The Travis Varcoe Appreciation Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter winty

Just love watching this guy play. Absolute gun. His forward pressure, tackling, pace and sublime skills are awesome to witness. How good was his jumper-and-all tackle in the 2nd quarter? And his one handed pickup at full pace with a wet and slippery ball in the first term? I hope he gets the Rising Star Award nomination he was so cruelly dudded out of last week (17 touches and 10 tackles not enough?). BT calls Leon Davis "the Igniter". Leon has nothing on Travis, and this will all be revealed in two weeks when Travis lights up the G. :thumbsu:

He was damn good, ran around like a terrier, didn't give up the chase and it paid off several times, got a deserved goal, perhaps should've got at least 1 more, but hey, can't complain too hard.

Yep it was great when he ripped off that swans player's jumper lol! :thumbsu:

and to make it worse for the guy he got pinged for holding the ball on the play.

then a little later Chappy wrapped him up in a pearler of a tackle. Put Malceski in the chicken wing.

Malceski is soft. Who saw him pull out of the contest with Joel Corey early on? Both players were running at the ball and Malceski pulled out...

The whole team is soft. Did you see Goodes after someone gave him a retaliating bump laying on the deck looking for an umpire so he could have a whinge? If Ling wasn't bashed left, right and centre, and off the ground as much as he was, Goodes wouldn't have got a sniff today.

What a champion, cant wait for him to get more experienced. I think he is way faster than Alwyn, Aaron, Andrew Lovett. effortless speed.

He just seems to glide across the turf doesn't he? Reminds me a bit of Gumby the way he moves. :p

The whole team is soft. Did you see Goodes after someone gave him a retaliating bump laying on the deck looking for an umpire so he could have a whinge? If Ling wasn't bashed left, right and centre, and off the ground as much as he was, Goodes wouldn't have got a sniff today.

Goodes is a sniper. Kept jumping all over our guys. Blake could have really hammered him at one stage but opted not to. Goodes got a stack of the ball today, but did nothing with it. Probably turned the ball over more than anybody else. Got a stack of forward 50 entries, but heaps of them went straight to a cat.

I'm looking forward to when Varcoe has a few more seasons under his belt and he's able to run around in the midfield. Him and Bomber running through the centre is a scary thought.

I think he is playing so well cause of my sponsorship... I will certainly take the credit for it, im pretty happy spending that money now ill tell ya that.

he is so exciting. his tackling is equal with anyones in the comp and that is no exageration. He will guarantee u a goal or two if he's in the side. the only thing is he could get a bit more of the footy, but he did heaps better today and will only improve.

His disposal lets him down sometimes, both by hand and foot. He's still young and small, so his tackles sometimes don't stick... But give him some time in the system, another summer in the gym, and he'll be unstoppable. His run and persistance is amazing. His 2nd, 3rd and 4th efforts are as strong as his 1st.

It's his willingness to chase that amazes me. There was one passage of play where from deep in defence he ran all the way to the middle of the centre square, dodging sheperding players, to try and apply some pressure on the ball carrier.

The best thing that Varcoe gives the team is persistence, leading to inspiration.

Guys like Varcoe and Stokes have provided the club with a huge amount of inspiration, they aren't the most gifted or talked about players at the club, however they just play each game like it is their last.

I love watching these two guys play, whenever they track down a player or ball, do something good, everyone takes notice to come over and show their appreciation.

That is the difference between us last year to now.

Just love watching this guy play. Absolute gun. His forward pressure, tackling, pace and sublime skills are awesome to witness. How good was his jumper-and-all tackle in the 2nd quarter? And his one handed pickup at full pace with a wet and slippery ball in the first term? I hope he gets the Rising Star Award nomination he was so cruelly dudded out of last week (17 touches and 10 tackles not enough?). BT calls Leon Davis "the Igniter". Leon has nothing on Travis, and this will all be revealed in two weeks when Travis lights up the G. :thumbsu:
Just got read out on SEN mate.

Yeah I'll go as far to say that he is a major reason why we r going so well this year all the little tap ons, blocks, shepards, creating of space for the big blokes as well as the incredible pressure he puts on the ball carrier. I think he creates more goals than most people think. Yes true more possesion would be good but that will come, at the moment he is on a massive learning curve. He also won Rex Hunts Rookie of the week award today. Did anyone hear the interview he did with Rex? You could tell he was nervous as hell but as the interview went on he really spoke well and answered a couple of curly questions about indigenous issues from Rex. Rex was really taken with him, he seems like a really genuine good hearted guy. Great choice by the club to give him the no.5

The turning point for Travis was clearly the sponsors dinner last year. Sitting with myself and Josh on a table he had obviously realised that he had 'arrived'. He spent the rest of last season fine tuning his game for this seasons explosive debut season.
No need to thank me guys....it was my pleasure :)

he embodies what i love most about footy, tenacity..the guy just does not stop and for a name that you don't really look out for on the footy field you can't help but notice the effect he has