Mega Thread The Random Thoughts Thread Part 1

People who bitch about their jobs all the time, either at home, or at work.

If you don't like it, leave. Have some pride and self-respect. What are you doing?

Jobs are just a means to an end, this whole "worthwhile career" bullshit is for misty eyed dreamers.

Jobs = money = doing stuff I could not do without money

(But there is no point bitching about it)

Jobs are just a means to an end, this whole "worthwhile career" bullshit is for misty eyed dreamers.

I agree, I'm a person who likes my job but I'd be quitting Friday if I won Powerball on Thursday. Only a tiny percentage of people will ever make money doing what they love.

But it's a matter degrees, too. If you can't bear where you work, have some self-respect and quit, rather than being a burden on your co-workers, family and friends.

I recall a patient where I work called Mr Onions. Now you, me and everybody would pronounce that as per the vegetable...nope.

Apparently (according to Mr Onions) it goes thus:
Oh-nigh-ons.
I was like, nah mate, that's Onions.

It's bouquet!

Nah!

Having worked in payroll in my early working career I came across a couple of doozies including:

• V.D. Byrne
  • G.M.H. Holden
There was a guy at a place I worked years ago called Something* Ennis. Thing is he had an office with a name plate on the door and it said Something P. Ennis.
I mean why? Why would parents give someone with the surname Ennis even a middle name starting with P? Why would you tell anyone what it was once you were an adult? Any why oh why would you have it printed on a nameplate on your door unless you worked for Ennis Industries who only employed people named Ennis and there was genuinely a need to distinguish yourself from 3 or 4 other other office workers there called Something Ennis?

* Not literally Something, just trying to hide the person's identity a wee bit.

D Rod just got a perfect 4 x 10 votes for dancing an energetic Bollywood number in the semis. **** he was good ....
Simply astonishing, as good as any professional dancer. Even I watched it and these shows are not my thing.
Hard to believe he isn't out tearing up a footy oval again when he can move like that.

I like my job insofar as it's something I'm forced to do to survive. I think I've done a reasonable job in finding a job that feels less like work than a lot of other jobs. If given the choice however I wouldn't work at all.

I love my job and wouldn't quit if I won Powerball

I don't *mind* my job but its still a job.

If you win Powerball how about you can keep your job and give me the money so I can quit my job and leave it open to someone who had no job ;)

There was a guy at a place I worked years ago called Something* Ennis. Thing is he had an office with a name plate on the door and it said Something P. Ennis.
I mean why? Why would parents give someone with the surname Ennis even a middle name starting with P? Why would you tell anyone what it was once you were an adult? Any why oh why would you have it printed on a nameplate on your door unless you worked for Ennis Industries who only employed people named Ennis and there was genuinely a need to distinguish yourself from 3 or 4 other other office workers there called Something Ennis?

* Not literally Something, just trying to hide the person's identity a wee bit.
I wonder what my mate *Something Ennis' middle name is....will have to ask him.

And every one of them has cold-called me to inform me that my computer is not working...
Or they send an email that ends up in my Junk box advising that they have a business deal or have money they wont to give you, all you have to do is give them all your details, then they can rip you off. I am getting at least two a day b it.

Having worked in payroll in my early working career I came across a couple of doozies including:

• V.D. Byrne
  • G.M.H. Holden

I once worked in Personnel (even before it was called Human Resources) and found out we employed both John Lennon and Shirley Maclain. I had to ring a bloke called Zvonko Stulchbauer one time, but no one at his workplace knew who on earth I was talking about. I said you know - the carpenter, mid fifties...Ah! they said - you mean Bob? Turns out the bloke was sick of spelling/explaining his real name, so he 'Anglicised' it.

.... Turns out the bloke was sick of spelling/explaining his real name, so he 'Anglicised' it.
That's a real 'thing' now. Heaps of Asian people do it, it has suddenly become a norm in the workplace. Once if you'd asked Zhan Teng if you could all call him Shane you'd have been called racist. Now he tells you to call him Shane on first meeting and you may not even have occasion to know his real name except on rosters etc.
We went to a BBQ held by a work colleague of Mrs Powerstufff and were some of the very few non ethnic Chinese there. And yet as we were introduced everyone was John or Sally etc.
We have a few posters here who are living in non-Anglo cultures or have in the past. Has anyone here had to adopt a culturally appropriate first name for general use in another culture?

That's a real 'thing' now. Heaps of Asian people do it, it has suddenly become a norm in the workplace. Once if you'd asked Zhan Teng if you could all call him Shane you'd have been called racist. Now he tells you to call him Shane on first meeting and you may not even have occasion to know his real name except on rosters etc.
We went to a BBQ held by a work colleague of Mrs Powerstufff and were some of the very few non ethnic Chinese there. And yet as we were introduced everyone was John or Sally etc.
We have a few posters here who are living in non-Anglo cultures or have in the past. Has anyone here had to adopt a culturally appropriate first name for general use in another culture?

I think it's been a 'thing' for a very long time now. For example most Chinese movie stars use an anglicised first name, and they adopt one regardless of whether they are trying to break into Hollywood.

It isnt that new is it? I mean how many people with a greek heritage do you know with a first name of Con, or Bill or Sam or Jim. What about people with Italian heritage with first names Joe or Anthony etc. Its been around for ages.

I watched Boyhood on the flight back to Adelaide. I really enjoyed it, pretty real (some may say bland) portrayal of growing up. Love the idea of filming over such a long period of time.

Funnily enough Ethan Hawke has done a similar thing with the 'Before' series of movies since the 90s.

I think it's been a 'thing' for a very long time now. For example most Chinese movie stars use an anglicised first name, and they adopt one regardless of whether they are trying to break into Hollywood.

'Dustin' Nguyen on 21 Jump Street gave me a chuckle. Apparently he pronounces his surname 'Win'. He was born Nguyen Xuan Tri when Saigon was Saigon.

I met an Asian girl called Mai Ling once.

True story.

I met an Asian girl called Mai Ling once.

True story.
6205431746_ef12229805_q.jpg

I guess so. But in a work group where everyone works together over a period of time I'm more used to people learning to pronounce the actual names. That is what seems to me to have suddenly changed.

It isnt that new is it? I mean how many people with a greek heritage do you know with a first name of Con, or Bill or Sam or Jim. What about people with Italian heritage with first names Joe or Anthony etc. Its been around for ages.
I agree but the Mediterranean adaptions are quite often an Anglicised version of their actual name. Even Slavic ones e.g. where Wladislaw becomes Wally.