Food, Drink & Dining Out The Perth Thread - Part 2

Remember that offence is taken, not given. Italian migrants from the 1950s might not like the word 'wog', but then some 90 year old Irish Catholic probably doesn't like the word 'mick' either.

There's a grey area between what is colloquial and what is defamatory. The idea that Nick Giannopoulos can make a film called The Wog Boy and take the piss out of wog culture but the word immediately becomes offensive if some Anglo uses it is ridiculous. People are too precious these days. There's still a huge divide between most Aboriginal people and the rest of the population, so the idea of 'friendly racist terms' is a long way off. There's no friendly banter when one group has an average life expectancy 10 years less than everyone else etc. Kevin Bloody Wilson does use 'abo' in his songs and a lot of Aboriginal people love him, but I'd say that's because of the context and his background working in Kalgoorlie and certainly wouldn't recommend getting up on stage and singing about abos...

The N-word has become a bit of a parody thanks to unimaginative R&B tracks but has no basis in Australian language anyway so anyone who uses it here is just a ****en idiot. It's an American thing and if they're happy with the place they've reached WRT words in their culture/language then good for them.

Sorry for starting this debate.

You guys ever wish we still had state comps and not a national one?

Feels like footy lacks a bit of soul here in Perth I reckon, people are less intense?

Yes. I've been saying for a number of years that most of the season should be state leagues, with the winners of each playing off in September for the national cup.

Having been born in the early 90s I don't remember a time where the WAFL was big so I can't say one way or the other whether I want it to go back to how it was. However, I am a regular at South Freo games and the poor crowds that the WAFL get are very disappointing and I would love something to be done to get the crowds coming back to watch and support the league.

Some valid points, but I find this is an excuse used by offensive campaigners. To suggest you could call a black American a n***** to his face and then say it's his problem for taking offence is simply disingenuous.

True, but that's where context comes into play. It's not carte blanche to say whatever you want to anyone without consequence, just the understanding that offence is a personal thing. You could joke about race, gender, religion, politics, the Holocaust, AIDS - whatever bad taste/sensitive topic you want and it's only offensive to those offended by it.

You could conceivably do similar to the above if you had established familiarity. Wouldn't recommend racially insulting any strangers, though. Not really a way to make friends.

Sorry for starting this debate.

I'm not old enough to have lived through the strong years of the WAFL, but I'm a firm no. The writing was on the wall from the 70s and 80s with the big VFL clubs buying up all the best players from the WAFL and SANFL. Assuming the national expansion never went ahead the VFL would've become more sustainable and a stronger comp (might have just axed a couple of bankrupt clubs) over time. Following the WAFL would be like following the Dutch League or something in Europe and watching all the best players leave for England and Spain each year. I reckon WA footy fans interest would wane in watching local games when they could watch a Franklin and Kennedy shootout in the VFL on TV.

No national comp also would've given other codes a leg up in establishing themselves. Prior to the Eagles WA only had the Shield side since 1947 and the Wildcats since 1982. With no AFL perhaps another code would've had some foresight, but unlikely going by the history of NSWRL, Soccer Australia and the campaignery ARU.

I'm not old enough to have lived through the strong years of the WAFL, but I'm a firm no. The writing was on the wall from the 70s and 80s with the big VFL clubs buying up all the best players from the WAFL and SANFL. Assuming the national expansion never went ahead the VFL would've become more sustainable and a stronger comp (might have just axed a couple of bankrupt clubs) over time. Following the WAFL would be like following the Dutch League or something in Europe and watching all the best players leave for England and Spain each year. I reckon WA footy fans interest would wane in watching local games when they could watch a Franklin and Kennedy shootout in the VFL on TV..

This assumes that all the leagues would be playing independently of each other, rather than as part of the same system.

Definitely perfer the national comp, but I wish they could find a way to increase interest in the state comps. I went to a few WAFL games with my young one and there was usually about 2000 people there. Not bad, but even 5000 would add so much more to the games. That said, it's nice to able to move around the ground, sit where you want, have a kick on the oval, have the bouncy castle for kids etc.

This assumes that all the leagues would be playing independently of each other, rather than as part of the same system.

The talent pool for all the VFL, SANFL and WAFL clubs to play each other would be very shallow, and if the leagues operated independently then the best teams met in finals whichever league had the most money would still have the best players.

The AFL chews through players for absolutely no reason. Beyond the top 50 or so, there really isn't that much difference between those in the AFL and those in the second tier.

If all the teams have the same salary cap, how is money an issue? They're still part of a national competition, as it were, which is what I'm suggesting rather than returning back to three independent leagues.

I miss the WAFL - I’m old enough to have enjoyed the big crowds but realistically understand that it’s just not viable anymore without an increase in monetary support from somewhere. My dad was a rabid Royals man, it was like a religion to him and we went every week regardless of where they played and the conditions it was played in. I lost interest when the national competition came about and the royals were for all intents and purposes the afl reserves side in WA - I didn’t enjoy the grand finals that were won during this period and stopped being a member when it became the West Coast Eagles.
It would be nice to see an increase in the crowds again but with every game in the national competition broadcasted each week, there’s really not much chance of that happening.

Definitely perfer the national comp, but I wish they could find a way to increase interest in the state comps. I went to a few WAFL games with my young one and there was usually about 2000 people there. Not bad, but even 5000 would add so much more to the games. That said, it's nice to able to move around the ground, sit where you want, have a kick on the oval, have the bouncy castle for kids etc.

Agreed. Even 5-10 years ago you would get 5000+ to a Freo Derby and the atmosphere would be brilliant. Now you'd be lucky to get half that and a lot of them are old timers.

To me the WAFL isn't marketed well enough and they don't do enough to promote the comp with the local junior clubs other than having them play at half time.

The AFL chews through players for absolutely no reason. Beyond the top 50 or so, there really isn't that much difference between those in the AFL and those in the second tier.

If all the teams have the same salary cap, how is money an issue? They're still part of a national competition, as it were, which is what I'm suggesting rather than returning back to three independent leagues.

There are about 800 players in the AFL. If you had the 12 VFL clubs pre-expansion + 9 WAFL clubs + 10 SANFL clubs you're talking 13-1400 players without any teams in Qld or NSW. I don't see it working.

The strength of the VFL was that they had 2-3 times the population of WA/SA which they then leveraged to poach players from those states to make their comp even stronger. Why wouldn't they just do that again?

There are about 800 players in the AFL. If you had the 12 VFL clubs pre-expansion + 9 WAFL clubs + 10 SANFL clubs you're talking 13-1400 players without any teams in Qld or NSW. I don't see it working.

There are a lot of delisted players who would be perfectly fine. Not to mention, more people would pursue it as a career, and mature age players would get more of a look-in.

I would favour a two-tiered system. All members of the Australian Football Commission (or whatever) would have ten teams per league. SANFL, WAFL and VFL would be tier one, VFA, Tasmania (if not part of Vic), NSW/ACT and Queensland in tier two. VFL and VFA would have promotion+relegation between them.

The strength of the VFL was that they had 2-3 times the population of WA/SA which they then leveraged to poach players from those states to make their comp even stronger. Why wouldn't they just do that again?

They poached because they had much more money. Not going to happen when every team in tier one has the same salary cap, and we already know from both footy and cricket that players would rather stay home if the money is more-or-less the same.

I bought a "membership for life" for around $1,000 with Subi a few years ago which gets me a full membership until I cark it but only really go maybe once or twice a year. Between attending all Eagles and 3-4 Freo games I don't really have the time.

Plus all the North games you go to also

Being from a Wog family, I've heard Ding here and there most my life. I find neither derogatory and no one else in the family finds Wog a derogatory word.

So Wog away I say