Mega Thread The Random Thoughts Thread Part 1

Got to admit, that's as much surprising as it is appalling. Posted by Forbes magazine.

View attachment 198298

The only thing that surprised me is how well countries such as Italy and Greece are doing, especially considering that many of their elderly are supporting the next generation (and often the one after that too). Maybe that's why, all the oldies are still in full time work, barely keeping their heads above water whilst holding up their bludger adult kids who can't be arsed to find at least some work themselves.

Australia has a very high cost of living and it's tough for anyone sans a full-time income, investments or a supportive family. It's so bad that some are off to SE Asia, returning only for medical treatment and Christmas.

The cost of living in Australia is just too damn high. I see struggling pensioners barely making ends meet in the cheap, then subsidised, rent properties in the country, I have no idea how any people that haven't been earning an above average income for the last 50 years are doing it in the city areas.

My nan has been a widower since the 80s, I have no idea what my grandad did for a living, he isn't talked about much, but she's been living week to week for nearly 30 years. I wonder how much dad's income has gone in to supporting her, given he's only been employed since 2002 and spend most of the 90s unemployed or working casually.

It's a sad situation.

So quick witted. A shame I'll never see them live.

TISM were a genuinely great band to see live. So much fun. I probably saw them 4-5 times and each concert was top notch. I actually saw them a few hours after getting a couple of wisdom teeth yanked out. Not sure if it was the anaesthetic or the booze the dentist told me not to drink but that t'was a good gig.

:D

My mate from Uni and footy days married a Melbourne girl who knew them well as her brother was at teachers college with lead singer Ron Hitler-Barassi and another band member. A couple of them were engineers and one was an accountant. They decided to hide their identity in case they didnt do well so then they could carry on with their professional careers unashamed. But their disguise quickly became an integral part of their act. The word unique is over used. Their stage act was definitely unique.

:D

My mate from Uni and footy days married a Melbourne girl who knew them well as his brother was at teachers college with lead singer Ron Hitler-Barassi and another band member. A couple of them were engineers and one was an accountant. They decided to hide their identity in case they didnt do well so then they could carry on with their professional careers unashamed. But their disguise quickly became an integral part of their act. The word unique is over used. Their stage act was definitely unique.
I wish I could get a copy of Ron's (Peter Minack) novel Campaigning With Grant

Twitter is rife with the MOARGUNZ paradigm, "California should be Open Carry, it would've at least given them a chance".

Ah that old chestnut.

The fantasy where minimally-trained citizens who pop down to a sterile gun range to shoot at paper targets every now and then suddenly have elite target identification and threat neutralisation in what amounts to an urban combat zone. In the ensuing panic no-one shoots themselves, their friends, their relatives, other innocent bystanders or even their fellow gun-toting citizens who have been misidentified as attackers - imagine being of Middle Eastern or Subcontinental descent with a gun in your hand in such a situation - oh no, it's just "tango down", bravery medals and a chat with Jimmy Kimmel the following evening.

Or they could prohibit assault rifles and other assorted military hardware from being owned by Joe Spaghettistain of suburbia?

I do love the ' if citizens have guns they could have stopped it ' argument.

Literally no evidence to support that has ever happened. The problems with it you identified. Hell , you even have probably the best comparison you could hope to make which would be armed guards in America and un-armed guards in America. I can't be stuffed looking it up to be honest , but I would bet my nuts that armed guards are not shot less often then un-armed guards performing same or similar tasks. Would almost want to bet armed guards get shot more often.

Funny enough paintball is a great reality check. You watch all these movies where these people have skills and execute them perfectly , then out on a paintball field you realise that accuracy , speed and steady nerves don't mean shit in a 360 degree environment where a threat or multiple threats can come from anywhere. The best way to not get shot in paintball is not to be anywhere near the conflict , which is probably true in life.

I beg to differ, I rocked at paintball. Shame our nearest venue closed down.

I haven't been in years. The first time I played I jumped out from behind cover and started to charge forward as a woman jumped over something and as she went to run she slipped backwards in the mud and I fired on her as she fell on her back and her raised legs spread open and I hit her dead on in the campaigner. I Was feeling sorry for her when some douchebag immediately appeared out of nowhere and shot her point blank range three times while she is lying there in pain. Always a couple of those douchebags at paintball.

Lol I made it x episodes in and they .......... and I just
seinfeld_no_thanks.gif

Even if a show is shit you still follow spoiler protocol ya bastard

Got to admit, that's as much surprising as it is appalling. Posted by Forbes magazine.

View attachment 198298

That is pretty damning as there is no way it should be so. 1/3 Australians , the majority of who probably worked many years and paid a shitload of taxes.

If it was so for our previous generation , which bought houses in a market that has increased by like 500% , while pay has increased maybe 50% , I hate to think what chance we have.

i would love to see what the distribution of money would look like for a worker across say 60 years ie , money paid to government ie income , gst , levies , stamp duties etc , and money paid to banks for interest on loans etc. I'm betting it would be staggering.

If we want to look at the easiest way to avoid a huge calamity in the near future , it's obvious where we should be looking. House prices should not be so high , sure the cost of materials has gone up , but no way should developers be charging $150,000 for a tiny patch of land in Elizabeth. Banks make billions of dollars , sure this might be good for them , and good for the economy in the short term but a generation of Australians who nearing retirement have only just paid their home off or are still paying it off isn't good for Australia. Staggering that one of the top tax paying countries in the world cannot look after their retired citizens now , when we have an aging population who have to get more into debt than the previous generation , and cannot bet on having a 500% rise in their already paid off home before they retire as a nest egg either.

Unfortunately they are probably too worried about making money for big business , land developers , and the government to realise that this is gonna cost Australia big time in the future.

Rant. Blergh.

Let the socialism grow within you

[.img]starwarsbadguy.jpg[/img]

Could be offensive to some. Click spoiler if you dare.

That is gold.

I need that number on speed dial for when I'm in Elizabeth minding my own business and some random starts talking trash to me. I can hand him my phone and let him do what he needs to do while I do whatever I need to do.

**** I wont be listening to ABC radio morning shift next year. This is a big backward step. Clarke just isnt smart enough to run hard hitting interviews and in depth interviews.

http://indaily.com.au/news/local/2015/12/04/abc-891s-new-line-up-clarke-in-henschke-moves-to-drive/
In today's Media Week column, ABC 891 revamps its schedule with Ali Clarke taking on the mornings shift;
Ali Clarke makes the jump to Aunty
ABC 891 today announced its new line-up for 2016, with former Triple M breakfast announcer Ali Clarke to take over from Ian Henschke in the mornings shift. Henschke will move to Drive, replacing Michael Smyth who was axed by the station several weeks ago after a four-year stint in the key shift.

Clarke spent nine years on FM breakfasts and also pens a column for News Corp – if that continues, three weekday presenters on 891 will be regular contributors to the Murdoch press. “I’m incredibly excited to be given the opportunity of talking with South Australians about what matters to them,” Clarke said in an ABC media release this morning. “I feel privileged the morning has been entrusted to me and can’t wait to unearth some great local stories. I’m looking forward to being part of a station that values news, information and entertainment in equal measure.”

Henschke said 891 provided “Adelaide’s only Drive program providing in depth coverage of local issues”. ABC Local Manager Graeme Bennett also pushed the news credentials of the revamped Drive program.

“Ian Henschke will draw on his three decades of experience in news gathering to bring our city up to date with the day’s events on Drive,” he said. “The addition of Ali Clarke to 891 Mornings will bring a fresh perspective to contemporary life and living in Adelaide. It’s a new era for 891, and we invite Adelaide to join us for the ride.” The changes seem to be part of a nation-wide rethink for ABC local radio.

The ABC’s radio director, Michael Mason, said that in 2016 “ABC radio will continue to broaden its appeal through new presenter appointments and content, which better reflect the communities and society it’s part of”.
http://indaily.com.au/news/local/2015/12/04/abc-891s-new-line-up-clarke-in-henschke-moves-to-drive/

Stereosonic claims another victim - crap music and crap drugs for the kids of this generation.

T'was inevitable, still sad. One death from an overdose at Stereosonic.

http://www.news.com.au/national/man...c/news-story/1b5375baf0b45b96995ca166f0c0a113

Probably was a mixture of drugs and the hot weather, I remember quite a few years ago they tried to stage Enchanted Forest rave at the royal showgrounds during a weekend of extreme heat, don't think anyone died but drugs (especially ecstasy) and heat don't mix.

Instead of trying to combat the drugs, the cops should have made it their mission to keep the people on drugs safe from the extreme heat, but no doubt even on a 40°C bottles of water probably $10 each.

Stereosonic claims another victim - crap music and crap drugs for the kids of this generation.

lol. Natural selection, really.

They've all had ample education, ample knowledge of the risks - yet continue to be incomprehensibly idiotic. Their stupidity is their friends and families pain.

Seriously doe the fact that we're still persisting with prohibition is mind blowing. Prohibition is killing people because no one knows what's actually in their pills.

Gotta introduce testing at the minimum.

Seriously doe the fact that we're still persisting with prohibition is mind blowing. Prohibition is killing people because no one knows what's actually in their pills.

Gotta introduce testing at the minimum.
Really!!!! More people walking around with drug induced psychosis would be soooooooo utterly fantastic.:drunk: