The Perth Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter BALKAN

Other than Hawks, North, Essendon, Carlton and Collingwood, how many other teams have a decent supporter base here to push up the numbers?

St Kilda has a pretty big following here too with the Western Saints, most Saints games here the majority of supporters at the GA city end are Saints fans.

A fair few show up at the Game in Northbridge to watch games as part of the Western Saints. Not bad for a team on the rebound.

Plenty or moral victories to keep them going

Every game is like that. The city end is where the away team fans get put.

I've been to some West Coast and Freo games at Subi with other opposition teams and they wouldn't have the support I've seen at some St Kilda games.

A mate of mine is a West Coast member and he reckons the Saints get one of the biggest opposition turnouts at Subi.

My seats at Subi are the block next to the "away" block behind the goals. I reckon the Saints do all right for numbers at games, better than most. Remember, numbers turning up isn't the same thing as general level of support in Perth.

Collingwood definitely have the biggest, and the feralest turnout. (Is "feralist" a word?) Hawks, Saints and Swans probably next, then the rest down to GWS having about three blokes with one flag between them.*

*Note: figures based on vague recollections, not from actual data gathered at games

My seats at Subi are the block next to the "away" block behind the goals. I reckon the Saints do all right for numbers at games, better than most. Remember, numbers turning up isn't the same thing as general level of support in Perth.

Collingwood definitely have the biggest, and the feralest turnout. (Is "feralist" a word?) Hawks, Saints and Swans probably next, then the rest down to GWS having about three blokes with one flag between them.*

*Note: figures based on vague recollections, not from actual data gathered at games

I went to a Freo v Collingwood game a few years ago and the bogan/feral factor was definitely a lot higher than normal.

Ran into 'Joffa' at Subi and gave him a bit of a joke about the prematurely putting on of his attention whore jacket too early before that famous Essendon Anzac Day comeback :$

I've been to some West Coast and Freo games at Subi with other opposition teams and they wouldn't have the support I've seen at some St Kilda games.

A mate of mine is a West Coast member and he reckons the Saints get one of the biggest opposition turnouts at Subi.

Been to a few Carlton games, and the noise that comes from behind the goals is pretty amazing.
The WA Blues do a fantastic job.

I don't really see WA as a big Collingwood place. They have supporters everywhere, but it's not disproportionate. I struggled to meet many Hawks supporters as a kid too.

North Melbourne, definitely, they've got heaps of fans. Carlton and Essendon have a huge amount as well. I'd probably say those three sides pull the best in Perth.

Essendon?

Free chopper ride tomorrow anyone? Good old Uber.
I imagine it will almost be impossible to get one.

Say they have 4 choppers turning out rides in 15 minutes, including changeover etc, that's 4 rides per hour for 4 choppers for 3 hours. That's 48 rides in total for about 5,000 people trying to get one.

Anyway, nice bit of publicity for Uber, and I'm sure it'll be fun for the lucky people that do manage to snag one.

I imagine it will almost be impossible to get one.

Say they have 4 choppers turning out rides in 15 minutes, including changeover etc, that's 4 rides per hour for 4 choppers for 3 hours. That's 48 rides in total for about 5,000 people trying to get one.

Anyway, nice bit of publicity for Uber, and I'm sure it'll be fun for the lucky people that do manage to snag one.
Don't people usually have that job thing they do though? Doubt there will be that many that apply.

Yeah, I'm making assumptions. I remember when they did the supercar thing it was nigh on impossible to get a go.

I'm sure there will be a lot of people in and around the CBD that will be able to take half an hour away from their desk or their Friday lunch for a free helicopter ride.

Anyone that gets a go please report back here!

I don't really see WA as a big Collingwood place. They have supporters everywhere, but it's not disproportionate. I struggled to meet many Hawks supporters as a kid too.
Hawthorn have plenty of fans over here, but mostly older than you, from the 80's bandwagon.
Essendon?
Dunno, there seems to be plenty of supporters around Perth but I don't remember them being particularly well-represented at games. But as I said, I'm working off vague memory here rather than a detailed study. So for example any team that didn't play the Eagles in Perth in 2015, or was one of the couple of games I didn't go to, I probably wouldn't really remember much anyway - other than Collingwood at the end of 2014 who provided many fine highlights with their shithouse behaviour as we pumped them by ten goals.

Not really sure why the Saints are reasonably well supported here. Pre-WC peope used to get on board VFL teams which were successful and/or had their big name WAFL players playing for them. St Kilda in the 70s/80s doesn't really fit either bill. The big clubs buying the players won the support.

From the late 80s there have been little bandwagon waves (Hawks, North, now probably Hawks again), and there are always kids each year who want to be different and go for a team outside WA. Interestingly Brisbane didn't seem to gain much support after their 3-peat here. Or in Brisbane it would seem.

I think there are only 3,000 seats max available to opposition fans at Subi so it's not like any opposition supporter group is anything more than a minority behind the goals, even if they are rowdy ferals.