Tippett's Gone - READ RULES BEFORE POSTING

• Thread starter Thread starter doodle48

Which AFC deserter were/are you most salty towards?

Cornsey said he heard today Kurt was in Sydney for the June long weekend looking for accommodation.
That can't be, as it wasn't about money and up until his concussions he was dead set staying with the Crows. :confused:

http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/150740/default.aspx

GREATER Western Sydney is cranking up its efforts to land Kurt Tippett, believing the key forward can instantly improve the Giants and be a vital member of the club for years to come.

GWS addressed the media after its first skills session of the new pre-season on Monday, with new senior assistant coach Leon Cameron and co-captain Phil Davis joining head coach Kevin Sheedy at the press conference.

Cameron will take over the head coaching role in 2014 and would potentially be Tippett's long-term coach, while Davis played alongside Tippett at Adelaide.

All three were gushing in their praise of the former Crow, who had nominated the Sydney Swans as his club of choice, but could now be chosen by GWS in the NAB AFL Draft or the pre-season draft.

Tippett and the Crows are currently the subject of an investigation over a contract he signed in 2009, but Sheedy said his club was ready to pounce.

It's understood the Giants hope to get Tippett to Sydney in the coming weeks and show them what they have to offer.

"A good thing about Tippett is he's also a ruckman," Sheedy said.

"He's a former basketball player and well over 200cm. Clubs are always looking at that spare ruck/forward who can come in and make it happen.

"We'll look at the opportunities to get a player like Tippett, there's no doubt about that.

"He's a former teammate of Phil and from my point of view, if we wait for the (findings) to come down by the AFL, he's a very, very good young player and the sort of player we'd love to get.

"We've got an opportunity to pick up a good player and we should do it."

Davis endured a difficult first season in GWS colours, but he has already received some backline help in the shape of former Hawthorn premiership defender Stephen Gilham.

And he is excited at the prospect of again playing with Tippett.

"I played with Kurt for three years and I think he's a sensational player," he said.

"Giant of a man, as we like to say, pardon the pun, but he's the kind of player that would make us improve quickly, but also be there in a few years when we're getting towards the pointy end of the ladder.

"If we could get him to the Giants it would be a great coup for the club."

Former Hawthorn assistant Cameron also knows exactly what Tippett can provide, with the forward almost leading the Crows past the Hawks in last year's finals series.

"The club has a great opportunity to look at a player of his calibre," Cameron said.

"I was at Hawthorn and we played him in the prelim final and he kicked four goals and took some really powerful marks.

"Those players don't just come along who can play ruck and forward."

GWS are making way too much noise not to pick him up. Sucked in Kurt.

MUCH rather lose premiership points than draft picks.

Losing draft picks can put you behind for years. The right player drafted at 20 could be significant for us long term

Starting next year two games behind, so we officially end the year with fourteen wins instead of sixteen (or whatever)? Who cares?

http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/150740/default.aspx

GWS are making way too much noise not to pick him up. Sucked in Kurt.

This has been the most intensive and unrelenting public campaign I can remember in terms of recruiting a player.

I did allow for the fact GWS were just trying to crank his price up but surely now they would look too foolish if they withdraw. Im more convinced than ever this is a concerted plan to recruit via media so that any resistence by Tippett will also play out on the media. Pressure on him now would be suffocating. Interesting in an article over the week end that Sydney officials are considering it less and less likely they will get him. They must surely know that this public campaign will focus public scrutiny on both them and Tippett making it harder to conspire to beat the draft.

Its also bad timing for both Tippett and Sydney given the AFL investigation.

Do it Sheeds, you know you want to;)

Yep agree with that, not getting him will now be seen as a failure. When you've got Sheeds stating its important for the members he is now committed that he will pick him up.

Saw the news and Davis said he's texted him a few times, wonder if he signed off "friends for life" PD

Losing draft picks can put you behind for years. The right player drafted at 20 could be significant for us long term

Starting next year two games behind, so we officially end the year with fourteen wins instead of sixteen (or whatever)? Who cares?

Losing a couple of games worth of premiership points can be pretty dramatic though. It could very realistically turn into the difference between a top four birth and finishing 5-8, and it has proven very difficult to win a premiership from that position.

The right player at draft pick 20 can be significant, yes, but they could also be a bust, and realistically would be unlikely to impact on our campaign next year, when we look the best chance we've been been in quite some time. We need to strike while the iron is hot, and starting a couple of games back is detrimental to that aim.

Yep agree with that, not getting him will now be seen as a failure. When you've got Sheeds stating its important for the members he is now committed that he will pick him up.

Saw the news and Davis said he's texted him a few times, wonder if he signed off "friends for life" PD

Kurt will love it. He will have Davis, Scully and Ward who will all be able to socialise in a manner to which Kurt has become accustomed. Swannies are way too blue collar...what was he thinking?

When the true story is revealed and the sanctions/penalty is delivered I guess the AFC will want to quickly and with a minimum of fuss put the whole saga quietly to bed and move on. However if the misdemeanours are found to be tending toward the lesser end of the scale I hope that a clear and direct statement is made to that effect, that helps put the issues in proper perspective. It wont be easy, because the media will, as they have done to date, continue to emphasize the terminology of 'salary cap cheats, rorts, draft tampering ' etc with little attempt to report in a balanced fashion the actual weighting of the offences, thus leaving the AFC branded in this fashion for evermore. But of course my hope is forlorn. Certainly Rootchi will salivate over the opportunity to portray AFC as 'underbelly' villians once the decision is handed down. And in the future the level of seriousness of offence will never be recalled, but the measure of penalty compared against previously sanctioned transgressors will. eg. we got off lightly compared to....etc etc. So I guess I should resign myself to the fact that the actions will be perceived simply as deliberately attempting to cheat and the AFC will join the company of former sanctionees, Carlton, Melbourne, Fremantle, Essendon (may have missed some) and of course Sydney.

You have to be kidding, the player pick at 20 could also end up a dud. Melbourne thought premiership points were worth less than picks too, see how that worked out. One player does not make a team, losing points would be the worst possible result.

Happy with a fine of 300k and Trigg resigning. Taking them this long to work out if we have done anything penalty will be on the lower scale. Just a feeling nothing really to back this up.

I doubt the ~3 weeks its taken so far has anything to do with our degree of guilt and more likely the AFL being very thorough, wouldnt want to miss anything as i imagine that would be very embarassing to the AFL if something else comes up down the track that they missed.

Today, out of the blue my sister gives me the 2013 crows calendar! Flip it over, all the fav players are there.. wait July..no way. They printed this too early! Thats it, not having July next year.. gonna skip it.
But then i calmed down, and collected my thoughts. Think rationally..... this is a great opportunity! Come on over to my place in july my BigFooty friends, we have a dart challenge! Anyone that misses wins themselves a I Love Tippett t-shirt to wear to the footy.
But seriously, should they recall these calendars?!

Yep he is definately going to GWS now dont think Sheeds cares if he wants to be there or not xD

When the true story is revealed and the sanctions/penalty is delivered I guess the AFC will want to quickly and with a minimum of fuss put the whole saga quietly to bed an50Kned about d move on. However if the misdemeanours are found to be tending toward the lesser end of the scale I hope that a clear and direct statement is made to that effect, that helps put the issues in proper perspective. It wont be easy, because the media will, as they have done to date, continue to emphasize the terminology of 'salary cap cheats, rorts, draft tampering ' etc with little attempt to report in a balanced fashion the actual weighting of the offences, thus leaving the AFC branded in this fashion for evermore. But of course my hope is forlorn. Certainly Rootchi will salivate over the opportunity to portray AFC as 'underbelly' villians once the decision is handed down. And in the future the level of seriousness of offence will never be recalled, but the measure of penalty compared against previously sanctioned transgressors will. eg. we got off lightly compared to....etc etc. So I guess I should resign myself to the fact that the actions will be perceived simply as deliberately attempting to cheat and the AFC will join the company of former sanctionees, Carlton, Melbourne, Fremantle, Essendon (may have missed some) and of course Sydney.
Dont forget Port, who paid several players to sit out of the draft a year prior to their entry into the AFL. Probably the worst draft tampering of all time. I think they were fined about 50K or something pathetic like that. On that scale the AFL should be paying us.

I don't disagree provided that it is only 2 games. If they flog us like they did AC Milan in the Italian Soccer match fixing scandal then would be dead set against it and the absolute best we could finish is mid table. In our case it would likely mean that pur draft pick probably would be pushed back as well.

29629756.jpg

We still talking about condiments?

No?

Bugger.

I've got nothing to add here