The Sydney experience

• Thread starter Thread starter sabre_ac

Ok folks just spent about a week in sydney and perisher and this is what I have learned.

Positives:
Perisher best ski fields in australia
Freo scarf loved by all
Night life in sydney is huge and so are the options
Sydney is a reasonably clean and busseing city

Negatives:
Decent female retio very low compared to that of perth
If I looked down I could have sworn i was still in perth as far as the city goes.
20 dollars door charge is a total joke.
Expensive to get around the place taxi and parking wise.
Perisher night life was non existent

On the whole a good time, would be great to live and work there.
But perth is where the heart is.

Yep Sydney is a great city no doubt about that.

Only 3 cons:

- Getting lost easily in the CBD
- Dancing trans queens (Mardi Gras)
- Rugby League

CBD wasn't that bad i thought. i found my way from airport to, narremburn over to central station, back to narremburn and out to parramatta with no trouble at all last time i was there.

Originally posted by sabre_ac

Expensive to get around the place taxi and parking wise.

Train ticket prices are also ludicrous. made even worse by the fact that legit concession cards from states other than NSW are generally turned down. as mine duly was!

Originally posted by sabre_ac
Ok folks just spent about a week in sydney and perisher and this is what I have learned.

Positives:
Freo scarf loved by all

Spent 10 seconds reading this thread and this is what I have learned.

You are full of it.

A Sydneysider who has just returned from Perth

Ironic that I read this thread, as I have only just come back from Perth for the Dockers match.

I spent 4 days in Perth, which to be brutally honest was a bit long. I was kinda trapped at a couple's place in Redcliffe near the airport, but for a lot of my time in WA I was as bored as bat****. I bitch about how stressful life is in Sydney and like to head interstate to recharge the batteries whilst supporting the Swans. But I was more bored in Perth than I have been on any of my away trips.

I found Perth frustratingly limiting in terms of nighttime activities. Sure people say Northbridge is the happening place, but on Saturday night it was a dead as a doornail. On Sunday night it was near comatose.

I was with a mate from Sydney who went over for the game (and to see a bit of WA himself). We both found Perth people extremely dull when it came to going out. Try finding a place for a coffee after 6pm, forget it!!! We gave up!

In Sydney I'd think about going out at 10:30-11pm. In Perth people would be thinking about coming home at that time. I worked that that even with the time difference I was getting to bed 2-3 hours AHEAD of the time I'd be calling it quits in Sydney. Ok I'm gay, so with only one trashy bar I was kind of uninspired with things. But just in general I found Perth to be very very lacking in pretty much every aspect when the sun went down. ( I can quite happily drink in a 'straight' pub, I'll let you know.)

Hey Perth has some amazing beaches. I even swam in the Indian Ocean at Scarborough Beach on Monday arvo, which would have been the highlight of my trip I think. I could imagine how good that would be in summer. Perth's weather is great. Even it winter you could get away with just wearing a t-shirt. And at night just a light jacket. Even on Monday morning when it was rumoured to be 1 degree, I still did not feel the chill in my bones that I do when in Sydney or Melbourne.

It seems that they have done alot of homework when they were planning Perth. Unreal 5 lane TOLLESS freeways both north and south of the city. Great infrastructure for when the city expands. No tolls is a huge plus coming from non-stop toll paradise like Sydney.

I have to say I really took a dislike to the architectural style of many of the newer suburbs in Perth such as Hillarys and East Perth. All the house kind of looked really sterile and artificial. Hey Perth is very very clean. But the majority of it looks as though it has just been made in the last 5 years. Should I say this, but the place reeks of NEW MONEY (with no taste). :rolleyes:

I was talking with a Perth mate about the place on Saturday night. He said it was the dream of many WA people to get out of WA and go to live in Melbourne. From what I saw Perth had more of an affinity with Melbourne than Sydney, probably because they see the footy from Melbourne each week. I would talk about Sydney to a couple of people and people would kind of react as if I was talking about something from outer space. Weird.

JF

Re: A Sydneysider who has just returned from Perth

Originally posted by JF_Bay_22_SCG
I was talking with a Perth mate about the place on Saturday night. He said it was the dream of many WA people to get out of WA and go to live in Melbourne. From what I saw Perth had more of an affinity with Melbourne than Sydney, probably because they see the footy from Melbourne each week.

Well there's that, plus they're both beautiful, comfortable and relaxing cities, and they're not full of people obsessed with how much money they make and what they look like and who they're seen with and where they are seen.

Melbourne's advantage over Perth is that it's a bigger city and more cosmopolitan, so you don't have that problem of finding places to go at night if that's what you're after.

And of course, as you say, you get to satisfy your football fix!

Originally posted by Scrumhalf

Only 3 cons:

- Rugby League

- humidity in summer
- abysmal road system
- toll roads
- everything is expensive
- higher proportion of plastic, shallow people

Re: A Sydneysider who has just returned from Perth

Ironic that I read this thread, as I have only just come back from Perth for the Dockers match.

I spent 4 days in Perth, which to be brutally honest was a bit long. I was kinda trapped at a couple's place in Redcliffe near the airport, but for a lot of my time in WA I was as bored as bat****. I bitch about how stressful life is in Sydney and like to head interstate to recharge the batteries whilst supporting the Swans. But I was more bored in Perth than I have been on any of my away trips.

I found Perth frustratingly limiting in terms of nighttime activities. Sure people say Northbridge is the happening place, but on Saturday night it was a dead as a doornail. On Sunday night it was near comatose.

I was with a mate from Sydney who went over for the game (and to see a bit of WA himself). We both found Perth people extremely dull when it came to going out. Try finding a place for a coffee after 6pm, forget it!!! We gave up!

In Sydney I'd think about going out at 10:30-11pm. In Perth people would be thinking about coming home at that time. I worked that that even with the time difference I was getting to bed 2-3 hours AHEAD of the time I'd be calling it quits in Sydney. Ok I'm gay, so with only one trashy bar I was kind of uninspired with things. But just in general I found Perth to be very very lacking in pretty much every aspect when the sun went down. ( I can quite happily drink in a 'straight' pub, I'll let you know.)

Hey Perth has some amazing beaches. I even swam in the Indian Ocean at Scarborough Beach on Monday arvo, which would have been the highlight of my trip I think. I could imagine how good that would be in summer. Perth's weather is great. Even it winter you could get away with just wearing a t-shirt. And at night just a light jacket. Even on Monday morning when it was rumoured to be 1 degree, I still did not feel the chill in my bones that I do when in Sydney or Melbourne.

It seems that they have done alot of homework when they were planning Perth. Unreal 5 lane TOLLESS freeways both north and south of the city. Great infrastructure for when the city expands. No tolls is a huge plus coming from non-stop toll paradise like Sydney.

I have to say I really took a dislike to the architectural style of many of the newer suburbs in Perth such as Hillarys and East Perth. All the house kind of looked really sterile and artificial. Hey Perth is very very clean. But the majority of it looks as though it has just been made in the last 5 years. Should I say this, but the place reeks of NEW MONEY (with no taste). :rolleyes:

I was talking with a Perth mate about the place on Saturday night. He said it was the dream of many WA people to get out of WA and go to live in Melbourne. From what I saw Perth had more of an affinity with Melbourne than Sydney, probably because they see the footy from Melbourne each week. I would talk about Sydney to a couple of people and people would kind of react as if I was talking about something from outer space. Weird.

JF

Well this is so full of crap that I don't know where to begin. But, I'll give it a shot. Maybe you are a boring person and thats why you were so bored. You spend a few days here and claim that Perth people are boring.
I wont argue that Sydney has more nightlife but for you to say that you go out at 11 and thats when Perth people are going home is total bulls**t. It wasn't that long ago that I used to go clubbing alot and we used to arrive between 10 and 11 and stay all night. Northbridge is hardly dead on a Saturday night.
:rolleyes:
On a different subject, now you're a judge on architecture. Reading your post, I shudder to imagine your tastes, frankly.
Oh and as for your Perth mate who speaks for this huge amount of people who want to go and live in Melbourne, are you for real?
Perth is a different city with a different vibe, people here have a very outdoorsy lifestyle, could be because we have the best beaches in the country.
If your life is hanging around clubs every night of the week then yeah, Sydney is the place for you.
Oh and by the way, Perth has more restaurants per capita than any other city in Australia, so you couldn't have looked too hard when you wanted a coffee.
Maybe the swans will win for you next time and your experience will be a little more enjoyable thats if you can bear to bring yourself back to this here hick town.

Re: Re: A Sydneysider who has just returned from Perth

Originally posted by Weagle8
Well this is so full of crap that I don't know where to begin. But, I'll give it a shot. Maybe you are a boring person and thats why you were so bored. You spend a few days here and claim that Perth people are boring.
I wont argue that Sydney has more nightlife but for you to say that you go out at 11 and thats when Perth people are going home is total bulls**t. It wasn't that long ago that I used to go clubbing alot and we used to arrive between 10 and 11 and stay all night. Northbridge is hardly dead on a Saturday night.
:rolleyes:
On a different subject, now you're a judge on architecture. Reading your post, I shudder to imagine your tastes, frankly.
Oh and as for your Perth mate who speaks for this huge amount of people who want to go and live in Melbourne, are you for real?
Perth is a different city with a different vibe, people here have a very outdoorsy lifestyle, could be because we have the best beaches in the country.
If your life is hanging around clubs every night of the week then yeah, Sydney is the place for you.
Oh and by the way, Perth has more restaurants per capita than any other city in Australia, so you couldn't have looked too hard when you wanted a coffee.
Maybe the swans will win for you next time and your experience will be a little more enjoyable thats if you can bear to bring yourself back to this here hick town.

JF's post was quite an interesting one and well argued. I hardly think he meant it personally, so there was no need for you to take it as so, and retaliate as you did.

I haven't been to Perth (or Sydney for that matter), but I imagine it has a 'very outdoorsy lifestyle' because the weather permits it. In Melbourne, or indeed throughout Victoria, it's very difficult to live an outdoors lifestyle through half of the year, because of inclement weather (clearly). We have a winter to contend with.

As for the 'restaurants per capita' comment, that doesn't mean you have a lot of restaurants. It might just be something to do with the fact that Perth has quite a smaller population (1.4mill) than Melbourne (3.5mill) & Sydney (4mill).

Re: Re: Re: A Sydneysider who has just returned from Perth

Originally posted by BomberGal
JF's post was quite an interesting one and well argued. I hardly think he meant it personally, so there was no need for you to take it as so, and retaliate as you did.

I haven't been to Perth (or Sydney for that matter), but I imagine it has a 'very outdoorsy lifestyle' because the weather permits it. In Melbourne, or indeed throughout Victoria, it's very difficult to live an outdoors lifestyle through half of the year, because of inclement weather (clearly). We have a winter to contend with.

As for the 'restaurants per capita' comment, that doesn't mean you have a lot of restaurants. It might just be something to do with the fact that Perth has quite a smaller population (1.4mill) than Melbourne (3.5mill) & Sydney (4mill).

Um, thank you Bombergal but I do know what per capita means otherwise I wouldn't have written it. I am aware of the fact that our population is smaller than both Sydney and Melbourne.
And I wasn't taking anything personally, as you suggested, I was simply responding to what I saw as uninformed criticism of my hometown. JF is entitled to his opinion as am I.
I really don't know what you're trying to say by pointing out the weather differences as I am from this country, and I have spent a fair bit of time over east. Good on you if you think his post was well argued but I am entitled to respond.
BTW Per Capita means - per head of poulation, okay.
;)

I love Sydney, great place for a holiday. Great free entertainment outside the town hall in Pitt St as well! I was waiting on the stairs there one evening and got to see a brawl between one of those preachers on the corner, the hare krishnas and the local homeless gentlemen. Now I don't condone violence in anyway but geez it was funny.

Love it around Clovelly and Bondi as well.

Originally posted by Scrumhalf

Only 3 cons:

Seriously, have you ever been to a Mardi Gras parade live? I have straight friends who frankly refuse to miss it. The atmosphere in the city on Mardi Gras night is undescribable. It beats New Years Eve hands down. There is so much to see and experience regardless of your sexuality. Colour, lights, loud dance music, and awesome and audacious spectacle. Plus the best thing of all, you get to learn something about people you may not have known much about in the past.

For me Mardi Gras is New Year's Eve, Xmas and my birthday wrapped into one. I always try and take at least a week off work so that I can take in the copius nights of intense partying.

Seriously approach things with an open mind and enjoy the special atmosphere that only a Mardi Gras parade night can bring.

JF

Re: Re: A Sydneysider who has just returned from Perth

Originally posted by NMWBloods
Well there's that, plus they're both beautiful, comfortable and relaxing cities, and they're not full of people obsessed with how much money they make and what they look like and who they're seen with and where they are seen.

Melbourne's advantage over Perth is that it's a bigger city and more cosmopolitan, so you don't have that problem of finding places to go at night if that's what you're after.

And of course, as you say, you get to satisfy your football fix!

I agree. Sydneysiders give you absolutely no respect for committing to anything. I am seen as a freak of nature because I follow the Swans around the country rather than attending X's party and missing a match. This is totally outside the umderstanding of a great majority of Sydneysiders. Never is the adage "When you're hot, you're hot" more apt than here. As when your team loses YOU instantly become a loser for staying loyal and supporting them.

BUT having said that, as much as I bitch about living in Sydney, I think this place has lots of advantages. You just have to learn to not overload yourself and be choosy when numerous people approach you to do this or that in your spare time.

JF

Re: Re: Re: Re: A Sydneysider who has just returned from Perth

Um, thank you Bombergal but I do know what per capita means otherwise I wouldn't have written it. I am aware of the fact that our population is smaller than both Sydney and Melbourne.
And I wasn't taking anything personally, as you suggested, I was simply responding to what I saw as uninformed criticism of my hometown. JF is entitled to his opinion as am I.
I really don't know what you're trying to say by pointing out the weather differences as I am from this country, and I have spent a fair bit of time over east. Good on you if you think his post was well argued but I am entitled to respond.
BTW Per Capita means - per head of poulation, okay.
;)

Well, your reply indicated you saw it through rose-coloured glasses.

I also am well aware of what per capita means. Think about it...if you have a smaller ppn than Sydney, but the same number of restaurants, it will give you a larger number of restaurants per capita. But there's not more restaurants, so it wouldn't necessarily make it easier to find one. That was my point.

I was pointing out the weather differences, because you were pointing out the differences in that Perth has a different vibe and an outdoor lifestyle - it doesn't make Perth supreme, or Perth residents better people for 'getting out there', which is what the original comment seemed to imply.

Yes, you're entitled to your opinion, I just thought your argument/retaliation seemed a bit unreasonable. :)

Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: A Sydneysider who has just returned from Perth

Originally posted by BomberGal
Well, your reply indicated you saw it through rose-coloured glasses.

I also am well aware of what per capita means. Think about it...if you have a smaller ppn than Sydney, but the same number of restaurants, it will give you a larger number of restaurants per capita. But there's not more restaurants, so it wouldn't necessarily make it easier to find one. That was my point.

I was pointing out the weather differences, because you were pointing out the differences in that Perth has a different vibe and an outdoor lifestyle - it doesn't make Perth supreme, or Perth residents better people for 'getting out there', which is what the original comment seemed to imply.

Yes, you're entitled to your opinion, I just thought your argument/retaliation seemed a bit unreasonable. :)

:confused: :confused: :confused:
If you were well aware of what per capita means then you wouldn't have said it has "something" to do with Perth's smaller population, it has everything to do with Perth's smaller population. Less people, smaller city, more than average cafe's.
For your information, I never said Perth was supreme. I "implied" that different cities have different lifestyles. Where did I say Perth people were better people?
And Rose coloured glasses? What the hell are you talking about?On second thoughts, don't even tell me. Am I supposed to agree that my city is boring, people are boring, architecture is ugly and distasteful?
You were right about one thing, I am entitled to my opinions, which you clearly don't understand.

Originally posted by NMWBloods
I went to Mardi Gras a few years ago and thought it was crap.

Each to their own man.

For me it is a chance to celebrate who I am for a few days. Now that it is back to normal after MG went under, it has re-captured a lot of its magic.

JF

Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: A Sydneysider who has just returned from Perth

[B. Am I supposed to agree that my city is boring, people are boring, architecture is ugly and distasteful?
You were right about one thing, I am entitled to my opinions, which you clearly don't understand. [/B]

Man, I didn't mean to offend anyone personally. I was just expressing my subjective opinion of what I felt and observed. Considering that most of the people I spoke to were gay and were ieither horribly bored of or itching to get out of the place, that may have tainted my view on things quite a bit. Perth for a single but out gay guy must be pure hell, nowhereto go and noone really to look up to. Yet it has Australia's second biggest Pride march. So they must be all hiding! LOL

I still had a wonderful swim in the Indian Ocean, in winter!!!. I could imagine I'd be at Swanbourne Beach on most weekend days during the summer. ;)

I'll be back to WA no doubt. And will hopefully get to do Rottnest Island and maybe even the South West as well.

Peace.

JF

Seriously, have you ever been to a Mardi Gras parade live? I have straight friends who frankly refuse to miss it. The atmosphere in the city on Mardi Gras night is undescribable. It beats New Years Eve hands down. There is so much to see and experience regardless of your sexuality. Colour, lights, loud dance music, and awesome and audacious spectacle. Plus the best thing of all, you get to learn something about people you may not have known much about in the past.

JF

Went to a few about 5 to 10 years ago - real hoot. Only person who had a bad time was some old weird guy who was walking around behind the spectators muttering things like "dirty ****s" - makes you wonder why he bothered.

Taken to a couple of GM parties and one Sleaze Ball - now they are REAL parties. Bit of an eye opener....

They don't call Perth Dullsville for nothing.

Personally I think Brisbane has the most to offer in excitement and interest.

Sydney & Melbourne are allright but Brisbane has the sunshine coast to the north , Gold Coast to the south and Toowomba etc to the west. Pity about the amount of footy coverage you get there.

Geography wise, Sydney is perfect. Hills, Valleys and basins. Perfect. Yeah we have humidity but heck we get non stop sunshine. So weather wise it's actually really bearable.

People. Now that's what gives Sydney a bad name. We Sydneysiders are a bunch of self appreciating whinging dumb arses with plastic taste and no culture.

Melbourne is a beautiful city, lot of culture and Melbournites really embrace their heritage. It's also very flat and not inspiring when it comes to landscape.

Perth reminds me of Sydney in the late 70's Early 80's. Some of their newer malls reminded me of the type you see down south in coastal towns like Wollongong.