Tippett's Gone - READ RULES BEFORE POSTING

• Thread starter Thread starter doodle48

Which AFC deserter were/are you most salty towards?

Bloods culture only exists when it's convenient to them

don't forget, they had one of the biggest flogs around in nick davis, funnily enough there was no mention of bloods culture while he wa there

i blame brett kirk - "spiritual" Moo

come at me "bloods"

Come now Mr. Smooth, that's Unbludstralian maaate. Fair Dinkum maaaate.

http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/151518/default.aspx
Interesting that Sando didn't flinch when asked about losing picks in future drafts. Are Afl.com being objective when they say it's likely? If they're not and the AFL are pushing it then that's not good news either. Or am I reading too much into it?

yeah it really pisses me off....every age article keeps stressing that we can be excluded from the next FOUR drafts...now that'd be worth a Supreme Court challenge

while the herald sun is pushing the line that we're trying to soften up the AFL by giving back picks this year but that it's 'necessary' that we also are excluded from next years draft...

All these Victorian publications are pushing their own agenda which is to ensure the AFL **** us as hard as they can

Sorry.. I'm catching up on the last 3 weeks of posting, but I couldn't go past this one without commenting.

In what universe is/was Robran a better footballer than KT? That's one of the funniest things I've read in a long time. Robran's best ever season (1997) netted him a grand total of just 24 goals. Even his miraculous 6 goal haul in the 1998 PF only took his tally for that season to 22 goals for the year. Tippett has kicked a minimum of 31 goals every year, except for his debut season. Tippett averages 1.8 goals to Robran's 0.8. Robran isn't/wasn't fit to tie Tippett's shoelaces.

Tippett plays much closer to goal, often leading out of the square. What does this tell us about a nimble footed, sublimely skilled CHF with soft hands?

Sorry.. I'm catching up on the last 3 weeks of posting, but I couldn't go past this one without commenting.

In what universe is/was Robran a better footballer than KT? That's one of the funniest things I've read in a long time. Robran's best ever season (1997) netted him a grand total of just 24 goals. Even his miraculous 6 goal haul in the 1998 PF only took his tally for that season to 22 goals for the year. Tippett has kicked a minimum of 31 goals every year, except for his debut season. Tippett averages 1.8 goals to Robran's 0.8. Robran isn't/wasn't fit to tie Tippett's shoelaces.

Tippett plays much closer to goal, often leading out of the square. What does this tell us about a nimble footed, sublimely skilled CHF with soft hands?

I LOVE SHEEDS!!!!!!

Bad luck, Kurt: Sheeds
KEVIN Sheedy has sent a blunt message to Kurt Tippett: if I want you, I'll take you.

Tippett's career is in limbo until he fronts the AFL Commission on November 30 to investigate dealings with his last contract in Adelaide.

However, despite the 25-year-old Queenslander nominating the Sydney Swans as his preferred destination for 2013, the Giants coach was hearing none of it.

If Tippett is forced into the pre-season draft - where the Giants have the first pick - there's every chance he could be heading to Sydney's west.

Speaking at Gold Coast's Metricon Stadium on Thursday ahead of the NAB AFL Draft, Sheedy said he had no regard for Tippett's preference.

"[I'm] Not worried that he wants to go elsewhere," Sheedy said.

"When you join the draft, you go where you're selected."

Sheedy said he wanted to play for Essendon his whole life and it had no affect on his glittering playing career for Richmond.

He said Tippett should be champing to go to the Giants.

"You're going to be playing with a hell of a lot of good players and it's going to be a damn good side in four years and he'll be just peaking by then," Sheedy said.

"When you think about that and the players he's going to be playing with, I wouldn't see any reason why he might not want to consider coming to the Giants anyway."

Sheedy said with Israel Folau leaving the club, the Giants had the money to play with.

The veteran coach also hinted the Giants are interested in drafting outstanding South Australian ruckman Brodie Grundy.

He said the Giants would look taller this year, be more specific with their selections and that Grundy could "easily happen" with either pick 12 or 14.

"I think we've got to be a little more specific, there's no doubt about that," he said.

"Seeing as we couldn't get many senior blokes into the club from the choices we had with the 17-year-old picks, we have to be specific now.

"You might have wanted to get a (an experienced) ruckman or centre half back but we just have to now be specific a little more than last year."

Meanwhile, Swans coach John Longmire was playing a much straighter bat on the Tippett front, saying despite their interest in the full forward, they would wait for the investigation to unfold.

"There's a process that has to be followed … and we'll take it one step at a time and the first step is to get the draft right tonight," Longmire said.

"We're obviously still interested in Kurt Tippett coming to the footy club, but because there's a process to go through, things are still up in the air."

Gimme a break... Yeah Im on the string with Tippet as much as any, but I just cant understand this comparison to freaking Robran of all people.
Were you guys still so enamoured with your new team back then to believe this guy was actually any good? I watched him from juniors at Norwood, and even then I could see his propensity to head duck and listen for footsteps was far greater then to cop a wrap on the back of his knuckles from a spoiling backman. Being a big fan of Baz, this would shit me no end. He was big, slow and soft, but could kick.Sure he had some pretty skills, but in my opinion he will go down as one of the softest pretty boys to don the Jumper.
No comparison to what Tippets done so far surrounded by a far softer unit than Robran ever was.

Christ, how do you guys judge a good footballer? Im dumbfounded.

I loath soft footballs with sublime skills. I loath professionals that cant hit a target lace out, or miss goals from 35-40 dead on over 35% of the time, but If I had a choice who to pick in a team, it would be the shit kick with the big heart and little fear every day of the week.

Just to be clear (again):

I actually said "in every respect except physicality" ... which is a fairly big part of AFL.

Did someone say Borg?

20100406jeriryan.jpg

I don't see how the AFL can (could) justify allowing Kurt Tippett to be delisted by the club and then become a delisted free agent?

Basically allowing him to move to the Swans for free, that's basically saying the Crows were 100% guilt on all charges.

I don't see how the AFL can (could) justify allowing Kurt Tippett to be delisted by the club and then become a delisted free agent?

Basically allowing him to move to the Swans for free, that's basically saying the Crows were 100% guilt on all charges.

ANd not only that, that HE isn't.

GWS picking a forward at 12 going to have an impact on their decision?

Then there's the pearler about McKernan. Anyone who suggests that he "could become that big power forward" is ready to have the men in white coats come and take them away to the funny farm, locked up in a straight jacket for their own safety. I was almost PMSL when I read that particular line.
What??? Are you serious??? Robran wasn't better than Tippett?? That is by far the most ridiculous post in this thread!

I notice this quote from Hamish:“I like next year’s draft. I think it’s going to be really good. An early call is that it’s going to have a good depth of midfielders. There are some good talls next year, but I don’t think they’re as evident yet.”
We may need it to, if we are going to hand back our first two picks again.

Hit the report button. I'm sure once the mods get through all the posts wishing injury, misfortune, and the like they'll get to my post asking for clarification on a statement that was essentially "I was at a thing and heard a thing".
I did report your bullying.
I can't see why, on our board, we need to alleviate your fears and lessen your pain.
You want to spin that the Tippett deal is good? Fine, but leave us out of it.
You don't want Tippett? Fine, tell your club, don't blame us.

Did anyone hear Caro tonight, sounds like Harper might be in more shit than we thought. Something about putting panicky things in writing.

Swans' player 'culture' will probably win out, but you'd have to admit that the Tippett scenario (inconsistent forward; doesn't come across as the most loyal person; now the highest paid Swans player) will test that famous 'culture' like, arguably, nothing before.
Barry Hall being an imbecile would give it a fair shake.

GWS picking a forward at 12 going to have an impact on their decision?

To be honest, I think them not picking Grundy (even when he was available at 12, which absolutely baffles me), will have a greater impact on their decision. ;)