The VAFA report

• Thread starter Thread starter pazza

Originally posted by Richoagain
How's Taishi going?

Not too bad actually. Played in 2's last week, was definitely in our top 5. There's really no discernible difference between his skill level and those that have been playing footy all their lives. Hard at it, too.

That's very good to hear! Apparently a few people have been pleasantly surprised at the skill level of the Japanese lads who've played in the VAFA lower grades.

I'll see you guys when St Marys and Box Hill North clash in a few weeks.

G'day fella's,
I play at Ormond in C grade.
After being relegated from B grade last year, I don't like saying it but I feel we are going to struggle to stay in C grade the list we have...

Marcellin go to the top of A grade with another win under new coach Vaughan Cleary (he was coach of the 1sts when I was there, he is a good coach a good bloke as well).

I notice Mark Browne dominating again in the ruck.

Originally posted by CFE
G'day fella's,
I play at Ormond in C grade.
After being relegated from B grade last year, I don't like saying it but I feel we are going to struggle to stay in C grade the list we have...

One of the last bastions of non-school clubs in the upper ranks of the VAFA, and they're sliding :(

What is with clubs plummeting down the grades in the VAFA? I'm a Fitzroy Reds fans and have just watched Oakleigh and Kew plunge past us ... its like some scene out of Vertical Limit!

I think the problem with us at Ormond is attracting new people to the club. With all the schoolboy sides beginning to take over the A,B & C sections it's hard to get players who don't belong to a schoolboy club. We've got Caulfield Grammar near us & De La Salle & a lot of our juniors go to these schools & when they hit U/19's they go back to the school, the same with Haileybury College & Brighton Grammar.
We've gotta keep promoting our club & the only way we'll get players is if we are successful & that looks a fair way off at the moment.:(

It's a shame that Ormond is going that way, although having had local rivals like Hampton Rovers amongst others drawing the talent base, I guess we should have expected it to happen.

The same could be said out west...I know that say in the Werribee area, both Werribee Amateurs and Old Westbourne suffer heavily due to the fact there are a number of other clubs in the area, that draw the talent.

Originally posted by CFE
I think the problem with us at Ormond is attracting new people to the club. With all the schoolboy sides beginning to take over the A,B & C sections it's hard to get players who don't belong to a schoolboy club. We've got Caulfield Grammar near us & De La Salle & a lot of our juniors go to these schools & when they hit U/19's they go back to the school, the same with Haileybury College & Brighton Grammar.
We've gotta keep promoting our club & the only way we'll get players is if we are successful & that looks a fair way off at the moment.:(

You need to run a similar campaign to the Jim Beam one of recent, hinting that Old Boys clubs are 'Girly-Men' clubs. :)

Originally posted by CFE

Hampton Rovers is the model Ormond should copy. They have a strong presence in juniors, and the local community supports them because they are part of the local culture. They have never had a private school connection and they use that as a badge of honour.

Its sad to see Ormond's decline.

I think Ormond always did, Hotpie. I assume their juniors have declined - as a lot have done as the young population appears to be moving outwards. There are very few inner suburban junior clubs nowadays.

Thinking back, it's amazing that Ormond were once the two permanent fixtures of A Grade (the others were North Old Boys). They were both demoted in subsequent years (NOB's in 1995 and Ormond in 1996) after they had both been in A Grade since the turn of the decade in 1970 (Ormond in 1969 and NOB's in 1972) - longer than any other club at that time.

Look at the clubs in A Grade now, and the last time they WEREN'T in A Grade;
St.Bernards - 1991
Xavier - 1991 (Both these sides played in the 1991 B Grade GF)
Scotch - 1980 (the longest by a mile!)
Marcellin - 1998
Old Ivanhoe - 2001
University Blues - 1994
Trinity - 1999
St.Kevins - 1997
Melbourne - 2002
Haileybury - 2002

How times have changed!

That's what I like about the VAFA, you can build a club and go up a few grades in a short while and there's always other clubs ready to take your spot if you aren't on your toes.

Very True Richoagain. An Example of this is Mazenod. They started in the VAFA in 1989 in F Section & they have been in A grade & now are one of the better B graders going around....

CFA I saw your mention of the neverending search for a place to talk VAFA ... just letting you know that the Fitzroy board on this site includes a reasonable amount of talk on the Fitzroy Reds.

Just a bit more VAFA for yer :)

(there's also some stuff via the site in my signature)

Courtesy footypedia F-Ref 831 ( http://www.footypedia.com/00000831.htm )

Old Essendon Grammarians Football Club (Vic)

Guernseys & Nicknames :
2001 - Old Essendon were known as the Bombers.

Timeline :
1970 - VAFA : Old Essendon Grammarians commenced.
1971 - VAFA : Old Essendon Grammarians' final season.
1984 - VAFA : Old Essendon Grammarians recommenced.
1985 - VAFA F Section : Old Essendon Grammarians participated.
1986 - VAFA F Section Grand Final : Old Essendon Grammarians 17.11.113 defeated UHSOB 11.15.81.
1987-91 - VAFA : Old Essendon Grammarians participated.
1992 - VAFA F Section Grand Final : Saint Leos Wattle Park 9.17.71 defeated Old Essendon 3.7.25.
1993-98 - VAFA : Old Essendon Grammarians participated.
1999 - VAFA D Section : Old Essendon Grammarians finished 4th.
2000 - VAFA D Section Grand Final : Caulfield Grammarians 26.13.169 defeated Old Essendon Grammarians 6.8.44.

2001 (VAFA C Section) :
Second Semi-Final - Old Essendon defeated Hampton Rovers by one point.
Grand Final - Hampton Rovers 16.14.110 defeated Old Essendon 6.9.45 @ Elsternwick Park.

2003 - VAFA B Section : Old Essendon Grammarians participated.

I'll have to check it, Kev, but I think you'll find that OEG actually started life in the Essendon District FL before joining the VAFA (in 1970, that does sound right)

Old Essendon are a strange one. They have gone up grades without winning premierships. They could make A grade without actually winning a flag. That'd sh it me to tears if I played for them. But at least the're moving up!

I tell you what, it's great to see former VAFA club (since the Great Depression) Parkside doing well in Division Two of the Diamond Valley, they haven't won a game yet, but they came within a kick against Panton Hill & Diamond Creek.

They'll win a few games and should make a good impression in the DVFL, playing against real teams like Reservoir, Mernda, Fawkner Park, Lalor & Thomastown, not these old boy pillow biters that inhabit the ammo's (with the exception of the Fitzroy Reds:D ).

I don't know about that, Wayde. Divvy 2 in the DVFL has always been lopsided - and I think both Panton Hill and Diamond Creek might be on the wrong side of the ledger.

Having said that, Parkside should win this weekend. Kinglake have got pastings from two "weak" teams (Heidelberg West and South Morang) and look odds on for the spoon at the moment.

But I would expect Parkside to struggle against the likes of Lalor, Reservoir (they've come up well!), Mernda, Whittlesea, Macleod and Hurstbridge. And we know how much of a gap there is between them and Division One!

Bring on Division Three - and don't stuff it up this time if it happens, Whittlesea! (Tell your Dad I said that, Wayde!)

Oh BTW - just to keep this thread on topic - Latrobe Uni for me tommorrow! As Kev said in Yahoo TLFC, "Right grade, wrong venue!" (D2)

Originally posted by Richoagain
DVFL three divisions (eight clubs in each) is planned for 2004 already, innit?

It looks like it, all the DVFL has to do is cross the t's and dot the i's, so after all these years, my dad's been proven right, it's a shame that it didn't happen back in the 80's, beacause a few clubs would've survived .

You're right Phil, Divvy 2 is lop-sided (it's just as bad as the Kyabram League with Stanhope/Lancaster & daylight between the rest of the clubs), with Lalor, Reservoir, Whittlesea, Mernda and the like, but Panton Hill & Diamond Creek aren't bad sides, so it does give a good guide on Parkside's abilities, but I don't know how they went today because those bludgers at the DVFL haven't updated thier scores yet:mad: , geez the KDFL did thiers by 6:30.