The Other Fevola.

The thing some people seem to overlook in their defence of Fev's ******** antics is that he puts the club itself in a position which it should not be placed in.

Maybe what Fev did isn't worthy of a public flogging, but now the board is placed under the microscope in dealing with a serial offender when it comes to poor on and offield behaviour.

It's the club who's ridiculed if it treats him with kid gloves and in turn it's the club who suffers from his loss if they are forced to suspend him as part of a punishment to seem to be taking the issues seriously.

So has Fev at his request not attending the B&F awards.

As if Andrew was going to allow him to be there (no chance) get your head out of the sand.
We are talking about Fev, as a Senior Member, you should have more brains then to throw in a personal insults - it doesn't matter whos board it is.

Grow up.

Well if you don't want people calling you an idiot, then stop making idiotic statements .

The OP is right to an extent.

Fev does loads of good things that don't get reported.

The fact is though, good news doesn't sell.........and most AFL players, and especially star players do plenty for charity to varying degrees......they don't all do what Fev did.

At the end of the day he is a 28 y.o. man who acts like a 19 y.o. and he needs to take responsilbility for it.

Are Crown to blame? Sure. They shouldn't have continued to serve him, and then to have a whinge about it after was pathetic.

Are Ch 9 to blame? Sure. To give him the Street talk segment (more than) half cut and to not expect explicit material is rubbish. They knew pretty much exactly what would happen and got plenty of free publicity from it, and more viewers wanting to see TFS to see if they would show some of it.

But all in all none of them held a gun to Fev's head. He knows prior to this he has a problem controlling himself on the grog, yet knowing he would be in the spotlight, he choose to get completely tanked.

He has no-one to blame but himslef, and being a "celebrity" has to wear whatever is dished up, rightly or wrongly.

He just has to hope it doesn't cost him his spot at the CFC.:(

I hope it doesn't, but after the clubs public comment following previous incidents he has backed them into the corner and they face being hypocrites if they don't do something.

The AFL should be pissed and quite rightly as he became the headline the next day instead of Ablett.......and hot on the heals of the Captains launching "Don't drink......think" at the start of the finals.

Fev needs to become a man, take responsibility, not drink for the duration of his public life, and focus 100% of making something of his opportunity to win a flag with the CFC.

Spot on. Fev needs to take responsibility for his own actions. As a society we've been travelling away from 'self control' for some time now, its always someone else's fault; 'I had a broken childhood, the drugs made me do it, I was so drunk I can't remember therefore how can I be to blame, I punched this guy once and he fell down and died but its not my fault because I didn't know he would die'.

Fev knows he shouldn't drink but still does. If this latest action takes away his job will he have learnt a lesson? Only if he decides to stop drinking.

Glad I'm not in the public eye because I reckon it would really suck to be followed around by the media; I'd probably be in jail for assaulting journos, but thats the reality fev lives in and he needs to start caring about himself and his wife and the football club like he obviously does for his and other children.

Unfortunately Fev is too self absorbed when he drinks and mutual respect for other people goes out the window. Its not about whats funny or whether he's hurting anyone, its about enjoying yourself without pissing other people off. Everybody has a different view and we should all be allowed to have a good time in public the way we want without other people impacting that in a negative way. Boorish behaviour can be funny to some people and a f***ing pain in the arse to others. Out in public show some mutual respect and don't get too carried away, behind closed doors go stupid if that pumps you up.

No there is three Yours there other sides and the truth. In all honesty Fev knows if he steps out of line hes going to cop it and we can't baby him anymore.

I think that is the issue! Fev does not know what he's doing when he's on the sauce.
Had a mate in High school who was later genuinely diagnosed with Post-alcoholic amnesia,amazing what he would do and then have NO recollection

Okay. I love the Fev and his behaviour at the Brownlow was far less an offence than other player's actions in this day and age, let alone those of eras passed. IMO his actions surely didn't match the ensuing outrage.

However unless he changes his attitude I just don't want him at the club anymore. I don't care how many goals the guy kicks. Something Ross Lyon said after the GF loss really struck me.

"We'll continue to add draft talent, trade for talent, improve our football, improve our training … we'll leave no stone unturned to get better,'' he said. ''If anyone is not up for the challenge they can walk in and tell me and I'll move them on.''

This is just a tremendous attitude and one we have to match if we want to be a great side capable of sustained success. A team such as that would have no room for this type of behaviour. Quite simply Fev's actions were grossly irresponsible. Certainly not the hanging offence everyone is making it out to be, but unacceptable nonetheless.

Personally I thought that was a very strange comment from Ross a few hours after his boys had given their all on the field.So if Reiwoldt knocks on his door he'll move him on will he?
Lyon is one strange unit,after the siren he was walking around as if it was 3/4 time!!

I'm sick of all this rubbishing of Fev. He was set up big time, and the whole nation has jumped on the bandwagon.

Why don't the media make a big deal of the good things this guy does? Why don't people talk about how much of a passionate player he is? How much he loves the club?

How he does so much for charities, especially with kids. How whenever we have sick kids or guests down at the club, he's the one to spend time with them, and walk through the banner with them, and look after them. Remember the kid with cancer, sick and frail, had his dream come true to run through with the Blues, and Fev was the only one to talk to him, to walk with him, to help him through.

His decency towards people on the street, he always stops and has a chat, whenever he's been down here he always stays well beyond his committment time, and just chats and still does photos and signs well beyond what he's meant to.

He has a big heart that beats very strongly for this Club of ours. It's not fair that he gets rubbished by the media, time and time again, when he's not a lone figure... there are many others that make mistakes every now and then but they go under the radar.

Chin up Fev.

Well said i agree he was set up.The Clubs want us to get rid of him so we are no threat to them.

The Footy show isn't it still Eddie show what better way to screw Carlton can't people see it that he got set up big big time.

Every man and his dog can see people are trying to drag Fevola in the mud so we can struggle but are we going to be sucked in no way.

The other thing each player in the club has friends and a couple of real good friends in the club to the day they die who is Fevola best mate at Carlton maybe Houilhan?

They should have had him at the brownlow to try convince Fevola they trying to take you down don't let them. A good friend can convince him they not really your friends at the footy show they like to see you make a fool of yourself and screw up.

The club should stand by Fevola and his real mates should help him when in trouble when they can.

Personally I thought that was a very strange comment from Ross a few hours after his boys had given their all on the field.So if Reiwoldt knocks on his door he'll move him on will he?
Lyon is one strange unit,after the siren he was walking around as if it was 3/4 time!!

Lyon just got his pants pulled down and the whole side was in tears so he wanted to toughen them up. No player will come up and say i can't do it,i need to go. I read that article on how all the Saints players were balling their eyes after the loss never seen a article like that. I would use it to destroy them if i played against them,i know Akermanis would.I would think most players would feel totally sick and angry they let it slip and go for revenge the next year. It wouldn't surprise me if they drop next year.