Mega Thread The Port Store Mega Thread

I think I acquired a distaste based on the fanbase, I think of AC/DC and I think of playing a gig and genuinely having pissed bogans in singlets shouting 'play sum acca dacca'! I can't hear one of their songs without the though of VB swilling inbreds in their busted up VC Commodore. I can't be objective now.

It's like how I grew a hatred for Metallica from sharing a room with my brother who would never stop playing Ride The Lightning.

If they weren't Australian people wouldn't be too bothered.

If they weren't Australian they would be even bigger. Imagine their first 6 years in a place like the US or UK. Ridiculous statement.
More like ThunderSuck.

I just wish ACDC was a hipster band or whatever like the Mountain Goats, then something like that would be cool.

Bon Scott already went through his hipster phase with Fraternity, and the highly regarded Mount Lofty Rangers

http://www.adelaidenow.com.au/news/...de-hills-emerges/story-fni6uo1m-1226787706510

260.jpg

Nothing says mainstream hipster hybrid like a guy with tattoos and a beard playing an American sport!

Maybe I would be more convivial about accadacca but my wife was booking accomodation in Melbourne in a few weeks to see Custard with a mate and couldn't work out why everything was double normal $$.

Quick look by yours truly finds ACDC are playing three nights at shitihad that weekend.

If they weren't Australian they would be even bigger. Imagine their first 6 years in a place like the US or UK. Ridiculous statement.

Bon Scott already went through his hipster phase with Fraternity, and the highly regarded Mount Lofty Rangers

http://www.adelaidenow.com.au/news/...de-hills-emerges/story-fni6uo1m-1226787706510

260.jpg

Nothing says mainstream hipster hybrid like a guy with tattoos and a beard playing an American sport!
They wouldn't have had a first six years there, that's my point. Both countries had far superior bands.
I had barely heard of them before I came to Australia, let alone knew of the cultish following here.

Some of their songs are quite catchy mind, but then again so are Taylor Swifts. I suppose that happens when every other advert uses one.

They wouldn't have had a first six years there, that's my point. Both countries had far superior bands.
I had barely heard of them before I came to Australia, let alone knew of the cultish following here.

Some of their songs are quite catchy mind, but then again so are Taylor Swifts. I suppose that happens when every other advert uses one.

Are these far superior still playing stadium tours 40 years later?

Going from wikipedia, they supported Black Sabbath, Aerosmith,Kiss, Styx, UFO, and Blue Öyster Cult, and co-headlined with Cheap Trick. They wouldn't get a gig at footy park, let alone Adelaide Oval. No disrespect to those bands, I like all of them and some of them even love, but your assertion is ridiculous, as ridiculous as the old X champion from the SANFL wouldn't have cut the mustard in the VFL.

I love everything AC/DC 'till after Back In Black

It was pretty hit and mediocre for a long time there, but Black Ice was a great consistent album, which was an achievement considering it has 15 tracks, did you like that?

I think their problem is they were Mutt Lange'd after Back In Black, but he did the job they needed him to do and break them in America.

It was pretty hit and mediocre for a long time there, but Black Ice was a great consistent album, which was an achievement considering it has 15 tracks, did you like that?

I think their problem is they were Mutt Lange'd after Back In Black, but he did the job they needed him to do and break them in America.

To tell the truth I have never heard anything from Black Ice. I was excited before the release, but something inside of me warned against it. Would feel the same if say...Led Zep released a new album now. It's been done

Thank **** we got some AC/DC and the camrys didn't. Could you imagine that, if it were the other way around? How grossly inappropriate. Think One Direction would be their fit.
um excuse me

To tell the truth I have never heard anything from Black Ice. I was excited before the release, but something inside of me warned against it. Would feel the same if say...Led Zep released a new album now. It's been done

Honestly, give it a go, probably the second best of the Brian era, and easily the best post 80s.

Are these far superior still playing stadium tours 40 years later?

Going from wikipedia, they supported Black Sabbath, Aerosmith,Kiss, Styx, UFO, and Blue Öyster Cult, and co-headlined with Cheap Trick. They wouldn't get a gig at footy park, let alone Adelaide Oval. No disrespect to those bands, I like all of them and some of them even love, but your assertion is ridiculous, as ridiculous as the old X champion from the SANFL wouldn't have cut the mustard in the VFL.

Ah the old create criteria to suit your band thing.

I get it, you love pretty average surprisingly popular rock music. Well done. I hear One Direction currently sell out concert venues, as does Justin Bieber.

Take That also sell out every time they play, twenty years later.

Ah the old create criteria to suit your band thing.

I get it, you love pretty average surprisingly popular rock music. Well done. I hear One Direction currently sell out concert venues, as does Justin Bieber.

Take That also sell out every time they play, twenty years later.

Ah, the old avoid the question. It was "40 years later".
I look forward to seeing Sabbath next year at the entertainment centre.

Wow, thanks for making me feel genuinely bad for liking AC/DC. :(

Ah, the old avoid the question. It was "40 years later".
I look forward to seeing Sabbath next year at the entertainment centre.
They are shit too.

It's music, nobody agrees. You are evangelising for no reason.

They are shit too.

It's music, nobody agrees. You are evangelising for no reason.

You're telling me they would not have been successful if they formed anywhere else with such certainty that I find unbelievable and ridiculous and I'm calling you on it cause there is no factual or statistical basis for that.