Thomas

• Thread starter Thread starter Mav

He plays his best footy when he has guys like Harvey, Campbell and Wells around him because these guys tend to support eachother a lot in the forward line.

LT wont be as consistent as Campbell but he has that X factor where if the ball zips in quickly he can crumb and create goals out of nothing.

Just the way we are playing doesn't suit his talents, it isn't just him, when Flash was sitting in the forward pocket or Harvey when he was playing they were crap there too because the way we went forward sucks ass most of the time.

He was in the action today, had 3 scoring shots and assisted with a few, didn't work on the scoreboard today but the effort was much better, with the same effort he could kick 3, 4 or 5 goals.

He is coping the best small defender now and we aren't going forward with a lot of purpose most of the time. As the other guys come into the side you will see him have a lot more freedom to be creative.

I was annoyed by the fact that instead of giving It off to a free player to have a shot at goal, He just tried to snap it to get a miracle goal and I think It went out on the fool. That shit me bad.

Yet when he could have blazed away at goal he does the team thing and spots up Goldstein in the square.

its time for jones in and thomas out. he doesnt lay enough tackles, he doesnt kick enough goals (if he was an opportunistic goal kicker you could deal with bad kicking but he doesnt even do that), always flys for a hanger when he is ment to rove the packs, very very innaccurate, cant take a mark over head and doesnt chase or man up and doesnt get enough crumbing goals.

jones has been best on ground for the last 4 weeks and will prob make it 5 in a row. if thomas is going to keep flying for marks or not kick any goals then its time for jones even if laidley does hate him. jones can at least mark over head (unlike thomas who thinks he can mark like brown/riewoldt/fev) he will chase as hard as thomas does and CAN kick the roving goal or opportunists goal.

i know we are blooding the youngesters and that thomas plays better when campbell plays but its time for him to go to the 2nds and earn his spot back.

The replay just finished here and I gotta say apart from 2 **** ups LT had a really good game. Pressure was great and his delivery into the forward line was good too. Would have had 3 or 4 goal assists but 'The Stuff' hit the post. Keep it up LT.

Obviously I was at a different game today. In my opinion Thomas was a consistent hard worker against Freo, was a valuable contributor and does not deserve the disgraceful rubbish that is being posted here by people who should know better.

Sometimes I wonder why I bother looking at Big Footy. :mad:

Spot on. This thread has got me stumped. :confused:

Thomas is alot like Daniel Motlop.
When the team is up and running and winning hes on fire.
When were average he is one of the worst. Hope he can become more conisistent as he develops.
Remember last year when he and Matty had a competition for most goals most tackles? Needs to get the hunger back IMO.

The replay just finished here and I gotta say apart from 2 **** ups LT had a really good game. Pressure was great and his delivery into the forward line was good too. Would have had 3 or 4 goal assists but 'The Stuff' hit the post. Keep it up LT.

something like 19 disposals and with an efficiency of 55%. And you counted 2 stuff ups. I laugh at you, ha ha ha. Did you see the missed tackles, running over the top the ball, falling over, and not chasing.)

What fricking game where you watching??????????????

Correct.

I am really angry at the absolute inaccuracy of the comments being made by posters in this thread.

The stats for LT yesterday read:

19 possessions, 15 kick, 4 handballs, 6 marks, Inside 50's 5, Tackles 5, Spoils 2, Critical Errors 3, Time on Ground 87%. Only one negative stat in that being Critical Errors.

This from a player who is expected to play primarily as a small crumbing forward where opportunities are always limited.

I thought he was very good yesterday and was one of our best against Geelong. And in the last quarter he was critical to our holding on when Freo were making a late charge. Twice he made space and lead to take marks and keep the ball in our forward line.

Of course all of those who it seems "hate" him will say stats mean nothing so I am really just wasting my time.

I would add to this, boys like Grima, Wright, Goldstein, Warren, Ross and even Ziebell, look out.

Before you made your debuts a lot of posters here were pushing you to be the next great hope/s. Now you've made it boys and if you are silly enough to have a look at Big Footy, be prepared to cop the absolutely disgraceful rubbish that some of the same posters (read as a********) will write about you. :mad:

As LT's mum, I would like to thank Horace for his post.

Didn't the guy who started this thread also start one praising Sam Power? For one non-crap game? FFS.

Maybe I'm looking at this through biased mummy eyes, but I'm finding it hard to understand why anyone would prefer Sam over LT going forward.

I thought LT has stepped up this year in the absence of Leroy in the way he congratulates players after they kick a goal and ensure his mug is on the big screen. He also likes to have a look up at the screen when he does that. Can't kick and turns it over too much. Average player.

He was heaps better yesterday. You can't drop him after showing so much effort. He has ...almost.... stopped playing for free kicks too. Someone has had a word to him about that.

Obviously I was at a different game today. In my opinion Thomas was a consistent hard worker against Freo, was a valuable contributor and does not deserve the disgraceful rubbish that is being posted here by people who should know better.

Sometimes I wonder why I bother looking at Big Footy. :mad:

Too right, lots of shitlips out these parts.

Why does Lindsay cop it so badly? Yeh he some decifiencies but since his 1st season (he's only into his 3rd FFS) he's been subjected to some different set of criteria to every other kid.

He does some dumb things but I still see a kid who wants to be out there and can turn on some serious talent when he feels like it, smart player.

Daniel Motlop was all over the joint in his first years with us, obviously talented but lots of lairising and attitude. But he's come through and is the gun we all knew he'd be. Not sure Lindsay has the same degree of upside but he's worth keeping around, sort of bloke who could nail the winning goal in September.

Leave him alone. All of you.

Too right, lots of shitlips out these parts.

Why does Lindsay cop it so badly? Yeh he some decifiencies but since his 1st season (he's only into his 3rd FFS) he's been subjected to some different set of criteria to every other kid.

He does some dumb things but I still see a kid who wants to be out there and can turn on some serious talent when he feels like it, smart player.

Daniel Motlop was all over the joint in his first years with us, obviously talented but lots of lairising and attitude. But he's come through and is the gun we all knew he'd be. Not sure Lindsay has the same degree of upside but he's worth keeping around, sort of bloke who could nail the winning goal in September.

Leave him alone. All of you.

:thumbsu: Top post.

something like 19 disposals and with an efficiency of 55%. And you counted 2 stuff ups. I laugh at you, ha ha ha. Did you see the missed tackles, running over the top the ball, falling over, and not chasing.)

What fricking game where you watching??????????????

I'd say he was watching the North V Freo game, you on the other hand i have no idea.

The most unsavoury aspect of Thomas' game is the way he berates team-mates when they don't pass the ball to him. Just get on with it, mate.

I thought LT has stepped up this year in the absence of Leroy in the way he congratulates players after they kick a goal and ensure his mug is on the big screen. He also likes to have a look up at the screen when he does that. Can't kick and turns it over too much. Average player.

Weve given him the nickname the "congratulator" + you got to love it when he consistently puts the ball up in the air.

I've been an LT fan and a defender of his, but I must say I thought he was fairly average today.

Tackles were broken, but credit to him getting there to put pressure on the opponent.

His kicking is just... #%!^ing awful sometimes. Directly cost us about 2-3 goals from shitty kicks up forward, however set some nice goals up. Sometimes he goes for goal too early without using his vision and trying to spot someone up.

The most annoying thing about Thomas' game of late, is his woeful decision making. His sub-par kicking skills don't help either. The stats really do sugar-coat his game yesterday. Its bad when you anticipate a player getting the ball, and you get that really anxious knot in the pit of your stomach as if there is more than a fifty percent chance that player is going to cause a turnover (Poweresque).

Rubbish, there where times when his player broke his tackle gave off a handball and then went on to get a handball receive, all while LT was getting up off the ground.

I thought he was good when we needed to be espeacially late in the game given the guy a chance . He is miles beter than clayton was , He is missing his on field twin to ( Cambell ). Too good to let go . like sam Power i thought he did pretty good to got there late to the game so didnt see the first quater . we will have good team in 2 to 3 years time . look at the Saints its taken them a bit and its showing now sohave some patience.

In between stints of standing flat-footed with his hands on his hips, I agree.

"He wasn't the worst out there today."

(Sorry, Power Rangers. No copyright infringement intended.)

Well with any luck he'll justify his continual selection.

(sorry, not in the smartarse/comebackwithsomething mood tonight.) :)

Haven't seen yesterday's game yet, but he's been out of touch all year. However, his workrate has been good considering the doubling of his workload due to Campbell pinging his hammy twice.

It will turn around for him. Not concerned at all.

I would add to this, boys like Grima, Wright, Goldstein, Warren, Ross and even Ziebell, look out.

Before you made your debuts a lot of posters here were pushing you to be the next great hope/s. Now you've made it boys and if you are silly enough to have a look at Big Footy, be prepared to cop the absolutely disgraceful rubbish that some of the same posters (read as a********) will write about you. :mad:

Well said Horace - this subject came up at our table during the sponsors' breakfast this morning. Some of the stuff that is posted by so called supporters here is disgraceful.

Geez I dunno. I think LT haters are picking the wrong game to lay into him. Watched the replay today and his endeavour,chasing and defensive pressure were very good. Yep he had some clangers but so did 21 other North players.Set up Goldstein for a goal when he could have blazed away and was instrumental in the Hale sealer. A lot to like about his game I would have thought.

LT really stepped it up yesterday and put in an excellent performance. Much improved from his play earlier in the season. I want to see more!