The Vent Thread

Mate you are deflecting. Your original point is you are marching if their is a player exodus. Got that? I will reiterate, you are marching if there is a player exodus. This is nothing to do with fans dropping off if their team loses.
So what. Me marching is my main point, regualr fans leaving is my sub point. Conversations grow, it is still true no matter which way you make it.

Don't let Rockcliff not doing it surprise you, had a hand in Vossies sacking as well. That boy only cares about one person and that's himself. If there's no self promotion in it, he's not interested.

Dude. What the ****.

Shifting_Goalpost.gif

a supporter means that you follow something/someone etc. I support the lions, am l going to stick through a decade of pain and suffering with them as some of you are ... no. I still support the team atm.

I think some of you need to learn what the word support means.

But when you're not sticking with them through a decade of pain doesn't that mean you're not supporting them?

a supporter means that you follow something/someone etc. I support the lions, am l going to stick through a decade of pain and suffering with them as some of you are ... no. I still support the team atm.

I think some of you need to learn what the word support means.

If you don't take the leap of faith that might involve you getting burnt, then you'll never experience the true exultation that comes with success.

I've often had a go at people who use the phrase "true supporter". There's no such thing. People have many priorities in life and football may range from low to high. I would rank myself as a supporter, but my support isn't much compared to some posters on here who don't miss a ressies game.

I would contend though that if you spend as much time on BigFooty as some on here obviously do, it's reasonable to think that they understand there will be lean times and that it would be assumed they would stick with the team through thick and thin.
Spot on and the final paragraph is a telling point. I read stuff on here and do not agree with what is written but in the end keep coming back because we talk about a footy club we SUPPORT. For one to get on here and say they are off for a reason such as players leaving means they were never part of the discussion in the first place.

I have had a fair few barnies on here over the years but not once have I ever thought that the individuals that I am talking to are anything other than Lions supporters though thick and thin.

But when you're not sticking with them through a decade of pain doesn't that mean you're not supporting them?

Supporting them about as much as the deadbeat dad that walks out on their kid when they are 3 and then tries to reestablish contact 40 years later when the they're broke and they read in the paper that their child is now a successful lawyer.

The "true supporter" thing gets me as well sometimes. I can understand living far away and not being able to be as dedicated as some due to distance and money. I can't understand just throwing the team and/or the sport away during lean times unless you're a fairweather fan. Not that there's anything wrong with that, but call a spade a spade.

Thats just how it goes... I get port supporters to consistently dig into me about the lions if we lose because they saw the score. Like last week, not all "Port Supporters" even watched the game, but they will get into about the Lions. Ill be like "yeah lions were disappointing", followed by the neutral comment like "That Sam Gray looks a ripper".... The look of their face is all like "Who the fcuk is Sam Gray"

"True Supporters"... they are a one of a kind, and even in a Footy State...trust me

9:03 PM: Makes a passionate post calling Andrew Hamilton a "@&@!en knob".

9:49 PM: Cites Andrew Hamilton article as evidence to support controversial opinion.

Sorry Scuba... couldn't let that through to the keeper. ;)

There was more than one journalist who wrote about the issue, that is why I included two links. Doesn't change my view of Hamilton's latest article though.

When you leave them, no you wont be supporting them (l might be loosely following them, but thats it). you can still support a team for a week, a month, a year etc.

Which would then mean you're a fairweather supporter as you would only be supporting the team when the team was doing well.

When you leave them, no you wont be supporting them (l might be loosely following them, but thats it). you can still support a team for a week, a month, a year etc.

Until the exodus right?

There was more than one journalist who wrote about the issue, that is why I included two links. Doesn't change my view of Hamilton's latest article though.

Nothing close to circumstantial evidence, let alone empirical.

You were down on Rockliff even before that though. I really don't get it. He's been a consistent shining light in a very dark time. Just ticks all the boxes for me in what I admire in a player.

Love his dry sense of humour too (and kinda get irritated that people misread it as arrogance in Rocky's Challenge videos etc).

I remember sitting next to a player and reading one of those articles. I remember him taking the phone off me and reading it himself. His exact words were "It's bullshit."

That's absolutely true, but your kind of support is very different from our kind of support.

Your kind is certainly more pragmatic, I'll give you that.

You REALLY want an exodus?

You should have seen all the fans leaving the Gabba after the game!

:drunk:

Lets just hope that people wont view polks, Raines, Goose, etc... leaving as a "Exodus"

It amused me a bit a few months ago (though not so much now) that no one ever said at the end of 2012 that the loss of Sheldon, Hawksley, Buchanan and Stiller would hold the club back in 2013, even though that group were a lot more accomplished than the go-home five.

Which would then mean you're a fairweather supporter as you would only be supporting the team when the team was doing well.
fairweather supporter/ bandwagon etc etc is something that you people make up. You either support a team or dont, as some of you say. I have been following the lions for several years now and hoping they win every time. I would say l have supported them.

Ummm, l have pretty much been following them when they have been down in the gutters ear after year, l didnt see the premiershipsw that most of you saw, l would say that l was pretty good in following them in the first place as they were, lets be honest, shit when l first started supporting them. All l have known is them being bad without any success.