawkins are the two genuinely very hard replacements.

As much as our fans cathartically unload at season's end at our near miss at success, and it may well happen again in 2022, I think a lot of the above is why we don't get the truly scathing criticism from within the print media or the radio/tv AFL industry. When you spend 3-5 years winning very few games, selling hope to your fans by imploring them to "stick with us", you see it out and then when you get your 3-4 year window to win you fall short. The criticism comes, and as we can see with NM it doesn't end once you're back down the bottom starting your next cycle. The media sharks circle not just coaches and under-performing players but board level staff too. And it's understandable, there's only a certain amount of times fans will stomach being sold the 'stick with us' sales pitch before they get fed up and when the fall begins they all know that's where they are in the cycle again. In contrast, within the AFL industry and media our approach is immensely respected so when we fall short we cop the critiques of our finals performances, cop the subsequent writing off for the following season. Dust ourselves off, adapt and do the same thing the following year.

And if that's what 2022 has in store I have no doubt we'll dust ourselves off and set ourselves for finals in 2023.

Absolutely no idea what thread to put this in given it covers multiple things. After Thursday's win I saw a comment elsewhere (CC: Jatz ) on the site about how we'll likely lose in a PF again and we're a flirt. Didn't know whether to respond with a raging answer of * off or similar, to say so what or to make a cheap pot-shot at that person's club. Then reading our post-game one of my least liked fellow fans dismisses the win as 'so what we all know how September goes'.. Virtually signalling getting no enjoyment from watching us play. And that person was rightly taken to task by some for that line of thinking, but to be fair among our 60k+ members and many thousand's more fans I doubt he'd be alone in that sentiment.

Lastly I saw a youtube clip of an 1116 SEN conversation between David King and Kane Cornes (neither of whom I listen to often). They discuss the Melbourne game, but then us as a club more broadly. Which brings us back to the first comment I saw about us losing in another PF as they ask about our upcoming finals series.

King talks about us taking risks. We as a club and team are happy to risk not being good enough in order to strive to be good enough, which ties in with the ethos Wells/Cook/Carter/Costa have all touched on in the past - not needing what the AFL industry would deem a traditional rebuild. And year after year this happens. Lonergan recently praised us (biased I know) because we always put ourselves in a position to compete and to contend. Leigh Matthews named us the team of the 21st Century so far, others have B2B and 3peats, Hawthorn have more flags but we're the choice. And his reasoning was similar, we're always there and there abouts. And before the eeyore crowd jump up and down - yes flags do matter.

But it is clear that we operate with a different Modus Operandi than every other club. We actively use our home ground to our advantage, and I'm not talking here about game style per se. More so that it ensures our 'floor' is a lot higher than other clubs as we can always rely on 5-6 wins at home to prop us up above the bottom 4-6 teams. Since the turn of the century we've missed finals 5 times - 4 of which with losing records. 3, 4, 3.5 (from 7 games), 4.5 (8 games) and 5 (from 9) wins at KP in those seasons. This point of difference may contribute to why we have a different philosophy to 17 other clubs, and no it doesn't guarantee we'll never have to do a cut to the bone, scorched earth style rebuild but our track record since before the draft era, all the way back to the 80s suggests when we do dip we don't dip for long.

Chris Scott is probably the perfect coach for us, in the same way Longmire is at Sydney. The Swans point of difference is a very strong academy that keeps them stocked with varying degrees of talent, and similarly they don't drop down for too long either. Both coaches appear to be personnel coaches as opposed to methodology coaches that fill most of the league. Whereas someone like Clarkson has his 'style' and Hawthorn recruited to fit within that framework, we, as the club pushing into the AFL wind, rejecting the rebuild philosophy more so have to select what players are left, so often one of the last dogs at the Draft bowl. And over the years our game style has changed from year to year to try and match the prevailing fad methodology while also fitting his selection of players with the imperfect draft hand.

So while rebuilding clubs can take 3, 4, 5 years to accumulate the necessary players to become competitive in time, usually churning through at least 1 coach in the process, and thus taking years to bed down their 'brand', instead selling fans Bolton style on the 'green shoots', we, on the other hand don't have that same restrictive problem. 2021 presented another PF humiliation, with what was at the time an historically highest ever average team age. Were we perturbed by this? No way.

We admitted we had food poisoning as a mitigating factor. Calmly brushed a broom through the assistants, and based of Hocking's comments on Scarlett Re: SDK. Thank god. Brought in a new wave of assistant coaches, and new dynamic way of utilising them that innovatively steps away from the line coach model, and on the back of smaller backline giving more responsibility to Kolodjashnij while backing in SDK to hold down the no.1 forward, as well as using the speed of Rohan, Close, Holmes, Cameron et al to completely make a 180 degree switch from the game plan we maniacally believed in for 2020-21, to a more direct, play on and move it quickly style shows not just Scott and players flexibility and adaptability but broadly ours as a club.

While we still are the oldest team in the competition a lot of our team isn't heavily relying on guys that'll retire within this off season or the next. The backline has no key player in that category. Bews and Stewart as the oldest probably still have 3-4 more years each. Henry, Kolo, SDK, Zuthrie with plenty of years left.
The Forward line is Hawkins centric but also Cameron and Stengle centric as well and both will be here in 3-4 years whereas Tom won't. Close, Stengle, Miers all have a lot longer than that.
The midfield while starting the season seemingly a little weak and seemingly relying on more older players Smith, Tuohy, Duncan (wing, HBF/HFF), Danger and Sel (inside mid) we have had no Menegola and won without him. Won while resting Joel. Won without Dangerfield in the team. Have now found Atkins who at 26 has a few years left. And luckily for us, midfield is usually the easiest position to overhaul via draft/trade as mids are a dime a dozen. And with retiring veteran $$$ to wave in front of players as well as an always contend mindset we'll surely find a couple that'll pick us. Blicavs as the best utility in the game and Hawkins are the two genuinely very hard replacements.

As much as our fans cathartically unload at season's end at our near miss at success, and it may well happen again in 2022, I think a lot of the above is why we don't get the truly scathing criticism from within the print media or the radio/tv AFL industry. When you spend 3-5 years winning very few games, selling hope to your fans by imploring them to "stick with us", you see it out and then when you get your 3-4 year window to win you fall short. The criticism comes, and as we can see with NM it doesn't end once you're back down the bottom starting your next cycle. The media sharks circle not just coaches and under-performing players but board level staff too. And it's understandable, there's only a certain amount of times fans will stomach being sold the 'stick with us' sales pitch before they get fed up and when the fall begins they all know that's where they are in the cycle again. In contrast, within the AFL industry and media our approach is immensely respected so when we fall short we cop the critiques of our finals performances, cop the subsequent writing off for the following season. Dust ourselves off, adapt and do the same thing the following year.

And if that's what 2022 has in store I have no doubt we'll dust ourselves off and set ourselves for finals in 2023.

Great post. One would almost say it is worthy of its own thread. Although it would simply be hijacked by wHaT abOuT fINAls tHo bros.

We may not necessarily make the GF, but I'm still really keen that all senior players of the premiership team who helped get that team there should be presented with medals during the awards ceremony. Certainly the 4 emergencies for starters.

It's been happening to me for a few days.

Are you still getting them? How did you get rid of it?

It's just re-started again for me. This time the url is 2325.luckytap.top.........it changes regularly.

I tried the link that Chief posted, but it wouldn't open / run after I downloaded it.

Only happening on the BF site.

Are you still getting them? How did you get rid of it?

It's just re-started again for me. This time the url is 2325.luckytap.top.........it changes regularly.

I tried the link that Chief posted, but it wouldn't open / run after I downloaded it.

Only happening on the BF site.
Still getting it mate. I'll ring you over the weekend mate. If you're available.

Are there current players or recent retirees who remind you of previous players, in any way possible?

JACK HENRY.... LEIGH COLBERT... similar courage and versatility and fearless marking.

Said it before and other have also noted it on here but Max Holmes = James Kelly. The number, the looks, the hardness and love of tackling, despite being a bit skinny, and especially the movement across the field.

Interesting observation.
At 22 games into Kelly's career, he was averaging exactly 15 disposals, 3 tackles, 3 clearances and 0.5 goals per game. Holmes is a bit behind based on those stats but I can see some resemblance.

Kelly was a defensive bull. Was also a terrific user. A bit faster than what he appeared but not in the same ball park as Holmes when it comes to pure athletic speed.

A heads up - I know we're pretty open with discussion options on the Geelong board, but there's some topics which aren't received well and are better as a private discussion

If one has concerns about certain situations or events, you're welcome to message any or all of the Geelong mods and we'll happily continue the chat in private

Also really excited to hear that Sam Simpson might be available again soon. Selection dilemmas incoming.

Great post Vdubs

Adding a few - more out of hope than fact for some at this stage :)

SDK - Harry Taylor .... superb in the air and intercepting
Cooper Stephens - Joel Corey ... no frills , nuts and bolts inside mid
Ollie Dempsey - Stevie J ....freakish ability , versatile mid /forward
Toby Conway - Steven King/ Damien Bourke .....tap ruck with great big man skills
Shannon Neale - Nathan Vardy .....goalkicking forward/ruck with huge leap.
Max Holmes - James Kelly .... no compromise , skilful and tough mid with great endurance
Tyson Stengle - Stokes/Burns ....x factor with great goal sense and decision making

Midfield Atkins is actually reminding me a lot of Selwood when he was early 20s.
Especially at one point when we needed a goal and he went forward, took the mark and kicked the goal. Makes you wonder if we will be as successful if we end up putting Close into the midfield eventually, and playing as a high half forward is like an apprenticeship.

That said, Atkins was killing it as a mid in the VFL so I wonder why we took so long to make the transition.

Resource The 'not worthy of a thread of its own' thread