Themed Rounds

• Thread starter Thread starter FRUMPY

Geez the AFL annoys me with these stupid themed rounds. What the hell is the Indigenous round meant to be? When is the white man's round? they used to have the woman's round. When was the man's round? Heritage Round? Tom Wills Round? Rivalry Round?

It is just a crap marketing ploy. Our game is good enough without having to go for gimmicks like this.

Geez the AFL annoys me with these stupid themed rounds. What the hell is the Indigenous round meant to be? When is the white man's round? they used to have the woman's round. When was the man's round? Heritage Round? Tom Wills Round? Rivalry Round?

It is just a crap marketing ploy. Our game is good enough without having to go for gimmicks like this.

Ooo mate you are going to get r*ped by the minor supporting groups on here good luck lol I would have a whole rasist rant on here but I don't want to be shunned forever lol

I have no problem with having themed rounds to recognise the contributions of minorities in our game but I can't exactly say that I particularly enjoy or embrace the ideas. At the same time though..... I can't understand why it would upset anyone either. I mean, it's not like they're asking you to do anything is it?

I really liked the "theme" themed round in round 2. Every match had a different theme. The freo hawks game was "purple haze" haha! the crows game was "Back to Grass roots" and had free BBQs around the ground... Not sure of the others (but fox sports did say every match of the round had a theme)

I don't think it's racist to expect the same level of recognition as indigenous people.

Here Here! Nicely said! All should be equal. Will never happen though, we will have to keep paying for past mistakes even after all the people that did them are dead and gone!

when is the Carlton is shit round hmm thats like every week lol...

Havent heard much about Dreamtime this week.

Last year they got 80,000 there with Sheedy spruiking it to bits, but this year with the dons struggling and no where near as much publicity, surely it will be no where near that sort of figure...

thoughts?

I really liked the "theme" themed round in round 2. Every match had a different theme. The freo hawks game was "purple haze" haha!

In fairness that is a annual game to raise money for the Starlight Foundation and not a cheap gimmick.

we do. coleman, norm smith,brownlow, etc any others you want to add...i love it when people are racist but try and hide it.

Has anyone ever noticed how people who crap on with "white people need recognition too" etc. are some of the most boring, no-mates saddos you're ever likely to meet? A life: do yourself a favour and get one, gentlemen.

agreed:thumbsu: havent we done enough already to isloate coloured races. lets recognise the beautiful swift, rythmical movements they have brought to the game and remember what woody harelson always says.....white man cannot jump very high. remember that. do you want to replace all the indigenous players in your sides with caucasians? would you also reject a brilliant chinese ruckmen from your first 22? would you allow Morrocan midfielder to rack up the juicy stats of 33 disposals a week? would you oppose tagging a North Korean rover? would you knock a 6'8 Tobagan at Full Forward for west coast? I doubt it.

What happened to the other thread on this? Wanting a caucasian round. Was it deleted??? If so.. why?

Saying you want a round to pay tribute to all the people who's ancestors settled here is no different to wanting a round to pay tribute to indigenous Australians.

Of course both are rubbish ideas since we are all Australian and should admire each player based on their skills and not what colour their skin is.

And no need to have that "welcome to country" thing on Saturday night, you dont own this country, it belongs to all of us and I already feel more than welcome in it, thanks.

i would love to see a regional round or a suburban round when all the matches are played at the old or regional grounds.... that would be awesome

if we had a large intake of north koreans or chinese or morrocans or Tobagans or Uragians....we welcome them to the league for the skills they bring to the game...we would celebrate them with a round named in their honour - it is a great thing to do. in a caucasian dominated landscape within AFL - this type of thing can bring out the best in all of us - try a little harder guys and may realise there is crisis all over the world - crisis in our neighbours heartland - crisis in our backdoors - crisis in our own lawn. we must recognise the impact all of our wonderful rythmic, swift ball mobvers and excite playmakers do for this game year in , week out.....go the indigenous round -AFL you've done it again:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::)

Geez, the Indigenous Round sure brings out the racism in BigFooty's bogan underclass.

I'd like to see a study done on the ethnicities of the panellists on the Footy Show. Just about very week is Gubba Round on that show.