Go_Blueboyzzz

no one
After a great win last week now the test comes. If you cast your mind back exactly one year you can remember we won two in a row and the week leading up to the game we were 'pumped' up by the media with double page spreads and all these wank articles saying how we were back....wat happened that friday night....????? we got done by 100 points by hawthorn.

This week is quite similar and we will see see if we really have turned a corner and the improvement is real or still here - nor - there. This is when the football world is starting to rate you and take a bit more notice, do we stand up again and deliver or do we believe our own sh*t and fall back to old habbits that have killed us for years.

STAND UP AND RESPOND CARLTON!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

After a great win last week now the test comes. If you cast your mind back exactly one year you can remember we won two in a row and the week leading up to the game we were 'pumped' up by the media with double page spreads and all these wank articles saying how we were back....wat happened that friday night....????? we got done by 100 points by hawthorn.

This week is quite similar and we will see see if we really have turned a corner and the improvement is real or still here - nor - there. This is when the football world is starting to rate you and take a bit more notice, do we stand up again and deliver or do we believe our own sh*t and fall back to old habbits that have killed us for years.

STAND UP AND RESPOND CARLTON!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I fear that we will not respond on the big stage, just like last year when the Dawks thumped us. We will get hammered on Sunday it is going to be a big let down for us after our great win last week. I hope the boys prove me wrong and I would love to eat humble pie if they do win.

The dif is lasy year we got over the line aginst the Doggies and then thumped Port and THEN got thumped by the Dawks.

This time round we have only just gotten over the line against Port, which means this week we will thump Collingwood and then in the following week....well it's Essedon, no way they're gonna thump us by 100 points :D

I fear that we will not respond on the big stage, just like last year when the Dawks thumped us. We will get hammered on Sunday it is going to be a big let down for us after our great win last week. I hope the boys prove me wrong and I would love to eat humble pie if they do win.

I tend to disagree, in that I think we have coped fairly well on "The big stage" so far this year.

I do think our form ATM is overated, but then again, no-one is tipping us and the bookies have us over $3, so I don't think we are being rated all that high.

The question for me is, can we continue on our form of the fourth Q from last week, and sustain it for at least 3 Q's, or will we turn out and produce less than 2 Q's of good footy as we have done for the past two weeks.

We need to bring our A game, and the Pies need to play normally, not their super dooper A game as we saw vs Cats.

I have thought about the comparisons to last year, and up to round 11 we had been pretty good except for 1 week vs WCE.

We hit the Hawks who were doing a dress rehersal for 2008.......we had a ruckman who, despite doing a great impersonation the previous two weeks, simply refused to compete, and a captain who was barely able to run and proved a liability all over the ground.

Our midifield minus Stevens wasn't able to service Fev, the margain blew out, and we dropped our heads and had a very poor month.

The difference this year for me is:
We have ruckmen that will compete......which vs the Pies should be enough.
We have a captain who is just hitting form and is the best contested ball player in the comp, and the opposition don't have a great tagger.
We have a fit Stevens and a more mature Murphy who is dominating........and we have some hope.

We have the hope of playing finals footy........a hope this group has never had.

This week is a mini GF for us.

Win, and we take some good form into a winnable month of Dons, Tiges and Saints. Lose and we really bow out of the finals race.

The good thing is, if we make the finals, we will have to beat a couple of top 8 sides, and hence, will feel that we belong there and may well progress beyond week 1.

Look at the Tiges pinning thweir hopes on playing a majority of sides "outside the 8" in their run home..........what happens if they sneak in? WHOPPED! :D

I tend to disagree, in that I think we have coped fairly well on "The big stage" so far this year.

I do think our form ATM is overated, but then again, no-one is tipping us and the bookies have us over $3, so I don't think we are being rated all that high.

The question for me is, can we continue on our form of the fourth Q from last week, and sustain it for at least 3 Q's, or will we turn out and produce less than 2 Q's of good footy as we have done for the past two weeks.

We need to bring our A game, and the Pies need to play normally, not their super dooper A game as we saw vs Cats.

I have thought about the comparisons to last year, and up to round 11 we had been pretty good except for 1 week vs WCE.

We hit the Hawks who were doing a dress rehersal for 2008.......we had a ruckman who, despite doing a great impersonation the previous two weeks, simply refused to compete, and a captain who was barely able to run and proved a liability all over the ground.

Our midifield minus Stevens wasn't able to service Fev, the margain blew out, and we dropped our heads and had a very poor month.

The difference this year for me is:
We have ruckmen that will compete......which vs the Pies should be enough.
We have a captain who is just hitting form and is the best contested ball player in the comp, and the opposition don't have a great tagger.
We have a fit Stevens and a more mature Murphy who is dominating........and we have some hope.

We have the hope of playing finals footy........a hope this group has never had.

This week is a mini GF for us.

Win, and we take some good form into a winnable month of Dons, Tiges and Saints. Lose and we really bow out of the finals race.

The good thing is, if we make the finals, we will have to beat a couple of top 8 sides, and hence, will feel that we belong there and may well progress beyond week 1.

Look at the Tiges pinning thweir hopes on playing a majority of sides "outside the 8" in their run home..........what happens if they sneak in? WHOPPED! :D

Some good points there but I would rather miss out on finals than just end up making up the numbers. But having said that I would love them to make it into the 8. I have never been so nervous since the 95 Grand Final.

this time last year we also got beaten by the Hawks by a hundred points and never recovered.. this year we got beaten by the cats and bounced back the next week..
different year different attitude

Some good points there but I would rather miss out on finals than just end up making up the numbers. But having said that I would love them to make it into the 8. I have never been so nervous since the 95 Grand Final.
Tell me how its possible to just make up the numbers in a finals series???

If we make the finals it will be on the back of beating some teams like, Western Bulldogs, Hawthorn, Sydney, Kangaroos, Adelaide...

You dont think that at the end of the 2006 season where Hawthorn got on a roll it didnt set up their 2007 season. Come on mate, ive heard some silly things but this...

finals experiance is what this team needs most.. it brings confidence to a team, and if we are on song im sure we got rattle a few cages as well

That's a bit of a silly comment.

Firstly, if we manage to make the finals (FWIW, I don't think that we will), we certainly won't be making up the numbers. We have a very tough run home and if we make it, we will have earned it and deserve it.

Secondly, how can you say that you would rather miss out on finals than just end up making up the numbers? A final, even if it is just 1, would do wonders for the club and the players. It would be an invaluable experience and give us an opportunity to experience the big stage on a far greater scale than anything we would achieve finishing just outside the 8.

What I am trying to say is that I don't want to make finals and then get absolutely smashed and destroyed. Now that would be very disturbing don't you think?

Alpha1 please just stop. have a think about what your saying....

Point 1... for us to make the finals we would have to win 12 games this year... yes thats right 12. Thats 8 more games than last year.

Point 2Like i mentioned along the way we would have had to have beaten teams like Hawthorn, Kangaroos, Sydney, Adelaide, Collingwood, St.Kilda & Port Adealaide... All to 8 sides if not potentially.

The dif is lasy year we got over the line aginst the Doggies and then thumped Port and THEN got thumped by the Dawks.

This time round we have only just gotten over the line against Port, which means this week we will thump Collingwood and then in the following week....well it's Essedon, no way they're gonna thump us by 100 points :D
likes the sound of this:D

Alpha1 please just stop. have a think about what your saying....

Point 1... for us to make the finals we would have to win 12 games this year... yes thats right 12. Thats 8 more games than last year.

Point 2Like i mentioned along the way we would have had to have beaten teams like Hawthorn, Kangaroos, Sydney, Adelaide, Collingwood, St.Kilda & Port Adealaide... All to 8 sides if not potentially.

Mabe not 12. Kangas just lost to Freo.

10 may do it, 11 would go very close.

Your point is still valid though, to win 10 and upwards we MUST beat a team that is currently in the 8, as well as the Pies twice. I'd say if we snuck into the 8, provided we didn't have to go to Sydney or Brissie in the first week, there would be some nervous opposition.

We will have earned a finals spot IF we get there.