Tippett's Gone - READ RULES BEFORE POSTING

• Thread starter Thread starter doodle48

Which AFC deserter were/are you most salty towards?

They are much the same. Similar age, similar number of disposals and similar number of goals. Tippett has more HO, Hall has more marks.
Both can play that Tredrea type role that suits playing in Sydney.

That is where I think Tippett's real value to Sydney will be.

With the likely introduction of the 2 I/C, 2 sub rule in 2014 it will be more difficult to play 2 genuine ruckmen in your starting 20.
There are few capable fwd/ruck players in the AFL. Off the top of my head only Clark, Petrie & Roughead would be of comparable ability to KT, when you consider both roles.

For Sydney Mumford & Pyke are clearly rucks who can do some fwd work, but not at the standard of Tippett (up fwd) and when Sydney played just the one ruck this year it was White and LRT who were the back ups. KT clearly has them covered in the ruck.

If Sydney recruited KT solely as a fwd then they have overpaid. The recruitment only makes sense IMO in the expectation of the rule change from 2014, when players who can play fwd & ruck equally well will be at a premium.

They haven't rolled the dice with a speculative rookie pick here that doesn't matter. He's now their highest paid player.

You are going around in circles. Initially you said he's average, then realised that if he's average then Sydney are dolts for picking him. You know they're not dolts.... which means...

Elite Crow brought up Bradshaw which can only be described as a total disaster. How would you describe Sydney's recruiting of Bradshaw? Genius?

No doubt Tippett could go either way. I love his willingness to compete and his athletic attributes. But his output so far has been far below his potential. How will it turn out? He is mentally fragile no doubt. If i was Sydney definitely however worth the money in my book risk=reward.

I think it is John Butcher Nick Gill mark 2

Good point. When Tippett was a Crow, you could have made a case for him being the most overpaid player in SA. Now that he is gone, the only overpaid players are at the Power. Because their list is such a shambles, they are desperate to hang on to average players who would not be making anywhere near the same amount of money at any other club besides the Power. Such greed for money is laughably interpreted as 'loyalty' by Power supporters.

Mods please move to the "Port chat for Crows Board posters" thread. :)

I think it is relevant to the discussion. Tippett was once a highly overpaid SA player. Now that he is gone, the only overpaid players in SA, like Boak and Butcher, are at the Power. :)

My two cents worth, because I know you've all been waiting.

I've spent the last 3 seasons defending Tippett to flog supporters of our cross town neighbours, so I'm not going to start now and bag the shit out of him. As a Crows player, Kurt was an imposing player whose sheer presence gave you hope not only during a given game but for the future that he would fulfil his potential and become a gun.

But, if you look at his performances objectively he has not ripped many games apart and quite often became a negative when he missed easy goals. Kurt has been paid handsomely for his size, his ability to play two key roles in the team and to keep him because if he fulfilled his potential he would be in the top 5 players in the comp. In the end, considering he left, we did not get our moneys worth.

Sydney have also valued the potential of Kurt and are paying him accordingly, because his past performances do not justify his salary. He fills a missing piece of their puzzle given his size and there are a lack of Kurt types in the league. This has driven up his price further. If Kurt doesn't fulfil his potential and he doesn't help them win another flag then they have paid too much, but if he does, then it was a brilliant piece of recruiting. Sydney have a great track record with recruits but it doesn't mean they will get it right every time, Bradshaw was an expensive gamble that did not pay off.

But Kurt now has to deliver, he has the tools and ability to do so. But that doesn't mean he will, and I hope like **** he doesn't and we win the flag to shove it up him and Sydney flogs but mostly to experience the feeling of winning a flag again.

Good analysis :thumbsu:

But Kurt now has to deliver, he has the tools and ability to do so. But that doesn't mean he will, and I hope like **** he doesn't and we win the flag to shove it up him and Sydney flogs but mostly to experience the feeling of winning a flag again.

Winning a flag is just awesome, but to do it in 2013 to shove it up Tip (and Davis) and the Sydnay fans, would make it that bit sweeter

tippett thread still goin... time to move on??? did u see how sexy and pale danger was at training DAMN.... new topic any1?

You know you don't have to post in here if you are over talking about the Tiprat....

Elite Crow brought up Bradshaw which can only be described as a total disaster. How would you describe Sydney's recruiting of Bradshaw? Genius?

No doubt Tippett could go either way. I love his willingness to compete and his athletic attributes. But his output so far has been far below his potential. How will it turn out? He is mentally fragile no doubt. If i was Sydney definitely however worth the money in my book risk=reward.

I think that pretty much nails it :thumbsu:

Winning a flag is just awesome, but to do it in 2013 to shove it up Tip (and Davis) and the Sydnay fans, would make it that bit sweeter
And Gunston. **** we've lost some talent in recent years, Bock, Davis, Gunston, Maric and now Tippett. 5 big blokes, imagine how good our side would be if we kept them all.

Sydney don't really need Tippett to live up to his potential for him to be considered a good pick for them. If they got from him what we've got for the past few years then I'm sure it would be more then enough to keep them happy, kicking 30-50 goals in a team that just won the premiership along taking plenty of pressure off Sam Reid so he can further develop along with making their list overall much stronger. Sounds like a win to me and any sort of 'potential' he may live up to would just be a bonus.

True, but in 2013 he only plays half a season and after playing no footy at all it's likely he won't be contributing until later in 2013. There is also the question whether they could play 3 big blokes, Mumford is a lock but can they play Pike and Tippett? Pike was great in the finals and whilst he doesn't kick the goals Kurt does his ruckwork is better and provides a more consistent performance.

It will be really interesting seeing how Jenkins performs this year. I believe he is capable of 30-40 goals, if he does, would Sydney have better paying half what Kurt is getting paid on a Jenkins type and using the other part of Kurt's salary on another quality player?

True, but in 2013 he only plays half a season and after playing no footy at all it's likely he won't be contributing until later in 2013. There is also the question whether they could play 3 big blokes, Mumford is a lock but can they play Pike and Tippett? Pike was great in the finals and whilst he doesn't kick the goals Kurt does his ruckwork is better and provides a more consistent performance.

It will be really interesting seeing how Jenkins performs this year. I believe he is capable of 30-40 goals, if he does, would Sydney have better paying half what Kurt is getting paid on a Jenkins type and using the other part of Kurt's salary on another quality player?
It's not as if Sydney will be relying on Tippett to win them games early in the year or get them to the finals so him not playing in the first half of the season isn't that bad (but still a blow, more to Tippett then anyone else I'd say as us Crow supporters know he has to get the confidence in his game before he starts dominating week in week out). Again, he'll still have the second half of the season to get some form in which he was able to do at the start of this year and then when he finally came back towards the end (took him a good 5 odd matches before he looked back to his old self against Hawthorn).

Mumford as you said is a lock and whether Pyke fits in with Tippett is a big question. I'd suggest not with the likes of Reid and Tippett as the big key forwards (LRT and Goodes as other potential big targets up forward). I personally don't believe Pyke is a loss, at least not when you're taking him out for Tippett, I think every single one of us would rather have Tippett in our side kicking goals, drawing key defenders and making plenty of opportunities in the forwardline and getting less hitouts then Pyke who might get more taps but less goals and nowhere near the presence up forward. Pyke also doesn't create anywhere near the goals that Tippett does, not only does Tippett kick bags but his ability to crash packs and create second and third opportunities for other forwards (along with second and third opportunities for himself) is massive and the thing I'm most worried about us missing from him next season. So really, what they're getting from bringing Tippett into the side far outweighs what they're losing from Pyke going out (plus they also add further depth to their tall stocks).

I hope you're right about Jenkins (contest between him, McKernan, LJ etc should be interesting) but to date he hasn't kicked more then 2 goals in a game and Sydney don't need to take a risk chasing potential when they can/have locked in someone who has kicked 30+ goals in each of his last 4 seasons, draws the big name defenders week in and out which will take pressure off Reid from day one (well round 13 :p) which certainly wouldn't happen from someone like Jenkins for a good while. The extra money that potentially could have been saved and used on someone else could be useful but what other holes in their side do they need to fill? On top of that, is that sort of player on the market or even willing to move to Sydney?

Stripple finally goes down. How long can Specious hold out?
<20k -magtrev
20-21k -fabs33
21-22k -xchadders
22-23k - Juzzo
23-24k -MickyCrow
24-25k -alex_is_on_fire
25-26k -Realslimshady2
26-27k -n4sir
27-28k -Stripple
28-29k -SpeciousArgument
>30k -bjn1960
never -JP Sauce

Godallblighty

All comes down to a club what do you expect in return on your $3.55m investment, peronally i blieve that this type of coin puts you on the top shelf of players in the comp and as a result you need to perform accordingly and in comparison to those players on similar contracts

It could also be argued that Talia, Truck & Jacobs all influence games beyond their stats and all 3 are more consistent performers however none will ever get close to that $3.5m / 4 year contract

is Kurt a valuable player the answer is a obvious yes, however should a $3.5m / 4 year contract change the level of expectation the answer to that question is also yes

The unanswered question is will Kurt live up to the $3.5m price tag in comparison to his peers on similar contracts, I have my doubts, Kurt to me is the Mitchell Johnson of footy, flashes of brilliance with plenty of meh in between

That view is too simple and one dimensional.

Tippett's value to Sydney will not only be measured by the marks he takes and the goals he kicks, but how he brings others into the game and improves the overall structure of the side.

Players like Reid, Mumford, LRT and Goodes should flourish with Tippett in the side and our forward line, which was virtually non-existent this year, will finally take a formidable shape.

tumblr_lzmikihuyA1r40dr3o1_500.gif

:D
See, he's not in the fridge!

He's ok, though when he gets drunk he takes his shirt off.

Sparkler, how many times do I have to tell you not in my house?
I know I've been away from Crows discussion recently but that doesn't give you permission to speak on my behalf.

First of all it's our house, and secondly Carl Spackler can take his shirt off any time he likes. ;)

It makes me feel better about my own body.

Tippett's value to Sydney will not only be measured by the marks he takes and the goals he kicks, but how he brings others into the game and improves the overall structure of the side.

Players like Reid, Mumford, LRT and Goodes should flourish with Tippett in the side and our forward line, which was virtually non-existent this year, will finally take a formidable shape.
Thats true, but given the size of his contract a significant measurement will be how many goals he kicks and marks he takes. He could improve your structure but if he doesn't do what he gets paid to do then it's a fail.

Well apparently according to Spackler the fact you have made him your highest paid player means he is automatically an elite power forward. Elite power forwards do not just give you structure. Players like Pavlich, Brown and in hus day Carey, take marks, kick goals and win you game.

Not to worry ....we now know he is a super star ......you made him one apparently

Stripple finally goes down. How long can Specious hold out?
<20k -magtrev
20-21k -fabs33
21-22k -xchadders
22-23k - Juzzo
23-24k -MickyCrow
24-25k -alex_is_on_fire
25-26k -Realslimshady2
26-27k -n4sir
27-28k -Stripple
28-29k -SpeciousArgument
>30k -bjn1960
never -JP Sauce

I doubt it would get to 29,000 unless we use this thread to post in every time Kurt doesn't something crap in 2013 :p

Thats true, but given the size of his contract a significant measurement will be how many goals he kicks and marks he takes. He could improve your structure but if he doesn't do what he gets paid to do then it's a fail.

What if he kicked 15 goals, but helped Reid improve by 10-15 goals and we won the flag. Would he be a success or just lucky?

Regardless, what is true is that they need him to become one.

There is no scenario where a successful team can have their highest paid player be anything less than a real top flight mover & shaker

Yes mate in all seriousness your on the money.

Not sure how you start justifying that kind of money for a role player

Well apparently according to Spackler the fact you have made him your highest paid player means he is automatically an elite power forward. Elite power forwards do not just give you structure. Players like Pavlich, Brown and in hus day Carey, take marks, kick goals and win you game.

Not to worry ....we now know he is a super star ......you made him one apparently
You are just about the only one talking about having to be elite, super star, all Australian, 5 goals per game etc.

I suppose for some as soon as a player leaves they go from being superstars to duds. The reality is usually somewhere in between the two, just like in Tippett's case.
He is a very good player with potential to be even better.
In a side like Sydney, where both the game style and the size of the ground suits his game, the potential to go one better than just a very good player probably increases and for that Sydney are prepared to pay something like $125K per year more than Adelaide.
As they have money to spare and must spend it (that is the way our system works) I completely fail to see where they stuffed up.

What if he kicked 15 goals, but helped Reid improve by 10-15 goals and we won the flag. Would he be a success or just lucky?

How can you apply a measure like that. Could be Reids natural improvement. There is no evidence to suggest Walker was a better player with Tippett in the side.

I am pretty confident that if your getting 15 goals out of your highest paid player who happens to be a kpf , there will be discontent

How can you apply a measure like that. Could be Reids natural improvement. There is no evidence to suggest Walker was a better player with Tippett in the side.

I am pretty confident that if your getting 15 goals out of your highest paid player who happens to be a kpf , there will be discontent

I'd hope for more than 15 goals in half a season, too, but the reality is he was brought in to free up Reid as much as anything else. You only have to read the coach's comments to see that.

We all measure success differently in the end.