Time Flies, Hard To Believe It's.........

Anton Grbac

10 years since the glorious year that was 1993. Apart from the obvious, what your favorite memories of '93?

Was it the Foster's Cup win, Gav's Brownlow, Tim's comeback, Salmon/Ablett shootout, Kernahan's kick after the siren?, or maybe the emergence of Hird, Misiti, Mercuri, Fletcher, Olarenshaw, etc?

For mine, two wins stick out:

Round 16 v Weagles (the original 'jacket waving' match):
Ess 12.17.89
WC 13. 9.87
Harvs' 150th game. Paul Salmon, after kicking 0.7 goaling to put us in front with less than 2 minutes left on the clock. Our kicking for goal was terrible this day, but we deserved the win.
A very gutsy performance. It was after this match i started to think we could go somewhere in '93.

Round 18 v Collingwood MCG: Sheeds 300th game as coach:
Ess 18.15.123
Coll 7.13. 55
A miserable, cold wet Friday night and a 68 point caning. Our first win over the ' Moighty Poiyes' in 3 years. Boris' 4 goals in a sensational second quarter, Longy brilliant all night, flashes of magic from Kickett, and a speccy from Micky Symons. The rain p*ssing down continually in the 2nd half and not one Essendon person leaving 'til the final siren. After previously losing 6 on the trot to Collingwood, this was one to savor.

I'd like to hear some of your recollections of the '93 season.

-------------------------------------------------------------------
EFC: We Hate You Too

The prelim for me as well, when we came back from nowhere after half time... that third quarter!! I knew we could win the thing after that performance, the players just had to belive in themselves as well.

The GF has got to be next best, anytime we win the GF its great, but one over the scum... (mastercard warning alert)... priceless.

ps, can anyone belive the age of half the team that played that final! fletch played his y12 final the next day or something, (at FF i think)

Prelim for me, mainly because i had a rush of blood and plonked down about 700 bucks on Essendon to win. Needless to say, at half time i was a little irritable. Andrew Jarman missing his set shot 10 meters out on the 3 qtr time siren provided much mirth. I think that was a very telling miss, and may well have decided the outcome of the game.

Yes the prelim was fantastic...
Unearthing so many fantastic youngsters was great "the baby Bombers"
Longy’s goal in the Grand Final "I think it was touched on the line"
Was a bloody top effort....

Fosters Cup. Lived 5 minutes from Waverley at the time. "We'll leave 45 minutes before the start" says Dave to Mrs Dave. "Plenty of time". Ended up driving all around the ground, dunping the car in the carpark any old where and getting in just as the siren sounded to start the game.

Geelong. Ablett 14. Fish 10. Was the first game in ages my entire family attended after my sister had been overseas. 40-1 for the flag before this game. 15-1 after. Dave was spewing he didn't get the TAB before hand, had a lazy 50 ready to go.

Fitzroy. Down all night. The phone shenanigans. Tim Watson. Boris's torp. Magic night.

The prelim. Sat in front of carlton supporter who was barracking for Adelaide. Noisy as hell in the first half. Strangely quiet after that. Disappeared shortly before the end. Boris, magic. The roar halfway through the third when Merc's put us within three. Watson. Watson. WATSON!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

The Granny. Sitting in front of the same carlturd ****er. "No Kickett. No confidence". "No friggin adelaide either" says Dave. Strangely enough he was gone before the end that week too.
Ricky O's first quarter. Calthorpes goal in the third, just when they started to hope. Mil Hanna :D Denham getting even with the thug. Getting ****ed afterwards.

Anyone remember Derek Kickett's torp from 70+ v Eagles in that rd. 16 match?

A large section of the crowd, well, at least where i was standing, screaming for the 'barrel' when he marked it.
Sure enough, 'bang!' 'goal!'. Laughed our heads off "that man is a freak" Inspirational stuff.

What about his one handed demo job on Footscray in round 20?.......8 goals, a couple of speccys, and a few other party tricks.

He was a freak Derek. An erratic and inconsistent freak, but a freak nonetheless. I loved him. It was sad the way it all ended.

Prelim. Final,
Was anyone else confident at half time?

I can honestly say, i said to the Mrs. Wally of the time, that "if we're within 20 points at 3/4 time, we'll win this".

That 3rd quarter was magnificent, Boris slotting one from the boundary, and yes Dave, the roar after Mercs' goal made the hair on the back of the neck stand up.

Jumping around like lunatics at the final siren.
Awesome day.

After that second half, we were never gunna lose the following week.

I still chuckle when i see Mark Athorn :p picking up Longy at the opening bounce.................

---------------------------------------------------------------------------

All that have been mentioned are great moments. I loved the whole season (well, all the wins, anyway ;) ).

I also liked what I saw when we took on Hawthorn at Waverly. That was a game when we really said that we are going to be a force this season. We hadn't beaten the Hawks for a while and they beat us by 100 and heaps in '92.

That and the West Coast game gave me the confidence to say we will be o.k. Plus our ability to get back into a game and even win it after looking out of it at various stages. Real gutsy fighting quality.

One final moment, big Justin Madden shedding a tear after the GF. Great stuff.

At half time of the PF, I had given up the ghost. But my mate kept saying these Bombers don't give up, they'll come back and win. I've never been happier that he was right. :D

Oh yeah, one more thing...

Apart from the Coleman Medal, we pretty much took home every other major award....

Both GF's
Michael Tuck, Norm Smith, Charly, Dr McCelland....

Athorn

Hanna

SOS ("I touched it wah wah wah...!")

Big 'Teardrops' Harry

Williams the pig

:)

Otherwise, the usual suspects - the Prelim (I still reckon Longy should be knighted for that one), gav's brownlow, the return of TIMMMMMYYYY!!!!, the beagles match, and 'THE' ablett match.

Vomiting all over carlton, equalling them on 15, them not being able to stop us, running AMOK in standing room, jumping on for the lap of honour (have a look, it`s at the Punt Road End), collecting big time off numerous mouths at work, pulling clear of that other filth collingwood, The Royal/ Cricketers arms after, (I swear The Cricketers moved that night) , still wearing `93 memorabillia just to shove it previously mentioned mouths, knowing i could die happy.

Originally posted by Wally

Yeah, it was a beauty.

Prelim. Final,
Was anyone else confident at half time?

I can honestly say, i said to the Mrs. Wally of the time, that "if we're within 20 points at 3/4 time, we'll win this".

I wasn't confident but I hadn't given it away either.

That 3rd quarter was magnificent, Boris slotting one from the boundary, and yes Dave, the roar after Mercs' goal made the hair on the back of the neck stand up.

At that point I thought we were going to go on and win.

And Boris, magnificent.

I still chuckle when i see Mark Athorn :p picking up Longy at the opening bounce

"Who's that *******?"?

Originally posted by windyhill
jumping on for the lap of honour (have a look, it`s at the Punt Road End)
I checked that out last night john. There were 3 guys that jumped over the fence. The first guy got knocked arse over ti t by the cops, he didn't look anything like you. The third guy didn't get far at all before the cops grabbed him. The second guy ran through just to the right of the right goal post and went straight for the cup and got nailed by the cops within a millisecond. Hard to tell, but i reckon that was you. Did i detect the slight hint of a mullet?

A large section of the crowd, well, at least where i was standing, screaming for the 'barrel' when he marked it.
Sure enough, 'bang!' 'goal!'. Laughed our heads off "that man is a freak" Inspirational stuff.
Yes, forgot to mention this also. I was sitting in the Northern (Olympic) Stand for that game. When Kickett marked everyone in our area was also pleading with him to have a shot. I'm sure the chant was something like "torp, torp, torp" etc.

What a great kick it was and didn't the crowd go off their collective faces....:D

Originally posted by Pornstar
I checked that out last night john. There were 3 guys that jumped over the fence. The first guy got knocked arse over ti t by the cops, he didn't look anything like you. The third guy didn't get far at all before the cops grabbed him. The second guy ran through just to the right of the right goal post and went straight for the cup and got nailed by the cops within a millisecond. Hard to tell, but i reckon that was you. Did i detect the slight hint of a mullet?

Yes mate, i was growing it until we won something of note, shears came out that night.......Jumped on O`Donnells back, before being thrown back over the fence.

Round 16 v Weagles (the original 'jacket waving' match):
Ess 12.17.89
WC 13. 9.87
Harvs' 150th game. Paul Salmon, after kicking 0.7 goaling to put us in front with less than 2 minutes left on the clock.

Iv'e had many arguements with other Essendon fans about this match, I believe it was against Carlton the next week that Fish kicked 1.7 not against the Eagles. It was however his only goal of the day

Re: Re: Time Flies, Hard To Believe It's.........

Originally posted by rednugget
Iv'e had many arguements with other Essendon fans about this match, I believe it was against Carlton the next week that Fish kicked 1.7 not against the Eagles. It was however his only goal of the day

You may be right, but i do remember the big fella was having nightmares in front of goal during this period of the season.
Missed some absolute sitters in those two games.

--------------------------------------------------------------

Re: Re: Time Flies, Hard To Believe It's.........

Iv'e had many arguements with other Essendon fans about this match, I believe it was against Carlton the next week that Fish kicked 1.7 not against the Eagles. It was however his only goal of the day [/B][/QUOTE]

You are right, it against Carlton when he kicked 1.7, but was this also the game where Kernahan has a set shot after the siren to win the game and kicked it out on the full to end the game in a draw?

Re: Re: Re: Time Flies, Hard To Believe It's.........

Originally posted by poncho

was this also the game where Kernahan has a set shot after the siren to win the game and kicked it out on the full to end the game in a draw?

Nah ponch,
Kernahan's shot after the siren was in Rd. 2.

------------------------------------------------------------