Discussion The Random Discussion Thread

Pubs in SE Queensland are pretty shit all round imo. Towards the end of the joh era in the late eighties they demolished a number of old heritage pubs around Brisbane (sometimes at 3am without telling anyone so no one could protest!). Then through the nineties and noughties a lot of the decent pubs that had bands and atmosphere and stuff had those spaces changed to frickin' pokies, destroying any sense of community. Then in the teenies it seemed like just about every pub was being bought by Woolies or Coles (along with the servo's and bottlo's) and then given the same generic makeover so that now they're all bland overpriced copies of each other.

I was in Brisbane a few weeks ago and popped in to a "pub" for a pint of Guinness. Almost fell over when the dude said "that'll be $19 thanks chief".

Was gonna have a few but couldn't get outta there quick enough! 🤓

200 (85).gif

The red head bashing is so lame to me. Its such a boomer joke. My best mate is a redhead, my cousin is a redhead, my 2 neices are redheads.

My best mate has copped crap his whole life. The amount of times people have started shit on nights out us unbelievable. People seem to think it is okay to take pot shots at a stranger, and not get a response back.

It's always an overweight bogan loser as well, than finds it necessary to approach a stranger and hang crap on them. Meanwhile my mate is a handsome dude, partner in a law firm, absolute weapon in life.

Lucky for my nieces, the next generation seem to have backed away from it considerably, and it is actually considered pretty poor form these days.

As for your post, you have just responded to somebody telling you their wife is a redhead and they take offence to anybody calling them a mutant, with a post about a redhead mutant gene?

Wow, you seem like a nice person. I am sure you think that is funny but you are inferring you see somebody's wife as a mutant. This is 2025 mate, time to grow up a bit.

The red head bashing is so lame to me. Its such a boomer joke. My best mate is a redhead, my cousin is a redhead, my 2 neices are redheads.

My best mate has copped crap his whole life. The amount of times people have started shit on nights out us unbelievable. People seem to think it is okay to take pot shots at a stranger, and not get a response back.

It's always an overweight bogan loser as well, than finds it necessary to approach a stranger and hang crap on them. Meanwhile my mate is a handsome dude, partner in a law firm, absolute weapon in life.

Lucky for my nieces, the next generation seem to have backed away from it considerably, and it is actually considered pretty poor form these days.

As for your post, you have just responded to somebody telling you their wife is a redhead and they take offence to anybody calling them a mutant, with a post about a redhead mutant gene?

Wow, you seem like a nice person. I am sure you think that is funny but you are inferring you see somebody's wife as a mutant. This is 2025 mate, time to grow up a bit.
Ranga lover

Nowadays if you want to steal a car the criminals are going for push button start cars.

Having a manual car with a key start is a very thief proof car today.
Another strategy is to have a crappy carburetor that has air leaks. I had my car stolen, from in front of the house I was renting. I jumped up when I heard it start, as it was a little terrace house and my bed was literally yards away. I ran out into the street in my jocks, and sure enough, the thief had stalled the car at the first corner. His mate was waiting to jump in and was startled to see this half naked guy running towards the car. As the thief has unlocked the door for his mate, I jumped in instead. I just said, ‘get out, get out’. He did. There was no police, no calls. The guys walked off, and I backed my car back around the corner and parked it. Crazy. I didn’t think about it. I was a 22 year old student, it was an HQ Holden. 1980s. When students drove old family cars of a generation before. I wouldn’t dream of approaching a thief now. Not in Australia.

Ranga lover
Absolutely. Some of the best people I know have red hair including those in my family.

Gingerism is pretty much the last form of bullying that is acceptable.

Peronally, I think it is pretty low brow, low IQ sort of humor.

I don't really think it is okay for you kids to be made insecure and shamed for something they have no control over. Unfortunately when grown adults push that nonsense, it just perpetuates bullying throughout generations.

The fact that you think it is hilarious shows you probably also dabble in a bit of casual racism as well, because you know it is hilarious and all to make fun of what physical traits people are born with.

So yes, I am a proud red head lover. Will not use that other R would because referring to somebody as a type of monkey is messed up.

I know there's a few electric guitar players here, wondering if anyone has any experience with any of the small rechargeable amps that are around these days? I have bigger and better amps but would like something portable to be able to take outside. Thinking about a Positive Grid Spark Go or Mini, internal rechargeable lithium battery via USBC, no faffing with batteries. Any others worth looking at?

Absolutely. Some of the best people I know have red hair including those in my family.

Gingerism is pretty much the last form of bullying that is acceptable.

Peronally, I think it is pretty low brow, low IQ sort of humor.

I don't really think it is okay for you kids to be made insecure and shamed for something they have no control over. Unfortunately when grown adults push that nonsense, it just perpetuates bullying throughout generations.

The fact that you think it is hilarious shows you probably also dabble in a bit of casual racism as well, because you know it is hilarious and all to make fun of what physical traits people are born with.

So yes, I am a proud red head lover. Will not use that other R would because referring to somebody as a type of monkey is messed up.
Finally we agree on something.

It seems rather strange that you can’t make fun of someone’s skin colour but can make fun of someone’s hair colour. As if either is a choice.

Well, just my two cents. Poking fun at someone’s hair color, while not always nice, doesn’t carry the same baggage. There’s no historical context of people being denied rights, opportunities, or dignity based on their hair color. It’s just not comparable.

It’s not about whether the trait is chosen or not; it’s about the harm and historical weight attached to it.

That’s my excuse for ragging on redheads all the time anyway, lol.

Well, just my two cents. Poking fun at someone’s hair color, while not always nice, doesn’t carry the same baggage. There’s no historical context of people being denied rights, opportunities, or dignity based on their hair color. It’s just not comparable.
Patently untrue......Ranga's are the original incel's, therefore having been denied the right to copulate.......

Discussion The Random Discussion Thread

Write your reply...