Mega Thread The Random Thoughts Thread Part 1

Did you actually read the article? The info graphic is produced by the atheist society, if you don't care then you don't care. Plenty do.
I read the article and I realise the graphic is from the Atheist Foundation of Australia. That doesn't make the argument any more credible.

Welcome to Dingleism.

Can I get money from the Government for strippers and coke now?

Dingleism, established in the late BC by Dingleanus Penetratus. An event was held every four years called the Olympics where the strongest and brightest got together to celebrate Dingleism by snorting crushed blue lotus flowers and sharing their harems with the province.

Does Dingleism have altar beer?

I believe the fields of hops are fertilised with the bones of his enemies, giving the unique tasty blend of violence, victory and unadulterated agony.

That's part of the issue. It's easier to make a case for legislative tax changes when the census shows a decline in religious support.
There has been a huge decline in religious support since the tax free status of religions was established in English law, which became Australian law, in the 17th century. If you honestly believe that 0.25% of the Australian population being counted as "other" religions rather than atheists is going to have a greater effect on the tax status of religious organisations than the very powerful, and wealthy, religious lobby groups then all power to you.

Moral of the story, **** religion and **** the imaginary man in the sky.

I read the article and I realise the graphic is from the Atheist Foundation of Australia. That doesn't make the argument any more credible.
Ok, facts wont do it, what will then?

You think the census is just a bit of fun and doesn't affect policy or allocations? I don't understand your issue with the concept of undefined religion making Australia seem more religious than no religion.

That is a similar argument to the 'my vote wont matter' argument.

If a senator was to argue that religions shouldn't get tax breaks or funding because nobody cares, his argument would be stronger if he could point to census figure reflecting that.

What's not to understand?

Ok, facts wont do it, what will then?

You think the census is just a bit of fun and doesn't affect policy or allocations? I don't understand your issue with the concept of undefined religion making Australia seem more religious than no religion.
Actually facts will do it. See my response to Doctor Feel above.

We are talking about a roughly 0.25% change in the religiousness of Australia when our head of state is the head of a religion and although we are supposed to be a secular state religion is enshrined in our constitution.

That is a similar argument to the 'my vote wont matter' argument.

If a senator was to argue that religions shouldn't get tax breaks or funding because nobody cares, his argument would be stronger if he could point to census figure reflecting that.

What's not to understand?
Fair point but while my vote is binding, ie it must be taken into account when deciding the winner of an election, the census information may or may not have some influence on government policy.

The arguments being put forward by both the AFA and the ACL are bordering on tin foil hat stuff but I will put "No Religion" on the census just to be safe. :)

Edit: Some more facts

PERCENTAGE OF PEOPLE(a) REPORTING NO RELIGION(b), 1911-2011

people reporting no religion.gif

Capture.JPG

Did you actually read the article? The info graphic is produced by the atheist society, if you don't care then you don't care. Plenty do (I'm not one of them).

Janus, the census is used to understand the make up, beliefs and demographics of the country in order to allocate the monies spent (and the concessions allowed), if the number of people who are classified as 'religious' drops considerably, so will tax concessions etc. as they do not benefit enough of the population.

1. If it's an optional question (which it is), how is that going to be considered to have enough weight to effect any major policy changes? Maybe I don't want my belief system stored on some computer so that it would be easy for me to be rounded up in the event of some Trump like fanaticism. Does that mean I don't believe in God (if I do/did)?

2. If you think governments give tax breaks to religions "just because there is X amount of them" you're pretty naive. When Marx said that religion was the opiate of the masses, it wasn't just a statement about people who believe in God being stupified by it - it was also a statement about the control it affords governments etc through the belief that things are out of our control and that being a respected member of the community - without "sin" - is more important than actually questioning what really going on. Let's face it - if you got enough people to revolt against the existing system of government you could enact real change. They don't want that.

Of course, the same thing could be said for those that watch television all the time, because that actually puts your brain in a deeper state of inactivity than sleeping does.

The religion I'll be putting down is "myself". That's who I believe in first and foremost, regardless of my belief system. If you want change, you've got to make it happen by force...because any change is an act of violence. You are killing one thing to replace it with another.

1. If it's an optional question (which it is), how is that going to be considered to have enough weight to effect any major policy changes? Maybe I don't want my belief system stored on some computer so that it would be easy for me to be rounded up in the event of some Trump like fanaticism. Does that mean I don't believe in God (if I do/did)?

2. If you think governments give tax breaks to religions "just because there is X amount of them" you're pretty naive. When Marx said that religion was the opiate of the masses, it wasn't just a statement about people who believe in God being stupified by it - it was also a statement about the control it affords governments etc through the belief that things are out of our control and that being a respected member of the community - without "sin" - is more important than actually questioning what really going on. Let's face it - if you got enough people to revolt against the existing system of government you could enact real change. They don't want that.

Of course, the same thing could be said for those that watch television all the time, because that actually puts your brain in a deeper state of inactivity than sleeping does.

The religion I'll be putting down is "myself". That's who I believe in first and foremost, regardless of my belief system. If you want change, you've got to make it happen by force...because any change is an act of violence. You are killing one thing to replace it with another.
Naïve? About government? Hahaha, I've participated in many a select committee meeting mate, I have a little knowledge there (I wasn't always a rugby playing big footy lurker). I do accept your point though.

However, no change is possible without identifying the need for change, surely for the sake of a 'joke' people are better off telling the truth and increasing the likelihood of change. Go with your joke by all means, you are entitled to, but if you believe that change is required something as small as putting the correct answer in the box will eventually tell.

Ever lost close friends to "Religion" ? probably my best mate growing up caught the hillsong-ish bug & he slowly cut himself off from members of his family as well as everyone he grew up with it's pretty sad, anything that actively encourages the "convert or desert" ethos should set off alarm bells.

I would never lump everyone in the same basket, they are not all like this & we all are entitled to our beliefs but jee wizz some of these places should be ashamed of themselves.
I was really close to the guy but when someone's thought process becomes so entrenched in the "Everything is in Gods plan" malarkey it's almost like talking to a brick wall all common ground is lost.

I'll be there if he ever snaps out of it or at least becomes somewhat reachable mentally but it's been the best part of a decade I think it's dusted.. these clowns can sing n' dance & roll out the love guff but they destroy families & friendships.

tumblr_obcb6dKsOS1vnjnxno1_500.jpg

Did anybody else think the Kochie's personalised Renault spruiking email reminded them of this?

You got it too :eek:

It was supposed to be personal :(

It doesn't even sound like Kochie saying my name in the into

Ever lost close friends to "Religion" ? probably my best mate growing up caught the hillsong-ish bug & he slowly cut himself off from members of his family as well as everyone he grew up with it's pretty sad, anything that actively encourages the "convert or desert" ethos should set off alarm bells.

I would never lump everyone in the same basket, they are not all like this & we all are entitled to our beliefs but jee wizz some of these places should be ashamed of themselves.
I was really close to the guy but when someone's thought process becomes so entrenched in the "Everything is in Gods plan" malarkey it's almost like talking to a brick wall all common ground is lost.

I'll be there if he ever snaps out of it or at least becomes somewhat reachable mentally but it's been the best part of a decade I think it's dusted.. these clowns can sing n' dance & roll out the love guff but they destroy families & friendships.

I've had similar experiences with some friends and extended family.

I find the desertion really intriguing to be honest, because rather than projecting conviction in their newfound beliefs I think it exposes doubt and a desperate need for validation.

Either way it's sad when they start to disappear up their own arseh*le like that.

if i ever see a man like that i will flick that ******* hat off with conviction

First bloke that turned up a footy club I was it in Darwin with an eyebrow ring will regret that day forever.

Lot's of blood.

I pity the fool that goes the manbunhat.