The Perth Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter BALKAN

It literally takes an extra 30 seconds each way. Its just a perception thing, it feels like a long time as you go through the lights etc

Thomas and Safety Bay maybe but Armadale Rd/Beeliar Dr are shocking.

Looking good IMO

tHcKgkQ.jpg

It literally takes an extra 30 seconds each way. Its just a perception thing, it feels like a long time as you go through the lights etc

I disagree.

Traffic at Armadale Rd is awful so I avoid that most of the time. That petrol station is always busy. Going the other way, the un-manned station is good, but it can be difficult to cross back onto Armadale Rd that goes towards the Kwinana.

The lights at Thomas Rd are okay, but that station is always busy when I go there. I've waited up to 20 mins just to get petrol and the way it's structured, you can often get trapped.

Safety Bay Rd station is a couple of minutes each way off the Kwinana because of the traffic. The station there can take a long time to fill up as traffic comes off two roads into it.

I drive a ridiculous amount every week, so when I can save a couple of stops to get petrol, which takes up to 10, 15 minutes, then I welcome it. I envision this new one will be busy, but from what I've seen it looks like there are a lot of pumps.

All fair points mate, i am usually stopping on a weekend or at night so its rarely busy but obviously at busy times it will take a lot longer.

At least you have a Christmas party, my old work only management were invited.
At least that's what everyone told you.

Did anybody go to that 'beer fest' in the urban orchid this weekend?

What a ****ing joke. $25 to get in and then you have to buy $2.50 'tokens' which you can use to buy beer or food - a 'taster' of most of the beers was $2.50.

Also, it's not like all the breweries were there. It's like they just bought a bunch of kegs and hired some casual bar staff.

I went and had a great day!

Got to keep the glass to add to my collection and the $2.50 tasters were perfect so you could try a whole bunch of beers.

Tokens were great, no fiddling around with coins/money, much easier having the tokens. Its not like it was busy so never had to line up for anything.

Went the sat arvo sesh, then kicked on into the night so had a good day! (not that I remember much past about 6pm :p)

IMO was a ripper event, hope the freo one this weekend is just as good! Im looking forward to it!

Perth fails badly at beer festivals.

We really should send a delegate (I'm available and have credentials) to Oktoberfest in Munich to see how straightforward it really is.

Oktoberfest goes for 3 weeks, is held in a massive open area and is free. Each beer test has a limited capacity. Tent is full, you don't get in. There are no lines for beer. You sit at a table and the beer wenches come to you. No seat, no beer. Simples.

Yet we persist with these little one day 'festivals' where you need to pay $50 to get in, drinks are even more expensive than regular Perth prices and everyone just ends up spending most of the day queuing to buy beer or piss then getting pissed off and glassing one another.

Have been to the Freo Beer festival the last few years and had a good day. Was a bit frustrating that you could only get small tasters of each beer, but from about 4pm onwards they let you buy middies of the beers which was better.

MRA actually seem to be making an effort which is promising, their work in Northbridge has been pretty good so I'll give it a chance

My biggest fear with Elizabeth Kway is that with it costing squillions to build it will end up being full of leases which are squillions per square metre which in turn will end up meaning $15 pints and sandwiches, $200 basic hotel rooms etc.

Even without digging a bit hole the Perth foreshore is pretty and tourists want to see and stay near it. What they don't want to do is pay prices that are equivalent to 4/5 stars a stones throw from the Eiffel Tower etc.

Perth fails badly at beer festivals.

We really should send a delegate (I'm available and have credentials) to Oktoberfest in Munich to see how straightforward it really is.

Oktoberfest goes for 3 weeks, is held in a massive open area and is free. Each beer test has a limited capacity. Tent is full, you don't get in. There are no lines for beer. You sit at a table and the beer wenches come to you. No seat, no beer. Simples.

Yet we persist with these little one day 'festivals' where you need to pay $50 to get in, drinks are even more expensive than regular Perth prices and everyone just ends up spending most of the day queuing to buy beer or piss then getting pissed off and glassing one another.
Do people drive home at night for Oktoberfest? They would in Perth.

I dont rate the Miami bakery caravan tbh. Expensive for what it is

Has anyone stopped at that cafe / fruit stall near the Harvey turnoff?
Haven't stopped there for yonks.Used to be an Emu Pie local produce fruit barn.Didn't like the pies and could get the fruit elsewhere so no.
In the last half year or so it's been tizzed up.Fruit is quality so flick the indicator and check it out.Haven't bothered to see if the pies have got real.