• Thread starter Thread starter Baz_hawk

In the last 5 games (2016) we are 88 for 80 against
In the last season and 5 games 545 for to 520 against
In the last 2 seasons and 5 games 950 for and 914 against
In the last 3 seasons and 5 games 1403 for and 1367 against
In the last 4 seasons and 5 games 1885 for and 1834 against.
In the last 5 seasons and 5 games 2385 for and 2379 against.

I'm pretty sure we were crucified in free kicks ratio for the 5 years before.

Definitely wasn't holding the ball any other time during that game....... they were pretty consistent on it all night. Maybe he needs to watch the game again.

I honestly feel these commentators should have some understanding of how emotional the game is for supporters. They don't need much encouragement by callers who are only trying to create some false controversy, as they are already convinced umpires are ripping them off blind. Commentators should just shut up about umpiring decisions and just call the damned game.

Listening to them crapping on, it's obvious they don't really understand the rules either, so it would be best for everyone if they ceased pontificating over umpiring decisions. I mean, how many times do you hear callers change their minds once they've seen the replay. Plenty, and yet they still feel they can sit and criticise umpiring decisions.

Solution, cut back to two callers, that's all you need, not this entourage of idiots all trying to get a word in.

I honestly feel these commentators should have some understanding of how emotional the game is for supporters. They don't need much encouragement by callers who are only trying to create some false controversy, as they are already convinced umpires are ripping them off blind. Commentators should just shut up about umpiring decisions and just call the damned game.

Listening to them crapping on, it's obvious they don't really understand the rules either, so it would be best for everyone if they ceased pontificating over umpiring decisions. I mean, how many times to you hear callers change their minds once they've seen the replay. Plenty, and yet they still feel they can sit and criticise umpiring decisions.

Solution, cut back to two callers, that's all you need, not this entourage of idiots all trying to get a word in.
Yeah.... I muted it within 10 mins and put ABC Grandstand on instead. What a difference.....

Listening to them crapping on, it's obvious they don't really understand the rules either, so it would be best for everyone if they ceased pontificating over umpiring decisions. I mean, how many times do you hear callers change their minds once they've seen the replay. Plenty, and yet they still feel they can sit and criticise umpiring decisions.

great post...so true.

Or maybe have an umpire up there for special comments. Like how the "whistleblowers" segment goes, have an experienced umpire in the commentary box saying "Ah, no- I can see there why that wasn't called."

It's also the combination of the hyperbole that gets constantly spewed out of the commentators mouths that is infuriating. Listening to the commentary on Friday night kind of went like this:

"Betts usually struggles against Hawthorn"
"Yeah but he's a good player and will be up for the challenge"
"He's a great player Betts."
"You think he would be up there as one of the greatest small forwards of all time, don't you think?"

It's the constant one upping that goes on, and the way they will pander to favorites in regards to umpiring calls or potential MRP decisions, that is just mind numbing.

The commentators should add to the game, not think that the game happens around them. For too long we have 'personalities' in the box that detract from the viewing of the game by crapping on about hair styles or spruiking vague stats in the hope of sounding relevant.

He didn't get hit in the junk... at least that was my interpretaton of what i saw...

and since i have a vagina a flat hand won't do squat ;)

Im sure there is a dating thread for that sort of talk :thumbsu:

If you look at it you can see the hand is moving up, and it hits his shorts first, before the abdomen. Now, Ive never showered with him to know what he is packing, but Shiels is not the type to stage.

pfft... a maggot is a maggot is a maggot and they are told to hate the Hawks the minute they are conscious. if that makes me a sook...shrugs I can take that title

I tell you, this forum is off its rocker. I went into the North Melbourne v Western Bulldogs match thread last night, and for page after page the discussion was about which team the umpires were favouring. I mean, what in hell's going on these days? I realise there are more people than ever before following the game who never played, but people seem to have no idea how to actually discuss a game any more. The players were just making up the numbers, the real stars were the umpires!

At the end of the game, a North supporter posted he was disappointed people weren't giving North enough credit. I replied saying "If it's praise you are looking for you've come to the wrong place. My team has won three flags in a row, and we're still no good according to this forum". :)

Too many people talking footy these days who have NFI.