The Perth Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter BALKAN

Glory started going downhill before the A-League came long.

The 98/99 and 99/00 seasons were the peak of the club. The 98/99 finals at the WACA got the interest of the whole state, then the 99/00 finals took it to another level. By the time the final NSL season came around (03/04) the interest had waned. Only 17,500 people attended our last NSL final in Perth, and the 02/03 GF didn't go close to selling out (crowd was 38k, but there were lots of freebies).

I think there were a lot of contributing factors including on field **** ups of 2000 GF, then losing the 2002 GF also and plenty of off field problems like Nick Tana and Paul Afkos infighting, the handling of Bernd Stange, fracturing of supporter groups etc. I think the decline in standard of the NSL and Perth becoming a club that just poached other team's players also put a few people off.

The problem is that since the the launch of the A-League the club hasn't put a foot right. It's sad that a team which used to get 15,000+ to games against clubs like Morwell Falcons now struggles to get 7 or 8k against Melbourne Victory.

tony sage...........

Oh yes. Which is why the success of the BBL seems to me to be a furphy - the old state Big Bash would've done just as well with the same level of marketing and it would've been a boon for the state associations. Imagine getting 80,000 at the G for Vic vs NSW! But no, they had to go with franchises, of which the most successful has been the one that has treated it like a state team anyway. gj ca
Wouldnt have the Melbourne and Sydney derbies with a state-based comp...

Which would strengthen the quality of the competition, as it is clear that having eight teams is too many.
Yeah nah, after a shaky start perhaps and apart from the abysmal fielding this season it's now good. The experiment has been a massive successes, you need to just move on.

Yeah, yeah, having two teams in these cities is great for CA because of the dosh, but the Thunder are probably going to miss the finals again - they've never made them - while the Renegades have only made the finals once.

We simply don't have the player pool for an eight team competition, which is why talk of expansion sounds amazing to me. The only way it would work is if they expand so much that it forces the quality of the competition down across the board, but the most likely points for expansion will be Victoria and New South Wales, who are already weakened, and Queensland, where the Heat are rubbish.

Also results in absurd fixturing, just so these teams can play each other twice. Whereas in a six team competition, you can have a relatively quick 10 round competition where everyone plays each other twice.

I don't think it's that weak. It has provided opportunity to the next tier of players to make a buck whilst playing in a professional environment. With 6 state based teams, it would be the same players as are already in the State sides, thereby providing no additional development. The vast majority of the games are close enough, the calibre of international player is sufficient and the broadcast arrangements are a boon for cricket.

If they move to 10 teams (and 10 rounds) it will make it thinner but that can be addressed by the number of internationals (up it to 3 per team) and the money involved. They also can add 12 players by removing conflicts with the tests and ODI games, if CA are that concerned about the quality of the players.

I don't think it's that weak. It has provided opportunity to the next tier of players to make a buck whilst playing in a professional environment. With 6 state based teams, it would be the same players as are already in the State sides, thereby providing no additional development. The vast majority of the games are close enough, the calibre of international player is sufficient and the broadcast arrangements are a boon for cricket.

If they move to 10 teams (and 10 rounds) it will make it thinner but that can be addressed by the number of internationals (up it to 3 per team) and the money involved. They also can add 12 players by removing conflicts with the tests and ODI games, if CA are that concerned about the quality of the players.

Of course the games are close. The format is designed to create close games. But over the course of the competition it becomes clear where the weak links are, even if they can get one or two matches far closer than they should be.

The next tier of players earning a bit more money by playing a few matches here and there is great on an individual level, and I do like seeing no-names come through and do well, but it doesn't do anything for grade cricket. Expanding the tournament simply puts more pressure on the next level.

I think the Big Bash is pretty even.

If we had two less teams then we'd probably have a couple of dozen local players missing out as teams would still have imports.

When it re-launched I didn't see the need for the new franchise names but it seems to have really worked. A lot of players with state contracts choose to play BBL in a different state, and people seem to like that.

I think Glory struggle with attendances due to the times the games are played. Late afternoon games to allow prime time TV broadcasts into the Eastern States are a killer. Sitting in the Eastern stand at that time of day isn't much fun.

The majority of games are 6:40 Saturday kick off once it hits mid December because of the heat. By that time the sun has pretty much gone down.

I must be a silly bugger then.

The games I've taken my sons to have been earlier games and we got cooked.

The last 4 home games going back to the 12th of December have been 6:40 kick off- the home game before was the Sydney game in 36 degree heat at 4:30. 4 of the last 6 are also 6:40 kick off with the 2 that aren't being a Monday night (5pm) and a Sunday arvo (3pm).

commmeeeee onnnn youuuu gloorrrryyyy boyyyys

The last 4 home games going back to the 12th of December have been 6:40 kick off- the home game before was the Sydney game in 36 degree heat at 4:30. 4 of the last 6 are also 6:40 kick off with the 2 that aren't being a Monday night (5pm) and a Sunday arvo (3pm).

If that's the case, maybe no one goes because they're shit and I need to pick my games better.

I'll be attending this weekend, let's go find some Melb City fans and ****ING PUNCH ON BOYS!!!!!

Haha nah I'll be with my old man, no way he'll stand for 90 minutes :p

are you a shed regular?

I was active regular but since there is no active bay this season my mates have all moved back into the shed. I chucked in my membership but the games I've gone to I've been in the shed.

wanna be my friend?