2nds The WSU Giants 2018 NEAFL thread

BREAKING NEWS Demons flog Giants
NEAFL Giants AFL contracted players get towled up by overlooked former academy players. Shipley and Bonar had silver service from big Dawso (75 hit outs to 25) and were both soundly beaten in the middle Maguire and Powell.
Now thats the problem with the club they haven't drafted footballers and picking Daniels when Spargo was still available is an absolute disgrace from the recruiters.
You need to remember whose board you are posting on, or you'll find yourself excused from future participation.

Unfortunately for the Giants NEAFL team the contracted players are playing with 10-15 top up players that they have often never played with before. The top ups don’t know( and no fault of theirs ) any of the Giants game structure/plays etc. Most of the other NEAFL teams are represented by the same 22 blokes that train together on a regular basis.

Another loss and to go down by 50 points would be demoralising for the guys and no real stand out performances but at least Patton kicked 3 goals and the side managed more goals than behinds but they seriously need to look at the rules regarding non academy players as I see it seriously impacting the players development
I can understand having around 5 academy players but to have so many it is severely restricting the club, here is the split from this season
Listed/Other
13/10
12/11
12/11
10/13
13/10
9/14

Another loss and to go down by 50 points would be demoralising for the guys and no real stand out performances but at least Patton kicked 3 goals and the side managed more goals than behinds but they seriously need to look at the rules regarding non academy players as I see it seriously impacting the players development
I can understand having around 5 academy players but to have so many it is severely restricting the club, here is the split from this season
Listed/Other
13/10
12/11
12/11
10/13
13/10
9/14
Unfortunately whilst I agree completely regarding the week to week lack of continuity and even worse the limiting effect it has on allowing the NEAFL guys to train and play the same game plan as the AFL team the reality is if we were not using topups we would be playing with half a team.

Not sure if I have posted on it before but if the VFL/SANFL/WAFL have non listed players for the season then why are the NEAFL teams not allowed the same rules? I do understand it could make it harder for the non aligned teams to win but the rule was introduced when the 2 expansion clubs had extended lists so yes it would have been a significant advantage but I feel it is time for a change and whether the other clubs have any answers to have ex academy players with the reserves but not on the list? I am sure Eddie would get on his soap box but it is about creating opportunities for some players who develop later and as they are not academy aligned anymore they are open to whoever takes the risk

What would be desirable is to allow GWS and the other northern clubs to sign some purely NEAFL players to retain a core team from week to week, and while allowing academy kids to come in, to a lesser extent than 2/3 of the team being top-ups! I know that in a 44 man senior squad technically there's a whole second team, but realistically with injuries it's more likely to be 11-15; but for GWS the last 2 years it's been as low as about 2 or 3 and regularly that 8-11 mark as we've hit this year already. Which then affects continuity for the non-first grade players and probably does restrict development (as opposed to playing in a VFL second team such as Northern Blues). I'd reckon that allowing us to sign 6 to 8 guys to purely play NEAFL would provide that stability. Can be guys like Addison or Sam Reid who've fallen out of first grade, or an ex-Academy player such as Jack Powell whom you can look at more development. I wouldn't even see that we should get any dibs on them for future drafting (which I'd expect to be minimal) just use them to give some stability. You can never understand what injuries are going to cause shortages, but if we signed one NEAFL-only player in each category (tall & running defenders, tall & small forwards, inside & outside mids, and maybe a couple of utilities) it would be a help.

Not sure where to get the info but it would be interesting to see how many games some players have played in the NEAFL, I think Mohr must be up there although the first 2 years he would have been mostly in the AFL
For example M Flynn is up to 50 this weekend and TOJ played around 50
Although Sam Reid must have played more

It's a bit shambolic in that all the states other than the NEAFL ones have closely aligned or integrated seconds teams.
We have something cobbled together to try and get a reasonable level of competition for our 2nds. IMO that has failed completely, we are either full up on listed players and dominate, or are out of them due to injury and get slaughtered.
Not sure what the answer is but I don't think there are many viable alternatives, which means altering the "terms of engagement" and you've both suggested is quite possibly the only avenue of action

zye1NFe.png

zuxjpvD.png

I have to say that those stats don't really bear out the accusations about 'picking athletes not footballers' and our boys being 'towelled up' in the stoppages by Maguire & Powell. Sure, Demons won the clearance battle overall. However, bearing in mind that stats don't mean everything and I didn't see the game live, while Demons won the clearances 42-36, Shipley won 12 clearances to be the game's #1 clearance mid, with Bonar (7) also individually good, above Maguire (6) & Powell (5). Demons had 13 individuals win clearances, while GWS had just 9 - leading to the inference that it was the second level mids (mainly topups) for GWS that couldn't provide sufficient support (unsurprisingly). One of the question marks on Shipley in his draft year was his high handpass to kick ratio (one game being 20:2 from 22 disposals), but he's got a healthy 14:15 stat there (without knowing his disposal efficiency) versus Powell's 12:9. Brent Daniels had a good game too, being rated 2nd best of the GWS team. I note he had no clearances so did he fail to win any clearances, or was he playing a more outside role or lead-up forward given his healthy I50 count? Agreed Bonar was probably a bit disappointing overall with just 19 disposals.

In any case, Mitch Maguire was never really in the frame to be drafted two years ago, so while I'm happy that he's had a great game & from accounts having a great year, I can't see that he is a monumental overlook by GWS. In Powell's case, I was keen to draft him and would love to have him on our rookie list. I don't think you can judge Brent Daniels vs Charlie Spargo before Daniels has even debuted in first grade!

I'd agree with the characterisation of drafting an athlete over a footballer in the case of Jake Stein; but I can understand the idea of giving the unusual choice a chance. I'm of a view that it's not bearing fruit at the moment, so perhaps he might be moved on and release a spot for someone else. Riley Budd making a bit of a move perhaps?

Chance for a win being at home and Redland travelling down from Brisbane and hopefully the team is made up of mostly listed players and the better academy kids
If anyone is at the game early a few thoughts on the game would be appreciated, stats are online but the game is not being streamed

http://www.gwsgiants.com.au/news/20...ll-lead-giants-neafl-to-victory-over-redlands
Big win for the 2's and some strong performances from listed and academy players and they just need to build on that form to push for a game in the seniors
Strong performance from Cumming, Flynn and Sproule by the look of the stats and an exciting performance by Academy player Shaun Driscoll with 4 goals so as a small forward that is exciting
Bonar is slowly building and having some continuity is good and with him coming back from an ACL in his junior days hopefully he can have a debut this year
The team has a long road trip this week with the Thunder in Darwin on Saturday night which will hopefully be live streamed and depending on the injury list on Tuesday they should be able to send a strong squad

http://www.gwsgiants.com.au/news/20...ll-lead-giants-neafl-to-victory-over-redlands
Big win for the 2's and some strong performances from listed and academy players and they just need to build on that form to push for a game in the seniors
Strong performance from Cumming, Flynn and Sproule by the look of the stats and an exciting performance by Academy player Shaun Driscoll with 4 goals so as a small forward that is exciting
Bonar is slowly building and having some continuity is good and with him coming back from an ACL in his junior days hopefully he can have a debut this year
The team has a long road trip this week with the Thunder in Darwin on Saturday night which will hopefully be live streamed and depending on the injury list on Tuesday they should be able to send a strong squad
The Thunder games are broadcast by NITV, but not live I think. If you're overseas you should be able to get via the SBS on demand I think. If it's filmed hopefully live streamed anyway.

FT 96-45
Good to get a win for the boys especially in Darwin, I think i heard Briggs kicked a few goals and Sproule with at least 1
Buntine looked good directing defence and Daniels had a good HTB in the last quarter although not sure what is happening to the Thunder they were always a hard road trip with the conditions up there and being a tough team but maybe a down year for them

Pretty good win from GWS there; it's a tough game in the tropics, and they looked pretty sharp. The best two aspects IMHO were (1) good transition from defence into F50 and (2) finding targets in the F50 - both areas causing problems in first grade. ToJ & Shipley looked very good (and got stats to match), Sproule & Flynn also looked pretty good.

Pretty good win from GWS there; it's a tough game in the tropics, and they looked pretty sharp. The best two aspects IMHO were (1) good transition from defence into F50 and (2) finding targets in the F50 - both areas causing problems in first grade. ToJ & Shipley looked good (and got stats to match), Sproule & Flynn also looked pretty good.

Yep. Was surprised at how good their efficiency seemed to be.
Ship seemed to be everywhere and Toj was great.
Flynn seems to have a great set of hands in marking contests.
Simpson just monstered the Thunder at every opportunity.

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk

I think that probably due to the NT heat, total possessions for each side were down. Shipley was the top possession getter with just 27, then next best were 22, 19 x 3, 17, 16 x 3 - I can't see a total possession count for each side, but that is certainly down on the numbers we normally see. We'll see when Grimlock posts the game stats. There were certainly a few fumbles, but not necessarily that much more than we see in a normal game, so I think game style maybe reduced it. We seemed to have a good mix of possession footy and a more flowing style. Bonar was not as dominant as he's been in other game (perhaps his fitness in those conditions?), but he certainly did several good things that I saw - but possibly not as consistent as he needs to be for a first grade debut. Bit similar from Daniels with some good touches, but periods of invisibility.

2nds The WSU Giants 2018 NEAFL thread