Mega Thread The Random Thoughts Thread Part 1

The summer before last John Doyle filled in for Fran Kelly on Radio National breakfast and it was some of the best radio I've ever heard.
I heard a few of those shows. John Doyle between 1992 and 1995 used to host the afternoon show on 2BL now ABC 702. At work I would regularly delay my lunch or go and do the banking or find an excuse to visit a client, so I could listen to him on the car radio. He would regularly say he was going to be the first talk back show in the world to discover the truth to the theory of dark matter. He had a great eclectic group of regulars.

For me moving to Sydney in 1992 I reckon it went until the Super League war finished and the first season or two after the NRL was formed. I'm not sure if their league stuff translated as well to a non league audience. I enjoyed their league stuff when I was in SA, but I got a great appreciation of it when I lived in a League dominated city and witnessed the stupidity of the off field stuff.

I thought their stuff at the Sydney Olympics - The Dream - and Fatso the fat arsed wombat etc was the closest they ever got to their radio stuff on TV.

To me, hearing the league stuff in a non-league region added to the whole schtick.
It was alien to us, but also very familiar in that 'old guys talk about sport stuff' way.

I still remember hearing them going on about the Totally Ian Roberts Chocolate Bar and at that stage, I had no idea who Ian Roberts was but it was still funny. You could still see the humour in a random product promoted by a sports star.

For me moving to Sydney in 1992 I reckon it went until the Super League war finished and the first season or two after the NRL was formed. I'm not sure if their league stuff translated as well to a non league audience. I enjoyed their league stuff when I was in SA, but I got a great appreciation of it when I lived in a League dominated city and witnessed the stupidity of the off field stuff.

I thought their stuff at the Sydney Olympics - The Dream - and Fatso the fat arsed wombat etc was the closest they ever got to their radio stuff on TV.

Somewhere in a box under my bed I have cassette's with their calls of the 1988 Balmain v Canterbury and 1989 Balmain v Canberra NSWRL Grand Finals which I had recorded while I was at both games. They were the days of guys like Peter Tunks, Paul Dunn, Steve Roach, Paul Sironen and Sam Backo and they loved those big, boofy forwards. It was incredible radio.

My first few years living in Sydney I refused to watch state of origin games at pubs or mates places unless I was guaranteed they had Roy and HG's call on. So many League blokes they gave nicknames to that have stuck. The other day I was watching something on ABC News 24 and the commentator referred to Senator Lazarus as the Brick with Eyes. :p

I taped the 1991 AFL GF on cassette tapes when I lived in Adelaide and the next 2 when I lived in Sydney. For about 4 or 5 years when I would do the long drive home at Christmas, when I hit the Hay Plains going in either direction, I knew I had a boring 3 hour drive, so I would put on one of these 3 GFs.

My first few years living in Sydney I refused to watch state of origin games at pubs or mates places unless I was guaranteed they had Roy and HG's call on. So many League blokes they gave nicknames to that have stuck. The other day I was watching something on ABC News 24 and the commentator referred to Senator Lazarus as the Brick with Eyes. :p

I taped the 1991 AFL GF on cassette tapes when I lived in Adelaide and the next 2 when I lived in Sydney. For about 4 or 5 years when I would do the long drive home at Christmas, when I hit the Hay Plains going in either direction, I knew I had a boring 3 hour drive, so I would put on one of these 3 GFs.

I never understood why Channel 9 Adelaide persisted with State of Origin on 2 hour delay back in the early 90's when JJJ had gone national. Had they screened it live people who didn't even like rugby league would've tuned in by the truckload and synced it up with Roy and HG's call. A guaranteed Wednesday night ratings winner. But nah, we're Adelaide.....

So I've spoken to my mate at Dice. He says the game is heavily stylised as WW1 is boring gameplay wise because it would just be trenches and basic guns.

Instead it's going to feature all the experimental weapons designed in WW1 that ultimately failed in reality but make for interesting gameplay.

I can understand the move, WW1 is awfully brutal and dreary on its own unless you take liberties.

So I've spoken to my mate at Dice. He says the game is heavily stylised as WW1 is boring gameplay wise because it would just be trenches and basic guns.

Instead it's going to feature all the experimental weapons designed in WW1 that ultimately failed in reality but make for interesting gameplay.

I can understand the move, WW1 is awfully brutal and dreary on its own unless you take liberties.

I'm not into video games but thankyou for steering the conversation away from real estate. :thumbsu:

Yes and no. Their earlier radio stuff may have been better but The Dream was deservedly their biggest hit. They were the absolutely perfect palette cleanser for the pomposity of the Sydney Olympics. Watched every night without fail, it was a thing of beauty.

The last time I actually watched the Olymics

WWI is largely untouched by modern video games, the only one i can think off the top of my head is This War of Mine, which isn't technically a WWI game but is set around it.

Still a strange decision by DICE, i suppose the "modern warfare" genre has been bled to death now and are trying new things.

Thoughts? They've obviously taken some liberties. Those tanks didn't move at all that fast, neither the bi-planes. Did lol at the first 20 seconds purely being about using trench clubs.

As I posted in the video game board, if the gameplay is more accurate to WW1, and not flashy Hollywood battles with fast running, guns that shoot 900 rounds a minute over 7 kilometres, and vehicles that bash and crash their way over everything like a monster truck rally, I'm in. Some excited about this.

It will till be flashy hollywood m8. Atleast from what he has said. They have to make the gameplay fast paced and open.

****ing typical bureau bullshit... rain radar says it should be raining steady, just checked outside and nothing, ground isn't even wet.

It will till be flashy hollywood m8. Atleast from what he has said. They have to make the gameplay fast paced and open.

That would be very disappointing. The best trench warfare style game I've played is the last part of Walker Assault on Hoth in Battlefront when it's just completely flat and open and trenches are the only cover. Really does feel like the movie. Hectic as shit when done right. A full game of that is appealing to me. Instead you give the impression it will pretty much be a run and gun behind lots of conveniently placed cover and go "click click" with silly click click guns from half a map away?

Overpowered vehicles as well?

PS, on that, I like Battlefront, but it just didn't have anywhere near enough content on release and I'm not getting the DLC. The barebones of the game were solid enough and it is a good foundation if they follow up with a Clone Wars era or something like that.

What is absurd about it? I like shooters that are a slow paced tactical grind, not a run and gun right place right time reflex competition. WW1 provides the best platform for that style I would have thought.

I wouldn't call it absurd. I had a WW1 mod for bf1942 and it was slow, and it was good fun.

It is absurd however to think massive franchise like Battlefield would make such a game, that shit ain't gonna sell.
In the end that's all that matters to them.

I'll look in to it.

Again, it really is a niche part of a generally unpopular game, but the final part of Hoth on Walker Assault in Battlefront when it is all trench warfare across flat plains is really fun to me.

StarWarsBF-IL1.jpg

The campaigners at my local footy club, where I am a life member, have scheduled a past players and officials day for May 21, the day we play WCE.

I will see some old club mates at the GDV as usual.