The Rendell Fiasco

Re: Rendell Says the club will only recruit Aboriginals that have one white parent

Matty R - hope you learn from this mate, just can't express yourself in that way in this day and age. Unacceptable. Thanks for your service and good luck continuing to find a role doing what you love.

Vlad - you're a joke... I'm keen to hear all the details but if this has been sat on for even longer than a week before you started arking up then you're a farce. To coddle jurrah in his situation but offer another bloke nothing but retribution when he's stuck his foot in his mouth is just ****ing appalling. You're making the problem worse.

Trigg/AFC - again I'm disappointed. On a number of levels. Primarily because Marty is starting to make sense to me. We've dug ourselves a hole the last 5 years and alot of it seems to be off the back of a heck of alot of arrogance and elitist thinking. We've become more the corporation we've always been branded by the mob down the road. We've lost alot of the feeling of being an inclusive footy club. Sure, its part of the league getting more and more professional but I only really care what my club is doing and its not covered itself in glory when it comes to embracing the salt of the earth types IMO. Vince gets hung out to dry for something he's no doubt been doing for the best part of the decade; Craigy, who no doubt felt the same when at the AFC, has indicated at Melbourne that the way they approach building the team environment and standards they put on their players 'aren't for everyone'; I was reviewing membership 'priveleges' the other day and I see the stand on access to the shed has totally swung around from what it was when it first moved to the westpac centre... i just shook my head a the sheer stupidness of how it was approached to begin with; We've had quite a pointed recruitment strategy for the private school boys for awhile now and then Matty goes and sticks his foot in his mouth with this incident. I don't consider Rendell a racist - but I do believe the comment is. I'm also concerned the comment is probably very close to the reality.. but a broader reality of not recruiting anyone that might require different/special treatment, not specifically a targeted reality of recruiting based on race. I point to the recruitment and handling of tambling as I believe, and his history suggests, he requires special handling - that we haven't provided by all appearances. Perhaps the failure to improve tambling since his time at Richmond has prompted a thought process in Rendell on the difficulties and specific needs of players with his cultural background - difficulties and needs that possibly don't fit a 'our approach isn't for everyone' mentality. Then to the specific handling of this incident - I get why the club felt it had to immediately distance itself from the remarks. Especially if they tend to favour a one size fits all approach to player management - which it has felt like to me (admittedly on the outside). But - I reckon they could have gone a totally different direction on this. Offered Matty R opportunities to undertake training/education, visit rural communities with young indigenous talent promoting the AFL (and the AFC!) to the benefit of himself and them. To me, something smells - and the way it has been handled definitely feels like sweeping something clean as quickly as possible. No noise being made to address any underlying issues at this point.

Poor form all around unfortunately. And my desire to see more changes down at the club continues to grow.

Re: Rendell Says the club will only recruit Aboriginals that have one white parent

The conversation between Rendell and the AFL took place 2 months ago....

IF it was so bad what Rendell said why has it taken so long for the AFL to act upon it?

IF the media weren't all over it, were the AFL going to turn a blind eye?

Hopefully this blows up in Vlads face

it's only been made a big deal cos it was leaked to the media. surely the fact that he made the comment 2 months ago or whatever points toward that. i assume vlad was more angry that it got out moreso than the comment itself.

The conversation between Rendell and the AFL took place 2 months ago....

IF it was so bad what Rendell said why has it taken so long for the AFL to act upon it?

IF the media weren't all over it, were the AFL going to turn a blind eye?

Hopefully this blows up in Vlads face

What appears to have happened is Mifsud's spoken to club recruiters about decline in Aboriginal AFL players in January, which is just doing his job. Rendell's made his comments to Mifsud at that time. Then a couple months later Mifsud's mentioned it in an interview with The Age to illustrate his point about negative attitudes towards drafting Aboriginal players in the AFL. The next morning AD (or at least other high ranking AFL employees) reads the article, chokes on his breakfast and rings Mifsud to find out if it's true and who it was, and decides to act on it.

Misfud is an employee of the AFL....

So the AFL were not going to act unless the media got wind of it..

The AFL are a racist organisation then if what Rendell said was so bad and they were going to turn a blind eye.

A massive can of worms has been open by Vlad and Trigg rushing to protect their own image. They should of suspended him on pay, not released his name to the media and had a thorough, proper investigation. Like in any other organisation. The AFL may of just porked themselves

Misfud is an employee of the AFL....

So the AFL were not going to act unless the media got wind of it..

The AFL are a racist organisation then if what Rendell said was so bad and they were going to turn a blind eye.

A massive can of worms has been open by Vlad and Trigg rushing to protect their own image. They should of suspended him on pay, not released his name to the media and had a thorough, proper investigation. Like in any other organisation. The AFL may of just porked themselves

It's not really Mifsud's position to be going around getting recruiters sacked... He's asked for responses and Rendell's given it... Maybe Mifsud didn't like it but took it as the sort of feedback he was asking for. But once the AFL heirachy were on to it (via the paper) they took a more severe attitude.

I personally don't buy the argument that you can't say anything about this area.

There are a million ways you can talk about concerns about indigenous players, without coming across as racist. You could say that those from remote communities find it difficult in coming to big cities, and you'd have to look at their character closely. You're essentially saying you'd look closer at those players, but no one would consider that racist.

One white parent is the only thing that we've heard, so not sure how you can scream 'context' either, unless you create your own imaginary scenario. And one white parent is a horrible thing to say, whether it means something else or is a joke. It sounds like something out of the White Australia Policy ffs.

Thought the Crows and the AFL handled it well.

I am getting a bit sick and tired of whenever someone says something which goes outside the realm of "political correctness", they are criticised and treated worse than a serial killer.

Here's the fact, people, whether you agree with what Rendell said or not, we have something in this country called "freedom of speech". People are actually allowed to say what they like, provided it doesn't slander someone.

"Freedom of speech" doesn't mean, you are free to say what you like, as long as it agrees with me. It is freedom of speech, regardless of whether you like it or not. If you want freedom of speech, the price you pay is that idiots can have it too, and say idiotic things.

"Freedom of speech" also means that every group of society, no matter what race, creed or colour, are open to accounability and criticism, when warranted. Certain groups shouldn't be protected from any criticism by being able to throw around "racist", "sexist" or "homophobe" at will.

If I ever have those names said to me, I will just consider that the person saying them can't refute my points, and has to resort to childish name-calling as a last resort. Pretty pathetic really.

Rendell was stating an opinion (which the media probably asked him for, so should they be held to account as well ?). If he doesn't want to recruit certain players, again, that is his right. A recruiter can choose whomever he feels is the best "fit" for the club. The mistake Rendell made was talking about it. There is nothing to have stopped him from just ignoring full indigineous players in the draft, and make it look like he didn't pick that player, because they had another player in mind all along. Who would know, and how could anyone stop someone doing that? The punishment might end up being missing out on a player like Natianui or someone of his talent, when Adelaide could have had the player instead.

I don't think that you can say someone is disgusting or disgraceful, unless you have met them, or heard what they are said. Short of them being a criminal or evil person, most of the other "villians" we are introduced to are media creations.

I think Rendell should explore his legal actions, and see if he can't sue for "unfair dismissal". He wasn't fired for incompetence or dishonesty. The last time I looked, you couldn't be fired for "morals or standards", unless they pertain specifically to doing that job to the best of your ability.

Now, a true test of "freedom of speech" is if I get modded, because someone is fearful of the fact that I don't tow the "cowardly" "party line" and am actually defending him to an extent.

I am getting a bit sick and tired of whenever someone says something which goes outside the realm of "political correctness", they are criticised and treated worse than a serial killer.

Here's the fact, people, whether you agree with what Rendell said or not, we have something in this country called "freedom of speech". People are actually allowed to say what they like, provided it doesn't slander someone.

"Freedom of speech" doesn't mean, you are free to say what you like, as long as it agrees with me. It is freedom of speech, regardless of whether you like it or not. If you want freedom of speech, the price you pay is that idiots can have it too, and say idiotic things.

"Freedom of speech" also means that every group of society, no matter what race, creed or colour, are open to accounability and criticism, when warranted. Certain groups shouldn't be protected from any criticism by being able to throw around "racist", "sexist" or "homophobe" at will.

If I ever have those names said to me, I will just consider that the person saying them can't refute my points, and has to resort to childish name-calling as a last resort. Pretty pathetic really.

Rendell was stating an opinion (which the media probably asked him for, so should they be held to account as well ?). If he doesn't want to recruit certain players, again, that is his right. A recruiter can choose whomever he feels is the best "fit" for the club. The mistake Rendell made was talking about it. There is nothing to have stopped him from just ignoring full indigineous players in the draft, and make it look like he didn't pick that player, because they had another player in mind all along. Who would know, and how could anyone stop someone doing that? The punishment might end up being missing out on a player like Natianui or someone of his talent, when Adelaide could have had the player instead.

I don't think that you can say someone is disgusting or disgraceful, unless you have met them, or heard what they are said. Short of them being a criminal or evil person, most of the other "villians" we are introduced to are media creations.

I think Rendell should explore his legal actions, and see if he can't sue for "unfair dismissal". He wasn't fired for incompetence or dishonesty. The last time I looked, you couldn't be fired for "morals or standards", unless they pertain specifically to doing that job to the best of your ability.

Now, a true test of "freedom of speech" is if I get modded, because someone is fearful of the fact that I don't tow the "cowardly" "party line" and am actually defending him to an extent.
Would be relevant, if you were referring to something in the US. We don't have the same laws as they do.

Just heard Vlad on the ABC here in Victoria say that he is yet to hear Matt Rendell's version of the events that took place........Well isn't that just great you great buffoon seeing as you've aready publically "hung, drawn, and quartered the man!!! :thumbsdown::thumbsdown::thumbsdown:

poor form. very poor form

I can't say I am entirely suprised by this admission. Hopefully it ends up costing him his job

McLeod weighed in saying it's not in Matt's character and he will wait to hear Matt's side BEFORE passing judgement. Take note AD.

Hope you boys going to the match tonight give Vlad a warm "Adelaide" welcome.....He's over in Adelaide for the NAB Cup Final apparently.

No doubt Trigg and co will roll out the red carpet for Vlad.....:eek:

Absolutely appalling! :thumbsdown:

Hope you boys going to the match tonight give Vlad a warm "Adelaide" welcome.....He's over in Adelaide for the NAB Cup Final apparently.

No doubt Trigg and co will roll out the red carpet for Vlad.....:eek:

Perhaps the warm welcome should be to drop trou, skull a beer and boo him!

I think he was hung and drawn by the racially sensitive which in my opinion is as bad as being racist. You can't ignore racial differences because people are different and different people have different needs, we are not all identical clones and each race, each culture can require a different perspective.

These are his words:

"My comments were about where recruiting could finish up without proactive work," Rendell said in a statement.

"I have a strong track record of recruiting Aboriginal players."

The article on the AFL site said "Rendell disputed the interpretation and the context in which his comments were taken, but said such a point was irrelevant."

I think it sad that his career and his involvement in footy ends like this and despite his achievement as a player and a recruiter he will be remembered for this incident.

Seems Andrew McLeod isn't willing to pass judgement on Rendell until he hears Matt's version of events....smart man is Bunji!!!

http://www.adelaidenow.com.au/sport...-matthew-rendell/story-e6frecoc-1226302499132

And the 340-game AFL great refuses to sit in judgement of Rendell until he hears the former SANFL-VFL ruckman explain the philosophy of drafting Aboriginal players - only if they had one white parent.

Regardless of the allegations or comment made, or whether they were taken out of context, I am not going to pass judgement on someone without knowing the facts, especially if I was not privvy to the conversation.
"What I do know is in all my dealings with Matt Rendell, I have never seen it. We have had him involved in our Aboriginal forums with the SANFL players last year and he was very good. So I will be keen as anyone to hear him explain his side of the story.

That is absolutely ****ing disgraceful.

Yet sadly, not at all surprising.

McLeod weighed in saying it's not in Matt's character and he will wait to hear Matt's side BEFORE passing judgement. Take note AD.
Love you Bunj.

Now that Rendell's version of events has come out Vlad is starting to look very bad. I apoligise to Matty for jumping the gun and condemning him without all the facts in hand. An AFL scapegoat at its finest.

Under the same token, the AFC have the right to protect their brand and image, and fire him (or force him to quit) if they feel an employee is tarnishing it.

Which, unquestionably, he has.

Similarly the AFL.

It's a shame, because there were a million ways to make his point without pulling lines from the white Australia handbook.