The Wine thread

On tips, we had a cool climate shiraz night with the work crew last week. Whilst the expectations of the aged 2002 Craiglee and 2006 Shaw and Smith Shiraz were easily met, the highlight was the latest 2010 Mike Press shiraz that one of the guys brought for a quick look. Whilst not as bold and robust as most of the others, the clarity and balance of the wine was amazing, with enough acidity to give it plenty of life. A steal at around $13 a bottle!

I still have a few bottles of the 1990 Craiglee Shiraz. A freak of a wine. I last had one about 8-9 years ago and it was amazing. Clonakilla Shiraz Viognier is a pretty special wine too. I got on the mailing list about 10-12 years ago and have been stashing it away ever since.

Here's an etiquette question. If someone brings a bottle to dinner, is the host under an obligation to open it that evening?

My feeling is only if it's a particularly special bottle. But I'm not 100% sure.

Sometimes, a bottle has already been opened. In which case, you wait for that to be finished, then open the guest's bottle. It gets awkward when there are a few people that have brought bottles.

Either way, if you take a bottle as a guest, it stays there, whether it has been opened or not.

I usually have a couple of decanters going, and will decant the guests wine too. If it's not that great, it can be "hidden" amongst the better ones and hardly drunk. If it's great, make a fuss over it. As I'm a drunk, the guests bottle will nearly always get opened. But if it doesn't, yep, bring it out the next time.

People can also be funny about what wine they've brought. The best tip that I've head is "I didn't make it". I'm not fussed if what I've brought along is corked, past it, not cellared well or simply not a good wine. I didn't make the stuff.

I still have a few bottles of the 1990 Craiglee Shiraz. A freak of a wine. I last had one about 8-9 years ago and it was amazing. Clonakilla Shiraz Viognier is a pretty special wine too. I got on the mailing list about 10-12 years ago and have been stashing it away ever since.

Keep them, they've got years left. Actually went up to the Sunbury wine festival a few weeks ago, and Pat Carmody had a bottle of the 1984 opened to give some familiar faces a taste. This was still singing, and at that age there wouldn't be any harm seeing if it could go another 5 or 10 years. And good work keeping the verticles going on the Clonakilla's, a verticle wine dinner or lunch with like minded folk is a ripper way to kill some braincells.

For those keen enough or in the area, the Heathcote Wine Festival is on this weekend. One of the better festivals of the year, as there'll be no less than 30 wineries all in the 1 location on show. A great way to try the wares of a heap of different makers in the one day.

And now I've got my tickets, the Melbourne Wine Show is on the 27th of October and open to the public. This is a joke of an event, with every wine on show able to be tasted, unlimited. Whilst I imagine the intention of this event is to give the public a chance to see the latest vintages and try the medal winners, it's hard not to get carried away with being able to pour a hefty glass of Wolf Blass Platinum label for yourself while you eye off the Meshach etc.

Here's an etiquette question. If someone brings a bottle to dinner, is the host under an obligation to open it that evening?

My feeling is only if it's a particularly special bottle. But I'm not 100% sure.
You must open it.

I was discussing this with a friend last weekend & we both do the same thing, open the bottle to let it breath before we go to the persons house. I know I will always bring a great bottle to drink that night (I like to bring something nice as a token of my appreciation for the invitation) but when you leave & it hasn't been consumed you've basically just donated a bottle of great wine to them, not enjoyed it as part of the gathering.

When people visit me, if for whatever reason it isn't consumed I will keep it until they return, but even then I tend to open it when they arrive as 2-3 bottles amongst 4 people isn't that much really.

If I have guests I usually have a back up bottle like a St.Hugo or Bowen Estate if we're running low on standby.

Any gathering over 6 or so & I'll take something a little more in my mid range as you might not know everyones taste & you never want to throw pearls before swine.

Keep them, they've got years left. Actually went up to the Sunbury wine festival a few weeks ago, and Pat Carmody had a bottle of the 1984 opened to give some familiar faces a taste. This was still singing, and at that age there wouldn't be any harm seeing if it could go another 5 or 10 years. And good work keeping the verticles going on the Clonakilla's, a verticle wine dinner or lunch with like minded folk is a ripper way to kill some braincells.

For those keen enough or in the area, the Heathcote Wine Festival is on this weekend. One of the better festivals of the year, as there'll be no less than 30 wineries all in the 1 location on show. A great way to try the wares of a heap of different makers in the one day.

And now I've got my tickets, the Melbourne Wine Show is on the 27th of October and open to the public. This is a joke of an event, with every wine on show able to be tasted, unlimited. Whilst I imagine the intention of this event is to give the public a chance to see the latest vintages and try the medal winners, it's hard not to get carried away with being able to pour a hefty glass of Wolf Blass Platinum label for yourself while you eye off the Meshach etc.

I've been quite disciplined over the years in what I have in my cellar. I always buy multiples (either 4 or 6 or a case), and I have a core range of wineries/styles I like. So the bulk of my

I have Grossett Riesling, both Clare and Polish Hill, dating from the first vintage right through to today. I love this wine. His cabernet is also sublime

Others are Zema Estate, Black Jack, Clonakilla, Mt Langi, Rockford, Kays Old Block, Majella, Moss wood etc etc.

I've got all sorts of other stuff too. But I love the ability to compare favourite styles with age on em.

I've got the usual Penfolds and other common premiums, plus stuff that i've just bought because I like it.

I was fortunate that I started buying wine quite young (my parents were right into it) and my brother has worked in the industry all his life.

The missus cracked a 1994 Bowen the other night... I was mortified. I can't really complain though as I don't drink much anymore. And we've got way too much wine.

You must open it.

I was discussing this with a friend last weekend & we both do the same thing, open the bottle to let it breath before we go to the persons house. I know I will always bring a great bottle to drink that night (I like to bring something nice as a token of my appreciation for the invitation) but when you leave & it hasn't been consumed you've basically just donated a bottle of great wine to them, not enjoyed it as part of the gathering.

When people visit me, if for whatever reason it isn't consumed I will keep it until they return, but even then I tend to open it when they arrive as 2-3 bottles amongst 4 people isn't that much really.

If I have guests I usually have a back up bottle like a St.Hugo or Bowen Estate if we're running low on standby.

Any gathering over 6 or so & I'll take something a little more in my mid range as you might not know everyones taste & you never want to throw pearls before swine.[/quote]

That doesn't sound pretentious or anything :)

Its just awkward if the host has planned the menu and picked wine to go with it. Or if lots of people have brought it.

I always have viewed it as a gift to the host, and its their prerogative whether it's served or not.

That doesn't sound pretentious or anything :)
We are talking about wine aren't we? ;)

I know what you mean but I have a few friends whose idea of good wine is a bottle of Rawsons Retreat. You aren't doing yourself or the wine that you've had in the cellar for years any justice. It is good though to try to help them appreciate a decent wine, thats why I'll take something I really enjoy but doesn't cost too much such as St.Hugo or Bowen Estate, even Brands of Coonawarra. Recently got 6 bottles of the Brands 2006 for $17 each, the '09 retails in the mid $20's. :thumbsu:

Its just awkward if the host has planned the menu and picked wine to go with it. Or if lots of people have brought it.

I always have viewed it as a gift to the host, and its their prerogative whether it's served or not.
Fair point.

I will usually ask what food we will be eating so I can try to match the wine I bring with the food

We are back to the wine club for our second meeting on Wednesday.

I have been nominated to bring a bottle of red, priced between $30 and $50. We will be eating steaks for dinner with the wine.

I will be taking along this one -
http://www.sandalford.com/index.php...d=384&product_category_id=0&flat=1&Itemid=388

2009 Sandalford Estate Reserve Shiraz. 99% Shiraz, 1% Viognier. Bought it on the weekend when we visited Sandalford in the Swan Valley. We have better wines at home, but I am being conscious of not setting the bar too high on my first night. This is a very good drop.

Our final wine club meeting of the year coming up next Wednesday and we are upping the ante.

Not sure what else is on offer but we shall be tasting a Grange and a Hill of Grace.

Happy days.

Those are some serious wines Jim, especially for the two of them in one sitting. Whilst I rate my palette with Aussie wines, I clearly miss some of the real intricacies as to the ratings from the critics. I had a '93 Grange after a golf day about 2 years ago. One of the "heroes" on the table just quoted Jeremy Oliver's lowish rating of 89 for that vintage, and tried to palm it off like he had similar thoughts. Personally, like any Grange, I thought it was a terrific wine and felt privileged to partake. Drink those very early in the sitting whilst the palette's are still fresh and lively. We wasted a 1998 Wolf Blass Black Label (Jimmy Watson winner) a few weeks back by having it at the tail end of a wine dinner after many other inferior wines. The guy that brought it had it as a "surprise", but it would of been the first one on the list if we knew what it was at the outset. It wasn't shot at all, rather it was a great wine, but after 8 bottles amongst 5 blokes over a big dinner, it's fair to say our palette's weren't in top shape by the time it hit the table. Get into the good ones early.

And whilst we're coming into xmas, red bubbles anyone?

I landed some Leasingham Classic Clare 1994 Sparkling at auction a few months back, and the 1 bottle I've had left me shell-shocked. Still bold and intense with a brilliant mouth feel and ample tannins. The the fruit intensity is still showing and you could easily confuse it for a much younger wine. I wish I bought more. I had planned on taking a couple of the 2004 Ashton Hills sparkling shiraz's to the oldies house for Chrissy lunch, but I think the Leasinghams will be too hard to top. As a more affordable Chrissy sparkling numbers, the latest Best's sparkling was a medium bodied, spicy and juicy drink, perfect with ham and turkey on Christmas Day. And took home a bottle of the latest Seppelt Silverband NV Sparkling that one of the guys got access to here for a taste. Came back to work the next day and told him to get me a dozen to get me through the festive period.

Anyone tasted the traditionally affordable and great value-for-money Bleasedale or Peter Rumball sparkling shiraz's?

Cheers Harvey. We shall definitely be drinking these early on. Really looking forward to this night.

As for sparkling reds, I love them. I have never had a Leasingham, but had the Peter Rumball regularly the last few Christmases. I enjoy the Chandon Sparkling Pinot Noir Shiraz. Probably going to buy a few bottles for the festivities.

I just ordered some Happs Pinot Noir 2011 online. I got an email and they caught me at a weak moment !!!! James Halliday rates this wine 93 points. Normally $16 at the cellar door. Was $15 a bottle with this deal, but $13 in a 6 pack. (Yes, 93 points and $13 a bottle). I ordered 6 at and also ordered another 6 wines to get free delivery. Happs Verdhelo is beautiful for around $20 a bottle.

Ok - we have been given the "line up" for next week's wine club.

I shall show James Halliday's rating for each one.

Eileen Hardy Shiraz 1996 (94 points)
Bin 389 - 1996 (95)
Duval Entity Barossa Shiraz 2006 (96)
Houghton Show Reserve Shiraz 1995(Cannot find a rating, but many comparable wines on the Houghton list are 94/95)
Richmond Grove Barossa Vineyards Shiraz 2002 - Limited Release (95)
Penfolds Grange – 1993 (94)

We are going to finish off with a couple of aged De Bortoli Botrytis Semillon (No ratings but similar are 94/95)

Not too upset that there is no Hill of Grace as the selection is pretty special.

The Bleasdale sparking is fantastic. Great depth of flavour and a decent price. Stephen John & Mitchells are another fave.

JD - That Richmond Grove 02 is phenomenal. That wine, that vintage is absolutely my favourite single wine. Still got a few at home, had one the other week and its still brilliant.

And dont worry, I have weak moments with wine all the time. Twice this week in fact (Katnook Estate Founders Block & Odyssey and Wynns Black Label Cab). I have to delete Vinomofo emails without looking most days.

Got a question about French wine - does anyone enjoy it?

I took a trip to Burgundy recently with my French mate. He loves his Burgundy, I love my Aussie reds, but we're not that keen on each other's wine.

We toured a few different wineries. As I understood, the predominant grape in Burgundy is Pinot (which I'm not mad on). I just couldn't get into it. The wine seemed too thin and vinegar-y. It was unpleasant in the mouth (even the Premier Cru). On the other hand, I tried some earth-shatteringly good whites (which I really never drink).

So does anyone get French wine? Why is it so popular? Is it simply a case of getting used to it?

Since the trip I've tried a couple of Bordeaux's. Some of them were decent. But still prefer Aussie.

Incidentally, I live in Russia, and the price of Aussie wine here is far more competitive than French. You almost can't get a bottle of French here for less that $35.

tl;dr What's people's opinions on French wine?

I guess it depends what you're used to. I find it a bit pussified for regular quaffing, would rather have a big Australian red any day. It's quite nice when you don't mind something a bit more delicate. 9 times out of 10 I can never really justify the price though.

That said, the nicest wine I've ever had was a bottle of '85 Chateau Margaux that we popped for dad's 60th a couple of years ago. Was like drinking silk.

We where bought out by Fosters when they stated their wine division. Got some fantastic wines in our allocation, for instance Wolf Blass Black Label. But they eventually made us all redundant, seems like they where only after us because we owned Wolf Blass Wines.

I know a serious, serious wine buff who drinks almost exclusively top level premium wines. He travels to Europe regularly and spends a lot of time and money at top wineries.

I had a discussion with him about the wines and he said that we here in Australia have far, far better quaffers and mid range wines which most of us drink, but the absolute top quality wines, the French do better.

We are so lucky in Australia to have such good quality affordable wines.

I found the same in Italy as far as wines go. The everyday stuff that was cheap was nowhere near as good as the wine here, but I went to a really good winery in Florence and bought a few bottles of good stuff (about $50 a bottle) and it was really, really good.