Mega Thread The Random Thoughts Thread Part 1

I genuinely can't think of an Australian band of the last two decades i significantly like. The 1980's in Australia were amazingly good.

Well I wasn't alive in the 1980's, so that would explain that.

Hmmm, Australian bands would have to be

The Birthday Party - Mutiny/Bad seed
Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds - Tender Prey
AC/DC - Highway to Hell
Rose Tattoo - self titled

I'm a little ocker at times.

Well I wasn't alive in the 1980's, so that would explain that.
Damn kids and your music. You probably never even used a rotary phone!

u jst md cos skrlx is da best

funny-celebrity-pictures-skrillex-the-beatles.jpg

Love it!

Amazing how big I Killed The Prom Queen have gotten from lil old Adelaide. I remember some of their old gigs with Sprawl, Officer Down, 99 Reasons Why, Killchoir Project. Good times!

The best thing that ever came out of Geelong. Ever.

I was there when they filmed this clip.... they put a free gig on at the tiv, played LMA about five times which got annoying, but it led to one of the funniest things I have heard at a gig... when they were wrapping things up they asked the crowd for song requests, one dude shouted "LMA"... Pretty funny, but probably had to be there...

New Album out soon and touring next year.

I genuinely can't think of an Australian band of the last two decades i significantly like. The 1980's in Australia were amazingly good.

I have a theory that Australian music reached its zenith in the years between 1977 and 1982.

Bands like...
Birthday Party
Boys Next Door
Split Enz
Hunters & Collectors
Primitive Calculators
Severed Heads
ACDC
Flash & the Pan
Flowers/Icehouse
INXS
The Scientists
Cold Chisel
The Divinyls
Midnight Oil
Mental as Anything
The Models
The Reels
created some ridiculously good music that had an impact around the word.

Unfortunately it all went to shit after 1983.

I have a theory that Australian music reached its zenith in the years between 1977 and 1982.

Bands like...
Birthday Party
Boys Next Door
Split Enz
Hunters & Collectors
Primitive Calculators
Severed Heads
ACDC
Flash & the Pan
Flowers/Icehouse
INXS
The Scientists
Cold Chisel
The Divinyls
Midnight Oil
Mental as Anything
The Models
The Reels
created some ridiculously good music that had an impact around the word.

Unfortunately it all went to shit after 1983.

I disagree, respectfully, with your theory.

Interesting observation, although personally I didn't mind post 1982 from..
- Kids in the Kitchen
- Pseudo Echo
- Dragon (if they can be classed as Oz-tralian)

Due to the bands listed or an alternative era?

Personally, i'd only rate a handful of the bands you listed but that's beside the point. It's taste. From that period you listed i'd probably have a largely different list of bands. Coming from a punk/post punk side of the fence I would still include Midnight Oil in my list though, and obviously the Birthday Party, AC/DC. I think The Scientists have been slightly over rated over time. I like them, but think they get a little more credit than they deserve. From the '77 - '83 period, The Victims would make my list, The Fun Things, The Chosen Few, X....again, that's just personal taste.
My view is that the really good period lasted probably until about '87 before starting it's decline. In independent, predominantly guitar driven music, many including myself would argue the period between '83 and '87 was most productive - band wise, record label wise, venue wise, fanzine wise. A bit of a golden age when a lot happened. Go to rock clubs and bars around Europe and the US and they'll also tell you this period of Australian independent rock is legendary.

And since i mentioned The Victims, here they are live. A young Dave Faulkner and James Baker pre-Hoodoo Gurus.

Studio

No thanks.

Craig is a massive douche, most of it can be explained through apparent autism though.

yeah combining psychedelic drugs with a mental illness will make any one go loopy. he isn't a douche of a person though not that that should effect the music he made.

Love it!

Amazing how big I Killed The Prom Queen have gotten from lil old Adelaide. I remember some of their old gigs with Sprawl, Officer Down, 99 Reasons Why, Killchoir Project. Good times!

I either currently am or was friends with someone from every band you mentioned, except Officer Down. Really good mates with everyone from Killchoir, also most of the dudes from Embodiment. I used to be mates with the DOC and Prommies guys, but a rift happened in the scene at the time over a whole bunch of kids who sold out from straight edge (me being one of them) and the ones remaining straight edge hating the shit out of them. Kids hey.

So yeah turns out we would have been at heaps of the same shows. Around that time I would have been the idiot in the pit with his hood up and a bandana on his face doing windmills.

Personally, i'd only rate a handful of the bands you listed but that's beside the point. It's taste. From that period you listed i'd probably have a largely different list of bands. Coming from a punk/post punk side of the fence I would still include Midnight Oil in my list though, and obviously the Birthday Party, AC/DC. I think The Scientists have been slightly over rated over time. I like them, but think they get a little more credit than they deserve. From the '77 - '83 period, The Victims would make my list, The Fun Things, The Chosen Few, X....again, that's just personal taste.

I should clarify that my list was not so much based on personal taste, more the significance of the output in that period. Midnight Oil's music is about as far removed from my personal taste as you could get but Bird Noises and Place without a postcard are just so bloody good that they're hard not to acknowledge. 10 to 1 is pretty strong as well.

The list also wasn't meant to be definitive, more indicative of the breadth across different styles.
I'll even add your suggestions to bolster my theory ;)

Could also include Radio Birdman, the Saints, the Go Betweens, Laughing Clowns etc

All up, even discounting personal taste, it's a very impressive output throughout the period.

My view is that the really good period lasted probably until about '87 before starting it's decline. In independent, predominantly guitar driven music, many including myself would argue the period between '83 and '87 was most productive - band wise, record label wise, venue wise, fanzine wise. A bit of a golden age when a lot happened. Go to rock clubs and bars around Europe and the US and they'll also tell you this period of Australian independent rock is legendary.

Haha! Great to have someone put forward an alternative. I'll have to do some more research and rethink my time frames. (EDIT: just spent the last hour or so lost in the YouTube vortex.)

I do agree that the mid to late 80s was a great time for live bands. My uni years, 85-88, were a hazy blur as a result. It's just that the commercial stuff at the same time was appalling. What happened to the Models post 83, for example, was downright criminal.

You mentioned Died Pretty in your other post, what other bands would you have in this period?

I remember a great band from Perth around that time, can't recall their name but they had a bit of a 60s garage sound to them. I know I saw them live but couldn't tell you where or when. EDIT: The Stems.

I'd lol if they ever chose Parkway Drive to do a sporting event.

The fighting would start in the stands before the players ran onto the field.

Actually. I want that to happen.

TSW, make it happen.

I either currently am or was friends with someone from every band you mentioned, except Officer Down. Really good mates with everyone from Killchoir, also most of the dudes from Embodiment. I used to be mates with the DOC and Prommies guys, but a rift happened in the scene at the time over a whole bunch of kids who sold out from straight edge (me being one of them) and the ones remaining straight edge hating the shit out of them. Kids hey.

So yeah turns out we would have been at heaps of the same shows. Around that time I would have been the idiot in the pit with his hood up and a bandana on his face doing windmills.

The drummer from Lo-Tel once smiled at me after they did a gig in the Big Star basement. It was a smile that lingered a little too long and made me question the needle of my sexual compass. Half an hour earlier he'd thrown a drumstick to an overly vocal punter named Axel. I kind of resembled Axel. Maybe he was picturing what I'd done with said drumstick in the interim? 2001, woo!

a whole bunch of kids who sold out from straight edge (me being one of them) and the ones remaining straight edge hating the shit out of them. Kids hey.
lol wut you were edge?

The drummer from Lo-Tel once smiled at me after they did a gig in the Big Star basement. It was a smile that lingered a little too long and made me question the needle of my sexual compass. Half an hour earlier he'd thrown a drumstick to an overly vocal punter named Axel. I kind of resembled Axel. Maybe he was picturing what I'd done with said drumstick in the interim? 2001, woo!

I should clarify that my list was not so much based on personal taste, more the significance of the output in that period. Midnight Oil's music is about as far removed from my personal taste as you could get but Bird Noises and Place without a postcard are just so bloody good that they're hard not to acknowledge. 10 to 1 is pretty strong as well.

The list also wasn't meant to be definitive, more indicative of the breadth across different styles.
I'll even add your suggestions to bolster my theory ;)

Could also include Radio Birdman, the Saints, the Go Betweens, Laughing Clowns etc

All up, even discounting personal taste, it's a very impressive output throughout the period.

Haha! Great to have someone put forward an alternative. I'll have to do some more research and rethink my time frames. (EDIT: just spent the last hour or so lost in the YouTube vortex.)

I do agree that the mid to late 80s was a great time for live bands. My uni years, 85-88, were a hazy blur as a result. It's just that the commercial stuff at the same time was appalling. What happened to the Models post 83, for example, was downright criminal.

You mentioned Died Pretty in your other post, what other bands would you have in this period?

I remember a great band from Perth around that time, can't recall their name but they had a bit of a 60s garage sound to them. I know I saw them live but couldn't tell you where or when. EDIT: The Stems.

Bomber, due to the nature of my job it's just too difficult to give you a detailed response now. But when I have time to do so I will. :)

It was a good time for Adelaide Hardcore i reckon, those late 90s-early 00s. Throw in Wheres The Pope? who were probably the best of the lot, shotpointblank, a tribe is calling, inspite. Im sure im overlooking a dozen others.