Resource The 'not worthy of a thread of its own' thread

Yeah. Hawthorn supporters are the opposite at the moment. Were quiet as church mice, and now they're out and about and making plenty of noise.

Richmond fans were infuriating. So many people that I knew that were never supporters were suddenly supporters when the were winning premierships. These same people would be invisible now, and probably couldn't tell you who Royce Hart was.

The thing with me is that when we win, I say nothing. I'm at the point where footy results don't play a big part in my life, because there are ultimately more important things going on. Enjoy the wins, swallow the losses, and stay humble.
In terms of Venn Diagrams, with all Footy lovers being a gigantic set, ideally you want supporters of every club to be a subset. That is, they are footy lovers and support their club as well. That is not always the case.

With some supporters, their club becomes their identity (their raison d'etre). The Media, AFL and individual club Social Media accounts are also partly responsible for this polarisation (Witch-hunts, Rivalry rounds, Player-watch, Coach-countdown etc.). Betting is also increasing the stakes. The AFL benefits by making footy an addiction.

The great thing Footy had going for it was being family-friendly and affordable. It often brought together supporters of opposing teams together in a "Bulk discount" ticket. I hope that always stays the same.

I think the "Zen" you describe with Geelong Supporters is the Contentment. We "lived" and do not mind to "let live" (as long as they don't make it a habit ;))

Yeah. Hawthorn supporters are the opposite at the moment. Were quiet as church mice, and now they're out and about and making plenty of noise.

Richmond fans were infuriating. So many people that I knew that were never supporters were suddenly supporters when the were winning premierships. These same people would be invisible now, and probably couldn't tell you who Royce Hart was.

The thing with me is that when we win, I say nothing. I'm at the point where footy results don't play a big part in my life, because there are ultimately more important things going on. Enjoy the wins, swallow the losses, and stay humble.
I grew up near Waverley so Dad and I would sometimes wander down to Hawks and Saints games as neutrals. I remember Hawks games in the mid/late 90s where there'd be 15-20k there maximum.

Was pretty funny a decade later seeing all these bandwagon Hawks fans coming out of the woodwork, claiming to have been at every Arctic Park game during the lean years. You knew about 90% of them were lying in their teeth.

Not sure if this is the right place, but let it be known on the public record that on 16 June, 2025, Chris Scott, Geelong Cats Senior Coach decreed:

"It would make it much, much easier for us if they had never bought the stand rule in."

Since the Tiggy supporters seem to hang on Scotty's every word and consider it immutable, I hope this little snippet leaves their tiny minds in a fizzy conniption of confusion.

Stewart and Enright comparisons are always off. Stewart much closer to late career Scarlett and Milburn.
In terms of style of play yes you are correct. Doesnt change the fact you still can debate who is the better player between enright and stewart. Especially given they both play back flank.

Gary ablett snr was a better player then corey enright. I can make this call conclusively despite them playing both different positions and different styles.

I grew up near Waverley so Dad and I would sometimes wander down to Hawks and Saints games as neutrals. I remember Hawks games in the mid/late 90s where there'd be 15-20k there maximum.

Was pretty funny a decade later seeing all these bandwagon Hawks fans coming out of the woodwork, claiming to have been at every Arctic Park game during the lean years. You knew about 90% of them were lying in their teeth.
I went to Waverley a lot. Many night games witnessed. I loved it because the crowds were not massive. 30k max.

What hurt clubs was complacency. Footscray in 1989 - when under pressure, money came in when something they loved was threatened to be taken away.
Hawthorn even moreso. From the time I was born, 5 premierships, and the club was effectively bankrupt 2 years after the 1991 flag. Membership numbers were pitiful despite all that success.

I'm glad both clubs got their act together.

Geelong suffered from a lack of foresight regarding its marketability, and the upgrading of its football ground. Thank heavens Costa and Cook came along, otherwise Geelong wouldn't be playing in Geelong, and possibly not exist...

Over recent days I've been reading, watching and catching up on these series of posts and while not directly football related, I do think this is a sequence of events & stories that deserve to be shared

I'm going to try posting things in order so as best to tell the story

19 April

6 May

Was watching an old highlights video of Dan Menzel this morning - over the years his quality had faded in my memory somewhat.

Man that kid was special. As a 20yo, he was clunking everything that was put on his head. Could kick 60m bomb goals easily. Unselfish, brilliant hands and his vision was insane.

Has there ever been a better player more cruelled by injury? You'd be hard pressed to find one in my opinion. He was the real deal. Would've been a top-10 player in the league if he'd made it.

Was watching an old highlights video of Dan Menzel this morning - over the years his quality had faded in my memory somewhat.

Man that kid was special. As a 20yo, he was clunking everything that was put on his head. Could kick 60m bomb goals easily. Unselfish, brilliant hands and his vision was insane.

Has there ever been a better player more cruelled by injury? You'd be hard pressed to find one in my opinion. He was the real deal. Would've been a top-10 player in the league if he'd made it.
He was a Fyfe/Dusty level talent and was just about to explode before his injury

His finish to 2011 was very good.
When he returned against Collingwood, he was one of few who actually showed any heart that night. The rest of the team was pathetic.
Menzel was a massive loss, but that's football. It's a cruel game sometimes.
Jason Snell is a prime example of that.

I genuinely doubted how popular Labubu's were when my partner told me about them but to see it bought up on big footy of all places is the mother of all **** I was wrong.

Another collectable that won't be collectable in 5 years?

Are Pop Vinyls still a thing?
Its insananely popular. Selling out online in 30-60 secs on popmart website. Also lines forming from 4am outside stores. Apparetnyl nba players are even wearing them these days.

David beckham even wears one!

More about the thought and gesture I wouldn't you say, and a gift Mrs GC26 would therefore appreciate I reckon.
Pretty much.

Only reason i gor my hands on one is told the bloke mate i really really need one my mssues is after it, she wants
One to put on her bag. And he told me “ go next door”... They have em. I said... Ok how do i know they are authentic?? And he looked at me and said “ because he lines up from 4am in the morning and buys them from us then resells them”.. This came from the popmart employees.

Confirmed that Miers reads BF and is in the Captain Atkins camp:

“I think if we need an immediate response, I think Tom Atkins would be a fantastic captain,” Miers on SEN Breakfast.

Resource The 'not worthy of a thread of its own' thread