Radio The SEN Thread 6

LOL ... The Angry Scot's written off the Hawk's premiership chances this year ...

Convinced the Hawks will make a 'mess' out of Collingwood again later this year, which is probably the only comment he made tonight that made sense.

yeah heard that as we were driving home from the G'.
and by the way, it didn't make sense to me:mad:

LOL ... The Angry Scot's written off the Hawk's premiership chances this year ...

Convinced the Hawks will make a 'mess' out of Collingwood again later this year, which is probably the only comment he made tonight that made sense.

What? No more "Arm prood of the boys"

Does anyone listen to the after midnight show last night ???
Tony Shehean is starting to give me the shits, what a pompous, arrogant and outright tool he is ..

He was very rude and condescending to the other hosts on the program, Andrew and Stoney, and he refuses to acknowledge how wrong he was in the disaster that was the Terry Wallace sacking article on the HUN, which he was a big part of ...

What a knob ...

dr turf in, talking french open - womens side/points system. watson chimes in with "if afl went with that then adelaide wouldve won....."

Turfy was in fine form this morning. he commented on how Jelena Jankovic got knocked out early, which will help her preparation for the Cox Plate...

Andy Maher had to ask him to explain that line... my god.

dr turf in, talking french open - womens side/points system. watson chimes in with "if afl went with that then adelaide wouldve won....."
what a stupid tool

Turfy was in fine form this morning. he commented on how Jelena Jankovic got knocked out early, which will help her preparation for the Cox Plate...

Andy Maher had to ask him to explain that line... my god.
what a stupid tool

If I started a petition to get Dr Turf/Anthony Hudson as the morning duo instead of 'those two blokes', would anyone be with me? I only listen for the guest hosts these days.
Huddo?? God no!! :D

Maher can get a bit annoying, but I don't mind Timbo, although they really miss Billy. Maher and Whispy ain't got enough personality to carry a show

Turfology II 2009

Sports has to work hand-in-hand. I can’t get my seven-year-old to embrace horse racing if she’s got to leave half-way through the quady and go and play basketball. It’s not right
- On a four o’clock start to his daughter’s basketball games

It’s very unfortunate when five under nines come up to you after the game and say ‘we think you’ve lost the passion for coaching’
- On coaching his daughter’s basketball team to 14-0 and 22-2 point losses.

Put your hands in your pockets and all you’ll find is your fingers!
- On , yet again, KB being careful with money

Surely you handballed once?
- On KB pondering whether he ever had a brain explosion and made a mistake during his playing career

Kevin’s a big fan of the bore [Boar] war
- On Dane Swan stating that Mick Malthouse is a war history enthusiast

Most of the women there have murdered their husbands, or want to murder their husbands, Kevin, I’d be concerned about my wife watching Desperate Housewives

What’s Brothers and Sisters? Is that a show about Tasmania?
- On KB’s wife’s complaints about Channel 7 Monday night shows being replaced AFL football

Somewhere between a rotting corpse and a blowfly
- On rating Gretel Colleen’s Logies performance

Was that a meeting of Mensa?
- On Quartermain vs. Dunstall after hearing the Triple M audio

Any food that doesn’t involve congealed fat and pastry, and baked in batter, you’re not allowed to take into Etihad stadium

If Collo knew that there was some food substance of any nutritional value being brought into Etihad Stadium, he would be aghast
- On Triple M having fried rice in the com-box during the Quatermain/Dunstall brouhaha

I used to love going to Glenferrie oval, Kevin, and just chucking stones in the Hawthorn pool … particularly when people were doing laps
- On what’s missed from the good old days at the footy

You know the trouble with brownie points with the missus? They’re like frequent flyer points; they’re totally irredeemable
- On staying in the good book with one’s wife

It was one of the great descriptions of shagging I’ve ever heard in my life
- On reports Russian, Oksana Grigorieva, had been entertaining Mel Gibson with piano music

I think he really cut himself a bit short with those apologies yesterday. There was no apology for the drought; no apology for the global financial crises; no apology for the missing Beaumont children. I think he really did himself a disservice
- On the Terry Wallace apologizing and his saga finally being over

(Shawn from Pakenham rings in to KB’s show to politically correctly criticize Dr. Turf for a “flippant” reference on the missing Beaumont children, as the length of time doesn’t lessen the “seriousness of what happened“)

Given it was forty years ago, Shawn, I don’t think anyone would be upset by that would they? Unless it was you. […] If anyone took offence I apologize. Lets move on, mate.

(Shawn from Pakenham joins the ranks of Richard “Right” and “Diamond” Dave from St Kilda as SEN talkback pinheads to listen out for)

If you skirt too wide in Mauritius you end up drowning
- On jockey Shane Dye riding in Mauritius

Apparently Oliver McCall is the only boxer ever to wear a protector down the back of his pants
- On the John Hopoati vs. Oliver McCall fight

Ranting Turf
Look at your holiday to the Gold Coast. You get on a crowded Jetstar flight; ya gotta pay cash because Qantas don’t go there. Ya luggage allows you to take undies, socks and a toothbrush and anything else is a thousand dollars a kilo over weight. Then you drive three hours through peak hour traffic to get to a half-finished hotel. Your room looks out over either a recycling dump or a car park because all the rooms with views have been sold to Japanese bridal couples. Then you get woken up at 6 o’clock the next morning because they’re constructing the hotel next door. You’ve got to go straight to the beach because the shadows of the hotels cover the beach from about 9:30 in the morning onwards. I’m serious! The surf there is not even nice; you’re swimming in these dangerous riffs dodging the bodies of bloated Japanese tourists that drowned two or three weeks earlier. Then you go to a theme park where you queue for two-and-a-half hours to go on an eight minute ride, then you vomit for half-an-hour. Each ride works out to about a hundred dollars an hour. Then it’s a $250 dollar taxi fare back to your hotel in Surfers Paradise. You go for dinner where you pay $200 dollars-a-head for a half-cooked cold meal prepared by an apprentice mechanic earning extra money after hours, served by some spotty-faced student still coming down from a three-day Rage.

That’s day one. And then it’s downhill after that!

(count that as one member’s veto for the Dees ever merging with the Gold Coast)

She'd be like that horse, Chilean Miss I think, that the stewards kept scratching for having an awkward gait. She is the biggest sick note going around and a surly bitch to top it off.

Greg Denham is really struggling on KB's show.

I came in late in the conversation, but I heard him say that Gary Ablett Jr would have been a top 3 draft pick if not Father-Son.

Then he criticised Mark Ricciuto for not knowing why "Collingwood's Anthony Carrazzo" wasn't in the senior team. Said if he's going to speak in the media, he should know his facts.

Greg Denham is really struggling on KB's show.

I came in late in the conversation, but I heard him say that Gary Ablett Jr would have been a top 3 draft pick if not Father-Son.

You did come in late, he said he “wasn’t sure” but just assumed it would have been 3 or 4. KB said the good judges at the time had him in the top 30 somewhere

When Gazza played at the falcons they had people in Geelong writing into newspapers saying that he only got a game because of his name!

Top 30 would be about right, I'm sure Geelong would have jumped in and taken him at 17 instead of Kelly if he was a live pick.

Turfology II 2009

Sports has to work hand-in-hand. I can’t get my seven-year-old to embrace horse racing if she’s got to leave half-way through the quady and go and play basketball. It’s not right
- On a four o’clock start to his daughter’s basketball games

It’s very unfortunate when five under nines come up to you after the game and say ‘we think you’ve lost the passion for coaching’
- On coaching his daughter’s basketball team to 14-0 and 22-2 point losses.

Put your hands in your pockets and all you’ll find is your fingers!
- On , yet again, KB being careful with money

Surely you handballed once?
- On KB pondering whether he ever had a brain explosion and made a mistake during his playing career

Kevin’s a big fan of the bore [Boar] war
- On Dane Swan stating that Mick Malthouse is a war history enthusiast

Most of the women there have murdered their husbands, or want to murder their husbands, Kevin, I’d be concerned about my wife watching Desperate Housewives

What’s Brothers and Sisters? Is that a show about Tasmania?
- On KB’s wife’s complaints about Channel 7 Monday night shows being replaced AFL football

Somewhere between a rotting corpse and a blowfly
- On rating Gretel Colleen’s Logies performance

Was that a meeting of Mensa?
- On Quartermain vs. Dunstall after hearing the Triple M audio

Any food that doesn’t involve congealed fat and pastry, and baked in batter, you’re not allowed to take into Etihad stadium

If Collo knew that there was some food substance of any nutritional value being brought into Etihad Stadium, he would be aghast
- On Triple M having fried rice in the com-box during the Quatermain/Dunstall brouhaha

I used to love going to Glenferrie oval, Kevin, and just chucking stones in the Hawthorn pool … particularly when people were doing laps
- On what’s missed from the good old days at the footy

You know the trouble with brownie points with the missus? They’re like frequent flyer points; they’re totally irredeemable
- On staying in the good book with one’s wife

It was one of the great descriptions of shagging I’ve ever heard in my life
- On reports Russian, Oksana Grigorieva, had been entertaining Mel Gibson with piano music

I think he really cut himself a bit short with those apologies yesterday. There was no apology for the drought; no apology for the global financial crises; no apology for the missing Beaumont children. I think he really did himself a disservice
- On the Terry Wallace apologizing and his saga finally being over

(Shawn from Pakenham rings in to KB’s show to politically correctly criticize Dr. Turf for a “flippant” reference on the missing Beaumont children, as the length of time doesn’t lessen the “seriousness of what happened“)

Given it was forty years ago, Shawn, I don’t think anyone would be upset by that would they? Unless it was you. […] If anyone took offence I apologize. Lets move on, mate.

(Shawn from Pakenham joins the ranks of Richard “Right” and “Diamond” Dave from St Kilda as SEN talkback pinheads to listen out for)

If you skirt too wide in Mauritius you end up drowning
- On jockey Shane Dye riding in Mauritius

Apparently Oliver McCall is the only boxer ever to wear a protector down the back of his pants
- On the John Hopoati vs. Oliver McCall fight

Ranting Turf
Look at your holiday to the Gold Coast. You get on a crowded Jetstar flight; ya gotta pay cash because Qantas don’t go there. Ya luggage allows you to take undies, socks and a toothbrush and anything else is a thousand dollars a kilo over weight. Then you drive three hours through peak hour traffic to get to a half-finished hotel. Your room looks out over either a recycling dump or a car park because all the rooms with views have been sold to Japanese bridal couples. Then you get woken up at 6 o’clock the next morning because they’re constructing the hotel next door. You’ve got to go straight to the beach because the shadows of the hotels cover the beach from about 9:30 in the morning onwards. I’m serious! The surf there is not even nice; you’re swimming in these dangerous riffs dodging the bodies of bloated Japanese tourists that drowned two or three weeks earlier. Then you go to a theme park where you queue for two-and-a-half hours to go on an eight minute ride, then you vomit for half-an-hour. Each ride works out to about a hundred dollars an hour. Then it’s a $250 dollar taxi fare back to your hotel in Surfers Paradise. You go for dinner where you pay $200 dollars-a-head for a half-cooked cold meal prepared by an apprentice mechanic earning extra money after hours, served by some spotty-faced student still coming down from a three-day Rage.

That’s day one. And then it’s downhill after that!

(count that as one member’s veto for the Dees ever merging with the Gold Coast)
The Beaumont's blimey I'd be in trouble at the footy in the last decade or so!:p:p

Doran trivia question: Who was the first Aussie to win an NBA title?

Caller: I think it might be Andrew Gaze.

clocks ticking

Caller: OK, Andrew Gaze.

Doran: Incorrect, Gaze didn't win a title. In fact, the guy that did is the only Aussie to win an NBA title :rolleyes:

Do any of the SEN DJ's know anything about any sport other than AFL?

Doran trivia question: Who was the first Aussie to win an NBA title?

Caller: I think it might be Andrew Gaze.

clocks ticking

Caller: OK, Andrew Gaze.

Doran: Incorrect, Gaze didn't win a title. In fact, the guy that did is the only Aussie to win an NBA title :rolleyes:

Do any of the SEN DJ's know anything about any sport other than AFL?

You mean you don't think Doran's wrote the quiz himself?

Is that actually wrong? Longley in 96-98. Gaze won a ring in 99, though didn't play in the play-offs.

i think the answer to the question was right (longley).

anyway, i love how SEN update me on the news, particularly between 3 and 4pm. today they retold us about stosurs win overnight. matt thompson's really good at this. the chemistry between he and doran is special. *

i reckon before their segment their conversation goes something like this:

md: ok, so matt i lead you in with "merv hughes talks about selection...."
mt: cool.

later...

md: (to thompson) and merv was in the studio talking about selection?
mt: (to doran, panting) yes he was, merv hughes.........

* tongue firmly planted in cheek