The SEN Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Russian

Gee i didn't realise Beva has gone on weekdays. I'd never listened to him much but he seemed alright.
I would really miss finey's final siren if it goes.
I guess BP would get the spot if Finey goes to weekdays.

Top effort by SEN so happy that they improved so much this ratings survey. I knew it would come. But to be honest a share of 5 is probablyt he highest they could expect probably.

-Ben

There's a good article about Beva's sacking in The Pulse section of today's HS by Steve Perkin. I don't think they post the Pulse online, so can't paste it in here.

To summarise:

- Beva had the biggest ratings increase of any of the on-air talent
- SEN boss Barry Quick said the decision was the right one, "you can't simply look at his figures in isolation" Perkin remarks: Well, radio stations usually do, so there may well be other issues involved.
- Beva was told that SEN simply wanted to take the show in a different direction
- There appears to be a deeper issue with Beva not getting on with other personalities at SEN
- Perkin contacted Beva yesterday who was still confused and upset: "I can't say too much, but I'll let the figures speak for themselves and I'll be interested to hear how disappointed management must be in the figures for the evening show"

- There appears to be a depper issue with Beva not getting on with other personalities at SEN

interesting. its not the first time we've heard of a clash of egos/personalities in this SEN thread. i think it was rumoured that no one got on with doran.

I wonder whether it is a personality clash with off-air staff, cause its a flimsy reason if it was an on-air person he didn't get along with. Its not like Derryn Hinch gets along with probably anybody at 3AW, but he does a good show, so who cares.

That would make sense.As you said,Hinch doesn't get along with a lot of on-air people at AW,yet he's still there [until he carks it ... which might not be long].Laws and Price at 2UE have had very public spats.

Enough of the rumour and inneundo. This is the truth, I've cut and paste it from Saintsational. Don't ask me how but I know this is the case.

There was an incident last week when the afternoon show had organised an interview with someone important. Name escapes me at the moment and he couldnt get on till 3 minutes to 7. Beva said he should interview the person as he could do a 10 minute interview but Frances said no the afternoon show wanted to interview him. Beva sent a memo around saying thet dont work as a team. the management cracked it and sent him on his way.

I know that seems strange as everyone thought Francis and beva were mates but there has been a problem for a while now since they reemplyed Francis for the arvo shift and Beva thought he should get it.

This now opens up a spot for Frank to call games instead of being the boundary bitch. He killed two birds with one stone.

Enough of the rumour and inneundo. This is the truth, I've cut and paste it from Saintsational. Don't ask me how but I know this is the case.

There was an incident last week when the afternoon show had organised an interview with someone important. Name escapes me at the moment and he couldnt get on till 3 minutes to 7. Beva said he should interview the person as he could do a 10 minute interview but Frances said no the afternoon show wanted to interview him. Beva sent a memo around saying thet dont work as a team. the management cracked it and sent him on his way.

I know that seems strange as everyone thought Francis and beva were mates but there has been a problem for a while now since they reemplyed Francis for the arvo shift and Beva thought he should get it.

This now opens up a spot for Frank to call games instead of being the boundary bitch. He killed two birds with one stone.

so how do you know it is the case? :)

Thanks heaps for that info.

Its just the kind of story that would be true. Type of thing that sounds fickle to outsiders but would have been pretty full on in at the station.

so how do you know it is the case? :)

Believe me its the complete truth. Okay, I'll spill it. I'm not that bitter bloke who posts here but I used to work there too and keep in touch with a few mates who are still there. Plenty are upset at how this was done but basically it came down to Frank having more influence than Beva and Frank is a political animal, beva is not.

very interesting...

i think u might find he left not happy with the departure of beva......same with weightman not being on the other night or cohen earlier tonight... i reckon all mates with bev and not happy hes gone...
"FINEY JUST ADDRESSED THE ISSUE.... he said he hoped barry would be back in the next few weeks but couldnt assure anything...

Tell them to stop sulking:( When Daniher and Connolly were sacked none of the assistants walked out in protest.
Do weightman , cohen and michael work for beva or for Sen.
At 3aw I think Scotty Cummings was one of Ralphys best mates and he didnt walk when Ralphy was sacked he just got on with it , tell them to stop sooking and get in with Finey.

so they take franks side a man who left them for more cash at vega but they treat a loyal servant in beva like shit

now i know why they dont want to discuss on air because it will all come out, atleast with the hutchy/ralphie thing on 3aw it was because of ratings so they werent scared to talk about it but this is just a bit of massive egos not getting on

how pathetic

My god, its bloody painful listening to Doran trying to talk about baseball. He has no idea. The sports knowledge of he and Schibeci would be as much as Beva has in his little finger. Could you imagine Doran talking about boxing... shiver at the thought.

OMG don't even think about it!

There's a good article about Beva's sacking in The Pulse section of today's HS by Steve Perkin. I don't think they post the Pulse online, so can't paste it in here.

To summarise:

- Beva had the biggest ratings increase of any of the on-air talent
- SEN boss Barry Quick said the decision was the right one, "you can't simply look at his figures in isolation" Perkin remarks: Well, radio stations usually do, so there may well be other issues involved.
- Beva was told that SEN simply wanted to take the show in a different direction
- There appears to be a deeper issue with Beva not getting on with other personalities at SEN
- Perkin contacted Beva yesterday who was still confused and upset: "I can't say too much, but I'll let the figures speak for themselves and I'll be interested to hear how disappointed management must be in the figures for the evening show"

one thing lost in the whole 'how good beva's ratings were incident." it mus be remembered that he was on holidays for 2 of these weeks and then he was sacked for another week......so that is he was away for 3 weeks of ratings period..

Someone also pointed out that perhaps the Friday night footy ratings get mixed with Beva's too. But you'd reckon though that the people listening while Beva was away were still fans of Beva's show. Didn't just listen cause he was gone.

Either way, there's no way you could say that he performed badly on the ratings side of things.

so they take franks side a man who left them for more cash at vega but they treat a loyal servant in beva like shit

now i know why they dont want to discuss on air because it will all come out, atleast with the hutchy/ralphie thing on 3aw it was because of ratings so they werent scared to talk about it but this is just a bit of massive egos not getting on

how pathetic
l don't mind Frank on air and have spoken to him on air and he was ok but when l spoke to him before l went on air he was very abrupt and arrogant. l still listen to him sometimes, it didn't worry me too much but he does have another side to him. :thumbsd:

Did anyone hear Bruce McAvaney on sen today talking about 1 year till Bejing (or as he said 5 years till london), it was about midday. Man hes a **nker, he said 'special' about 3 or 4 times. I thought he was pissed for a bit lol. Went on to question why some sports were olympic sports (in his enthusiastic way) then said chess would soon be an olympic sport lol.

He also said there should be an EPO 100 meter race and 'ben johnson would make a comeback' and the 7 second barrier would be broken, that was pretty funny.

Did anyone hear Bruce McAvaney on sen today talking about 1 year till Bejing (or as he said 5 years till london), it was about midday. Man hes a **nker, he said 'special' about 3 or 4 times. I thought he was pissed for a bit lol. Went on to question why some sports were olympic sports (in his enthusiastic way) then said chess would soon be an olympic sport lol.

He also said there should be an EPO 100 meter race and 'ben johnson would make a comeback' and the 7 second barrier would be broken, that was pretty funny.

Ummm, you knew that was Andrew Startin right? Does a ripper Bruce. I love his Gary Ayres too.

Finey is a champ hope he keeps 7-11pm permanently....but that will probably mean no more Fineys Final Siren after the footy, perhaps Mark Allen would be a good replacement for that?

And he can tell us how many birdies or pars were kicked by the players after a match lol
The perfect replacement for Finey if he does the Bruce Eva show is to have the ones that have already filled in on the final siren.
BP and rob harding.
They filled in and the show was as good as ever ,they knew about the players ,,the tactics the background ,everything that they were asked they answered give one of them the final siren show and it will be just as good i promise :thumbsu:

Ummm, you knew that was Andrew Startin right? Does a ripper Bruce. I love his Gary Ayres too.

nope. man that was a dead ringer. I thought it was a bit weird though. I havent heard his ayres impression before.

He's usually on every Friday after 3 too. Does a great Dennis Commetti too. When he does Ayres, he does stuff like "the great players back at Hawthorn, like ya Tucks, ya Dunstalls, ya Plattens, ya Langfords, ya Breretons, Ya Dippers...." etc. But he goes on for like two minutes without taking a breath. Very very funny.