Discussion The Random Discussion Thread

What do they win? Bragging rights on the advertising.
My point was, the power figures are only a small part of the story.
Most cars have ample power. Something like a Suzuki Jimny is probably one of the slowest. It does 0-100 in 12 seconds, and a top speed of 140km/h. ( even old Beetles went 130-140).

I love the acceleration in City/Suburban driving but i barely get to do it because the guy in front at the lights is accelerating slower than a 1950 VW Beetle.
( they went 0-100 in around 20 seconds, i figure a lot of the traffic hasn't hit 60 or 80 in that time ).

You lie, north central to slightly south east as soon as you meet the Tulla you are cactus until the Eastern and good luck on the Monash or Rings as you'll meet random points of "I am doing the speed limit and then crashing 80% as John Doe forgot how to drive and what a car is". There is no chance for you to accelerate off a light as all slip lanes are also three deep and wide as no one has any chill, you block literally everything so everyone can jaywalk to their hearts content and gossip in very slowly moving traffic.

Those beetles doing 40second 20 are doing it right because it allows space for everyone else to go around all the stupid entitled metro people.

My central aircon died, its probably just lost gas over a decade or so, but its R22 and no-one wants to touch it.
Means it would take a couple of thousand to buy the gas, and if its a "fast leak" it'll just piss out.

Its a "add on " to the ducted Brivis system, and no-one wants to mess around integrating a new aircon to that sort of system. Got quoted nearly double what the Brivis system cost a decade ago, even re-using the ducts even allowing for a government rebate. Seriously every time there is a government rebate the prices go up.

Planning on selling the house soon, so have to decide whether to sell it without aircon, or install something.
Probably best to let the new owner choose what they want ,so that's 20K off the value of the house.

"We can install split systems mate"

Yeah i can buy my own split systems and get an electrician to install them, i don't need to go to a air conditioning expert for that .

Meanwhile doing my bit to help.
Is the AC additional to your pre-existing ducted gas? The rebates are likely still applicable to you simply because of the gas heating component. Whole house split installs are in the 6 - 8k (depending) range right now and if you're willing to decommission the old stuff it might be a good idea to maintain the property value.

I wouldn't even bother with residential ducted AC. Just too expensive to repair/replace/run compared to individual splits.

Is the AC additional to your pre-existing ducted gas? The rebates are likely still applicable to you simply because of the gas heating component. Whole house split installs are in the 6 - 8k (depending) range right now and if you're willing to decommission the old stuff it might be a good idea to maintain the property value.

I wouldn't even bother with residential ducted AC. Just too expensive to repair/replace/run compared to individual splits.

Yeah it was an add on to the ducted, and we had the house in 3 zones. It was installed at the same time we updated the heating. ( the house had been built with undersized unit, and they compensated with smaller ducts. It used to blast you with cold air before the warm started coming out , the unit we put in had much bigger ducts and an inverter drive, so it started slowly and never really blasted you with air ).

The main living area is very open, so its going to be a bitch to set it up with split systems.

I'd say it would need 3 or 4 for the main living area, then there's 4 bedrooms.
Aircon was normally used with the main living area zoned off, or just the bedrooms if it was a hot night.
Heater with gas was fine for heating the whole house.

Where I am.

Ducted underfloor, ye olden version with split heating component, the costs I've been quoted are... interesting to say the least.

The average family car had 75-100HP when St Kilda won a flag!
We had a XP Falcon wagon with the standard spec 144 c.I. Motor (the one nobody else had) it was barely adequate for the first model Falcon in 1960 in sedan form, let alone a heavier XP with a family of six in it, packed to the gills and a full length roof rack stacked high. We drove it all over the state and interstate.

Ford claimed 90HP for that motor. I reckon it lucky to be 60 at the back wheels. But the point I am marking is that it wa standard. An EK Holden wagon just had a 138 ci grey motor in it- barely 70 HP but you’d see them towing wooden caravans on family holidays!

Something happened in marketing in the 60s and beyond. Meanwhile people ride a bicycle faster than cars.

Yeah it was an add on to the ducted, and we had the house in 3 zones. It was installed at the same time we updated the heating. ( the house had been built with undersized unit, and they compensated with smaller ducts. It used to blast you with cold air before the warm started coming out , the unit we put in had much bigger ducts and an inverter drive, so it started slowly and never really blasted you with air ).

The main living area is very open, so its going to be a bitch to set it up with split systems.

I'd say it would need 3 or 4 for the main living area, then there's 4 bedrooms.
Aircon was normally used with the main living area zoned off, or just the bedrooms if it was a hot night.
Heater with gas was fine for heating the whole house.
Most of the rebate schemes on offer at the moment include at least an 8kw unit for the main area which will generally be sufficient even for a large space but yeah you may have issues with it not covering the zone properly. You might be able to a multi head unit running off the the single outside condenser though but im note sure about combing the different rebates.

Mind you, assuming that you're in Victoria for this though ha.
Where I am.

Ducted underfloor, ye olden version with split heating component, the costs I've been quoted are... interesting to say the least.
Theres just so much issue with residential ducted AC that just drives up install cost. The units are just really big, require placing generally in the central part of the house in either the roof, which has access issues and you have to run refrigerant lines a fair distance to a massive condenser, or under the floor which also has access issues and then dampness etc...

Then if it breaks you gotta do it all over again.

Plus to get any sort of efficiency you NEED zone control which is going to need a BMS to run it and actuating dampers at every room register to close them off when not needed.

You do end up with a super sleek and hidden away system but for the average family I reckon its just too much risk and hassle when individual splits just work better and can be replaced as needed and inherently have zone control.

Being overseas I hadn’t realized that governments in Australia were encouraging people to go electric abd home and shun gas.

How does it feel to have local taxes pay for rebates so that you all have to buy into a Chinese owned electrical network, knowing that you’ll be forever tied to it? Maybe it’s like me buying an iPhone, I don’t like it, but I figure I have no choices. Is that how it feels?

Theres just so much issue with residential ducted AC that just drives up install cost. The units are just really big, require placing generally in the central part of the house in either the roof, which has access issues and you have to run refrigerant lines a fair distance to a massive condenser, or under the floor which also has access issues and then dampness etc...

Then if it breaks you gotta do it all over again.

Plus to get any sort of efficiency you NEED zone control which is going to need a BMS to run it and actuating dampers at every room register to close them off when not needed.

You do end up with a super sleek and hidden away system but for the average family I reckon its just too much risk and hassle when individual splits just work better and can be replaced as needed and inherently have zone control.

We have condenser, on the outside near the room I'm in at present and tubing run from underfloor since it was installed when ducted vac was as this is from the 1970's.

Being overseas I hadn’t realized that governments in Australia were encouraging people to go electric abd home and shun gas.

How does it feel to have local taxes pay for rebates so that you all have to buy into a Chinese owned electrical network, knowing that you’ll be forever tied to it? Maybe it’s like me buying an iPhone, I don’t like it, but I figure I have no choices. Is that how it feels?

Only on new, I'm in pre-existing so I can do whatever the frig I want with mine at present.

The same companies own the gas networks you realize.

Is it just me or has there been a decline in car colour diversity in the last decade.

It seems to be white, silver or black and not a lot of Red, blue, green or even yellow cars.

Falcons and Commodores always seemed to be every colour other than pink but nowdays it just seems dull.

We give away all our gas and instead of demanding the gas companies pay for royalties, we use our taxes to change over to electric. 10 years ago they had a scheme to pay people to remove electric hot water systems and change over to gas.

And the more electric you go, including homes vehicles and industry , the more you are hooked into the foreign owned electric network ! Your taxes are being paid to them, with your consent via incentives and subsidies (thus no responsibility is on government) to them the foreign electrical companies and they get to have you on a leach, because what are the alternatives. It seems strange .

Edit : it’s been pointed out, that the same companies own gas now too.
So why bother me bringing it up? Mmm I don’t think I have an answer, BUT we have government subsidies (our local taxes - don’t worry I pay too) are being used so we switch from one modality to the other and both are foreign owned, and being in Australia, probably pay taxes (minimal as corporate lawyers and other tricks will ensure that - in addition to gaining other favours- like a virtually free electricity grid built out of 100 years of tax payers money and given away at bargain basement prices) if still seems odd. Not that I love me an Australian company particularly- or an Australian Bank!!

With our resources we should have been a economic superpower but war criminal Johhnie and Crazy Costello screwed this nation over.

I look at Norway and weep for how much this nation has wasted.

The same companies own the gas networks you realize.
Yep just found this
When it comes to gas, Chinese and Hong Kong companies have a stake in 99% of the transmission and distribution network in Victoria, 100% in NSW and the ACT, as well as 86% in South Australia, 78% in Queensland, 74% in the Northern Territory and 62% in Western Australia.

Source : https://www.enseccoe.org/wp-content...as-energy-security-and-its-defence-force-.pdf

Super Edit: it says have a stake IN 99% bla bla

Maybe it’s like McDonalds saying they use 100% Aussie beef , yeah 1% of the burger could be Aussie ! But it’s 100% Aussie !

Is it just me or has there been a decline in car colour diversity in the last decade.

It seems to be white, silver or black and not a lot of Red, blue, green or even yellow cars.

Falcons and Commodores always seemed to be every colour other than pink but nowdays it just seems dull.
Yep and it’s not just cars, it’s everything. Don’t get me started on modern architecture ffs

1740040441708.jpeg

Worth reading this:

Yep just found this
When it comes to gas, Chinese and Hong Kong companies have a stake in 99% of the transmission and distribution network in Victoria, 100% in NSW and the ACT, as well as 86% in South Australia, 78% in Queensland, 74% in the Northern Territory and 62% in Western Australia.

Source : https://www.enseccoe.org/wp-content...as-energy-security-and-its-defence-force-.pdf

Super Edit: it says have a stake IN 99% bla bla

Maybe it’s like McDonalds saying they use 100% Aussie beef , yeah 1% of the burger could be Aussie ! But it’s 100% Aussie !

Do you have any information to suggest that McDonalds isn't using mostly Australian meat?

There were issues with some of the pigments being bad for the environment.
But then there is Australia, its not so much that we have a small market , but its a very diverse market and everything is imported.

So logistically the locals need to guess what range of cars to import and you need to buy it from stock.
I think there is very little "factory ordering done now".

Aussie's seem to be boring. They like white. I don't know why but white is really popular.
Go to a supermarket carpark, you see a heap of White, Black ( or dark grey ), light gray, mostly dark blue. The occasional bright yellow or bright red , or god forgive "green", stands out like dogs balls.

So we have a market of around a million cars a year.
When Falcodores were popular, they were making over 100 000 of each, but now, apart from Ranger, Rav4 and Hilux most car/vehicle models sell in around 20 000 per year.

So as an importer you have to guess what cars to order from the factory. Further, you don't want to advertise colours and have them unavailable.
So ...you order idk 10 000 white, 5000 dark, 3000 light grey, and a few red and blue.

I just had a look. You can get 6 different colours of Hyundai Kona in Australia, you can get 9 in the USA.

Just checking out Corolla ,( i always find Toyota very conservative ).
They have 8 colors. ( They have 15 in the USA ).
I'd describe them as :
White, another white, grey so pale its almost white , black, almost black, red but i'm scared to stand out, bright red, blue.

Honda have 3 colors for the Civic. White , Blue , Red .

At least some of the Chinese brands seem to be trying. MG's have some bright colors.
A guy where i work bought a Chery , its white, but it has black trim, and there it is....RED on the wheels.

So as stated previously openly, I am chatting with lawyers about where I live as yay estates and probate after parents die, boo people delaying shit.

Why, why does everything needs to be solved on a Friggen Friday? You got things in mid Jan, gimmie comms FFS, not hard.

So anyway, might be getting somewhere, not happy with the time frame of "hey, can you decide if you wish to move, buy, build, keep in maybe a week?" through a 1 line email with zero context, but my doc isn't FMLFU for any singular reason, so F-IT.

Worth reading this:

You can't create dystopia without dropping the saturation down. Elon's killer robots would be hard to take seriously if they were orange.

Willy-Wonka-Charlie-and-the-chocolate-factory-differences.jpg

Discussion The Random Discussion Thread