Tippett's Gone - READ RULES BEFORE POSTING

• Thread starter Thread starter doodle48

Which AFC deserter were/are you most salty towards?

I still think they will go after the individuals in the Melbourne case and not the club. I don't agree with it, but that's how I see it going down.
We can only hope.

I do get the feeling that the AFL will be reluctant to cripple the club. I have heard whispers to the effect that, the AFL don't want to see a repeat of Carlton being noncompetitive for an extended period, which was the result of their penalties.

Adelaide are one of the few clubs that pay their own way in the comp, I reckon the AFL will be mindful of this.
Well, I effing hope so.

Just on Tippett, if he is de-registered tomorrow (effective immediately) will that legally prevent him from putting a price on his head as a Category A player in the pre-season draft? I wouldn't have thought that unregistered players would be able to put a price on their heads in any draft. Does anyone know the rules relating to unregistered players and the drafts?

Tippett has already delisted himself and nominated for the PSD. The AFL have allowed him extra time to nominate his salary and conditions meaning he will nominate what Sydney have offered. That is because they can afford what they have offered and it will put off GWS who have to worry about a shrinking Salary Cap from 2014 and a huge increase in salaries for their plethora of high draft picks who will come off their drafted salaries at the end of 2013 and 2014.

Not palatable for us supporters who wanted Tippett to get shafted but that's what has and will happen.

I still think they will go after the individuals in the Melbourne case and not the club. I don't agree with it, but that's how I see it going down.

If Adelaide as a Club cops it (either monetary fine or banned from draft picks for however many years) when it was individuals that did the deed, then Melbourne must as well. Anything less than that further highlights what a joke the AFL is. Unless of course, they take it out on our individuals to set the precedent for Melbourne (so as to protect the MFC from its ultimate demise).

I spoke to someone last night that had recently spoken with Trigg (int he last 2 days). The club are fully expecting to get smashed here. We are in some very deep trouble.
The fine as reported sounds about right. We will lose the first 2 round picks in the next two drafts (which makes it three drafts in total) - this is going to crush us in 6-10 years time. Some very lean years are ahead.
Trigg is expecting to be banned from any and all AFL positions for a lengthy period of time. He was hoping to argue it down to a 6 month ban, but it is most likely to be years. He won't be our CEO this time next week. Reid will cop a similar ban. Harper also although a smaller time frame.

Ultimately Trigg is gone, Reid punished, Harper gone. We lose the equivalent of 8 first round draft picks (the 6 from the National drafts plus the 2 we could have had from Brisbane for Tippett). Our ability to negotiate and keep our star players in the future will be massively hampered. Our premiership window that was just opening will close exceptionally quickly. We will need to become absolute masters of trading and free-agent trickery.
And all of this for a selfish egotistic nob-end who is an overpaid and overrated tosser. Management at its finest people.

For this penalty to be accurate I assume that the AFC has been found guilty of being the gunman on the grassy knoll??

If Adelaide as a Club cops it (either monetary fine or banned from draft picks for however many years) when it was individuals that did the deed, then Melbourne must as well. Anything less than that further highlights what a joke the AFL is. Unless of course, they take it out on our individuals to set the precedent for Melbourne (so as to protect the MFC from its ultimate demise).

I agree with you, and as I said I don't agree with it, but I think it's what the AFL will do.

The sad thing is we have to realise the AFL makes the rules, and use them as they see fit. The sad fact as well is all other supporters of other clubs, whilst seeing somewhat how big a prick Tippett is, would more than likely accept harsh penalties for us and not on Melbourne. No matter what they do to us, we will fight through it, be strong on the field for the next couple of years as well. Melbourne have been, and still are in all sorts of trouble. The AFL is committed to keeping all the Melbourne clubs alive now. They will hit the people involved rather than the club and say anyone involved in tanking will never be involved in the AFL again.

thedraft_a.jpg

you be the judge.

Which one is she?

As you clearly dont read my posts ill spell out my position to you again. There are 5 parties facing multiple charges. 3 current and former employees, 1 former player and the club itself. I'll concede that passing on the two picks looks like an admission of guilt (and frankly im insulted that you keep insisting i believe otherwise) but guilt by whom to which specific charge? Until i know that im not prepared to advocate the penalties for any specific individual. To me this issue isnt black and white, there are many shades of grey here.
50 shades at least Specious, it is a Gianormas cluster ****!
You are right though, as soul destroying as the article is, it's not the findings of the commission, we still don't quite know a lot.
How does EQ know how we're pleading? Where did the storyline come from? Did we leak this ? EQ hadn't quite gotten into deformation territory before, if she is wrong she is now!

http://www.adelaidenow.com.au/sport...-draft-tampering/story-e6freck3-1226526128743
The Crows do not expect a lengthy hearing tomorrow and sources say they view the handling of the crisis more as a series of negotiations than a trial.
It is regarded as too risky to plead not guilty to any of the charges - even if the club feels it could make a case for a not-guilty plea.
It is expected the hearing will listen to reasons for how each breach came about and what the mitigating circumstances were, if any.
The key for Adelaide will be to limit risk....

'A series of negotiations' not a 'trial'. Why do I get the feeling this has all been decided already?

I spoke to someone last night that had recently spoken with Trigg (int he last 2 days). The club are fully expecting to get smashed here. We are in some very deep trouble.
The fine as reported sounds about right. We will lose the first 2 round picks in the next two drafts (which makes it three drafts in total) - this is going to crush us in 6-10 years time. Some very lean years are ahead.
Trigg is expecting to be banned from any and all AFL positions for a lengthy period of time. He was hoping to argue it down to a 6 month ban, but it is most likely to be years. He won't be our CEO this time next week. Reid will cop a similar ban. Harper also although a smaller time frame.

Ultimately Trigg is gone, Reid punished, Harper gone. We lose the equivalent of 8 first round draft picks (the 6 from the National drafts plus the 2 we could have had from Brisbane for Tippett). Our ability to negotiate and keep our star players in the future will be massively hampered. Our premiership window that was just opening will close exceptionally quickly. We will need to become absolute masters of trading and free-agent trickery.
And all of this for a selfish egotistic nob-end who is an overpaid and overrated tosser. Management at its finest people.
So we gave up this years first 2 picks to ease the penalties and we are still looking at the next 2 years first 2 also ? :eek: Should have kept this years picks if this is the case! :oops:

Sounds like we've got the pineapple punishment wrong then, we're up for this instead:

476px-Mills_N%C2%B036_SGM-2.jpg

50 shades at least Specious, it is a Gianormas cluster ****!
You are right though, as soul destroying as the article is, it's not the findings of the commission, we still don't quite know a lot.
How does EQ know how we're pleading? Where did the storyline come from? Did we leak this ? EQ hadn't quite gotten into deformation territory before, if she is wrong she is now!
The specificity of the article is certainly disheartening. Even if were sentenced to time served it will still leave an ugly stain for a long time :(

Personally I think 3 years of 1st and 2nd round picks is too much based upon what has been announced, but I'd hate to see what the AFL initially wanted to do if this was the negotiated outcome.

As an outsider, I don't have all the info, but given so much of this was recorded in writing, and it looks like the punishment is edging towards the more severe side, I can't see how management cannot escape the axe. Clubs push the envelope, always will. If you do it though, you don't document your actions, and you try to negotiate a decent settlement. Looks to an outside like they may have failed on both regards (asusming media reports are correct).

As for Sydney, they exploited the situation no doubt, but will not be hit at all. That being said, I look forward to seeing their reaction when they ask their next champ to accept just $400k a year to be a part of bloods culture and to sacrifice for the greater good. Offering up $950k to one player (who IMO will not even be in their best 4 players) will send a message loud and clear to the current players and their managers.

Finally on Tippett, he will get to Sydney, but I hope he gets suspended because IMO its beyond belief that he was forced to agree to these conditions when he still had one year to go on his existing contract. He didn't have to sign, so how was he forced to? Personally I'm hoping we hear this from Kurt tomorrow at AFL HQ

Sorry champ.

Don't worry, the Mods will fully endorse the question. They'll want to know themselves. Especially that big old perv Allergic.

Nah mate, once you start getting invited to mods-only parties with all the hottest footy journalists from around the country, grainy pictures on the net just don't cut it anymore :p

http://www.adelaidenow.com.au/sport...-draft-tampering/story-e6freck3-1226526128743

The Crows do not expect a lengthy hearing tomorrow and sources say they view the handling of the crisis more as a series of negotiations than a trial.​
It is regarded as too risky to plead not guilty to any of the charges - even if the club feels it could make a case for a not-guilty plea.​
It is expected the hearing will listen to reasons for how each breach came about and what the mitigating circumstances were, if any.​
The key for Adelaide will be to limit risk....​

'A series of negotiations' not a 'trial'. Why do I get the feeling this has all been decided already?

If accepting a penalty of 8 first round picks plus a large fine is 'limiting risk' then I wonder what a full penalty would look like.
8 first round picks plus a fine plus individual sanctions is so far beyond Carltank's penalty its unfathomable.