Tippett's Gone - READ RULES BEFORE POSTING

Which AFC deserter were/are you most salty towards?

No... this thread cannot die. Here's a pic to fuel the fire. Look at the grinning silly.
852771-kurt-tippett.jpg

I'd finally really gotten over it today, "the ugly dickling had finally turned into a swan" :rolleyes:, but then when I saw this picture it seemed to magically rehash all the crap this douche has somehow managed to cause during his meagre on-field career, well played Kurt - probably the only time you'll hear that for the rest of your playing career.

Wasn't it Mark Riciuto that said that Kruntley was at risk of being the highest paid, most over-rated player in the history of the AFL?

I think something close to the definition of 'embarrassment' is if a club's board has a single thread about a single ex-player among a playing list of 40+ — one who has never been held at Guantanamo Bay, nor acted as a close personal confidant of Gary Glitter; in fact, not even shagged Lara Bingle, nor been on a bender with Ben Cousins, as far as anyone knows — which winds up with more posts, than the actual numbers of people who attend one of that club's home games in 2013. So here's hoping that the thread now really does die a death, and/or the Crows' worst-attended 2013 home game pushes a little above the 28,261 for GWS in 2012, to save you that embarrassment.

Slowly, tediously, reluctantly, we all move on. It might be time to do so. This incident will be a very minor footnote in the history of our game.
The importance placed on the relationship between crowd attendances and forum posts is certainly an unusual one, especially so as the comparison appear to be to games that have not yet been played ("that club's home games in 2013"). One may assume that your poor orientation to time is perhaps indicative of an early onset Alzheimer's type dementia. Semantic memory loss, as evidenced by your limited understanding of the word "embarrassment" may also be an associated feature. It may be prudent to seek medical attention as you may qualify for therapeutic interventions. Best of luck!

Now you mention it, I remember that promo and remember being struck by Tippetts contribution too. Should try and find it as its an interesting indicator... :)

That 'contribution' won me a fitty from a mate. We both saw that ad and I said 'his next contract won't be at the Crows'. My mate reckoned he'd stay and put $50 down. Now it's mine. :cool:

best karma would be for sydney swans and tippo to be investigated re something like the above and for talking mid year and then sydney being penalized and tippo suspended for last half of the season.
However i would settle for a career ending concussion plus sydney losing their cost of living allowance in its current form.
......perhaps another good penalty would be tippo marking in the square grand final siren goes needs a goal to win and he misses....
cheer cheer the red and the white!

The worst thing is that tiprat only needed to sign a 1 year contract extension at the crows and would then become a restricted free agent at the end of next season, he could have walked to sydney, played every match this year and had a realistic chance at a premiership. what a dog. Macca23 you said exactly what we were all thinking well done

You've deliberately misrepresented the context of the comment. Now shoo.. You add nothing of value.

Guilty as charged fairfooty. I was looking for an opening to post a picture of Stan "The Boy" Taylor. Mission accomplished old mate. BTW I really enjoy reading your posts.

I think something close to the definition of 'embarrassment' is if a club's board has a single thread about a single ex-player among a playing list of 40+ — one who has never been held at Guantanamo Bay, nor acted as a close personal confidant of Gary Glitter; in fact, not even shagged Lara Bingle, nor been on a bender with Ben Cousins, as far as anyone knows — which winds up with more posts, than the actual numbers of people who attend one of that club's home games in 2013. So here's hoping that the thread now really does die a death, and/or the Crows' worst-attended 2013 home game pushes a little above the 28,261 for GWS in 2012, to save you that embarrassment.

Slowly, tediously, reluctantly, we all move on. It might be time to do so. This incident will be a very minor footnote in the history of our game.

Your mother should not have drunk alcohol while she was pregnant.

I am sure buying swimming goggles that fit properly isn't your only problem.

Good values my arse. His main value in life appears to be the almighty dollar. We paid him $600k when he was a $300k footballer. We offered him $800k when he was/is a $400k - $500k footballer, only to see him go home (ha ha) to Sydney for $900K.

I dont see how its really Tippetts fault that Adelaide ridiculously overpaid to keep him, and Sydney ridiculously overpaid to obtain him.

I believe the point is he is chasing the dollar, and that is the most important thing to him. He said he wanted to go home, he didn't, he wanted more money.

What I don't get is the AFL were reportedly sus at us accepting pick 22 and Ken Woods would not have signed off on it as it was not commercially viable. Assuming there was no dodgy agreement, would they have signed off on it or would they have let him walk to the PSD where thanks to their dodgy COL that Sydney were the only team able to pick him up?

Rubbish. He has built himself into one of the biggest Tall Poppies this country has ever seen. They may not be into footy in Sydney but dont know if you have noticed but Aussie tend to like tearing people down to size. Also massive pressure from his team mates and coaches to preserve the culture etc..They know what $ hes on and if he doesn't perform you cant tell me that all 40 will be no worries with that. Also the Vic media will be watching him like hawks too. They like nothing better than to stick the boot in if his form is down. They did that to Gary Ablett in his first year at GC, and Karmichael Hunt.

I think you underestimate just how little they are into AFL in Sydney. The coverage, even during a year when Swans make finals, is limited to 30 seconds on the news channel on game day to say the result, the game itself is broadcast, and if you're lucky, the SMH will give it two inches in the sport pages. the Telegraph, which is nominally the Swans media partner paper, will give them one column a week. A preview, a short game writeup and a pic. News ... sometimes finds its way into the paper.

There's no Footy shows on channel 7 - NRL dominates. You see 'em on 7Mate, maybe.

Vic media? who reads Victorian stuff, in Sydney... don't make me laugh.

Check the ratings in NSW for the fox channels and footy broadcast on free to air. The ratings aren't high enough that even 5% of sydneysiders know who Kurt is, let alone give a shit. I think I saw 3 Crows games on free to air in Sydney, over 3 years. Nobody will have any clue of his background, or recognise him in the street. That stuff is what he's after, and until the whole shemozzle about agreements happened, I was all for it if the media stuff was what was making Adelaide unbearable for him.

Pressure from team-mates, though? Oh yes.

Still think it doesn't make sense - a) how Kurt (NOT a free agent) can manipulate the draft to get what he wanted all along - isn't that against the rules? :rolleyes: B) how Sydney, who attempted to take advantage of an illegal agreement, still get what they want. And how is it that they can now afford $800,000 in the first year, yet insisted we take white as part of the trade because they didn't have room within their cap, but now do?

Edit. Wonder if tippetts legal threats had anything to do with GWS suddenly not being able to afford him, and Sydney being able to afford the massive first year?

Stop wondering about how Sydney but no one else can afford Tippett because Ken Wood the AFL Salary Cap watchdog told GWS that they couldn't fit Tippett into their cap even though it is $1mill more than the 16 pre expansion teams. Sydney have been cleared that they can fit in Tippett and it appears Freo may have ben able to fit him in but chose not to chase him. All other clubs didn't have room.

Sydney have had a fair player exodus over the last two years and have a lot of veterans so that's obviously how they can afford Tippett. Their challenge is how to resign up and coming players when their contracts expire in the next 1-3 years although from the outside they look like a very tight group who will take a little less $ to achieve the ultimate success as players did at Geelong over the last 5-6 years or at Brisbane in the early 2000s.

Don't blame Sydney for getting Tippet, they just did what any good club should do, aim to improve your list.

Blame Tippett for abandoning us and blame the AFC and servants for stupidly playing outside the rules, they are the culprits here. I'm still spewing about Trigg staying.