twaters

Well, even without assured tenure Mick has not taken the easy route home. Three new guys blooded within 5 games and extra development games for others (just as he did with Swan those years ago when he was lambasted for throwing him in as a bit of a NQR ugly duckling onto a wing, BP, pine warmer, and yet voila a masterpiece emerged).

Some thoughts so far on the post Swan newbies:

Beams - solid, clever, could make more tackles stick when thrown into the centre; hopefully gets at least half a season of games because of strong body shape. When out of form or vigour, hopefully McCarthy and Sidebottom can get a bracket of games each to replace him around the ball as apprentice to O'Bree. We need 2 or 3 solid ballwinners with such great disposal skills.

Reid - touted underage as 'could be anything' and as such was probably on par with Joel Selwood for our No 8 draft pick. Personally, I don't gel with 'could be anything' as it sounds so speculative and wishful-thinking. Nevertheless, the same could be said of Pendlebury at pick 5 in another draft and it looks like he'll speculatively go on to captain Collingwood. Reid may be tried at CHB and we won't know the success of that till year end. However, that defensive grooming may pay off at CHB or leave him as the tall winger that we now force Fraser/Cloke etc to provide from up forward.

If Reid goes to a wing, Cox may go to the other. But nothing one on one with Cox. He is clever, creative and offensively a weapon - but can we get him out of defence where one has to stop others?

Anthony is a grand story. In the last two games he has been thrown down back at times for cover. A natural. It is not only a Craig Kelly-like don't argue approach but great anticipation and creation. Once we establish an optimal midfield, that in turn lets us establish our prefered forward structure (including a plan B - something about corridors), Anthony (like NBrown) may become a great swing player.

Our situation with runwiths and taggers is not great. Johnson is nearer the end than the beginning. Toovey is growing in the role (and on forward smalls) but disposals are sometimes hot (often unacknowledged) but more sometimes very cold. Cook's early games in the VFL for Willie showed incisive low flat kicks into the F50 from the wing. That sting seems to have gone fom the tail whilst muscles have been put onto his grand endurance frame. Barham is still a brilliant moot case. Hopefully he gets a few more games to run with the likes of Simon Black who take him to good positions so that he can use his interventionist speed and toughness to stop the other side (hopefully, unlike Rhyce, he will be able settle his kicking so that we don't just intervene and then kick it back to the opposition anyway or to the boundary ump). Anyone on the rookie list wanting a bunk up, check out the runwith/tagger and BP roles for next year.

Caffa is probably Medhurst's stand in for a while on and off, but it was probably unfair to throw him into the midfield mix just yet against the Bombers. Give Dick a good settled side and he will be the icing on the cake, but coming back from the knee it seems unfair to make him bake the cake himself.

Well, lots of talent there. Most of it can kick. Might be time for a Plan B to be included in at least the third quarter - what used to be called the premiership quarter - down the guts (oops, that's what Essendon did to us as we didn't defend the central trenches but worried about the peripheral flanks - as we herocially insisted that 'they shall not pass here' but they weren't even in that area; they were in the corridor taking risks.

It is a swing year with youngsters and game plans.

I'll add a few;

McCarthy; Anyone who saw him play the 1st half or round 1 of the VFL (before he did his hammy), would have been drooling. A quick, skillful poised midfielder, who we only need to get fit to play most of the remaining games.

Sidebottom; By all reports, yet another average game at VFL level, by that I mean 20+ possessions and a goal, is a certainty, must play seniors in the coming weeks.

Reed; From what I've seen of the NSW boy, looks very well poised and has fair pace for his size, is a long term prospect, but may well play senior footy next year

Wood; Not that young, but young in experience as a ruckmen. No ruckmen are any good before they play 50 games, as Patty Ryder showed yesterday, 5-6 years development finally showing results. Has to play the next 3 weeks, and let him show what he can do.

There are plenty of other "possibles" on our list too, no doubt about it, a new coach would drool over Collingwood's list compared to Fremantle's or Richmonds.

Twaters, you should post more often.

Im almost 100% certain a second proper ruckmen will come in next week, would probably have to be Wood.

Mcintosh and Petrie aren't the big bodied types.

Im almost 100% certain a second proper ruckmen will come in next week, would probably have to be Wood.

Mcintosh and Petrie aren't the big bodied types.

Well we need to bring in somebody.

They are the "land of the giants" with 4 ruckmen in the same team.

If we only go in with 1, we should start praying for a miracle.

Having said that, we cannot afford to bring in another tall and sacrifice a small. Either Rocca or L.Brown need to make way for Wood.

What are people's thoughts of Macaffer's effort on Saturday? Everyone has him being dropped this week - is that just because we have players coming back or he wasn't rated? I thought some of the things he did on Saturday were very good. He did not have a lot of it but he looked very clean with the ball.

He was OK, for his first game, started well, but then was moved all over the ground which wouldnt have helped him. I think the point most are making is he shouldnt of played because of matchups, as we needed another small defender like Corrie, Cook or Wellingham over another forward.

As first games go, he showed enough, will only keep his spot though if Didak doesnt come up this week, but I see him playing more games later on this year, especially if we get more injuries.

Yeh I wouldn't drop him. Need to give players some continuity. I'll say it again, if Toovey and L.Brown can be given opportunity, then Macaffer has more than deserved it, particularly on form and his improvement over the last 12 months.

Thought he was very strong and clean. Very clever too. Is a one-touch player.

Problem is, Mick tends to give him limited game time. Was evident even in the NAB Cup series.

What % of game time did he actually play on the weekend.

It could not have been more than 50-55%.

Would prefer The Caff rather than Pebbles at the minute.

He was OK, for his first game, started well, but then was moved all over the ground which wouldnt have helped him. I think the point most are making is he shouldnt of played because of matchups, as we needed another small defender like Corrie, Cook or Wellingham over another forward.

As first games go, he showed enough, will only keep his spot though if Didak doesnt come up this week, but I see him playing more games later on this year, especially if we get more injuries.

Yeah I think that was my thinking too. I was happy with what he provided though. I don't know how we structure this going forward but he is one that could and should be persisted with, maybe as the 3rd forward behind Cloke and JA or maybe up on the flank with Didak used off a wing. It's probably more a later on this year or next year proposition in reality but he could be handy for us.

The way Rocca and Cloke are going at the moment (i.e. shithouse) I wouldn't mind dropping one and keeping Macaffer in the team. We are struggling when the ball hits the ground atm and opposition defences are running it out too easily. We could line up something like

Dick - JA - Medders
Macaffer - Cloke - Didak

With Thomas and Davis further up the ground. Pretty unlikely but the current structure isn't really working, which is disappointing considering our supposed strongest line has been our weakest this season imo.

I'll add a few;

McCarthy; Anyone who saw him play the 1st half or round 1 of the VFL (before he did his hammy), would have been drooling. A quick, skillful poised midfielder, who we only need to get fit to play most of the remaining games.

Sidebottom; By all reports, yet another average game at VFL level, by that I mean 20+ possessions and a goal, is a certainty, must play seniors in the coming weeks.

Reed; From what I've seen of the NSW boy, looks very well poised and has fair pace for his size, is a long term prospect, but may well play senior footy next year

Wood; Not that young, but young in experience as a ruckmen. No ruckmen are any good before they play 50 games, as Patty Ryder showed yesterday, 5-6 years development finally showing results. Has to play the next 3 weeks, and let him show what he can do.

There are plenty of other "possibles" on our list too, no doubt about it, a new coach would drool over Collingwood's list compared to Fremantle's or Richmonds.

Thanks, mate. Haven't seen Reed in person, so didn't comment. There are indeed other "possibles" which make our list intriguing, but still in need of development games this year. Others we haven't mentioned are Stanley (who many say is an intensity-plus ballwinner, and he may be, but I must have missed most of those games so leave to others to review). Wellingham on the other hand probably doesn't major in intensity or involvement, yet does many wonderful things, and remains (to me) a bit of an enigma. Consistency may be an issue with both, but either could have a role to play during more development games this year.

Already Blight, Rounds, Blair, Francis, Keeffe and Bennell seem to have weapons for development games probably next year.

Agree with you on JMac - I think only this injury prone-ness could possibly wreck what seems a great career ahead.

On the debate about Caffa, he is 187cm compared to Medhurst's 179cm and say Brad Dick at 181, and thus presents as a forward mid-size and an alternative to our other smaller forwards and our giants (bit like McKinley at West Coast). He has good composure, kicking, lead and mark -and would like to see if at AFL level he can still bring them down overhead. Certainly deserves more development games this year, whether he stays in this week or not depending on team structure.

This can read a little deceptively.

Beams had an outstanding pre-season and put his hand up to be picked. Ben Johnson was played ahead of him and an injury to Thomas gave Beams his shot. Since then Beams has made himself undropable.

Cox has been a consistant preformer in the 2's and earnt a spot in the NAB cup. He was probably our best player in that comp again he made his own spot in the team. As a player he still has all the faults that have kept him out of the team the last couple of years despite good VFL form.

For every Dane Swan success story there are a bout 5 Williams, Leigh Brown, Lokan fail storys.

It's fun to predict how good all the new play things will become but can be misleading.

I don't think Macaffer was as good as people made out on the weekend but I can't disagree that he was clean when he got disposals (except a missed goal he should have kicked). My gripe with him was his defensive pressure which was almost non-existent although I think this was a fitness/leg speed issue more than a want thing. He chased but never caught up and ended up spent. Really needs to add this area to his game if he wants to stay in the team in such a competitive position.

The way Rocca and Cloke are going at the moment (i.e. shithouse) I wouldn't mind dropping one and keeping Macaffer in the team. We are struggling when the ball hits the ground atm and opposition defences are running it out too easily. We could line up something like

Dick - JA - Medders
Macaffer - Cloke - Didak

With Thomas and Davis further up the ground. Pretty unlikely but the current structure isn't really working, which is disappointing considering our supposed strongest line has been our weakest this season imo.

Hadn't actually thought of this but like the idea especially with a gew crumbers like Dick and Didak. Might be the best way to structure our forwardline for the time being. I just don't know what to make of Rocca atm, its such a hard call but i'd be leaning towards keeping him in another week just to see what he can do

On the thread topic I reckon Francis could add alot with his toughness to our midfield which is really devoid of a physical presence atm. Could be a perfect choice as a tagger as he has the speed and tacklling ability just needs to work on his accountability (and maybe endurance a bit??). Could kill two birds with one stone giving us some physical presence and fixing our tagger situation.

I also think that the progress of Reed and Blight in particular is going to be interesting. Both tall, quick and hard at it defender/midfielders with silky skills. Could provide a very mobile and offensive backline with O'Brien and Shaw if they can develop their defensive games. They've got me really excited about this idea.

Keefe is the other really important one. If he can bulk up and work on his involvement in general play he could finally be the ruckman we are looking for. Seems to have the head for it so very cool stuff :thumbsu: