Mega Thread The Random Thoughts Thread Part 1

The uni are charging me 10 dollars for not attending the graduation ceremony, claiming it costs 10 dollars to send out my parchment. I didn't go because I felt like the degree was too easy, not an achievement and they lowered the standards by passing so many incapable derpers who a) didn't contribute or b) played 'muh race' card.

*tips fedora*

My partner who runs a diploma at tafe level recently had a muslim woman turn up who straight out said "so, I get an extra two weeks on my assignment right?" to which my partner responded "no, why would you assume that?" to which the lady motioned to her face and said "can't you see, look at me."

**** me.

I'm having difficulty with my assignment i understand that i am able to apply for a 2 week extension as a refugee.

Lost in translation

The uni are charging me 10 dollars for not attending the graduation ceremony, claiming it costs 10 dollars to send out my parchment. I didn't go because I felt like the degree was too easy, not an achievement and they lowered the standards by passing so many incapable derpers who a) didn't contribute or b) played 'muh race' card.

*tips fedora*

My partner who runs a diploma at tafe level recently had a muslim woman turn up who straight out said "so, I get an extra two weeks on my assignment right?" to which my partner responded "no, why would you assume that?" to which the lady motioned to her face and said "can't you see, look at me."

**** me.

Yeah, look.

I did a third year subject at Flinders with a full-fee paying gentleman from our near north whose grasp of spoken English was that of a 2-year old.

Unless he had Rainmanesque written communication abilities I don't see how his participation let alone shoo-in minimum pass was in any way fair to the reputation and credibility of the University, let alone us schleps who were clearly being marked at an insanely different standard due to, you know, being literate.

Yeah, look.

I did a third year subject at Flinders with a full-fee paying gentleman from our near north whose grasp of spoken English was that of a 2-year old.

Unless he had Rainmanesque written communication abilities I don't see how his participation let alone shoo-in minimum pass was in any way fair to the reputation and credibility of the University, let alone us schleps who were clearly being marked at an insanely different standard due to, you know, being literate.

I usually spent hours correcting/re-writing sections of assignments written by these people. The Uni always push "THIS IS WHAT REAL LIFE IS LIKE". No, it isn't. It really isn't. It's no wonder people have trouble getting jobs after they finish their degree. Any employer in their right mind can't use a degree as any indication of competency. I had a case where a group member upped and left for 6 weeks back to india during a semester, he came back and demanded he be put on the credits of the final assignment saying "just say that I did this section and this section pls." We refused. He complained to the lecturer (lol what?) we had to go to a mediation, the entire group hated on him and exposed him for what he did. I never saw him again, but I would happily bet a hunji that the lecturer passed him.

Ehh swings and roundabouts. In the hospitality industry you tend to get desperate overseas workers who need sponsorship to stay in Australia and end up working 6/7 day weeks for bugger all pay.

Yeah, look.

The literacy level of this country...just a browse through BF forums gives an idea. Let alone FB...

I usually spent hours correcting/re-writing sections of assignments written by these people. The Uni always push "THIS IS WHAT REAL LIFE IS LIKE". No, it isn't. It really isn't. It's no wonder people have trouble getting jobs after they finish their degree. Any employer in their right mind can't use a degree as any indication of competency. I had a case where a group member upped and left for 6 weeks back to india during a semester, he came back and demanded he be put on the credits of the final assignment saying "just say that I did this section and this section pls." We refused. He complained to the lecturer (lol what?) we had to go to a mediation, the entire group hated on him and exposed him for what he did. I never saw him again, but I would happily bet a hunji that the lecturer passed him.
If anyone thinks Uni's are anything but a business, then they are idiots.

The literacy level of this country...just a browse through BF forums gives an idea. Let alone FB...

That's what the WBLA was (is?) for. Man. Trying to find something that qualified for the maths/science component.

Ehh swings and roundabouts. In the hospitality industry you tend to get desperate overseas workers who need sponsorship to stay in Australia and end up working 6/7 day weeks for bugger all pay.

Doesn't that cover everyone in hospitality?

I know its hard to believe but even less than normal. Also 70% of Hospitality workers are now desperate overseas workers looking for sponsorship.

You'll have to forgive me, but WBLA? Work Base Learning for Adults is what Google came up with

I think he is talking about the womens basketball league of australia.

I know its hard to believe but even less than normal. Also 70% of Hospitality workers are now desperate overseas workers looking for sponsorship.

Pretty sure they should know and expect the risks when making a commitment to come over here. They're just working jobs that no one else want's to work, lol. Which is another kettle of fish, people who are jobless being picky. "I don't want to do that i'd rather remain on centrelink LOL. Chief Executive or gtfo. I wont get out of bed for under 60k."

Try being in a country town. People waiting around for a 120k mine job to fall in their lap from so and so from the footy club, or uncle John. Anything less isn't worth their unskilled time of day. Get a job at woolies to help bring in money, quit 2 weeks later cause it is more work than you imagined and not enough money (but still more than centrelink).

And the worst part is, that mine job always comes through, sooner or later.

#straya

60k?

Isn't that below the poverty line?

60k?

Isn't that below the poverty line?

Pfft, i'll just get my son on centrelink too, then combined with my centrelink - i'll make that much. Also i'll get me housemate to knock me up. #babybonus

You'll have to forgive me, but WBLA? Work Base Learning for Adults is what Google came up with

Writing-Based Literacy Assessment, designed to prevent illiteracy by not graduating high schoolers who fail it during Years 11 & 12.

Flawless logic really.

Pfft, i'll just get my son on centrelink too, then combined with my centrelink - i'll make that much. Also i'll get me housemate to knock me up. #babybonus

Seriously is 60k a good wage/salary?

I don't know.

#outoftouch
#polothisweekendoldchap?

Writing-Based Literacy Assessment, designed to prevent illiteracy by not graduating high schoolers who fail it during Years 11 & 12.

Flawless logic really.

So not really like NAMBLA?