Tippett's Gone - READ RULES BEFORE POSTING

• Thread starter Thread starter doodle48

Which AFC deserter were/are you most salty towards?

Had a good laugh hearing Liam Pickering on SEN today say pick 22 and Jesse White should be enough to get it done early next week. Hold off and make the quitter squirm.
White is useless and pick 20 something is only steak knives we will on trade. I really don't wanna hear the names white, Grundy, pyke again.

So far haven't heard any good suggestions for kpd who is both genuinely tall and decent.

Gumbleton would risk for low price but wouldn't show much faith in the current guys next in line.
Not necessarily, could be unrelated to our plans for them. For instance there has been a lot of discussion about turning Jenkins into a defender (like we did with Rutten). In the preseason we played Johnston as a defender, we might want to persist with that.

We need to critically look at our side and say who are the b graders we can upgrade on. Maybe there is truth in the Douglas rumours? I just don't wanna trade in more b graders.
Just because you trade in a B grader doesn't mean that they stay that way. Thompson certainly wasn't an A grader when we acquired him and neither was Jacobs. I would back our coaches to get the most out some of the prospects that have been mentioned (e.g. Gumby, Parker, GHS etc.).

Alex I don't think he was trying to troll. Just working thinkings out like the rest of us. Play nice;)

Eh, kinda getting use to it. If I was going to troll it'd be more likely 'Jesse white + first round pick no worries!'

Anyway the Melbourne and geelong scenario with trading Parker and Rohan look around the mark if teams are will to play ball. I don't like trading Rohan at all but all in all seems fair.

I dont mind targeting players like Gumbleton however for the right price

look at the Swans over the years they have been very clinical with their trading targeting players who are either out of favor or would move on a promise of more opportunities

None of Ted Richards, Mumford, Mattner, McGlynn, Morton or Josh Kennedy were walk up starting 22 players at their respective clubs when traded

lets be prepared to take a risk at the right price

Alex I don't think he was trying to troll. Just working thinkings out like the rest of us. Play nice;)

I just posted this above but I will say it again, could Vardy be an option if we were looking to trade with Geelong? If the Swans could somehow help us get both of them then I think we would be happy. Vardy can fill the ruck/forward hole that losing Tippett would leave us with and GHS boosts our midfield depth. Additionally, if there is any substance behind the Douglas rumours then there is a real possibility that deal could be struck. Time to think outside the box because I can't see a straight 2 way deal working.

BTW I would be stoked with us getting Gumby. If he stays healthy he can produce straight away. Nothing to base it on but I have a feeling that he is going to turn his career around (similar to Shaw).
Hell Rohan broke a leg and you wouldn't risk him but your willing to take a bloke who has a history of breakdowns in Gumbleton.
Rohan would fill one of our needs immediately.... an outside runner. Gumbleton a slow KKP who isn't that good these days.

Re the geelong interest, is it possible it could be andrew mackie?

not necessarily as part of the tippett deal.

we did say we were after an outside mid and he is good outside i reckon. ppl say his disposal isnt good but look what he's been surrounded by, even someone with good disposal would look crap amongst the geelong team of the last decade. he's still got a couple of years, more than enright, reasonable size, reasonable smarts, reasonable tank, reasonable speed.

Reason is that they know Lewis Roberts Thompson will go back and play Centre half Back with the tippo up forward now where LRT played alot this year , thus why they want to give us Grundy. Stupid Harper & trigg will fall for it tho, without realising we dont need another stopping defender but a running CHB.

It's a good thing Noble does our trading then.

White is useless and pick 20 something is only steak knives we will on trade. I really don't wanna hear the names white, Grundy, pyke again.
L Pickering is a know-it-all head fat who like a lot of Vic footy identities is pig ignorant and in denial (like Mike Sheehan) about everything Adelaide.

White and pick 20?.....PFFFT. Rather give him up to the draft and get nothing for him just to give Sydney the shits.

Lewis Johnston, SMcK, and Lynch would be entitled to be pissed off if we chased him.

Of course they would but competition brings the best out of people. Also, if we do recruit Gumbleton he will be coming from a long way back. Fitness, form, coaches respect and trust so the 3 players you mentioned would still have that advantage. If not and they still can not utilise that advantage, they don't deserve to be on an AFL list.

Hell Rohan broke a leg and you wouldn't risk him but your willing to take a bloke who has a history of breakdowns in Gumbleton.
Rohan would fill one of our needs immediately.... an outside runner. Gumbleton a slow KKP who isn't that good these days.

I thought gumby started to look a lot better this year whereas with rohan you have no idea how he's going to pan out, well we dont, if you were privy to a medical report you could make a better decision...

I just posted this above but I will say it again, could Vardy be an option if we were looking to trade with Geelong? If the Swans could somehow help us get both of them then I think we would be happy. Vardy can fill the ruck/forward hole that losing Tippett would leave us with and GHS boosts our midfield depth. Additionally, if there is any substance behind the Douglas rumours then there is a real possibility that deal could be struck. Time to think outside the box because I can't see a straight 2 way deal working.

BTW I would be stoked with us getting Gumby. If he stays healthy he can produce straight away. Nothing to base it on but I have a feeling that he is going to turn his career around (similar to Shaw).

Pyro, I've been dealing with this guy for 3 days now. He is a troll or a clueless muppett.

At this stage ....but if a deal can't be done with Sydney, forget GC there's still GWS, Carlton, Melbourne & Freo

What everyone forgets is the $1M pricetag over 4 years ........if GC could afford, don't you think they would have upped their offer .....wrong to assume all of a sudden they can match the deal in PSD
I don't think they're stupid enough to let him end up at Freo or Carlton. If he ends up in the PSD, the price he puts on his head won't be as high as Sydney's offer. He'll list a price that is high enough to dissuade GWS (who aren't overly interested anyway), but low enough that GC can afford him. Thus, he ends up at GC if Sydney falls through.

Unlikely, but this could be a good outcome
In:Tippett Out: Parker, Rohan
In: Parker Out: pick 13
In:Rohan, 2nd round pick(crows) Out: pick 15 GHS
Crows
In: 13 (Kennedy), 15(Menzel), GHS Out:Tippett, 2nd round pick

Very good first post. :thumbsu:

good thing is there looks like there's enough player movement all up that can help lubricate (prolly not a good word to use) a deal. Well, players of high value, similar to tippett. Wellingham wants to move, caddy, tippett, one more would be good. If reid was willing to move it would be handy. need one more from a mid ladder club, does jacobs want to cruise from port? then with exchange of draft picks you could get it done i reckon

Pyro, I've been dealing with this guy for 3 days now. He is a troll or a clueless muppett.

Only because I disagree with your opinion?

This is only speculation, we have absolutely no control over who goes where or for what. I'm not a troll and nor am I clueless or as you put it a fan of 'thugby'. At least some posters in here are open for a chat about what may happen instead of acting like an ass to every post

None of Ted Richards, Mumford, Mattner, McGlynn, Morton or Josh Kennedy were walk up starting 22 players at their respective clubs when traded
Big difference I'm afraid is all the aforementioned players were regularly getting on the field, Gumbleton drafted in the 2006 draft has played what 28 games in 5 years????
There is good reson why the Dons have only offered up a 12 month contract!!

Apples and oranges. One of Rohan's best assets is his pace, that won't be the same coming off an injury like this. The horrific nature of this injury will also have consequences for his prospects in the league, there is a psychological factor that needs to be considered. Rohan also doesn't have a lot of runs on the board, sure he looked brilliant in a few games but he also had down paces just like any kid.

Gumby might have a long injury history but most of his injuries are different in origin to Rohan's break. Gumby also doesn't rely a lot on speed so his hamstring problems are unlikely to affect his overall game. Additionally, if you watched him this year you would be hardpressed to say that he didn't make a good account of himself on his return. Yes there is the risk that his career could fade out due to even more injuries but you have to see it as a basic risk reward scenario. Rohan would be the centerpiece of a deal for a big ticket forward (who most of us value as worth a top 10 pick). Gumby on the other hand could likely be acquired for a 2nd or 3rd rounder without being involved in any deal regarding you know who.

Big difference I'm afraid is all the aforementioned players were regularly getting on the field, Gumbleton drafted in the 2006 draft has played what 28 games in 5 years????
There is good reson why the Dons have only offered up a 12 month contract!!

understand that however if he comes cheap and if your medical team gives you confidence that they can get him right then its worth the risk as he has size and talent

I haven't followed Membling's actions on this board closely TBH but from what I have seen he has made a good account of himself (unlike some of his other Swans brethren). As I said before anyone who is willing to listen to our ideas and post constructively should be welcomed with open arms.

OK Just speculation.....
Sydney trade White to Melbourne or Bulldogs for 1st round draft pick, then pass it on with either Parker or Johnson to us. We'll even throw in our 3rd round pick maybe.
Only problem with this is that no club is stupid enough to cough up a 1st, 2nd or even a 3rd round pick for a dud like White.