The strap in schools

• Thread starter Thread starter play on

I'm in year 12 next year, and if a teacher tried to strap me, I'd have a go back. :mad:

Anyway, parents don't even have the authority to strap someone these days, so how the hell can teachers?

Teachers aren't there to discipline, they are there to teach. There is no logical and ethical reason to bring the strap back other than to satisfy the old-timers ego and take things back to the 'good ol' days'.

The Hitman

whacking kids has never achieved anything

I was whacked with the strap at Primary School and then caned at College - a total and utter waste of time, never taught me anything except that it bloody hurts !

However the question remains - what do you do with naughty kids ?

Dunno the answer to that one but whacking them is not the way to go.

Doesn't instill anything in the kid - just makes them even naughtier in my experience.

cheers

If I was strapped, I would ****ing hit back..... Dont you worry about that. :mad: :mad:

As Hitter said..... They are there too teach not hit students.

Mags

Considering how teachers are rarely the most balanced people, no, no strap for them.

Originally posted by Mags
If I was strapped, I would ****ing hit back..... Dont you worry about that. :mad: :mad:

As Hitter said..... They are there too teach not hit students.

Mags

I thought you had left and were not coming back

Yet another one who has said that and not done it.

Chicago1 is the only one who has backed up his threat with action

Not judging - just commenting.

Addiction is a hard thing to break;)

By the way - Strapping kids is repugnant. Violence begets Violence.

Porthos, I'll show you unbalanced mate, I hope none of your siblings ever have me for a teacher............it's all over for them if they do.:mad: ;)

As for you heroes who reckon you'd have a go back. If I was your teacher, I'd love it. Have a go boys because older, bigger blokes hit a lot bloody harder than the girlie taps your used to.

ps. I'm dead against the strap and any form of violence btw.

The biggest problem is that some smart arse kids see it as an open invitation to just bait teachers into something. It's tough for everybody.

Originally posted by Santos L Helper

As for you heroes who reckon you'd have a go back. If I was your teacher, I'd love it. Have a go boys because older, bigger blokes hit a lot bloody harder than the girlie taps your used to.

I would be in year 12. My mother never hit me. I am fair dinkum that if a teacher gave me the strap, that I would have a crack back. Not being a hero, just saying I really would.

Also, I would hope the teacher has some brains. I could always go to a different school, but a teacher who has bashed a kid, he wouldn't get a job anywhere.

And most of my teachers are skinny lil' runts anyway... ;)

Violence only creates violence...

The Hitman

Originally posted by The Hitman

I would be in year 12. My mother never hit me. I am fair dinkum that if a teacher gave me the strap, that I would have a crack back. Not being a hero, just saying I really would.

Also, I would hope the teacher has some brains. I could always go to a different school, but a teacher who has bashed a kid, he wouldn't get a job anywhere.

And most of my teachers are skinny lil' runts anyway... ;)

Violence only creates violence...

The Hitman

What you've got to remember Hitters is that if your hit by a teacher, you've probably done something pretty hardcore to get that reaction. I can't imagine a 'modern' teacher resorting to a punch for no reason at all. I still agree that any reason is not reason enough.

Originally posted by Bloodstained Angel

However the question remains - what do you do with naughty kids ?

i never got the cane at school. I heard that only three people got the cane at my time at the school:
1) stole three wallets cos he broke into peoples lockers
2) someone trashed (and i mean trashed) a room
3) a kid was fighting with another kid on the Henly Beach Rd bridge going over to the parklands...the bigger kid picked up the smaller kid and actually put him over the side of the bridge but put him back over the normal side...one of the teachers saw that ran up and thumped the bigger kid...he never came back to school that kid!

So yeah...youd have to do something completly stupid and as Santos, something pretty hardcore to get a whack these days.

As for BSAs comment up above...if the kid is a continued smartarse, doesnt listen to warnings etc, then if worse comes to worse suspension is the only way to go!

some pretty heavy juvenile delinquency going on there Macca !

Y'see, I was whacked for things like swearing, not having my shirt tucked in, smoking behind the bike sheds and showing up to school with a safety pin through my cheek (ahhh those were the days LOL)

Once I got six of the best for correcting a factual error by the teacher in class !

This was crap - fancy whacking a kid for not doing much at all really ?

Like I said - it was a complete waste of time.

I did not feel 'punished', I felt no remorse, I didn't see the error of my ways, I did not correct my mistake, I kept on re-offending.

The only thing that happened was that I got whacked - end of story.

It didn't prove anything - except that it seems to be OK for adults to whack children.

was that really the message I was supposed to come away with from this experience ?

Corporal punishment was a complete and abject failure for me - I learned nothing and it solved nothing.

cheers

Seriously if a teacher felt the need to physically discipline a student then there would probably be something wrong with that student. If everything else had been tried and they still refuse to to behave kick em out. If they don't wanna learn don't bother teaching them.

I copped six-of-the-best off Preston Tech Principal, Wilko (a scary, scary man; just ask Wally) when I was in year 8. Never had any affect on my behaviour...probably because I was innocent!

Geez, if I was a teacher now, I'd love to be able to whip out a sturdy chunk of 4x2 and go town on young wise acres like The Hitman and Mags! More discipline! (I'm only yanking yer shanks, fellas ;))

Originally posted by Mr Ripper

Geez, if I was a teacher now, I'd love to be able to whip out a sturdy chunk of 4x2 and go town on young wise acres like The Hitman and Mags! More discipline! (I'm only yanking yer shanks, fellas ;))

You gotta stop yanking my shanks...people will talk! :eek: :D

The Hitman