The Official Aid Package (merged thread)

Re: Carlton to get $2m interest free loan

G'day IITB,still wonder if the cashed up benefactor is waiting in the wings.If the reports are true of a genuine $7m dollar loss then $2mil is not going to go far

Re: The Official Aid Package

JeffDunne said:
Maybe you'd like to fuel that obsession and explain to me how a club that has returned either losses or small profits has reduced debt by $5M.

Interesting.
Go on JD come up with some lame brain conspiracy theory E.G They're the leftover "brown paper bag" payments that weren't handed out in time.

And I'm waiting for the next time we play you and beat you.I can imagine the excuses "you wouldn't have beaten us if the AFL give you a handout etc...:p

Re: AFL aids Blues

Coyote said:
This is a disgrace!!

They got themselves in this hole let em get themselves out of it, go sell some games like other clubs have to do.

We already have. We sold all our home games to the Telstra Dome.

Remember Optus Oval/Princess Park......OUR HOME GROUND~!

Jesus it ****es me off when people forget that.

ryan2000 said:
We already have you ****! We sold all our home games to the Telstra Dome.

Remember Optus Oval/Princess Park......OUR HOME GROUND~!
So true. If we weren't in debt we would have tried to stay at Princes Park until the end of time. The G would have been our second choice. We only gave the bigger share of our home games to the Dome out of financial necessity. I never thought of it like that before but yes ... we sold ALL of our home games to try and survive. The fact that they aren't interstate is irrelevant.

JeffDunne said:
Maybe you'd like to fuel that obsession and explain to me how a club that has returned either losses or small profits has reduced debt by $5M.

Interesting.
What does it matter? As long as it didn't come out of AFL coffers, all is well.

I think what you meant to say is 'well done to the Blues on reducing their debt, and on not expecting an unconditional bailout as I have previously suggested. Well done on letting the AFL have access to your business plan and board meetings and well done on first attempting to pay back any money the AFL gives you rather than head straight for the CBF.'

Cheers JD, appreciate the comments mate.:thumbsu:

Shakin77 said:
Joffa, JD, THe Fireman and Itsintheblood must be out for lunch? :confused:

Anyway. Some Carlton news

AFL aids Blues
3:29:55 PM Wed 19 July, 2006
Angus Morgan
Sportal for afl.com.au

Read Article
some people have to work:p nice to know that you missed me though.
Have to admit I'm getting a bit tired of all the handouts you guys are getting, funny how times have changed, in the past when a club was in trouble the members would shake the tins, pay out creditors for less and some clubs even moved interstate and I can still remember Carlton saying that the Saints could fold and rot. Oh what a difference we have now, a cheating club being looked after by the new Salvation Army (AFL) and where are the Carlton members? what are they doing? Dropping off certainly doesn't help.
The fact that your membership has dived should send a clear message that if you guys aren't willing to help yourselves why should anyone else?
It's obvious you wanted to hear from me so there you have it.

Lukesta63 said:
Go on JD come up with some lame brain conspiracy theory E.G They're the leftover "brown paper bag" payments that weren't handed out in time.
I'm simply asking the question.

Seems very strange to me that a club not returning $mil+ profits could retire $5mil in debts. Very strange.

And I'm waiting for the next time we play you and beat you.I can imagine the excuses "you wouldn't have beaten us if the AFL give you a handout etc...:p
Do you mean to say the next time you play us you'll win? LOL, good one!

If you mean the next time you beat us, let's worry about that if and when it occurs in my lifetime.

Lukesta63 said:

Something we won't have to worry about in this millenium.:thumbsu:

Still have no sympathy for Carlton, a club that screwed clubs for 100 years. Hope it's a long road back.

Better still, let's just merge Carlton and North, ship them off to the Gold Coast and be done with.

The Kangablues has a good ring to it.

The Old Dark Navy's said:
What does it matter? As long as it didn't come out of AFL coffers, all is well.
It didn't?

The almost $3mil for moving home games, the redirection orders and bank guarantees might have something to do with it.

I think what you meant to say is 'well done to the Blues on reducing their debt, and on not expecting an unconditional bailout as I have previously suggested. Well done on letting the AFL have access to your business plan and board meetings and well done on first attempting to pay back any money the AFL gives you rather than head straight for the CBF.'
No, what I meant to say is good on the other 15 clubs for finally putting some conditions on the string of unconditional handouts this rabble of a club has received. Finally we are seeing some sense, although I would hope any further assistance is on the back of some more imaginative initiatives than we've seen so far. Carlton get some short term cash, the AFL get their voice back on the Carlton board, but all in all, this does no more than keep the club afloat. Still we see nothing in the way of plans to make the club competitive again - both on and off the field.

Cheers JD, appreciate the comments mate.:thumbsu:
No problems. :thumbsu:

Frankston Rover said:
Still have no sympathy for Carlton, a club that screwed clubs for 100 years. Hope it's a long road back.

Better still, let's just merge Carlton and North, ship them off to the Gold Coast and be done with.

The Kangablues has a good ring to it.
Because your baby poo club is setting the world on fire isnt it?
At least the GC is warm unlike Tassie;)

JeffDunne said:

Interesting.

not interesting at all. reduction of loans is a capital event and not a P&L item.

Why dont you whinging st kilda people pay all those people who only got # cents in the dollar

JeffDunne said:
It didn't?

The almost $3mil for moving home games, the redirection orders and bank guarantees might have something to do with it.
The $3m was for paying out existing PP contracts was it not?

No, what I meant to say is good on the other 15 clubs for finally putting some conditions on the string of unconditional handouts this rabble of a club has received. Finally we are seeing some sense, although I would hope any further assistance is on the back of some more imaginative initiatives than we've seen so far. Carlton get some short term cash, the AFL get their voice back on the Carlton board, but all in all, this does no more than keep the club afloat. Still we see nothing in the way of plans to make the club competitive again - both on and off the field.
String of unconditional handouts? Do tell.

As we have established the $3m was to move grounds, something the AFL wanted, something that helped their future flagship Dome out. Damn well sounds conditional to me considering we wanted to stay put or go to the G.

What other handouts? Not the speculated handouts of which there have been plenty. I am talking about cash in hand, money received handouts. Not underwriting us either, if we default then the AFL have to come to the party, if we don't they are home free.

You know JD, you couldn't even give credit if you were an American Express processing officer.

murmont said:
Why dont you whinging st kilda people pay all those people who only got # cents in the dollar
Who's whinging? Don't get me wrong, I want to see all Melb clubs stay but let's not forget that your club is where it is due to being dishonest and I am wondering how far does the league have to go to save your basket case of a club, there was nothing dishonest in the way StKilda managed to stay afloat so please remember that.

Lukesta63 said:
This Millenium Fireman?!!!
Care to make that interesting?
We'll beat you next season,just make sure your not on nightshift brother! Those beds at the station might put your back out;)
:D :D I'll have a crowny with you that you do not beat us next season:thumbsu:

PS. The beds comment was a low blow..they are shockers.:p

The Official Aid Package (merged thread)