The SEN Thread 4

When do the regular shows stop? I see little point in having shows fronted by ex-AFL players when AFL is out of season. I mean, how many of them know much about anything else?

Watson likes his NFL so he's okay on Monday mornings during the AFL off season. Other than that, agree.

but still, watson and brownless should be removed. actually, billy loves melbourne teams (victory, and bushrangers) and he is at least energetic about them. watson however...

He's going to be doing the breaksfast shift next week.

turfy on brekky? u ripper!!

I have to admit though I look foward to their coverage of the final hour/day of trade week ..
It's always a bit hectic and frantic ...

I have to admit though I look foward to their coverage of the final hour/day of trade week ..
It's always a bit hectic and frantic ...

But the few days before the final day are long and boring. Not much action, but no doubt we will hear Matt Thompson try and build something up as a massive story that is not actually there. I have no doubt he will do that next week.

Matt Thompson often goes Way OTT ...
I recall he announced on Doran's show there was an 'MASSIVE' story coming out of RIchmond, when it was all about Terry Wallace being admitted in hospital for 'an asthma attack' ...

He is a bigger drama queen then Hutchy IMHO

Difficult to get back to this thread as the words "Jo Stanley - Boob job?" have to be bypassed without "hmmm, I need to re-evaluate this," left mouse click. :D

Born In The USA

Thought I'd check out the niche market, BITUSA, a Sunday night show I don't usually listen to often due to it's timeslot.

I believe hosts Steve and Ed have full-time careers outside radio and burgeoning young families so it's certainly impressive that they find the time to do any kind of weekly show. Their show is a case of right format and content, wrong time. BITUSA would have been invaluable ten or fifteen years ago but today with the Internet and Pay TV, it's less required listening for diehard fans. Both hosts seem aware of this too.

One thing that these two exhibit is the antithesis of what many people perceive as the worst stereotypes of Americans: loud, boorish, and hyperbolic. They seem down to earth and have an appreciation of all sports, not just those of their birth land.

They begin with a synopsis on the most current US sports topics and break it up with the odd talkback call. Impressively, they never talk down to anyone, including the less knowledgeable or the odd pinhead that makes a crank call or sends a goofball text.

Most of the callers are regulars including Luke from Hawthorn who reminds one of the M.G.'s Jason from Boronia, and is treated appropriately by the duo. TV schedules and the comings and goings of off-and-on-field stories are covered and all is pretty much correct to the best of my limited knowledge.

Hello, where would we be without a quiz to kick of the second hour? Can't stand them but most listeners seem to like them. Unlike a Good Oil never-ending fill-in-time quiz, this trivia challenge is swift, done-with fairly quickly, and accords the show a chance to plug a sponsor.

College football which is the kind of equivalent of the TAC Cup gets a working over without too much detail, as it's impossible to cover due to there being around 239 teams of varying strengths. Good luck with that one fellas. They discuss uniqueness and passion of college sport environment and size of crowds. If anyone ever wondered why the NFL draft is so deep and works so well, Ed and Steve can explain why.

Basketball, boxing, retirements, baseball play-offs, player off-field legal problems all get worked over until the show's end.

If you don't like US sports you won't miss much but BITUSA makes for a nice change with Easy Eddie and his sidekick Steve always trying to be entertaining and different from the usual fare of the same AFL topics being covered to an excess.

If they had the time and resources I believe they would put together a better and broader two hours of radio. :thumbsu:

Just returned from Jo Stanley's boob job thread. Just heard good ol' Schibecci ''Melbourne Storm have just arrived in Cindy''. Good Lord even better quality than his ''Storms great prelimary final victory'' . Just lovin his sports updates.Does anybody else get the feeling that once the footy is over program directors at the station just throw their arms up and think what on buggery do we do now? Funny I was just thinking what happened to that smarmy Dave from Stkilda

yep. although the draft is on so we got some more stuff to go on about.
but when its well and truly finished......

Can someone one give me a report on what Jim From Hawthorn said on Finey's show after the Grannie: "Aaahm very prood of the boys"

willy.jpg

Kevin Bartlett Antagonism 101:

(Dr. Turf enters the studio one day and starts discussion questioning All-Australian selection panel, of which Kevin Bartlett is one. We pick things up after several minutes of disagreements. KB interrupts - often)

Turf: I don't want to get involved with comparing players with players, I never liked that. I don't like comparing horses with horses- (KB interrupts)

KB: Cause you like to sit on the fence! You've always been like that. You've got splinters.

Turf: Kevin, you can accuse me of many, many, things, but - (KB interrupts again)

KB: Unless of course it's the TAB website, which you've been sinking the boots in.

Turf: (Doc takes the bait - hook, line, and sinker) Ah, well fair dinkum, I mean they might as well just plug a power cord into an abacas, as far as their website- (KB again)

KB: You got, ah, Patrick Smith to fire the shots for you this week in having a crack at the TAB website. Didn't you?

Turf: I, I, I - (KB tastes blood; continues interrupting)

KB: You didn't have the courage to do it yourself, so you rang Patrick and said have a crack at the TAB website.

Turf: (sarcastically) Nah, you're right, you've exposed me-

KB: David, David from Lilydale, good morning

(caller David makes strong points about watching games on TV alone not helping professionally paid all-Australian selectors [Dr. Turf idea] to do a better job)

Turf: Ah, Kevin, look, I don't want to start comparing players with players, I mean I've got my own opinions on the all-Australian team and … we've all got our own opinions of it, but I just think-( KB is not letting up)

KB: Show me. Show me your team?

Turf: I-err-ah-well. What, are your ears painted on? Didn't you just hear what I just said? I said I don't want to start comparing players with players and who should- (KB continues the constant objections)

KB: But you're saying the selectors can't pick a team.

Turf: I wouldn't 've, I wouldn't 've, Ah-I, never said that! I never said they'd made mistakes. Never said they made mistakes. (silent pause) I don't agree with all- that's just my opinion. And for what it's worth - (KB nips in again)

KB: And you want to pay us - a hundred grand? (Turf idea to pay and make all-Oz selectors professional, which started the KB huff )

Turf: Well, I know what it would take to get you, may not take as much to get the others.

KB: Dave is from Preston. Dave, thanks for joining us

(caller Dave questions the Doc with strong analogy to racing exports making horses favourites, that finish last and suggesting that experts get more professional as well)

KB and his listeners now seemingly waging all out attack on the good doctor.

KB: Ahhh, that's a good point that you make, Dave, because Doctor Turf is on Friday nights and gives out his tips on TVN. So, Doc, for you to give tips, have you watched every race of every horse that's raced …

Turf: Yes

KB: Every horse?

Turf: Every horse!

KB: Every horse that's raced! You can say 'I've seen that horse at its last race?'

Turf: Not only have I seen its last race, Kevin, but I've seen its trials as well.:)rolleyes:)

KB: Well no wonder the family company's going broke if that's the case because you're paying far too much attention to other matters other than the family company. Now you can't tell us that, Doc. That is rubbish.

(KB and Turf exchange few chaotic accusations on honesty, then continue)

Turf: …just move on with your life.

KB: Dave pinged you by the ears, didn't he? You can not have seen every horse race.

(KB now gets flustered as to the who's the next caller which allows Dr. Turf to gather himself and throw a familiar, and an always-point-scoring blow at KB)

Turf: In your fifty-year career, Kevin, the only things you've handballed is the blame. :)))

(more callers side with KB and the selection of Tom Harley as all Australian)

Turf: I'm not getting involved in any argument between who should've been and who shouldn't have been in the team- (KB continues to cut in)

KB: No, but you've been trying to tell us this morning that you've seen every horse that goes around race.(sic) Peter is from Croydon. Peter.

(a battered Turfy can only respond with a surrendering chuckle)

Caller Peter: G'day Kev. I'd like to stick up for Harley too-

KB: Goodonya Pete!

KB: I know Doc doesn't like Champion Data, but I think there was a stat they said last night… he'd taken more marks from the opposition going inside fifty than any player in the competition.

Turf: Kevin! Kevin! I did not say- (guess who interrupts?)

KB: I also want to anyone out there with a racehorse, if you own a racehorse, I want you to ring up and give the name of the horse and we'll see if Doctor Turf knows how he went in its last start. Coz Doctor Turf has seen every horse race…

Turf: Don't be stupid. This is absurd!

KB: Paul is from Watsonia. Paul, good morning.

(caller Paul has more love for Harley and pings Turf for tipping losers on TVN)

KB: That's right. Well, I just think we've exposed Doctor Turf here. Comes in, bashes the table talking about all-Australian selectors should be paid; and that was a very good call from Peter suggesting that you tipsters that go on TV telling people to put their money on horses, Doc-

Turf: I'm not telling people to do anything.

KB: Yes you are! Yes you are.

Turf: You are a barnacle on the boat of progress, Kevin. Why don't you listen to what I'm saying? Move with the times.

(now last callers question all-Australian selections of Sandilands and omission of Sam Mitchell et al. KB argues vehemently against callers as Turf not shockingly sides with callers' points)

Turf: Instead of naming forty, probably should've named eighty.

(pause)

KB: We want to know, Doc, if you know every horse that every raced.

(after more yap and disagreements , the doctor eventually leaves the studio to play golf, and KB encourages calls about Turfy in his absence)

KB: Mark is from Dandenong. Mark, good morning.

Caller Mark: I was trying to work out the last time Dr. Turf picked two winners in a row. [I've] been listening to that guy for forty years when he was back with Trevor Marmalade and Con Marasco-

KB: Punter to Punter?

Caller Mark: Punter to Punter, Three Triple R, yep. I can't remember him pickin' two winners in a row.

KB: So, no two winners in a row for Dr. Turf. Do you think he watches every race and knows every horse that goes around, Mark?

Caller Mark: Nahhh, he ball watches himself, I think.

KB: Ha ha ha ha, that's why the family company I think is in trouble at the moment, Mark.

The moral of the transcript is if you're going to ring and argue with SEN's KB you better have lots of good stuff because he ain't giving up. Ever!:D

LOL that is a great read and going through it I pictured exactly how the chat wouldv'e gone. Good work.

And no, Kevin will never give up. Possibly the most stubborn person known to man.

bp not on much this week i thought he would be on heaps now the footy is over. but what is going on with prizes at sen the pancake parlor voucher use to be 50 dollars and now it is only 25 dollars and that does not get you much at pancake parlor. i heard a caller complaining that he had to go all the way into sen to pick up a prize that wasnt very big and he complained why they would not send it to him. why do sen no send any prizes to people to make it easy for those that win a prize seems unfair to have to catch a train or a taxi or drive to sen from miles away if you win a prize you should have it sent to you i think

We are coming into what I call the silly season at SEN..

Hopefully they have sorted out their programming issues this year, and we dont have to put up with repeats and more repeats..

nice interview with tommy radonikus this morning, started off with incoherent screaming by all, ended much the same.

tommy did give props to ted whitten but, so he aint that bad.

sad end to the show, billy asking a french bird how to say certain phrases in french. they included:

steak and chips
beer
have a punt
do you have a boyfriend
menage a trois
are those real?

wonder if the authorities have looked into MG considering its on brekky time. understand that the demographics for the show are for mature audiences, and not young kids.

nice interview with tommy radonikus this morning, started off with incoherent screaming by all, ended much the same.

sad end to the show, billy asking a french bird how to say certain phrases in french. they included:

steak and chips
beer
have a punt
do you have a boyfriend
menage a trois
are those real?

wonder if the authorities have looked into MG considering its on brekky time. understand that the demographics for the show are for mature audiences, and not young kids.

They are off for 2 weeks now and I think Dr Turf is going to be filling the slot so it will be worth listening to for the next couple of weeks.

run home soapbox was hilarious last night, funniest half-hour of radio fo a long time...

i swear Ox was ROFLing and crying with laughter

steak and chips
beer
have a punt
do you have a boyfriend
menage a trois
are those real?

Can't someone stop him embarassing himself. He seems like a good bloke he needs some guidance

bp not on much this week i thought he would be on heaps now the footy is over. but what is going on with prizes at sen the pancake parlor voucher use to be 50 dollars and now it is only 25 dollars and that does not get you much at pancake parlor. i heard a caller complaining that he had to go all the way into sen to pick up a prize that wasnt very big and he complained why they would not send it to him. why do sen no send any prizes to people to make it easy for those that win a prize seems unfair to have to catch a train or a taxi or drive to sen from miles away if you win a prize you should have it sent to you i think

Fair point, but SEN may not send prizes out because it would cost too much to do it for everyone.