Theme Song

• Thread starter Thread starter #23 Hill

I thought today the colours red gold and green might suggest cama came chameleon but Tasa tasa tasa Tasmanian

s the loving in your eyes all the way?
If I listen to your lies would you say,
"I'm a man without conviction,
I'm a man who doesn't know
how to sell a contradiction?"
You come and go, you come and go.
Karma, karma, karma, karma, karma, chameleon,
Loving would be easy if your colours were like my dreams:
red, gold, and green, red, gold, and green.
Didn't you hear your wicked words ever'y day
And you used to be so sweet I heard you say
That my love was an addiction
When we cling, our love is strong
When you go, you're gone forever
You string along, you string along
red, gold, and green, red, gold, and green.
Ev'ry day is like survival.
You're my lover, not my rival.
Ev'ry day is like survival.
You're my lover, not my rival.
red, gold, and green, red, gold, and green

BUMP!

I'm sure lyricists and producers are beavering away at a song that sees one become the official club song.

Ideally, it'll:

Be an original.
Remove any words relating to boys or girls.
Feature a banjo at some point.
Take a barb at the mainland.

Just finished Draft 1 of my bid for the song. Wrote a script below for an accompanying video presentation which I'll be aiming TFC/Brendan Gale's way once I know their schedule...

This draft was written in Guitar Pro 8 and uses the presets. I'm a writer and performer, not a gear head, so my programming skills are pretty basic. Also, I wouldn't pay to hear me sing! This effort will be re-recorded properly with real instruments and great vocalists.

Ok...self deprecation out of the way - this song will kick arse if fully realised and it's all explained in the blurb below. The song is designed with the Fable Singers in mind, imagining a scenario where the Devils would have been at that recording session one day in the early 70's where the group smashed out all 12 songs in a single session...what would ours have sounded like?

Script:
"Tasmania Devils Football Club Song
Oh we were there from the start, we're Tasmania,
A foot-ball state, we’re proud, tough and true.
A timeless history written by champions,
Australia’s game we know through and through.

And when our fans make noise in the grandstands,
And when the players hit the ground for the start,
It's all for one we're backing Tasmania,
And one for all we'll play from the heart.

And if you think this game you know, then no matter where we roam,
North or South we’ll go to battle for the state we call our home.
So fear the name Tasmania,
Because the Devils are coming for you.

My name is [Gibbke], and this is my bid for the Tasmania Devils Football Club song. This video is in three parts – the song you just heard, a rationale for its design elements, and then a bit about myself.

The song is designed to be a direct fit with the Fable Singers renditions of the 12 VFL club songs, recorded in a single day in 1970. I imagine an alternate world where Tasmania was part of a national comp starting in the 1960’s, something Ron Barassi is quoted as saying he thought should have happened, and on this day the Fable Singers did our song as well. There are common elements of all twelve songs that are easily heard. The instruments are male vocals singing barbershop style arrangements, drums, bass, banjo and brass. The songs are arranged with a complete verse, then an instrumental, and then the verse repeated identically aside from a big rising finish. The brass instruments swap parts, and there are some phrases which are the same in several songs – I’ve stolen a few of these for the Devils! On the day, the Fables had a tight timeline and a few stylistic elements they would have repeated due to time constraints and because they create a consistent feel right across all 12 songs – if the Devils existed at the time, they would have followed the same rules. My song is designed to fit seamlessly with that iconic day. The only difference is I wrote an original song, and didn’t adapt an existing one. I didn’t want any modernisation, so no electric guitars, and I wanted authenticity – as this is a demo, it will need re-recording to the proper standard, and this must involve live instruments, particularly the brass, banjo and vocalists resembling the original Fables. Without badmouthing the songs of later interstate teams, you can really hear the stylistic change, and when asked which songs are “the best in the AFL”, these songs are never mentioned – they just don’t sound as authentic. GWS, written by the Cat Empire, attempts a return to this, because it’s the way to go – the GWS writer tried to recapture the singability of the Fables after doing clever musical research and also asking the team what they wanted in a theme.

Why copy the old stuff? Why not a new style? History, jumper, song. Because our history and heritage has been consistently been promoted as a key reason for our inclusion. We mention the jumper and the colours incessantly, the most iconic parts of any footy team, and remind everyone of our champions. If those players and the jumper existed back then, the song would have sounded like this. The idea is to rubber stamp our long-term legitimacy, as though we really were “there at the start”, by writing a song that sounds like it could have been.

So my song is intended to have two broad characteristics:
1) It's intended to invoke that tradition and feel the old VFL songs have. If we feel from the very beginning that "that's always been our song", we achieve something the other footy club icon, the jumper, does.
2) It will sound great when we win on a Friday night and the whole of Australia is listening to it on tv sung passionately but badly by a group of fired up footy players not known for their vocal talents!

The lyrics of this song try to reflect every aspect of this:

Oh we were there from the start, we're Tasmania,
A foot-ball state, we’re proud, tough and true.

Tasmania embraced the sport from day 1, with clubs formed at the same time as the earliest ones in Victoria. Rep games between Tasmanian sides and interstaters started almost immediately, and we used to regularly thump interstaters in the first 50-60 years. There is an obvious pride in our footy, we can pump our chests, and we've never been anything but a genuine footy state…we can certainly put that one over the Qld and NSW franchises.

A timeless history written by champions,
Australia’s game we know through and through.

We always mention Hudson, Baldock, Stewart, etc, by name…I wanted to avoid this, because that can make the song become dated very quickly. Suffice to say we've pumped them out for over a century, non-Tasmanians who follow footy can name them as quick as we do, and there will be more, so enough said. Clearly, we know this game.

And when our fans make noise in the grandstands,
And when the players hit the ground for the start,
It's all for one we're backing Tasmania,
And one for all we'll play from the heart.

When the Devils first entered the VFL in 2001, Tasmanians showed we'd turn up to games against teams most of us hadn't heard of, just to lean over the fence and bay for interstate blood. 7000 of us turned up to see the state team beat Qld in 2023. Yeah, we want this. And as the Jackjumpers have shown, if you make it clear the team is Tasmanian and belongs to all of us, those not living in Hobart will also jump on board. The bid so far has done a superb job of this, but they do need to remain ever-vigilant!

And if you think this game you know, then no matter where we roam,
North or South we’ll go to battle for the state we call our home.
So fear the name Tasmania,
Because the Devils are coming for you.

Let's thump our chests here…we've got grudges against the entire mainland to settle!

Who am I. I'm a Tasmanian. I've always been a musician, playing in a few bands and studying music and education at UTAS in Launceston, and working at LC as a teacher until I had to make some life and career decisions. I moved up to the GC in 1996, at the age of 26, looking for adventure via bands and teaching, and that life has taken me through my career, marriage and family journey. Today I live on the beach in FNQ, surrounded by cassowaries, crocs, taipans and killer jellyfish, and I own a single long sleeved jumper, down from the bundle I had growing up in Tassie. But while marooned here, I've never been Maroon – I've told anyone when asked I'm a Tasmanian and always will be, even though I've now lived here longer than I did back home. I virtually grew up on York Park, watching my East Launceston and then South Launceston teams regularly play but rarely win! You have no idea how much I miss going to see the footy – I had season tickets when living in Brisbane to the Lions, but it's not the same. I've always barracked for the Hawks…since the 1970's, went to the 1988 GF and waved a really cool flag – please, someone, draw the Devils version of this specific 1976 artwork! – and I was miffed to learn a few years after leaving that the Hawks would start playing games at York Park…if I still lived there, I would have seen them all. However, despite being a Hawk member from 1997 until the 2008 flag – I was there when it was hard – I'm in a holding pattern, because I now barrack for the Devils and have to wait for them to start playing before I relegate the Hawks as my second team. I totally understand the decision many SA and WA fans had to make when the Eagles and Crows entered, and I'm going Tassie…I knew from the very moment Box Hill played the Devils in a cable tv game in 2001 that if a dark green Tasmanian side ever joined the AFL, the Hawks were doomed! I'm known in footy chat circles as Gibbke, and anyone who cares knows I'm a very passionate Tasmanian footy history buff. I'm writing a book on Tasmanian footy from the beginning until WW2, a Trove project. I also collect footy jumpers…a decent collection of old jumpers from the NTFA and TFL, plus some reps. Some absolutely rare gems here. Lastly, me and my wife, also a Tasmanian but a much more recent arrival, are thinking "enough" – there's a big chance, depending on my daughter's educational best interests, that we'll move back home in the next few years.

So while there has been a suggestion that Tasmanian-based artists could and should write the song, I'll venture 2 thoughts here:
1) Clearly I'm a real deal Devils and Tasmanian footy fan. I was a member from the minute they opened up on Team Announcement Day. I'm also a musician who has thought this project through. The address of the writer isn’t as important as their inspiration. Leading to:
2) I was really stung into action to get this project happening by words from the band Luca Brasi, a well known group in Tassie who wrote the Jackjumpers song, a beauty which by all reports absolutely nails it when combined with the game day experience at a JJ match…never been to a JJ home game, but I’m at the Cairns Convention Centre every time the Jackies play up here, going with my Qld-born but JJ supporting daughter. When asked if they would write the footy song, they replied they could basically repeat their awesome basketball effort, and pull one out of their butts! Sorry, that's not good enough for me! I've waited my whole life for this footy team. Additionally, there are people calling for artists of the calibre of John Williamson to write the song…I'm sure he'd write a great song, but what link does he have with Tasmanian footy? And would tone deaf players be able to shout it and make it sound like a song?

Hope you enjoyed this little presentation. Go Devils!"

BUMP!

I'm sure lyricists and producers are beavering away at a song that sees one become the official club song.

Ideally, it'll:

Be an original.
Remove any words relating to boys or girls.
Feature a banjo at some point.
Take a barb at the mainland.
Oh mate...check, check, check and f###ing check...!

You had me at banjo.
Isn't it just the coolest part of most of the team songs? I copied Essendon's riff pattern almost identically, seemed the best fit. You could just imagine the guy playing on the recordings just playing generic patterns for most of them, but was allowed to go nuts for Richmond and North, and got his own solo for the Swans...! Most people don't even realise what they're listening to...!

To get the vocal harmonies right on the demo, I recorded two tracks of single note classical guitar as guide tracks and sung along. They actually sound really good in concept and would stand up as a song if they were polished a bit. As part of the presentation, I'm thinking of adding a few different versions...I'm working on a piano arrangement which sounds very ragtime, and want to make big orchestral and Big Band versions...

I had Red Army Choir in my head when trying to get the Fear The Name Tasmania line turned into a melody...how cool would that be, massive choir arrangement sung by them...

Good to take it to the market. If it was a banger as the kids say they’d use it club wide. A shame they rushed it in the end im assuming. Seems like all Tassie teams should have the same. Doesn’t that make more sense

I really hope we end up more GWS/Freo rather than a traditional style banjo song or something. But I do genuinely fear that this club is going to try and go more traditional, in this and in Guernsey design.